Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Caravaning Oyambre

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Cantabria > Caravaning Oyambre Reviews

Caravaning Oyambre
Finca Pena Gerra
San Vicente De La Barquera
Cantabria
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: +34 942 711 461
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 160
Open: 02/03/2020 to 27/10/2020
           02/03/2021 to 27/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: J MEREDITH 4 reviews from this member

 We have recently returned from a 16 night stay here. The site staff are very friendly, helpful and speak very good English.

The site is very well maintained, clean and it is clear the owners take pride in the campsite.

The pitches are compact, I recommend you book the larger pitch, which has a water tap, grey water drain and 10 amp hook up. If you have a large van or motorhome, over 7. 5 m then book early and make sure you inform them.

There are a number of pitches suitable but! The atmosphere of the site is very pleasant and family orientated. There is a very large a clean beach with lifeguards 15 minutes walk from the site.

There is a campsite shop but it is very limited in stock, small local supermarkets are close by but the nearest big supermarket is approx 12 miles, however the quality of produce is excellent.

If we return to this area, Cantabria, I would definitely return to Oyambre. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: J MEREDITH 4 reviews from this member

 IWe have recently returned from a 16 night stay here. The site staff are very friendly, helpful and speak very good English.

The site is very well maintained, clean and it is clear the owners take pride in the campsite. The pitches are compact, I recommend you book the larger pitch, which has a water tap, grey water drain and 10 amp hook up.

If you have a large van or motorhome, over 7. 5 m then book early and make sure you inform them. There are a number of pitches suitable but! The atmosphere of the site is very pleasant and family orientated.

There is a very large a clean beach with lifeguards 15 minutes walk from the site.

There is a campsite shop but it is very limited in stock, small local supermarkets are close by but the nearest big supermarket is approx 12 miles, however the quality of produce is excellent.

If we return to this area, Cantabria, I would definitely return to Oyambre. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheiladore 22 reviews from this member

 Finding the site was a little difficult as we hadnt been before, and we ended up at the beach.

Showers go cold when loo is flushed, watch out.

Nice views, and plenty of places to visit whilst waiting for ferry.

Shame there is no recycling. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susiejane 23 reviews from this member

 An excellent site with excellent staff who sorted out a visit to the Sopla caves and also supplied us with a bus timetable for Comillas which is a short drive or bus ride away, there is a Lupa supermarket there with it's own car park but parking can be difficult as it is a busy place.

We had a terraced pitch which had a wonderful view of the Picos mountains and eagles flying overhead. The showers and toilets were always clean and I never had to wait for a shower.

There is a shop which manages to stock quite a few items considering it's size. The washing machines use euros not tokens.

We went to the restaurant several times and were impressed by the food and the staff. It doesn't serve food in the evening until 8-o-clock, which for us was a bit late for a meal but it was worth waiting for. The bar is open all day and does serve food at lunch time.

The weather was not as warm as usual so although we sat by the pool, it was too cold to swim in it!

We did go to the beach a few times which is 15 min walk away, although you can drive as there is parking. The beach has lifeguards. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flora mcflimsy 2 reviews from this member

 This is a very well run site with beautiful views of the Picos de Europa Mountains, and is in between Comillas and St Vincent. All the facility's and grounds were very clean and well kept. The restaurant on site was very good, probably the best campsite meal we had ever had.

The beach is a short walk down two country lanes were there is a bar/ restaurant. We didn't use the restaurant but on a sunny day the beer was very welcoming 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kadders 1 review from this member

 Probably the best site on balance I have stayed at.

Very clean, excellent value for money food in own restaurant and superb beaches nearby. Plus a pool if you want to use it.

Needed to do some washing and given machine washing tablets free of charge by very helpful and friendly owner Francis. His team could not have been more helpful.

Lovely part of the world. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jim McGill 7 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best sites we have ever been to and plan to return. Francis and his team will help you onto your pitch, give you all the local knowledge you will need and is always willing to have a chat. He remembers everyone's name, which on a site of this size is amazing.

The bar is lively in the evening and there is a great atmosphere with mostly Spanish families recovering after a hard day on the beach. The restaurant serves excellent food at very reasonable prices.

The beach is a 10 minute walk away and is never packed. In the surrounding areas there are lots of things to do on the rainy days you will get in this region.

The toilets are spotlessly clean and the cleaners are continuously making sure they stay that way.

All in all a gem of a site in a beautiful part of the world which is only a boat journey away. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Autumn9 19 reviews from this member

 There are other campsites in the area however, on the two occasions we visited Caravanning Oyambre, early June and then in early July when it was much more busy, we thought the site retained its calm atmosphere. Reception was very welcoming and accommodating.

The site has a pool, a bar and a very pleasant restaurant. On our first visit the meals served in the restaurant were excellent, on our second visit the standard was not quite so high but still acceptable.

The brick built facilities include a washing-up area, laundry room and disabled facilities. There are ample modern toilets and showers in which a simple lever delivers non-stop hot water. Two rooms contain baths dedicated to bathing infants. The facilities are kept extremely clean.

There is table football and bikes to hire.

The pitches are on level terraces, with attractive bungalows included on the highest terrace.

A path from the site leads to a quiet lane down to a golf course and the beach, about a twenty minute walk. The site overlooks countryside and on a clear day there are superb views of the Picas de Europa.

A short drive away is the attractive town of Comillas with its cobbled streets and squares, restaurants, cafes, shops and a small supermarket. Among the splendid architecture is the house designed by Antonio Gaudi and there are pleasant views over the harbour.

We enjoyed both our stays on this site and recommend it. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frogman14 17 reviews from this member

 Endorse everything said about site and facilities, management is very proper. Lovely area to visit, St Vncente is esp nice coastal town. Trips into Picos mountains produced fabulous views, and several 'interesting ' lunches in villages, given we don't speak any Spanish, but all were perfect and very sociable.

Nearest supermarket we found to be Mercadona which is right on next mway exit towards Santander at a place called 'something del sol' which I can't remember, but the marrket is right by the exit next to a furniture warehouse. Prices for everything round about seemed to be ridiculously low when coupled with the .

The pool looked cold, although some brave souls did go in, suspect you would have to wait till August for the sun to warm it up.

Finally would recommend the restaurant on site. Our food was excellent, served in a style far better than a camp site, and the home made rice pudding is a must.

Well worth a prolonged stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 66 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 8 nights at the end of our holiday this year before we got the ferry home from Santander. The site was great. We had a lovely large pitch but there are not many large pitches, many are quite small. There were amazing views from the pitch to the Picos mountains.

The toilets were extremely clean. There was a full time cleaner on the toilet block who was constantly cleaning which was good for hygiene purposes but it was a bit disconcerting to hear her shuffling about outside the toilet while you were doing your business and then as soon as you exit, she rushes in to clean the toilet seat and spray air freshener.

There is a restaurant on site which we didn't use but which we were told was excellent and a bar selling snacks and drinks. The bar also sells bread and milk and a few other essentials but there is no real shop on site.

The site is about a 15 minute walk to a large sandy beach which also has free parking but this fills up quite quickly on a sunny day and it can become slightly chaotic with cars parked everywhere and the road blocked with cars trying to pass each other. The sea was a bit rough when we were there as it is the Atlantic. My husband really enjoyed bodyboarding and I enjoyed the waves but it might have been a bit rough for some children. There are life guards on duty and they really enforce their rules if you bathe between their flags. On a few days when it was very rough they were insisting you never went deeper than waist depth.

The site has a reasonably sized pool but the water was freezing when we were there so we only used it once. I guess it would be great on a really hot day but the weather was not really that hot during our stay.

The nearby town of Comillas was amazing. We spent several days exploring the different parts of the town and we also did a few day trips further afield up into the Picos de Europa mountains which were really spectacular.

There is a small supermarket just outside the town of San Vicente which is about a 10 minute drive away. Twice during our stay we used the free motorway to motor into Torrelavega to the massive Carrefour supermarket which was about 30 minutes drive but it was worth it to stock up.

The staff on site were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.

Be careful not to get this site confused with another site nearby which is called Camping Oyambre Beach. Camping Oyambre Beach is much closer to the beach but nowhere near as nice. We were so glad we chose Camping Playa Oyambre when we had a look round Camping Oyambre Beach. To be polite, it was awful! 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caravaning Oyambre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Caravaning Oyambre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caravaning Oyambre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Caravaning Oyambre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cantabria      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1649 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December