Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lyons Gate Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Dorchester > Lyons Gate Caravan Park > Reviews

Lyons Gate Caravan Park
Cerne Abbas
Dorchester
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT2 7AZ
Tel: 01300 345260
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 02/02/2024 to 22/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jopavey 1 review from this member

 We booked the site to provide us with fishing and internet and it delivered both although BT and Vodafone mobiles do not receive a signal but I believe Orange does.

It had all that we needed for our stay and the people in the static holiday homes/caravans were all very friendly and had plenty of tips to give regarding the fishing.

The site facilities are not modern but still delivers value for money. You pay for electric, washing facilities as you go but 20p buys you plenty of hot water for a shower and they don't appear to be over charging for the electric although you would not to be there in the winter using an electric heater.

No local shops but the site shop kept basic provisions if you needed them but no daily newspaper or daily delivery of fresh bread etc. There is a local pub but realistically you would need to take the car but it was worth while as the food was good. Overall a very quite, peaceful site which does not have modern facilities but that reflects in the cost and dogs are welcome.

I would not hesitate to go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peggy Corps 2 reviews from this member

 Having read some of the previous blogs, I was glad I had already booked otherwise I might not have gone.

What a cracker of a site and believe me we've been on a few in our 35 years of caravanning.

Very quiet(a few duck noises), clean and looked well kept.

We are not into fishing but it looked like the fisherman were well pleased.

Showers, washing up hot water, hair drier, 20p slots.

Plenty long enough for a good shower.

Electricity on meter with £1 cards.

2 miles from Cerne Abbas Giant - but markings very poor at the moment which meant you could hardly see the outline.

Chocolate box villages everywhere and beautiful scenery.

The Greyhound at Sydlington St. Nicholas, Mintern Magna gardens and Sherborne all well worth a visit.

Did not have time for the castle but as we will definitely be going again, we'll save that one.

About 20 minutes to Yeovil and the same to Dochester.

A lovely part of the world.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Francis10 1 review from this member

 Well reading the last review I was most upset, what a load of coblers.

Yes, the owner was having some work done, but he explained what he was doing when we booked in, he explained due to the weather being so bad this season he had to take advantage of the bit of good weather before the bank holiday & put in some drainage to stop some big puddles from surrounding the motorhome pitches nearest the large lake, a major improvement I think. - they had it done in a day.

Yes, there was some potholes in the road (was being the operative word)another day and that was sorted. I was up by 8am and the machines did not bother me nor the fishing & they were gone by 5pm, in fact most of the time you were oblivious to them. I believe this was a one off & does not happen normally

The site is basic & as someone else has said the hot water & showers cost 20p but what do you want when it only cost us £14 per night in august the height of the season ??

Site was clean & tidy, grass mowed lovely, toilets sparkling & clean, I was told a new shower block was planned for this winter for the ladies (nothing wrong the the existing the wife said). I do not know what some people want for £14 per night but we will definitely be back for a longer stay next season. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul Tanneth 1 review from this member

 OK, mixed feelings here, but I definitely won't be back, make of that as you will. I live in the country so am quite happy with country noises. What I do not appreciate is the owner doing noisy maintenance with a digger at 8:30 in the morning for a couple of hours. If I wanted to camp on a building site. Other sites that I've used have always done this kind of major work outside of season, not in the height of it!

I noticed someone said that they got 5 minutes for their 20p. Well I'm a bloke and I don't hang around in the shower. I reckon I got about 2 minutes, maybe 3. Hence a second 20p to finish washing my hair. And I have never come across a site where they have a pay meter for washing up in hot water.

There are signs all over the place about not wasting water; I couldn't afford to. On the plus side, the showers are clean, but the basins in the loos are too small to wash up in without making a lot of mess.

I got a bit fed up with someone having their radio blaring so loud that even with earplugs in I could hear it.

The pitches are large, but just kind of scruffy with weeds growing up through the semi-hard standings. The road has plenty of potholes as someone else has said.

Yes the owner was reasonably helpful, but that doesn't make up for the deficiencies such as the potholes, the noisy fishermen and the road noise. Not coming back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louise6921 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights with EHU and had a fab time. Its a lovely place to chill out at and relax. We had 2 adults and 2 children and they enjoyed it too.

Its quiet, peaceful and tranquil.

