Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mountain Edge Camping And Pods

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Church Stretton > Mountain Edge Camping And Pods Reviews

Mountain Edge Camping And Pods
The Station Inn
Marshbrook
Church Stretton
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY6 6QE
Tel: 01694 781515
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6 pods
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 23 Reviews
                7/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Procjc 14 reviews from this member

 Found this place whilst staying in Bishops Castle the previous year. Great spot for exploring the Shropshire Hills on foot/bike – you don’t have to use the car all weekend. Well equipped bike shop/bike wash and workshop on-site. We stayed in a pod for a few nights in October to MTB the Long Mynd - it was chilly but our pod was more than warm enough overnight! Loo/shower facilities were clean albeit probably not enough to go around if the campsite was full. Two washing up sinks tucked away behind the loo block, open to the elements and slightly overgrown – I suspect most people staying in the pods eat in the pub rather than self cater. Small amount of road noise experienced, you’d probably hear more if you were in a tent. We ate in the pub (twice) during our stay, friendly atmosphere, log burner and great food – hearty pub grub, just what you need after a day walking/cycling the Shropshire Hills. I understand the owner plans to scale down the camping site of things to concentrate on DofE groups, retains the pods and build some luxury wooden chalets over Winter 2015. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper1234578 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely location let down by poor facilities.

Pros - good level pitch, quiet, peaceful.

Cons - limited facilities, one gents toilet, two showers, meant queues.

Lovely walks nearby, pub on site part of the business has free wifi, parked in church Stretton and took the rectory walk, nice easy family friendly walk.

Would love to return but I would expect a larger toilet block considering the number of campers and pod users that were using the site, when we were there it was full. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Landie D 1 review from this member

 We stayed at The Station Inn Campsite for one night at the weekend. The site was great!

We camped in the field at the back of the pub with only a short walk to the toilet block, this was accessed by a coded door. The toilets and shower area's were spotlessly clean.

We had dinner in the pub, the food was excellent quality and great value for money - my husband said it was the best steak pie he'd ever had! The bar staff were welcoming and friendly and there was a relaxed atmosphere.

We will definitely be staying there again and would recommend it 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MTBFiend 2 reviews from this member

 Heavy rain had been falling the day of arrival and we had to drive through/around an enormous puddle to get onto the camping field, the pitches are well spaced with plenty of space in the middle. Pitches 1 -10 run along the bottom near the stream so the ground is very soft, 12 upwards are on much higher ground but you cannot park your car right next to you tent as there a steep bank up to the pitches. The walk to the toilet block was very muddy the whole time, and unlit.

There is no water tap on the site itself, you have to walk back to to the shower block and use the bike wash tap.

The Toilets and showers.

There are 2 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies, 50% of the times I used the loo's there was no toilet paper in either. The hand drier only pumps out cold air.

The showers had no shelf and only one peg on the back of the door to hang your stuff, if you left it on the floor it got wet! The showers were always hot but the push button stopped the water the second you let go, so rinsing your hair or trying to wash under running water meant a contortion act to keep one hand on the push. The floor got soaked and there was no where to sit to dry your feet etc, No mop or bucket to clean up with and it did get filthy.

There is no power point for a hair drier and the hand drier only pumps out cold air, which meant sitting in my tent with long wet hair on a cool evening.

The washing up area was def an after thought, not room to swing a cat, no hot water, no shelves to put your stack of dried stuff. The person at the first sink has to leave the area so the second person can get in and out!

The food in the pub is pretty good, my steaks were perfectly cooked and we always left full. Breakfast in the cafe was very good with generous portions, I had a omelette which was excellent.

Would I go back? No, the showers and loo's are not up to the number of muddy campers. We were there to go Mountain biking so at the end of the day we were achy, tired and needed sleep, we had 2 families who had linked there tents on the pitches next to us, they had 4 children under 4 years old, the parents stayed up talking till gone 1am and the kids woke at 5. 30am, and they let them scream. Why you would stay there with little ones I don't know, there is nothing for them to do. The road is very noisy with fast traffic, I could find milk in the bike shop but no other provisions that had been mentioned, like meat, bread etc.

The car park is great to use for MBing, but that's it. There is a bike wash, and a well stocked biking shop with hire bikes, but beware it is a long long steep slog to the top on the mynd. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Minniemoose 12 reviews from this member

 Booked this last minute as the only campsite in the area with pitches available. Asked about a hardstanding pitch which they didn't have but was assured the ground was very hard so would not be a problem. After a day of rain we got stuck in the mud in the field. Luckily some of the other campers pushed us out.

Nice field, ideal for tents, not motorhomes or caravans as there is a tight gap between the shop and the stream on entry to the campsite, also the car park for the pub/shop is set in a way that visitors can almost block the exit.

The toilets were lovely, very clean and lovely and warm, the showers were great, powerful with hot water.

There was no élsan to empty the toilet or waste container. The washing up area looked like an afterthought also. Tucked in tightly behind the toilets with room for just 2 people.

The staff I didn't find particularly friendly. There was a park/assault course that had a gate on. The children were told they cold not play on it, it had to be hired out. Which I thought was a bit harsh, but I did find the site was not very family friendly.

We decided to leave as the weather forecast was not very good, we stopped first for Sunday lunch at the pub, the carvery was very good, and staff in the pub very pleasant.

The site itself is located in a beautiful area, we rode our bikes up to long mynd, fantastic views from the top. We will be returning to this area but not to this campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jet675 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed in a camping pod for two nights, what can I say a fantastic concept.

The site amenities are in excellent order and the stay was made even better as the food at the station inn is amazing and well worth a vist if only for dinner.

The staff are friendly and chatty which always make for a lovely atmosphere. The recent addition of a cafe is a bonus for this site as it means you could near enough forget your camping stove all together.

The facilities on site include a fully comprehensive bike shop in which you can hire out good quality mountain bikes to use on the fantastic trails of the nearby long mynd. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenclamp 1 review from this member

 Excellent location for walkers wishing to explore the Long Mynd.

Campsite is adequate but cannot really say that about the toilets and showers. The shower block was clean and modern but VERY small considering the number of pitches and pods.

Having a shower was a bit of a challenge because there was nowhere to put clothes/toilet bag whilst in the shower - just one hook on the back of the door. I suspect the owners have never tried having a shower or they would easily see opportunities for improvement.

The washing area for pots and pans was clearly an afterthought, hidden behind the shower block with poor access - there was only cold water.

Food at the pub/restaurant was excellent - thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oojy 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this campsite for the first time and would not go back. The reception was clear and booking in was clear and easy.

The pitch was of ample size for our 6 berth tent and the site was quite empty. When pitching our tent the ground itself was soft but tent pegs became hard to hammer down (many bent as a result) due to pieces of hard substance under the layer of grass.

There are only 2 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies and only 1 toilet cubicle and 2 showers in the mens. Please note that these showers are also used by the returning mountain bikers who return at the end of a days ride and are not just there for the use of the campers. As a result, between 6pm and 7pm on the Saturday evening the gents showers were heaving. My son decided to wait it out and as a result had a freezing cold shower at 7pm.

The ladies toilets on the Sunday morning were still dirty from the Saturday evening with muddy floors.

There are 2 sinks for washing up with a hot tap but no water comes from this so its either washing in cold water or filling in the toilet block.

Staff were helpful and let us put our freezer blocks into the ice cream fridge and loaned us a foot pump when we realised ours was still in the garage.

The site was a little noisy late at night and although there is a sign stating 'No Noise' there is no one around to endorse this.

There is a pub which is part of the campsite but we did not use it so cannot comment. Nothing else around the campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marj simpson 2 reviews from this member

 After reading other reviews about the site, we decided to give it a go and we were glad we did. A brilliant site with good facilities, clean toilets and showers and a socket for hairdryer. Could do with a mirror nearby though.

We had the campsite to ourselves for 2 nights, which was great. The food at The Station Inn was wonderful, good, tasty food and good portion size. We had 3 courses, all good, the main was trout, the nicest one we had eaten in a long while.

The only downer was no hot water in the washing up sinks, but solved it by getting hot water from sinks in shower room.

We would certainly recommend this campsite, especially if, like us you are walkers, and if you like mountain biking. You can't go wrong! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susie69 12 reviews from this member

 We arrived having booked two pitches, one for a tent and one for a caravan (there is no electric hookup but we were pre-warned about this prior to booking) When we arrived we had to negotiate the caravan through a very narrow gap in order to get on/off the site. We managed but it may not suit really large caravans.

When we got there the owners son (who was lovely) realised there had been a mistake with our booking and they had booked us onto one of the upper pitches which you would not be able to get onto with a caravan. To be fair they quickly sorted us out with another pitch but it did mean that we were unable to have two adjacent pitches with our friends.

The site was full of children playing (which was fine however my caravan and car got hit several times with a cricket ball)

The shop sold ice creams which was very welcome on a hot sunny day and they were reasonable prices.

The toilets/showers were outstanding, really clean and free hot showers.

The washing up facilities only had cold water which was not very good really especially as cooked breakfasts produce greasy pans which are impossible to clean in cold water.

We ate one night in the restaurant which was OK but not brilliant. The menu was quite limited, if you like steaks then you are in for a treat but if you are a salad type person there is nothing there for you really.

The food was ok, but the service was very slow and the restaurant lacked atmosphere.

The pub side was really nice with friendly staff.

A really bonus is there is a caravan shop just next to the pub so when you run out of gas etc it is a short walk.

Will I go again? Yes - very friendly people who are a pleasure to do business with  


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mountain Edge Camping And Pods child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mountain Edge Camping And Pods?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Mountain Edge Camping And Pods dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Church Stretton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4549 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement