Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Campingplatz Am Rhein

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Rudesheim Am Rhein > Campingplatz Am Rhein Reviews

Campingplatz Am Rhein
Kastanienallee
Rudesheim Am Rhein
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: +49 6722 2528
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lounye 9 reviews from this member

 Another stay at this lovely site. Access is a bit difficult, the rail bridge on Bingen ferry side (approach from town centre) is being altered, I think to let caravans through but sharp turn onto road leading to site and parked cars by park make it a one way street at times.

Showers/toilets brilliant but only showers in main toilet block, none in secondary toilet block, as mentioned by another reviewer a bit of a walk.

Prices getting a bit high, we noticed this all across Europe, a cheaper site down the road but that said we still prefer this site to others in the area.

The on site cafe/bar seems to be offering more choice, food great, beer better, value for money quite good. Our pitch was near a drain, got a bit smelly, not sure why but pitch itself was ok.

Be wary of local prices, Bingen ferry on our way to the site was 11euros for car, caravan, 3 adults and one child but when we left it was 15 euros for same unit but just two adults, (daughter and granddaughter flew back from Italy) local council should look into this, also ice cream seller in park charged us 1 euro for a one scoop cone the first night but price went up to 1euro 10cents when the cruise boats were in!

Don't use the kebab shop in town, advertised price of 10euros but got charged 11euros 50cents! Try the cafes off the main road and further into the town, chances are if the locals use it it's a good choice.

Still a lovely site and town, worth a visit, will go again, would recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lynn321 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic clean spacious site. The best camp showers I have ever used. Lovely friendly owners and nice friendly staff. Dog Friendly and lovely walks.

Easy reach for good supermarkets, bars and ferry trips on Rheim. We had a fantastic time and hope to return again next year. Our son and girlfriend came out to join us for a few days they gave us plenty room to pitch his tent so I think they will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KBKed 21 reviews from this member

 The site was well kept, spacious and clean. The showers are located in one of the 2 toilet blocks, which could mean a bit of a walk if you are at the wrong end!

Site is located beside the river and there is a pleasant walk/cycle way in both directions. The town is close by and easily accessed on foot.

There are plenty of activities in and around Rüdesheim, as well as shops, bars and restaurants. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lounye 9 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site and the owner (Oliver) and his wife do everything they can to make your stay pleasant and peaceful. I like the fact they hook up the electric and the boxes locked. The site has about the best shower/toilet block I've seen, clean and warm, lots of hot water, very nice. The small shop sells all the usual goodies, try the local wines they are really nice and the beer is great. Sitting in the small 'beer garden' watching the cruise boats going along the majestic Rhine is lovely and if you walk along the river towards Rudesheim you can catch a cruise boat to one of the towns on the river, a good day out is Bacharach which also has some nice wines. We also use the local vet (Georg Petry) to have our dogs checked before we head for Calais and home. (Make sure he signs ALL the relevant pages of the doggy passport). Although the pitches on site are not clearly marked like the UK there is always enough room and we have never had a problem. Our granddaughter liked the swimming pool next door, our daughter liked the cruise on the Rhine and we love the quiet walks along the river with our dogs. Really love this site, thanks so much to the owners for the lovely stay each time we visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulontour 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent 10 days at this wonderful site on the banks of the Rhine in Rudesheim. We were greeted by a very pleasant couple who booked us in and showed us to our pitch. We had a choice of four all in different positions and to be honest there wasn't much between them. We had plenty of room around our plot, we were really pleased with it. The shower block and toilets were spotlessly clean as good as any hotel you've been in, couldn't fault them. There is a small shop on site for the basic things you might need which is attached to a bar and cafe offering meals. A five minute car journey will take you to a Lidl and an Aldi for more serious food shopping. A twenty minute walk along the riverside takes you to the picturesque town of Rudesheim which is full of shops, bars and restaurants. Enjoy a river cruise. All within a short pleasant walk from the caravan site. Easily one of the best sites I've been on and without a doubt we shall be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gazmister123 32 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights heading further south. I was unsure when we first arrived that we were gong to the right place as you have to go through a sort of industrial estate to get there with a mac Donald's and several supermarkets, however don't let that put you off.

The site is literally next to the river (further away from the industrial estate) we were greeted by a friendly lady and then taken to a pitch by another member of staff. We had a lovely view of the river in front of us.

The site is immaculately kept, the grounds are lovely and the toilet block is probably the nicest I've ever been in, the owners clearly take a lot of pride in this place and it really shows.

The play area was fine for my children aged 10, a and 6 and I felt very safe here with them as the site is not massive.

It's a really quick walk or even quicker bike ride into the lovely town of Rudesheim, lots of nice little shops and very friendly people. It's also essential you try a rudesheim coffee too, they are amazing, (just don't drive after one), there is also a train station in the town although we did not catch the train so not sure where it goes to.

There is also a little bar /kiosk on site.

The site is next to a really nice outdoor pool. You have to pay for it but it was not expensive, there were diving boards, a toddler pool, a slide and this was also kept immaculately clean, there is also a play public play area nearby.

We would have loved to stayed longer and I think it's definitely a place we will return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doit 11 reviews from this member

 Our third visit to this marvellous site. Very flat with a choice of shady or full sun pitches. Due to the time of year we opted for the former, and the site owner walks us to the pitch and strangely connects the mains electric for us. The plug in points are in a locked box so only the staff can connect or disconnect the electric. Not a problem just odd. Pitches are not marked with any lines or bushes but everyone is given adequate space but not loads so it can feel a bit crowded. We liked the relaxed feel this arrangement gives but others might disagree. Toilet blocks are very modern and plush with sparkly led lighting, mood music and even a water feature outside! Small play area for kids which we didn't use so cannot comment on. Shop was ok with reasonable stock of commonly needed items. Bar on site too but again we didn't use it although it did look rather nice! Views of the river from most pitches which is cool. Also English is spoken by staff members who made us feel very welcome.

Location is perfect for visiting Rudeshiem town. This is a very pretty old town with a surprising amount of interesting things to see and do. Most famous road in the town is the

Drosselgasse which is a bit of a tourist trap but very unique and well worth a visit. You can also buy a ticket for a ride on a cable car followed by a visit to Germania (a huge monument on top of the hills), then a woodland walk, then a chairlift back to the river and finally a boat ride back to the town - a great way to spend a lazy day! Lots of restaurants cafes and bars or varying price and quality - something for everyone! We stayed here for the Rudeshiem wine festival which is great - there is entertainment, food and local wines all available in the town square from early evening onwards. Very agreeable!

Further from the centre of town is the small railway station where we caught the train to Frankfurt. Reasonable price, efficient service and modern trains so nothing like the English service! Fantastic city to visit at any time of the year but when we were there the had an apple wine festival so we just had to try the local brew and a frankfurter or two. Also visited the old town which is very pretty.

If you like relaxed atmosphere and want to visit an old quaint German town located in a beautiful part of the world then this place is a must! Would we go back again? Definitely! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angry Dad 12 reviews from this member

 Second visit for a few nights on the way back from the Alps and not disappointed. Arrived in 30 odd degree heat after a long drive from Austria and felt like we'd arrived home at once even though we were at the other end of the site.

As others have commented, the policy is for the owner to hook the electric up in a locked box but this isn't a problem at all.

Nor was the fact that the nearest toilet block doesn't have showers - plenty in the one by reception and never had to wait.

Facilities first class. Location perfect for gentle strolls into town (about a mile along the river).

Love it. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wanderer 53 reviews from this member

 The site is beside the Rhine and a short walk along the river into Rudesheim am Rhine. The site is really well kept with water features and bronze statues around. There are some pitches overlooking the river and some pitches with hardstanding. Our pitch had water, electricity (16A) and drainage and there is a M/H service point. The toilets and showers have recently been refurbished to a very high standard and were very clean each with a baby changing area. Showers were free and during our stay and WiFi, which was available on our pitch but not all, was free but I think that because it was being tested and may not stay free after this year.

There was an outdoor swimming complex next door and boat trips galore from close by plus walks, cable cars and the very interesting and lively town all close. There was a cluster of supermarkets about 5min walk from the site.

Reception spoke good English and seemed very helpful when used.

Great site and ideal for short and especially for longer stays. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irvine45 75 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights and can also add to the very good comments, which everyone has said. The toilets are very clean and modern. Unfortunately the weather was not hot so the spa was closed. The town was touristy and worth a visit.

Finding the site is a feat in itself. My Sat Nav tried to take me over the level crossings in town. A big no no! So keep you wits about you when arriving from the north.

A very nice site 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Campingplatz Am Rhein child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Campingplatz Am Rhein?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Campingplatz Am Rhein dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rudesheim Am Rhein      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Germany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5485 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement