Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Grove

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Braintree > Golden Grove Reviews

Golden Grove
Piccotts Lane
Great Saling
Braintree
Essex   (Browse area)
CM7 5DW
Tel: 07917 592310
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Hugh27 2 reviews from this member

 Unpretentious peaceful site.

Friendly manager,

Spotlessly clean toilet,

Water and electric on every pitch.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Suslat 1 review from this member

 We were greeted with a smile and a friendly welcome, given a choice of where to pitch and Julie explained where all the facilities were.

The site is small but has everything we needed, the facilities were well organised and spotless. We were unlucky with the weather but each pitch is largely gravel and sheltered by trees and there was no issue with soggy ground. The views were lovely of a field with some Jacobs sheep.

The site is very rural but is within easy reach of a large Tesco and the facilities of Braintree including a shopping outlet, craft centre and park.

This is a quiet and well run site, we enjoyed outr stay and we would happily return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Carl J 1 review from this member

 The staff were very helpful even though I only stayed for one night to try out my trailer tent, they were there to help or give advice, which came in very handy for another couple who arrived with a brand new van and didn't know what to do, they helped them out so much and even made them a cup of tea, above and beyond I say.

Pitch was hard standing but very big, with its own water and electric hook up, so no walking everywhere, site has a toilet and a washing up room with a washing machine in it, big open space and very quite.

Would recommend and will stay again if in area. Great job well done 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gdm200 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay at this campsite, very peaceful and relaxing.

Small site in a rural location, lovely walks, which suited us fine.

Julia the warden who was on site was very helpful and friendly,

Amenities were clean, no showers but we knew that before we arrived. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Smiler73 1 review from this member

 What a welcome break away from it all. Friendly and welcoming site manager. Lovely site, small quiet and peaceful. Clean toilet. Laundry facilities if needed, hot water and large washing up area!

Would return! good value for money!

If you want food before arriving shop at tesco near great dunmow! local corner shops are few and far between, that said I got the impression if you ask nicely the site manager has spares for those who forget things, like milk and bottle openers! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Graham 3 reviews from this member

 Very quiet site. Very friendly site manager, even made me a cup of tea!

Not much evidence of covid compliance measures such as hand sanitizer in toilet.

Would use again for a night but would need a shower for longer stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Slowroad 52 reviews from this member

 In many ways a super site, albeit one more for the caravans really. Mostly gravel, with an area of grass at the far end for tents.

Unfortunately this is the furthest away from the very nice loo/washing block (a very nicely done-up shed) - which is one of the nicest I've come across. I wasn't bothered that there wasn't a shower - more important to have hot water!

There were only a couple of other units - caravans - in use while I was there, so it was very quiet. Lots of information about the local area. Friendly and helpful host, and curious sheep!

Pleased to find a nice small site where I needed it, and I'd stay again if in the area. Need to book in advance. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smiler701 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site. Quiet and a good views. No showers but no problem. Toilet facilities were clean and rustic. Just one but it was good. Great recycling area. We were there for 2 very warm days. It was a dream base for visiting friend in the local area, no kids BRILLIANT. One slight niggle we didnít see anyone from the site to pay and I canít find a secure way of sending them money. Hopefully we will be back next year and can pay for both visit, would say book early. Definitely will return at some point. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 79 reviews from this member

 We booked this site at the last minute, seeking some peace and quiet. We were not disappointed. It is a most relaxing place devoid of any distractions or luxuries. Staff were friendly and pleasant. A bargain at £15 per night.

However, visitors should be aware that there is nowhere within walking distance to eat or shop. Also, there remains just the one unisex toilet / washroom which some might find insufficient. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahfostxy 1 review from this member

 We spent 9 nights here. The pitches are huge and kept very tidy. The whole site is quiet and clean and well looked after. The lovely lady who owns it was very welcoming and helpful. The toilets were always clean and it was nice to know there was a washing machine on site if we needed it. We loved that there was a water supply for each pitch! No need to keep refilling the aqua roll. Had a brilliant time with the dogs as plenty of fields to walk over. Access was also very easy from the a120 dual carriage way. Was good value for money at £15 a night and no extra cost for the dogs or awning. Will definitely stay again! 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Grove child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Grove?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Golden Grove dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Braintree      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1071 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December