Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Country View Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Darlington > Country View Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Country View Caravan And Camping Site
The Countryman Pub
Dunwell Lane
Bolam
Darlington
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL2 2UW
Tel: 01388 832418
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynzfitz 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, big pitches, well marked, hardstanding + plus roadway, and plenty of grass.

Beautiful views, and very peaceful when we were there! Easy access form A1. Pub does great food, as per the on-line menu, and the carvery has to be seen to be believed!

Definitely booking advisable. Friendly staff, very accommodating.

Shower and loos very basic, but always spotless. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarinkov 5 reviews from this member

 Nice tidy site. Large pitches and not busy so although no specific play area, kids were able to play cricket and have a kickabout without disturbing anyone.

Facilities quite basic but clean and tidy. Didn't eat in the pub, no shops in the village but supermarkets, McDonalds and pub chains very close by so didn't go without.

Surrounding area is great, lots to do - Beamish, Bishop Auckland, Binchester Roman Fort to mention a few.

Cheap site and good for a few nights if basic facilities are all you need. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diesel2000 2 reviews from this member

 This site could be so much better, its such a pity because its kind of like an episode of Bullseye where you see what you 'Could have won' or in this case what the site 'Could have been'.

Firstly I'm not being over critical as the site is cheap enough and has electric but there are a few issues that really bugged us.

1. The site isnt that far from a quarry and all we heard until the early hours was the reversing beepers of wagons, although these weren't loud enough to keep you awake they are an irritation.

2. We arrived on the Saturday, the toilets had no hand roll in them and still had none when we left on Sunday.

3. The single shower room drainage is poor and the light wasn't working while we were there.

4. The toilet is a communal one, not too much of an issue when the place is quiet but it will be a bit uncomfortable when its busy.

5. Theres the remains of a play area smashed up at the side of the field, why this isnt either rebuilt for kids to play on or removed to stop kids wanting to climb is a bit puzzling.

6. Theres absolutely nothing to do here, we booked because its at the back of a pub and thought we could at least wander to the bar, but the pub shuts at weird hours (4pm on a Sunday and very early evenings midweek).

Sorry if the review sounds all negative, but for a family break I couldn't recommend this place. It needs a good tidy up and some investment. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speaker12 24 reviews from this member

 The site is pretty much a field behind a country pub with a couple of cabins with loos and a shower. A very nice location, fields of horses/sheep on three sides. It wasn't busy and the pitches are fairly large anyway.

Food in the pub was very good on the one night I tried it (the famous Friday night buffet) and you get 2 off if you're camping. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

There aren't any shops in the immediate vicinity but you're not that far away from supermarkets if you so desire.

Plenty to see nearby, the railway museum at Shildon was good as was Beamish (around 40 minutes away). There are also several nice walks to do from the site.

A great spot for a quiet few days break if you're not bothered about having loads of facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitch75 1 review from this member

 We have stayed here twice and on both occasions, the camp site has been clean and tidy. There is no park but the surroundings are beautiful very peaceful, my children loved it here

The shower and toilets have been clean and tidy too.

The pub is a very nice inside and out, the staff are great, very polite and friendly. We have eaten a few times and the food is very nice. You don't have long to wait for your food either. The service is great. We will be going back. I would recommend this site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MAMAMIAAUDREY 1 review from this member

 Grassy site in quiet village. Behind pub-restaurant. We were there for 4 days.

Buffet Friday night good as was Sunday lunch. Very short opening hours 12-2, 5. 30-8. 30 weekdays closed Monday's. Sunday12-5. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Toilets and shower available but grubby when we arrived and not cleaned while we were there.

Grass was cut while we were there too close to caravans covering our belongings, car and caravan with wet grass and cuttings which walked into van not good!Spoke to manageress who apologised and offered us a free night on our next visit (if we go again). Playground appears to have been demolished leaving unsightly, unsafe unfenced areas. Not a good image.

Unfortunately no shop in village. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MikeyBe 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely quiet weekend away here.

We arrived on late Friday After work and told where our pitch was, in a large field behind the pub. It appears all the pitches are grass, with most having electric hook up available.

All facilities are basic but functional. There's a communal toilet and shower in a portacabin closed to the pub, along with waste and chemical disposal.

The pub itself is really a restaurant - all the tables are laid out for eating. The food though was well received and good value for money.

All in all, we'll had a great weekend away and will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesdodds 1 review from this member

 Field behind the pub, in bolam, Be aware of sharp turn into pub car park, its a bit tight.

Quiet, friendly, great views,

Electric hook up and waste. Spot on.

Nice local walks and close to shildon railway museum. Pub does great food and ale, and the owners are very helpful and friendly. You get great value for money. Get in early for Sunday lunch carvery, as it gets busy.

Big play area for kids. Well priced for the facilities unlike a lot of site wanting lake disrict fees for minimum facilities, Recommended by me for a cheap getaway from the crowds.

It is a field behind the pub, so don't expect to have it all laid on. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PhilAndi 3 reviews from this member

 My partner and I visited the Countryman last week as we had a new tent to try out and thought we'd go somewhere local. This pub is 10 minutes away from us in the village of Bolam. I hadn't been to Bolam before and was pleasantly surprised.

This site is basically a field behind a pub. The field is flat and was well mown. The pub does great food and real ale. We didn't make it in time for the specials which are buy 2 meals for 9.95 but what we did eat was lovely and also great value, as was the beer.

There's a fairly large good play area behind the pub which leads on to the camping field.

There are no toilets / showers as yet though we were told by the friendly bar staff that there are plans for them. We used the pub during the day and at night we had made provision.

They take tents and caravans here and say they still plan to take tents when they update the site. It was 5 per tent per night to pitch.

We will definitely be returning soon and will take the children next time. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Country View Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Country View Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Country View Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Darlington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3193 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement