Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caravaning Oyambre

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Cantabria > Caravaning Oyambre > Reviews

Caravaning Oyambre
Finca Pena Gerra
San Vicente De La Barquera
Cantabria
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: +34 942 711 461
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 86 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 8 nights at the end of our holiday this year before we got the ferry home from Santander. The site was great. We had a lovely large pitch but there are not many large pitches, many are quite small. There were amazing views from the pitch to the Picos mountains.

The toilets were extremely clean. There was a full time cleaner on the toilet block who was constantly cleaning which was good for hygiene purposes but it was a bit disconcerting to hear her shuffling about outside the toilet while you were doing your business and then as soon as you exit, she rushes in to clean the toilet seat and spray air freshener.

There is a restaurant on site which we didn't use but which we were told was excellent and a bar selling snacks and drinks. The bar also sells bread and milk and a few other essentials but there is no real shop on site.

The site is about a 15 minute walk to a large sandy beach which also has free parking but this fills up quite quickly on a sunny day and it can become slightly chaotic with cars parked everywhere and the road blocked with cars trying to pass each other. The sea was a bit rough when we were there as it is the Atlantic. My husband really enjoyed bodyboarding and I enjoyed the waves but it might have been a bit rough for some children. There are life guards on duty and they really enforce their rules if you bathe between their flags. On a few days when it was very rough they were insisting you never went deeper than waist depth.

The site has a reasonably sized pool but the water was freezing when we were there so we only used it once. I guess it would be great on a really hot day but the weather was not really that hot during our stay.

The nearby town of Comillas was amazing. We spent several days exploring the different parts of the town and we also did a few day trips further afield up into the Picos de Europa mountains which were really spectacular.

There is a small supermarket just outside the town of San Vicente which is about a 10 minute drive away. Twice during our stay we used the free motorway to motor into Torrelavega to the massive Carrefour supermarket which was about 30 minutes drive but it was worth it to stock up.

The staff on site were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.

Be careful not to get this site confused with another site nearby which is called Camping Oyambre Beach. Camping Oyambre Beach is much closer to the beach but nowhere near as nice. We were so glad we chose Camping Playa Oyambre when we had a look round Camping Oyambre Beach. To be polite, it was awful! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Feelyjordan 17 reviews from this member

 All of the positives mentioned in the reviews below, plus a great restaurant on site. We had intended to cook, but the restaurant offered very good value, excellent service and lovely food.

Cycling is good in the area, with very quiet roads, and reasonably friendly hills.

A couple of very minor quibbles, the waste water disposal point is at the entrance to the site and quite a hike from the pitches, while we had a bit of difficulty finding the place in the first instance.

Would definitely go again however, we had originally intended a two night stay but ended up staying for a week. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Inkaboat 13 reviews from this member

 I don't disagree with any of the preceding comments. However, we were there for five days last week during torrential rainstorms. We were put in a 'new' part of the site, sans hard standings. It took five men, rubber mats and the motor mover just to get us onto our pitch, and I had to wind the legs every day to compensate for 'That Sinking Feeling'. We moved on to Madrid as soon as there was a (short) break in the weather. It rained there too.

My only other observation is that the owner was polite to the point of obsequiousness.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hwcamping 4 reviews from this member

 First time to Spain in our VW campervan with 2 adults and 2 children ages 12 and 15 yrs. The site is only 50 mins from the Santander ferry and is easy to find from San Vicente. We were placed on a lovely pitch half way up the site with views to the Picos De Europa mountains, with other English families, so the children immediately made friends. We didn't have any shade, so I would suggest you either go to the bottom of the site, but you won't get the views, or take a canopy for shade.

The shop on site only sells essentials, ie milk, bread, butter and cold meats. The nearest town Comillas (2 miles away) has a small supermarket and there is a cycle path the whole way. There is a large supermarket in the next nearest town.

There is a beautiful beach within 15 mins walk, with a free car park and a beach cafe. You can get surfing lessons on the beach. The on site restaurant is brilliant value (£5 for a lovely salad) and the coffee is just 80p a cup. You will just have to get used to Spanish meal times, in that it doesn't serve food until 8. 30pm.

There is plenty to do in the area for at least 10 days, but you will need a car to see all the beautiful towns and mountains. We had bikes and there are just too many hills to get very far on them.

The site was very quiet 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aliaucott 5 reviews from this member

 We had a very enjoyable 13 nights here. Previous reviews describe the site and area perfectly.

The cleanest toilet and showers we have ever come across staff on duty throughout the day to ensure they were clean. Lots of hot water. Dish wash facilities also superb. Small laundrette too with dryer. Francis was very helpful.

We had a pitch closest to the road which was not a problem as it is reasonably quiet just traffic to the beach.

The beach is amazing. We would return and would ask for a pitch on the terrace as you get lovely views of the Picos. I would also ask for a pitch with some sun.

The site is nice and shady with lots of trees but if it rains you do need some sun to dry your pitch.

You have to expect some rain we had 3 days, the area would not be so beautiful without it.

The site is a great base to explore the area Picos de Europa is stunning, Comillas is lovely and San Vincente has some great restaurants.

We had 3 teenagers with us and they had a great time too. Didn't take us long to adjust to Spanish time site is very quiet up to 10ish lights in the play areas go out at 12 midnight so quiet after then. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Adenmax 3 reviews from this member

 I can only agree with the comments in the previous review. Having spent our holiday in a variety of sites in Spain & Portugal we decided that this site had the best facilities overall. The toilets / showers etc are spotless as they are regularly cleaned. The is a large bar / restaurant and an excellent swimming pool. There are pitch sizes to suit all sizes of unit including our 28 feet long motorhome. The beach is a pleasant 1 mile walk and the sea offers the chance to surf. Highly recommended. The site is 10 minutes from the A8 Autoroute. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Townheadbluesboy 1 review from this member

 It hasn't changed - great site could easily go back and spend more time in the mountains. The on-site restaurant has great food - best rice pudding I've ever tasted. We are a family of 4 and our favourite days were spent bodyboarding at the local beach followed by barbeque at the site. Comillas is the nearest town and has a couple of supermarkets. Had to adjust to Spanish time with not a lot happening early in the morning. Bilbao and interesting day trip.

Francis who runs the place knows everything and is very friendly.

Great place -we all want to go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NorChris 1 review from this member

 We have been to this site playa de oyambre 3 times in 2002, 2005, & 2009 and we have enjoyed them all, cannot speak to highly enough of Francis amd his team. The site and surrounding area are great favorites of ours and we will be going back possibly in 2014

Ok it rains a bit but that's what makes the area so beautiful, give it a try you will not be disapointed. The beach is one of the best we have been on, and a trip to the Picos de europa is a fantastic day out 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snifferg 14 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in August 2009 with our friends - 4 adults and 5 children under 12 in all.

This is an excellent site, very well run and maintained by the owner Francis and his staff. It is midway between St Vicente de la Barquera and Comillas on the Cantabrian coast. Site is largish (600+ plots for tents, caravans and motorhomes). There are also a number of wooden chalet bungalows for hire. We were welcomed by Francis on arrival, shown to our pitch and site staff helped to pitch our van.

Site is about 35miles west of Santander so ideal for those coming by ferry as we did. Roads excellent and site is easy to find, they had emailed us directions but SatNav took us straight there too.

Site is on the side of a hill but is terraced so vast majority of pitches are about level (chocks may be needed). Caravan / motorhome plots are large enough but are close together as per foreign style, this is no way a criticism just advice that you won’t get the CC regulation 10yds between units! Many of plots are nicely shaded under trees. EHU is available on larger plots (2 pin euro adapters required).

Site has superb facilities, spotless large wash/toilet block with loads of free hot showers which seem to be being cleaned continuously (even at 0430hrs!), washing up area and a laundry. There are two small bars and restaurant on site which was excellent, great food and very well priced. Site has a lovely swimming pool with child’s splash pool, great for relaxing around.
There is also a small playground and a net-enclosed 5-a-side footy pitch which was very popular. With all these facilities you may expect site to be noisy but not at all: no music played so any noise from bar and lights to play areas switched off at midnight. Site has small shop but supermercados in local towns needed for anything other than basics.

Site is about one mile from superb Oyambre beach (coastline is very Cornwall / Tenby like), you can walk but car parks are free and large so no hassle to drive. Sandy beach great for body-boarding.

San Vicente de la Barquera to west (3 miles) very pleasant, as is Comillas to east (3 miles). Both have beaches of their own and small harbours also very quaint squares with ample bars and restaurants. Seafood is local delicacy but bars and restaurants cater for all tastes. Supermarkets in both towns provide provisions.
Comillas has Royal palace and Gaudi designed house, very photogenic. Santillana Del Mar about 15 miles east is very picturesque and definitely worth a visit.

This area is very Spanish, you will need to try your espanyol as English not widely spoken, not many foreign tourists those that are are mainly English and Dutch.

All in all can't recommend this site & area highly enough, superbly maintained, brilliant staff, great location and beautiful countryside. Hopefully we will return. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caravaning Oyambre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Caravaning Oyambre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caravaning Oyambre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Caravaning Oyambre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cantabria      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2953 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement