Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Campingplatz Am Rhein

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Rudesheim Am Rhein > Campingplatz Am Rhein Reviews

Campingplatz Am Rhein
Kastanienallee
Rudesheim Am Rhein
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: +49 6722 2528
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 180
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lynn321 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic clean spacious site. The best camp showers I have ever used. Lovely friendly owners and nice friendly staff. Dog Friendly and lovely walks.

Easy reach for good supermarkets, bars and ferry trips on Rheim. We had a fantastic time and hope to return again next year. Our son and girlfriend came out to join us for a few days they gave us plenty room to pitch his tent so I think they will return.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KBKed 15 reviews from this member

The site was well kept, spacious and clean. The showers are located in one of the 2 toilet blocks, which could mean a bit of a walk if you are at the wrong end!

Site is located beside the river and there is a pleasant walk/cycle way in both directions. The town is close by and easily accessed on foot.

There are plenty of activities in and around Rüdesheim, as well as shops, bars and restaurants.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lounye 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site and the owner (Oliver) and his wife do everything they can to make your stay pleasant and peaceful. I like the fact they hook up the electric and the boxes locked. The site has about the best shower/toilet block I've seen, clean and warm, lots of hot water, very nice. The small shop sells all the usual goodies, try the local wines they are really nice and the beer is great. Sitting in the small 'beer garden' watching the cruise boats going along the majestic Rhine is lovely and if you walk along the river towards Rudesheim you can catch a cruise boat to one of the towns on the river, a good day out is Bacharach which also has some nice wines. We also use the local vet (Georg Petry) to have our dogs checked before we head for Calais and home. (Make sure he signs ALL the relevant pages of the doggy passport). Although the pitches on site are not clearly marked like the UK there is always enough room and we have never had a problem. Our granddaughter liked the swimming pool next door, our daughter liked the cruise on the Rhine and we love the quiet walks along the river with our dogs. Really love this site, thanks so much to the owners for the lovely stay each time we visit.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulontour 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 10 days at this wonderful site on the banks of the Rhine in Rudesheim. We were greeted by a very pleasant couple who booked us in and showed us to our pitch. We had a choice of four all in different positions and to be honest there wasn't much between them. We had plenty of room around our plot, we were really pleased with it. The shower block and toilets were spotlessly clean as good as any hotel you've been in, couldn't fault them. There is a small shop on site for the basic things you might need which is attached to a bar and cafe offering meals. A five minute car journey will take you to a Lidl and an Aldi for more serious food shopping. A twenty minute walk along the riverside takes you to the picturesque town of Rudesheim which is full of shops, bars and restaurants. Enjoy a river cruise. All within a short pleasant walk from the caravan site. Easily one of the best sites I've been on and without a doubt we shall be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gazmister123 32 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights heading further south. I was unsure when we first arrived that we were gong to the right place as you have to go through a sort of industrial estate to get there with a mac Donald's and several supermarkets, however don't let that put you off.

The site is literally next to the river (further away from the industrial estate) we were greeted by a friendly lady and then taken to a pitch by another member of staff. We had a lovely view of the river in front of us.

The site is immaculately kept, the grounds are lovely and the toilet block is probably the nicest I've ever been in, the owners clearly take a lot of pride in this place and it really shows.

The play area was fine for my children aged 10, a and 6 and I felt very safe here with them as the site is not massive.

It's a really quick walk or even quicker bike ride into the lovely town of Rudesheim, lots of nice little shops and very friendly people. It's also essential you try a rudesheim coffee too, they are amazing, (just don't drive after one), there is also a train station in the town although we did not catch the train so not sure where it goes to.

There is also a little bar /kiosk on site.

The site is next to a really nice outdoor pool. You have to pay for it but it was not expensive, there were diving boards, a toddler pool, a slide and this was also kept immaculately clean, there is also a play public play area nearby.

We would have loved to stayed longer and I think it's definitely a place we will return to.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doit 11 reviews from this member

Our third visit to this marvellous site. Very flat with a choice of shady or full sun pitches. Due to the time of year we opted for the former, and the site owner walks us to the pitch and strangely connects the mains electric for us. The plug in points are in a locked box so only the staff can connect or disconnect the electric. Not a problem just odd. Pitches are not marked with any lines or bushes but everyone is given adequate space but not loads so it can feel a bit crowded. We liked the relaxed feel this arrangement gives but others might disagree. Toilet blocks are very modern and plush with sparkly led lighting, mood music and even a water feature outside! Small play area for kids which we didn't use so cannot comment on. Shop was ok with reasonable stock of commonly needed items. Bar on site too but again we didn't use it although it did look rather nice! Views of the river from most pitches which is cool. Also English is spoken by staff members who made us feel very welcome.

Location is perfect for visiting Rudeshiem town. This is a very pretty old town with a surprising amount of interesting things to see and do. Most famous road in the town is the

Drosselgasse which is a bit of a tourist trap but very unique and well worth a visit. You can also buy a ticket for a ride on a cable car followed by a visit to Germania (a huge monument on top of the hills), then a woodland walk, then a chairlift back to the river and finally a boat ride back to the town - a great way to spend a lazy day! Lots of restaurants cafes and bars or varying price and quality - something for everyone! We stayed here for the Rudeshiem wine festival which is great - there is entertainment, food and local wines all available in the town square from early evening onwards. Very agreeable!

Further from the centre of town is the small railway station where we caught the train to Frankfurt. Reasonable price, efficient service and modern trains so nothing like the English service! Fantastic city to visit at any time of the year but when we were there the had an apple wine festival so we just had to try the local brew and a frankfurter or two. Also visited the old town which is very pretty.

If you like relaxed atmosphere and want to visit an old quaint German town located in a beautiful part of the world then this place is a must! Would we go back again? Definitely!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angry Dad 12 reviews from this member

Second visit for a few nights on the way back from the Alps and not disappointed. Arrived in 30 odd degree heat after a long drive from Austria and felt like we'd arrived home at once even though we were at the other end of the site.

As others have commented, the policy is for the owner to hook the electric up in a locked box but this isn't a problem at all.

Nor was the fact that the nearest toilet block doesn't have showers - plenty in the one by reception and never had to wait.

Facilities first class. Location perfect for gentle strolls into town (about a mile along the river).

Love it.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wanderer 44 reviews from this member

The site is beside the Rhine and a short walk along the river into Rudesheim am Rhine. The site is really well kept with water features and bronze statues around. There are some pitches overlooking the river and some pitches with hardstanding. Our pitch had water, electricity (16A) and drainage and there is a M/H service point. The toilets and showers have recently been refurbished to a very high standard and were very clean each with a baby changing area. Showers were free and during our stay and WiFi, which was available on our pitch but not all, was free but I think that because it was being tested and may not stay free after this year.

There was an outdoor swimming complex next door and boat trips galore from close by plus walks, cable cars and the very interesting and lively town all close. There was a cluster of supermarkets about 5min walk from the site.

Reception spoke good English and seemed very helpful when used.

Great site and ideal for short and especially for longer stays.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 67 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights and can also add to the very good comments, which everyone has said. The toilets are very clean and modern. Unfortunately the weather was not hot so the spa was closed. The town was touristy and worth a visit.

Finding the site is a feat in itself. My Sat Nav tried to take me over the level crossings in town. A big no no! So keep you wits about you when arriving from the north.

A very nice site

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angry Dad 12 reviews from this member

Great site. Booked for 7 nights with the Caravan Club (no hassle arrival - no need for ID or anything as it was prepaid) and extended by a night when we realised how good it was. We had a huge space, 16A electric and use of the fabulous toilet blocks which lived up to their billing - absolutely immaculate. We took advice and managed to avoid the low bridge, but also watch for Google sending you down a single lane road if coming from the Wiesbaden side. When we left we used the Bingen ferry which was really easy and saved a lot of time; others we spoke to had come down the valley from Koblenz and reported it being a bit of a chore.

Location - brilliant; of the 7 whole days there we needed the car once (Heidelberg 1. 5hrs) and walked or used public transport for the rest of the time. The train station is about 30 minutes walk and we went to Koblenz and Franfurt. For the latter we got a Hessen Card for 33 euros for 5 people which gave unlimited public transport for the day, including the trams while in the city.

15 minutes walk into town. 2 minutes to the pool complex (cheaper after 5), which the kids loved. We got a round trip ticket from the site for the cable car from town to the monument, a chairlift down to Asmanshausen and the boat trip back to Rudesheim. It's about a half hour walk through the woods to the chairlift and there was a small deer reserve there where the kids enjoyed feeding the inhabitants.

Wine - cheap and good, especially with the festival being on in the town square but the Aldi, Lidl, Rewe and Getranke offering were all good. Beer - weissbier (dunkel or straight)if you don't fancy lager. Brandy - Asbach visitor centre is worth a visit but is literally a short film about Asbach and shop. But the product is lovely and cheaper here than in the shops.

I give this site 10 across the board, though the playground is quite limited and no good for our eldest (13) and there can be some noise at night from the cruise ships which occasionally park up overnight beside the site and from the trains - the line isn't next to the site but can be heard on accasion.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Germany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4550 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019