Yes hot water isn't free but 20p showered both my children 9yrs and 2yrs. There was never a queue for the showers and this was well worth 20p in my opinion!

Lovely little shop, games room and lovely owners. What more can you want from a little peaceful campisite

Cant wait to return to a back to basics quiet holiday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tedkay 4 reviews from this member

 Well when I read the disparaging remarks some other reviewers of this site have made I thought I must have clicked on the wrong link, because many of the comments are simply untrue, and others describe a site that bears no resemblance to the Lyons Gate my wife and I visited! We’ve been camping for over 40 years, and this site is without doubt one of the very best we have ever had the pleasure to visit.

The owners couldn’t be more friendly and helpful, and that friendliness is shared by the fishing bailiff Dave and his wife Julie.

On our arrival we were welcomed by the owner who walked down to our pitch with us, helped us to position the caravan and level it, showed us how the electric meter works and gave us a brief description of the site facilities, local attractions, walks etc.

Our pitch was adjacent to one of the four lakes and we sat and had a cup of tea by the lake before setting up our awning. Within minutes several ducks appeared waddling along the lakeside bank, and unlike some other reviewers who seemed to be offended by their ‘noisy’ clucking we were delighted to see them – it’s what we expect to encounter deep in the countryside !

We had our cuppa and started to put up our full awning – with a bit of difficulty due to the wind that had got up. Stuart reappeared and without hesitation grabbed a couple of poles and gave us a hand to finish erecting it – engaging us in some of his friendly banter as he did so. Our pitch was wide enough to accommodate our caravan and full awning and still leave us with a three metre wide grassed area outside the awning – hardly what one could call cramped ! We also had the grassed area by the lake at our disposal and indeed we set up out table and dined there with the next door neighbours on a couple of occasions.

There was a freshwater point a few yards away from us, accessing which required me to cross the firmly compacted hardcore roadway, a feat I managed without falling down any of the ‘potholes’ another reviewer mentioned (the surface is slightly uneven, that’s the nature of this type of surface, but there certainly were no deep holes, and anyway any other surface such as tarmac would be completely out of keeping with the country atmosphere of the site). It did rain very hard on one of the days we were there and the roadway dried out in no time thanks to the clever drainage system.

We then explored a bit, walking round the four lakes with their immaculately kept grassed banksides which are interspersed with reeds and shrubs resulting in a delightful aspect, and wandered through the woodland around the perimeter, through the orchard, past the ducks and geese and chickens and pigs. It was lovely!

The fishing was great, with a great selection of fish some of which are of an impressive size, and it is reasonably priced at £5. 00 for two rods for from first light to 9pm. The fish can't be that clever though because even I caught some!

All the facilities you need are here: Elsan, Washup Area, Washing Machines/Driers etc. Etc all clean and in working order. The shower/toilet blocks are sparkling clean and brightly painted throughout. The cubicles are huge. Yes it did cost 20p for a shower, and yes it is a good idea to get undressed before you put your money into the meter (which is inside the cubicle so your modesty is preserved!) I had plenty of time to thoroughly shower before the 20p ran out

There was a plentiful supply of toilet rolls, shaving sockets and lights over the sinks.

There were tents on the grass area adjacent to the entrance driveway. But you know what, that didn’t bother us a bit, it’s what we expect to see on a campsite.

There is a large 5 MPH speed limit sign at the entrance to the site.

‘The children's play area is situated off the main drive, away from sight, so you can't keep an eye on them while playing. ’

Yes so it is – to keep the kids as far away from the driveway as possible you see - And yes you can keep an eye on them if you need to, you just have to move yourself to where you can see them !

‘Not much to do in the area, okay if you want to fish all day, lots of fish were caught on our trip. Nearest pub by walking was 45 mins. ’

Not much to do in the area. So ignore then: The famous Cerne Abbas Giant; Rolling hills and stunning country walks; Local towns of Dorchester, Yeovil, Weymouth, and beautiful coastlines with sandy beaches. Other local attractions like: Dinosaur Museum; Teddy Bear Museum; Teracotta Warriors; Tutankhamun Exibition; Tour of Hardy's Dorset.

The local family pub and restaurant is excellent – it took us 20 minutes at a leisurely walking pace to get there.

In fact this site is ideally placed in some of Dorsets’ most beautiful countryside.

‘The reception was a garden shed. Selling the bare essentials’

The shop is tiny. It is there as a convenience for people who may have forgotten some basic item. Luckily enough, there are shops aplenty in the local towns.

This is a lovely place run by lovely people who put in an incredible amount of work to keep it so beautiful. We originally booked for 6 days and ended up staying 10, and only left then because the site was fully booked. We will be going back as soon as they can fit us in again.

The atmosphere is warm and relaxed 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fieldy Campers 2 reviews from this member

 Having read both reviews below, I had mixed feelings before arriving on this site.

All tents are situated along either side of the drive which is very dusty, the tent pitches are marked out clearly, but if you have a big tent - beware as you don't have a lot of space between you & your neighbours!

Showers are not free - 20p for 5 mins (also you need to be prepared to be undressed to put the 20p in the slot which is located outside the s/cubicle to get it started) also hot water for washing up is not free - again 20p. Electricity is bought on £1 cards, which you need to keep an eye on it in case it runs out.

The children's play area is situated off the main drive, away from sight, so you can't keep an eye on them while playing.

Shower & toilet blocks very clean & were all in good working order, although hot water is limited when washing hands.

Not much to do in the area, okay if you want to fish all day, lots of fish were caught on our trip. Nearest pub by walking was 45 mins.

We don't mind countryside noise as we live in the country, however, the chickens were adjacent to us & it was extremely noisy.

The owners were very friendly/helpful, but just

Felt all the above let the site down, yes its cheap but we've paid cheaper & got unlimited electric, free showers, free hot water for washing dishes, had huge amounts of space between neighbours & lots of room for the kids to run & cycle about (This site did not welcome cycling or ball games in the caravan park area).

Unfortunately, its not a site we would go back to. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lyons gate 1 review from this member

 I read the last review from pudding face & I have to say that as a regular user of lyons gate, I do agree with some details, i.e the road, however the rest of the site is above expectations especially the staff help.

Being in the countryside - you expect to hear the wildlife - the showers were all working (all 4) yes they are 20p but that's quite expected when the site fee was only £12.50 per night for a bank holiday weekend & my wife thoroughly enjoyed her shower.

I measured my pitch size as well as some others & found them to be above the minimum size required by law as to tents being close together again they had the same if not more room. I been on other sites on bank holidays & found my caravan / awning to be squeezed right next to another caravan.

Facilities for children, well my kids found the play area & had a great time in the woods, I believe that a small games room is planned for 2011.

To finish the site is basic, it is clean, well maintained but the cost per night reflects that, if you want more facilities then expect to pay over the odds somewhere else 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Puddingface 3 reviews from this member

 Initial impressions of this site were poor.

The long drive way was full of potholes and either side of the drive was lined with tents, pitched in close proximity to each other. The reception was a garden shed. Selling the bare essentials. We had booked for 6 nights over a bank holiday period so we expected the site to be busy, we were not disappointed. We were shown to our pitch and the staff were very friendly and helpful, helping us manoeuvre the caravan into position. We were next to one of the four fishing lakes on site. Again the pitches are very small hardly room to put a full awning up, plus the car. Luckily we only had the porch awning with us. There are a lot of pitches used for predominately sited caravans. With a couple of static vans.

The potholes continue around the road on site, which is not limited to one way or an advisory speed limit. The hard standing pitches are of gravel not concrete. Electric is paid for on a card which you can top up at reception.

The facilities are kept clean, but drab There is a new shower block for men. The ladies shower block of 4 (only 2 were working during our visit) Showers cost 20p and run for 5mins, but the coinbox is outside the cubicle and the showers start as soon as the money drops - so you have to be undressed and ready for action! The cubicles are tiny and there is only one hook on the back of the door, for your clothes. There is a separate toilet block

We were very lucky with the weather, the sun shone every day for us, which meant the road around site was very dusty, and used frequently as the fishing is available to non residents.

Fishing cost £5 for a daily ticket - no half days. There are no facilities for children. The site is very dark at night so take a torch with you. The wild life is very noisy from about 4am, ducks wandering freely around site there are also Peacocks and chickens located close by.

To sum up we used this site as a base, we visited the Dorset Steam fair and had a fantastic day out. There are plenty of places within easy travelling distance to visit. We thought the site very basic - if the weather had been wet then the potholes would have been huge puddles. Good site for fishing, although we enjoyed our stay we shall not be returning. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lyons Gate Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lyons Gate Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lyons Gate Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dorchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5012 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement