Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Campingplatz Am Rhein

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Rudesheim Am Rhein > Campingplatz Am Rhein Reviews

Campingplatz Am Rhein
Kastanienallee
Rudesheim Am Rhein
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: +49 6722 2528
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angry Dad 12 reviews from this member

 Great site. Booked for 7 nights with the Caravan Club (no hassle arrival - no need for ID or anything as it was prepaid) and extended by a night when we realised how good it was. We had a huge space, 16A electric and use of the fabulous toilet blocks which lived up to their billing - absolutely immaculate. We took advice and managed to avoid the low bridge, but also watch for Google sending you down a single lane road if coming from the Wiesbaden side. When we left we used the Bingen ferry which was really easy and saved a lot of time; others we spoke to had come down the valley from Koblenz and reported it being a bit of a chore.

Location - brilliant; of the 7 whole days there we needed the car once (Heidelberg 1. 5hrs) and walked or used public transport for the rest of the time. The train station is about 30 minutes walk and we went to Koblenz and Franfurt. For the latter we got a Hessen Card for 33 euros for 5 people which gave unlimited public transport for the day, including the trams while in the city.

15 minutes walk into town. 2 minutes to the pool complex (cheaper after 5), which the kids loved. We got a round trip ticket from the site for the cable car from town to the monument, a chairlift down to Asmanshausen and the boat trip back to Rudesheim. It's about a half hour walk through the woods to the chairlift and there was a small deer reserve there where the kids enjoyed feeding the inhabitants.

Wine - cheap and good, especially with the festival being on in the town square but the Aldi, Lidl, Rewe and Getranke offering were all good. Beer - weissbier (dunkel or straight)if you don't fancy lager. Brandy - Asbach visitor centre is worth a visit but is literally a short film about Asbach and shop. But the product is lovely and cheaper here than in the shops.

I give this site 10 across the board, though the playground is quite limited and no good for our eldest (13) and there can be some noise at night from the cruise ships which occasionally park up overnight beside the site and from the trains - the line isn't next to the site but can be heard on accasion. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HarryB 17 reviews from this member

 Just to bring other reviews up to date. Both toilet blocks are now to a very high standard indeed. Some of the best I've seen. However it is rather odd that only one block, nearest reception, has showers. That said they are to 5* hotel standard. No pitches are marked out and you may have your next door neighbour closer than you like. Riverside pitches are in demand so ground surface is devoid of grass, you need a groundsheet. As for confusing direction, I found the site from a little careful planning. You can quite easily see the route by using Google Earth. Leave the town centre and ignore the first right turn to the site, low bridge at 2. 8 metres. Carry on under the next bridge and turn immediate right and right at T Junc. Site clearly signed from here.

The site is ideal for leaving the car by the van. The walk to town is easy and the station just a little further on. River cruises can be booked at the tourist office, over 60's get a 30% discount so don't forget to ask.

Only two downsides for me was that the site is now under the flight path to Frankfurt airport and there is plane noise. 2nd the site does not accept credit cards so make sure you have plenty Euros when you go to pay.

No children's score given, there weren't any on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: N A B 4 reviews from this member

 Approach - Ferry from Bingen gives the first view of Rüdesheim. Ferry not cheap for a 5 minute ride! The site is difficult to find and it looks like you're driving up a dead end road.

Welcome - Site owner very welcoming and friendly.

Initial thoughts - Big site that's clean and tidy. Large toilet blocks. Cramped pitches.

Cons

- Need two 16A cables for hookup to reach some pitches.

- Emptying waste requires that the container is lifted.

- Mosquitoes and midges. Lots of them.

- 5 second timeout on shower push button.

- Muzak in the toilet blocks.

- Showers at one end of the site.

- No WiFi (they told me there was before we booked, turned out there is none. Not important for everybody, I know, but when you run your own business. Extremely disappointed to have been 'misinformed').

Pros

+ Toilet blocks kept scrupulously clean.

+ Toilet blocks large and spacious.

+ Showers huge.

+ Site attracts 'nice' people.

+ Pleasant walk into town.

+ Public swimming pool next door.

Nearby

Aldi, Lidl, Penny, Rewe and McDonalds all within a two minute drive.

Public swimming pool next door.

Town a 10 to 15 minute walk.

Rail links to Frankfurt and Koblenz (and then onwards).

Would I go again? No. Simply for the lack of WiFi which I need to run my business. I begrudge the site the misinformation and also the huge mobile phone bill I'm about to get (eight £25 'boosters'). 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Salmong 20 reviews from this member

 Spent 12 nights in September, approached site via Bingen ferry directions to site are certainly not the best, and we got lost a couple of times before we stumbled across the site almost by accident - There is mention of a low railway bridge (2. 8m) on the approach to the site, we negotiated this with no problem, however some motor homes may have difficulty. We were met on arrival and shown to our pitch - we had a river front pitch overlooking the Rhine, we found the pitch to be really small and tightly packed together, there are also lots of trees on site, and we were underneath an Elderberry tree, which meant I spent most days cleaning purple bird muck off the car caravan and awning, one chap actually covered the roof of his awning with a tarp to keep it clean. Another minus point is the lack of water and waste points - there is fresh water and a waste point at each amenity block which can be quite a walk, and when you get there you have to lift your heavy wastemaster about 30' onto the top of a sluice to empty the contents - The elderly or infirm will need assistance with this task, and a little bit of planning by the site owner could easily have avoided this. The amenity blocks are immaculate, however only the block nearest reception has showers, the one at the other end of the site has privacy cubicles with wash basins. Considering the prices the facilities could be a lot better. Rudesheim is an easy walk along the river side, touristy and the shops are quite tacky with the usual cheap souvenir shops. We actually preferred Bingen just across the river - which is a more 'Normal' town and has decent restaurants and shopping. As others have said site is very handy with several supermarkets nearby Aldi. Lidle, Rewe, and Penny, also a McDonalds on the same trading estate. The site is a good base for visiting the area, however in my opinion did not live up to our expectations - I am sure there are better value sites around with better facilities 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Turner2 55 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 5 nights on this site and was very pleased once again. I have visited the site on three occasions and were very happy. New toilets and showers have been updated for the Gents and I am informed the Ladies will be completed next year. Lots of thing to do around Rudesheim and we made the journey tp Oberwesel to witness the 'Rhine in Flames'. Rudesheim has lots happening and we had a couple of nights in the Irish Bar with music both nights and resonable prices. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beccyandsteve 26 reviews from this member

 We booked this through the caravan club and paid at time of booking. A lovely location alongside the Rhine about a 10 min gentle walk into Rudesheim town centre.

Brand new toilet block and male showers whilst female showers are tired but perfectly ok -they need tokens (although caravan club members get tokens free). The female shower / toilet block is due to be refurbished this winter.

Washing machines are available for about €3.

The site has a small bar overlooking the river (not sure if they do food). There is also a small shop.

No wifi - and pretty hard to come by anywhere.

On arrival we were offered various pitches and given the choice of looking around to see which was best for our needs. We felt the pitches (unmarked) were a little close, but that said we were free to spread ouselves out - perhaps we are just used to marked out pitches! Sadly we lost our lovely river view after the first night as others arrived, but that's life.

Plenty of supermarkets within a short walk plus the lovely old town of Rudesheim to explore.

A great pool next door which is priced fairly.

Walk or take cable car to Germania it gives amazing views of the Rhein.

A little train takes you on a vineyard tour.

Close to ferry / riverboat services.

A great site that I highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lbarkas 81 reviews from this member

 Difficult to find site as some of the international camping signs were defaced and unreadable, so arrived very stressed and bothered, though location alongside the river is picturesque. Pitches not marked out and some fellow campers walked through our area, a little closer than we would have liked. Gents toilet block had been refurbished to a high standard with showers free of charge, but ladies to be done in the future and needed to purchase a token at 1€. Unfortunately we had to leave a day early as the Rhine was in flood and the owner decided to evacuate. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The CDs 5 reviews from this member

 Apparently you can't reserve but we phoned up a couple of days in advance and were reassured that our party of 2 family tents wouldn't be a problem - they were right. We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. Hadn't been to the area before but plenty to explore and do with the children. The town is a stop for many cruise ships on the Rhine so can feel a bit 'touristy' at times. The campsite is about a 10 min walk into town along the river. On site there are two toilet blocks a modern one in the centre with toilets and washing facilities and the older one near the entrance (where the shop/bar/ washing machine/dryers/freezers are located) which has toilets and showers. All kept very clean. There is also a play area which is great. Curfew is about 11pm a little noise after but nothing significant. The town outdoor pool is located next door with three diving boards, a lazy river, small slide and a kids pool. After 5pm it costs €12 for a family of four -great value but can get chilly. Great location for exploring this part of Germany. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rstorrie1 8 reviews from this member

 We liked this site and the kids did not want to leave. We stayed here for two nights at the end of July en-route to the French Alps.

Our kids mainly loved the swimming pool 5 euro for both to get in and we only saw them when they needed feeding. Will visit again for a longer holiday in the future. The town is a mixture of new and old, and has lots of character.

A short stroll out of the site you can walk along the banks of the Rhine with fishermen and river cruise ships in abundance. Cross the Railway line by one of the level crossings to enter the town.

There is a Netto shop a short walk from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

 Part of the Caravan Club portfolio. Had not pre- booked but managed to get in anyway. The warden was very helpful and spoke excellent english.

Pitches vary in size, with no border of any kind. Best pitches are by the river.

Toilet blocks large and very clean - you need tokens which can be purchased from the shop; the shop sells very little, local wine, beer and bread mainly (but then what else do you need!), so would not rely on it for anything else.

Public swimming pool at the entrance of the site, ticket machine entrance, diving boards and small slide.

Outside of the site you can get a tourist train that takes you around the vineyards.

Specialist coffee in town, sort of like an irish coffee but in a special cup. If you don't drink spirits, try the iced coffees that were great.

Super site, will return. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Campingplatz Am Rhein child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Campingplatz Am Rhein?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Campingplatz Am Rhein dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rudesheim Am Rhein      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Germany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4604 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement