Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lyons Gate Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Dorchester > Lyons Gate Caravan Park > Reviews

Lyons Gate Caravan Park
Cerne Abbas
Dorchester
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT2 7AZ
Tel: 01300 345260
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Angela newsome 1 review from this member

 Very much enjoyed our stay,

Few bits that would make it better. Install WiFi, non slip floor in the showers, but we knew those issues before we went, have booked again for later in the year.

Would have like the site to have electric car charging facility.

Staff where excellent and so helpful, looking forward to next visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Fatimaaa 1 review from this member

 A great clean place, with beautiful nature And facilities! So nice that it has 4 lakes We took so many great photos also so good that you can take a walk in to the woods!

Everyone were fishing around the lakes. Toilets were extremely clean (due to Covid there was extra care put in place and alcohol gel on the doors etc),

The toilets and paths were wheelchair Friendly specially the toilet very spacious.

The staff Rob and Caz Were super friendly and offered us anything we needed, all day I could see them work so hard but still have a smile on their face and would come and chat to us.

Overall a very nice place to stay at specially to get away From the city. Would definitely go there again soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tiajay 1 review from this member

 Lovely and quiet, nice flat pitches, very friendly and very helpful, we ate in the cafe and canít fault it, will definitely go back.

Large shower cubicles and large toilet cubicles which make a nice change on a site.

The staff are very helpful and will help as much as they can. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bbdawes 14 reviews from this member

 If you love fishing then this site is ideal for you. Really peaceful, you can fish from your pitch and there are 3 lakes available. Nice dog walks too plus close to Cerne Abbas Giant.

It's one of those sites which have a lot of seasonal pitches which I personally don't like as much but that's my own opinion. However owners are very friendly and helpful. Lots of toilets, a cafe and shop. No ball games.

It takes 20p for washing up or showers but the owners will happily give you change. Beware big speed bumps if your van is lowered! 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Cammocker 1 review from this member

 Two friends and I camped here in our hammocks in the woods surrounding the campsite. Even though no one had camped in hammocks there before, Stuart, the owner, was very accommodating and showed us all around the woods and indicated possible hang areas.

Even when one of our motorcycles (an ageing Triumph TT600 for those interested) failed to start, he was right there with a helping hand and a jump-starter pack to get us going again.

The woods were silent apart from the peacocks, owls and geese we heard so we got a fantastic night's sleep after a long days riding. We will definitely think of camping here again the next time we come this direction. Thanks Stuart :) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Littlefizzal 9 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 days here during August.

Was easy to book the site and when we said there would be 3 children under 6 was asked if would prefer to be away from the lakes. The access is good it is off a main road but there is a drive way so you don't hear any of the traffic. We just put next to the overflow car park at the front which was OK.

Was greeted by the own and shown to our pitch and as we were in a party of 3 the wife wanted the caravan side on and he even helped get the van in position. The electric is on a pay as you go card and was shown how it worked. The only problem with this is that if you don't use all the mont you put on you cannot get it back. I have stayed at other sites that you pay as you card cards but you could get any whole pounds back, which is a much better option.

The kids play park is in the woods attached to the site which means that if you have young children you have to take them.

There is a small shop on site which is in the reception. They sell fishing bait in the shop which makes the shop smell and will put some people off. You need either 20p or 50p for the shower, 50p means you get an electric shower with shower head or 20p just gets you an on off shower which was fine for me. Water was hot a block was clean, the lighting could do with improving and is needed during the day but is off.

There are 4 lakes and I fished 2 of them during my stay. The lakes are very well stocked with a variety of sized fish and caught plenty of fish in the 2 days I went fishing. I took my eldest with me who loved it and by the middle of the second day was unhooking the fish herself. Only problem will be when I take her fishing somewhere else I think she may well be disappointed as she will not catch as amy fish.

The location of the site is good because it is in the country side so is nice and quite but is on a main road so you get around easily. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Simon8132 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent 2 weeks on this lovely campsite. It's very quiet with 4 fishing lakes. We were pitched on the main lake at the back of the park. Fishing was prolific with lots and lots of carp from about 4-11lb, loads of roach, Rudd some small tench bream and even golden orfe in one of the smaller ponds.

Pitches are not enormous but we had plenty of room for our campervan and awning and we were pitched pretty much lakeside. Electric is charged on a card system, we put £10 in and most of it was still left on the meter so perhaps start with a fiver. Showers are on a 50p meter and were excellent but I would recommend taking a bag of 50p coins with you.

The shower block is fairly basic but very clean and more than adequate. Hot water for dishes is also charged at 20p. A special mention for the fishing bailiff Dave who is a smashing bloke and a fantastic character with loads of top advice.

Only a couple of minor negatives. Firstly the lighting in the shower block is terrible which my wife really struggled with. Secondly there is nothing to stop somebody fishing right in front of you which did happen on one day when there was no other anglers on the entire lake and some guy sets up with a bivvy no more than 6 feet in front of our awning.

Finally you are not allowed to fish in front of your pitch after 9pm, you have to move everything to the other side of the lake and pay an extra £10. I found this a shame when you have a nice evening and there's nobody around and you have to pack up. I think dawn to dusk fishing for resident campers would be nice and is what we have generally found on fishing sites.

There is a shop/reception but it is very limited so I wouldn't rely on it. There is a small grocery shop in cerne Abbas about 3miles down the road which has a great bakery or it's about 7 miles to the nearest supermarket in Sherborne.

The hunters moon pub just up the road was very good especially for Sunday lunch. The Royal Oak in cerne Abbas has outstanding pub food but is more expensive. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jabill 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived about 8. 30 on Sunday and was met by the owner, very friendly, showed us to the camping pitches we could choose any where, . He made sure that the electric card was ok and said there was still credit on there. We and our friends soon set up our inflatable tents and made our way to look at the lakes.

Every person we passed said hello, and that doesn't always happen on sites. We felt so welcome already! The grounds are well kept and the 4 fishing lakes are amazing, tourers and motor homes can pitch in front of the main lake for beautiful views.

There are a number of season tourers on site which makes a nice community feel. Showers were on 50p and20p meters totally adequate and saving water. Washing machines and dish washing facilities also on site. There is a bait shop at reception which also is a shop for basic essentials, bread milk etc.

The pub, Hunters moon is a short drive or quite a long walk away, good food. There are many places nearby of interest such as Cerne Abbas, Dorchester, Yeovil, weymouth etc. You definitely need transport to get around the area.

There are 2 static caravans for hire and a number of owned statics. It has a children's play area, but I wouldn't really say its a place for young children due to the lakes.

I would say its a fishermans dream place and nature lovers paradise with woodland walks wildlife, visits from deers, and peacocks. Loved it there. 


Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dobber748 10 reviews from this member

 Arrived out of hours and was greeted by a very amiable chap. Filled us up with water and took us to our pitch and made sure everything was up n running before he left us to it.

A very good value peaceful site and the fishing seemed popular though you wouldn't know the anglers are there they are so quiet. Clean and tidy site well run but not much locally.

Would recommend the hunters moon pub which is a bit more than a walk away along a fast country road but definitely worth a drive for the great food. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawnyfuzzy 1 review from this member

 We arrived at Lyons gate and were greeted by the owners, very nice couple, we were taken to our bit where we could pitch and our friends who have a camper van were put next to us, all I can say they were so helpful with information and were seen around the holiday park but not intrusive in anyway.

My partner did a lot of fishing and caught loads, he literally just stepped out of the awning and there was a lake, it was a very peaceful site and we had a fantastic week.

Showers were either 50p or 20p, I used the dearer one and it was great plenty of hot water it must of been on for a good 10 mins, my partner used the cheaper one and also had ample hot water probably about 5 mins,

I would not hesitate to return to this lovely site, oh and Thursday nights a chip van comes on to site, fantastic fish and chips and great prices. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lyons Gate Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lyons Gate Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lyons Gate Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dorchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2686 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement