Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mountain Edge Camping And Pods

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Shropshire > Church Stretton > Mountain Edge Camping And Pods > Reviews

Mountain Edge Camping And Pods
The Station Inn
Marshbrook
Church Stretton
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY6 6QE
Tel: 01694 781515
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6 pods
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 23 Reviews
                7/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Mbmad 1 review from this member

 Stayed at the Station Inn in one of the camping pods which was great - however not as pictured on web site. Site has very good facilities with new showers and toilets but possibly not enough when busy.

Steps really steep - not good if you have a few bevvies! No cafe as stated on website - pub ok but not fine dining as promised, average food. Good site on whole but noisy at night - with trains running very early and a poor view.

We arrived late to find no-one on site at 10.30pm so be warned. 


Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jofenner 1 review from this member

 We rented a pod for a few days while we visited Shropshire. Firstly, the quality of the pods are wonderful - the size & warmth of our pod was by far the best we have found this year. The owners & lads in the shop were extremely helpful, couldn't have been better in fact.

I think if you enjoy a quiet holiday resting by your tent/caravan then perhaps it wouldn't be the right place for you, but if you're looking for a great base, somewhere to rest your head after a long days walking or cycling, it would be perfect.

Loos/shower block clean, very nice pub next door. Shropshire itself, well that was just beautiful :-) 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Figaro64 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic stay at this site. We stayed in a pod, which was clean, spacious and very warm. The toilet and shower facilities were clean and bright, with plenty of hot water.

The Station Inn pub was truly excellent, both in terms of the fabulous food and the exceptional service. All the staff of both the camp site and the inn were very friendly and accommodating.

We took our little dog with us and the site was very accommodating of him. Most of the other people staying in the pods were either young families or cycling groups. We had been a little worried that we would be the only non-sporty types there, but this was not the case and everybody seemed happy and relaxed during their stay.

Would definitely choose this site again. 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LilMissS 8 reviews from this member

 Decided to book into a pod at the Station Inn as most of the other sites in the country had closed for the winter and fancied a change from the Lakes.

Almost cancelled the booking after reading some of the earlier reviews on here but remembered that some of the other sites I've stayed at had negative comments but I'd had no problems with them. Site was easy to find, just off the A49, reception area is within the bike shop and they stayed open til we arrived (6pm).

Was a relief to know that there was heat and light in the pod after a surprise at another site just a couple of weeks earlier when there was none!

Pod was clean and located facing the pub overflow car park which might be an issue in the summer with light nights etc but as we're now in winter there was no issue with being gawped at as some had reported earlier.

Shower and toilet block now fully open and clean, my only issue with this was that the lock on the entry door didn't always engage and with the building facing away from the pods I did get a bit jumpy when nipping across late at night.

Pub was nice but lacked some good dark real ales for my other half and was a bit steep price wise but not overly so. Staff on reception and in pub were polite and not invasive.

The only downside was that there was no pot wash, so had to take my washing up bowl into the ladies and balance it on the sink which is far from ideal.I also think that if the pods and camp site are full then it would be a bit of a wait for showers/toilets as there were only 2!

On the upside there are some fantastic walks/cycle routes on the doorstep and we will definitely be back next year. Give these guys a chance and don't be put off by some of the earlier reviews. 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: SallyM.1 1 review from this member

 WOW, what can I say about this place?

After reading the mixed reviews me and my family just decided to go for it, we are all keen mountain bikers and walkers so we thought this place would be ideal, we stayed in there 'pods' they were absolutely fantastic! The toilet and shower block had just been completed, the lads did a good job of keeping them clean and tidy, it must be hard with it being a camp site, and with all the rain about as well!

The shop was well stocked, tidy and the lads that were working there were very friendly, professional and helpful! My son had to hire a bike and Ben soon got on to setting him up with a bike with out any trouble!

We were then taken on a guided ride by Will, he was fantastic, he gave us lots of tips and advice! the next day we thought we wold go on our own, so the lads gave us a map (that they themselves and the owner put together) and recommended a couple of routes, fantastic! I could go on for ages I just couldn't fault it or them!

Both nights we stayed we ate in the pub, what fabulous food and drink, that is what I call a fine dining experience, the staff were friendly,the food was cooked to perfection everything was perfect!

Me and my family will definitely be going back, and we have recommended to our friends who are also keen mountain bikers! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Missyljd 1 review from this member

 Well after reading some of the reviews we thought we would take a flyer on this one.

Lets get one thing straight from the out set. We were not booking a 5* Hotel.

We had a great time & thought the site was great.

So what the toilet facility wasn't the best but we found it clean & it did the job, we have stayed at sites with a lot worse facilities that were permanent. The owners son Ben showed us around the new shower block due to open at the end of September, it looks great and also has a family shower & toilet.

The pub was very welcoming and always seemed quite busy with locals and tourists.

We hired some bikes from the shop that were very good quality and reasonably priced, the climb onto the hill was tough but the views on top of the Longmynd were some of the best in the country.

Church stretton is a nice little town with plenty of pubs & coffee shops, how ever the best pub was on our door step.

These Guys deserve a real chance they look like they have worked really hard & have obviously had some bad luck with the building of the provisions. The vision is great for this site and we cant wait to re visit in February. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Will1 1 review from this member

 I found the site on the internet and then rang up and booked a pod! On arrival I saw the pods and they looked fantastic.

After a brief chat with one of the lads at reception I was shown to my pod which was pod 2 at the top! Very nicely located in the woodland with a bench and umbrella to hand, perfect for a glass of wine at night time.

The facilities were temporary in a porta cabin but were well kept. We were informed that the new purpose built ones will be ready by the end of September. We enjoyed an evening meal at the pub/restaurant on site which was brilliant never been to a 'Butchery and Grill' night before but it was excellent!

No sign of microwave veg though just a great evening! We also had a drink with the owner, Richard I think! who told us about future plans to expand and develop the site. But all in all a great long weekend with lovely surroundings and by the sounds of it things will only get better. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Hobgoblin 1 review from this member

 This place is not what it says on the tin… It is a new site (end July 2010). We booked on the basis that the site website painted a very appealing picture of modern, clean facilities in a picturesque setting. The reality for us was that the male and female facilities each consisted of one shower, one very-small hand basin and a toilet. Housed in dilapidated trailer in the car park.

The owner told us on arrival “that they [the facilities] were a temporary measure and although not ideal; they were clean and functional”. This was not our experience. The shower and toilet remained soiled for the duration of our stay and was not cleaned satisfactorily at any point during the weekend. There was no running hot water in the men’s side of the trailer.

The location of the camping pods was also a bit of a shock… Rather than the picturesque woodland enclave we were expecting: We found ourselves overlooking the pub car park. In addition to not being the nicest of views, we were frequently subjected to people standing in the car park and gawping at us while we ate our meal or generally went about our business.

Pods themselves were excellent. Much more spacious than the norm, with good interior & exterior lighting, and (probably due to the lack of use) they were very clean and tidy. This site is ideally located and will cater well for the biking fraternity, but may not be so well suited to families (particularly with young children)

I am a regular camper with 20 years experience of camping in tents and, more recently pods. I have never previously felt it necessary to write a review, but in this case feel that if the people at ‘Shropshire Camping and Pods’ don’t get a very strong steer from the outset, there will be many more dissatisfied customers in the future.

Owners, if you are reading:

• Sort the website out; it is very misleading – the pods overlook a car park, are very close to a railway line and offer very little privacy.

• There are much better temporary toilet facilities available for hire. If you are marketing your facility at the upper end of the market; it would give a much better impression if you were seen to be trying to promote the same ethos of high quality provision during this period of contingency.

• The bike shop seems to take priority over the more basic provisions. It is extremely annoying to see someone sitting with their feet up at the shop counter when they could be better utilised with some bleach and a cloth in your filthy toilets. During this time of contingency and inadequate sanitary provision you should consider a full time cleaner for the trailer!

• If you are going to provide breakfast in the bar for guest using the camping facilities. You really should make sure the bar and more importantly the toilets have been cleaned from the night before.

• Less important, but nonetheless extremely irritating, is that you purport to offer a fine dining experience with a fabulous selection of wine. I am told the food is great, but the wine available by the glass are at the very lowest end of the quality spectrum (to me undrinkable). You endorse a premium high quality coffee in the bar and the shop and yet you serve cheap instant coffee with your breakfasts. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Marl1 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic time. The overall service was fantastic. We have small children, we were all looked after very well. The pub, restaurant is great, the food is fantastic great, beer and the coffee is proper coffee,

The pods are a new venture, WOW, they are great, must stay in those at some time look great fun. The mountain bike shop is fab what a shop.

The new toilet block was not finished but had a look at them and could see what they were going to be like looks very nice. Over all will be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckied 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 nights in a tent. It is ideally placed for Church Stretton/Little Stretton.

Whilst the temporary shower facilities weren't ideal we had received an email from the owner beforehand to warn us. We found them to be clean and well stocked with loo roll etc. Women's shower was really warm but men's was stone cold but the owners hope to have the new block completed asap following building problems. Staff were happy to wash up for us in the pub.

The tent field is further away from the railway than the pods and we weren't really affected by the noise but were woken every morning by sheep and there was minimal road noise. All the pitches were flat and well drained and we were told we could pitch anywhere.

The pub is very handy and the staff very friendly. The food was average pub fare but large portions for the price.

I think the site will be much better once the facilities have been completed and is perfect if you want to hire a bike. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mountain Edge Camping And Pods child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mountain Edge Camping And Pods?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Mountain Edge Camping And Pods dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Church Stretton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3032 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement