Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heathside Caravans

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wenhaston > Heathside Caravans Reviews

Heathside Caravans
Blackheath Road
Wenhaston
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP19 9EU
Tel: 01502 478747
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 21 to 27                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bestieboy 25 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Heathside during the early May bank holiday weekend and am pleased to report we were blessed with super weather - finally!

Firstly the site; fairly new and therefore open in aspect. Essentially a rectangular grass field with pitches down either side. Gently sloping away from the facilities and shop. This meant it was fairly bland and regimented. You are asked to pitch between newly planted trees which delineate the pitch. I didn't measure them but they allow you to pitch the van, car and awning which a little bit left over but not a lot. As the site was full over the Bank Holiday this did give a slightly claustrophobic feel. I'm not sure why they couldn't have allowed a couple of extras metres in the width of the pitches as the site is not short of land with a play field at the end of the camping area leading onto a play area and then newly established nature area.

Secondly the facilities; whilst new, the major drawback is there is simply not enough to service a full site. Only one male, one female and one disabled shower. It is almost as though they would prefer to attract a CL type of clientèle whilst not being able to resist attracting more vans than a CL site. I recall that there where sixteen EHU pitches plus a further field for camping / motorhomes which over the weekend numbered a additional circa four units. We would prefer to use site facilities but these were not available as and when required. Whilst the facilities were new and in great condition there was unfortunately a fundamental flaw with the design of the shower cubicle, it was positioned in the corner of the room that also accommodated a basin and toilet. The shower door was set at 90 degrees to the entrance door so anyone entering and approaching the toilet viewed the door at an acute angle and could see clearly whoever was showering! Not ideal and whilst I got on with it this put off my wife and daughter.

Each pitch had its own EHU, water, drain and aerial; although we are not geared up for this so other than plugging in it made little difference to us.

Our children enjoyed the site and made some friends at the play area and football goal. The people running the site were very friendly and the shop which served as the village store convenient.

The major attraction is the area which has to be one of our favourite spots in the country so far. I should declare a bias as we live in Mid-Suffolk but the coast from Southwold South as far as Felixstowe is lovely. We often visit N Norfolk and this is equally pretty if not more so. Southwold, Walbleswick, Dunwich, Minsmere, Thorpeness, Aldeburgh and Orford, all just lovely spots to visit, you could spend a day in each. I would recommend this area for a week’s holiday, particularly if you get the weather of course.

The village of Wenhaston itself is also lovely; we walked the dogs from the site to Blyford Bridge then all the way along the river Blyth to Blythburgh for lunch at the pub. Gloriously quiet and very pretty.

By the end of the weekend we had had a lovely stay enjoyed by all the family and despite the slightly negative review we would go back to the site. I hope the review doesn't put anyone off. It just niggles that having gone to the expensive and effort of developing the new facilities there is only limited showering and the annoying design flaw. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wurley 7 reviews from this member

 May half Term Holiday.

Lightly sloping (top to bottom) site with full pitch services (one tower with one drain and two taps for every two pitches). We raised approx 3'

The Campsite shop is also the Village store so has a good selection and reasonable prices too. Friendly shop staff.

No staff on site after 5pm when we were there.

Facilities : Male, female toilets each with one shower and two toilet cubicles. One sink with double drainer for washing up in an additional wooden outbuilding.

The earlier comments about seeing into the shower cubicle is correct. Because of the door slam stops, the door does not close completely. This wouldn't be a problem if it wasn't for the angle. When standing at the hand dryers you can see right into the cubicle and across to the shower area - I politely diverted my eyes (but will everyone?)

When the site is full you do feel a bit snug the pitch sizes are the minimum I think. We felt the tower was a bit too close to the caravan considering it is shared(if we parked any further forward we would be making access a bit tight for others(23ft tourer).

There is a fab playing field at the bottom of the site with a goal and a play set (slide climber and swings) Plenty of space to run around or play rounders. There are drainage ditches at the end of the field beyond which is a nature area to walk in. Next to us was another field with two donkeys and on the other side there are several hoseasons log cabins.

The access to the site is easy to find - turn right near the Star Pub. For those of you looking at Google maps is not up to date enough to show the site - It is on the area of the three chicken sheds which are no longer there.

The price was £25 per night all-in when I went - Excellent value I think.

We visited Southwold Pier (under the pier is a bit eccentric), Dunwich Heath (National Trust geocache walk) and Sutton Hoo (National trust). Lots of walks directly from the site and you can download a walk from the Wenhaston website.

Nearest big supermarket is Beccles. Morrison /tesco. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fleetwoods 6 reviews from this member

 We booked this site based on the reviews written on here, and without doubt it is a nice site that is family orientated and beautifully clean. We received a nice warm welcome on arrival from the lady in the shop and the shop is fantastically well stocked, even providing a good selection of wine and beer. Our holiday was lovely and at night you could hear a pin drop. The toilet block was very clean as well.

But for me, its not a site I would return to for a few reasons.

There are no hardstandings. The website does not have a gallery so its hard to see what the site is like, but it is rectangular grass field, devoid of any landscaping and no site road, so in wet weather it could be quite muddy although it is slightly downhill sloping.

The worst thing was the location of the service points. Although described as fully serviced pitches, the service points are only every alternate pitch, and it seems little thought has gone into where they are located. They are in the middle of the pitch. If you are on that pitch that's fine, but if you are on the one next door, you are going to need a minimum of 8m of waste pipe and possibly an extended aquaroll hose. We struggled to connect to the service point as we didn't have one on our pitch and our outlets are on the side. It meant our waste and water hoses had to run diagonally across the pitch next door, and we had to pitch our van right on the edge of the pitch and not in the centre. This meant the awning of the van next to us was 5 feet from our van.

This raised a concern about a fire break. I noticed there were NO fire points at all on the site. I didn't like this. There were quite a number of vans parked close together with a gazebo touching the awning next door - two families next to each other as friends - and no fire break at all. It was hot so BBQs were plentiful and kids running around. The only fire extinguisher I saw was one powder extinguisher on the was of the reception - it was not clearly marked. The site managers leave the site in the evenings, I presume to the house down the road, but that's a guess, and no one is around at all. If there was an emergency at night I don't know how they would know and there appears no way of contacting them - no emergency phone numbers, no fire alarms that are obvious (there is a break glass in the toilet but I saw that as I was leaving on the last day)

While the toilets are very clean, again, inadequate. Mens have 1 washbasin, 1 toilet, 1 shower, 1 urinal. If you use the toilet while someone is shaving, you cannot wash your hands afterwards. There was no hot water in the shower. Ladies only has 1 shower. Its not enough for the volume of people on the site. There are 18 pitches on one field, and another field for people with no hook ups, so possibly 70 people on site when I was there. There were a number of queues for the facilities.

The Elsan emptying point is good, massive, easy to use, but you have to stand outside in all weather to use it. So if its raining, be prepared to get wet.

There is also no security on the site. It has no gates or barriers. The staff all disappear when the shop shuts at 5pm and appears to be no CCTV. It is quite remote, so I was a little dubious out the safety of our van, especially in the evenings while we were out as at one point we were the only vehicle on the entire site.

Free WiFi is advertised as included in the cost, which is appealing to me as I run my own business, so I have to keep in touch while I'm away. But the signal was so weak it really is non-existent, its just not effective.

For £25 a night, which is not cheap, I just expected a bit more thought in the layout, the facilities, the pitch design, and most certainly to the safety of people on the site. I would like to see fire points added around the site, a way of contacting a warden in an emergency, and a service point on each pitch. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eamonn 11 reviews from this member

 We started our holiday this year on Friday the 24th August staying at The Ipswich showground till the 27th for the NASC Nat's and then planning on touring Suffolk and south Norfolk for another 12 days, we stayed at 2 other sites before Heathside

We called Heathside on Monday the 3rd to arrange some time there after reading the reviews on here, they were very accommodating on the phone and we headed off from Lowestoft to Wenhaston,

The campsite is just a few miles from the main A12 but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet.

The site is very welcoming with a gravel drive and village shop, there are some large wooden holiday homes on the left as you enter, with the shop and toilet /shower block on the right,

On arriving the owner led me to the pitches and said take your pick any of the available slots, the site has only about 18 pitches but all are big enough to not encroach on the neighbours, and you can choose how you want to position your caravan end in side ways the pitch size is determined by some young trees, fit your unit in between the trees are one of the rules, the other being please be quiet so not too upset fellow campers. The children's play area is in the field at the Bottom of the site and there's a lovely walk around a lake past that.

The service points for the caravan are excellent, with a EHU, Mains water supply (finally got to use the kit I bought to attach Tap and Aqua roll (no lugging the aqua roll around the site here ;). The grey water drain is behind the service post so easy to dispose of waste water too, there is also a TV Point (with great reception). And free wi-fi, and really free no annoying ads, and when we lost the signal and asked in the Shop if there was a problem, less than 5 minutes later it was back, they don't hang you about on this wonderful site.

Now for the facilities, Modern shower / toilet block. The gents having a urinal, Toilet and shower, and one washbasin. The ladies two toilets, washbasins and one shower, and a disabled wet room, these were all kept extremely clean and fresh. The elsan toilet disposal point was also one of the cleanest best presented one I've ever used.
From the site it is almost invisible, thought has been put into its design making toilet emptying almost a pleasure.

The village shop has a good selection of goods without the usual high prices you sometime find fith camp shops, fresh fruit and veg, tinned and packet goods, frozen food cabinet there is also a selection of national and local newspapers available an off license with good selection and most important a ice cream cabinet.

Good Points for Heathside.

Friendly staff
Excellent facilities
Reasonably prices shop
Fantastic unspoilt views
Lots of local villages within short distance of the site, Halesworth, great village with some
Great bargains to be had ( a couple of very good bookshops with new and second hand books at
Reasonable prices) 2 pubs with good food tried both
Southwold again lots of shops and two especially good eating places, Munchies small
Cafe/restaurant great red poll burgers and fresh local produce and Mrs Ts Fish and chip shop
Down by the quay, a shed on a gravel road beside the river, but don't be put off by appearances
The Best fish and Chips we've ever eaten.

Bad Points,

Not really any apart from we couldn't stay longer (we both have to go back to work)

We stayed from Monday through Friday and had been touring for almost 3 weeks when we stayed at Heathside, we both agreed if we had found this site the first week of our travels we would probably have stayed for the whole duration of our holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheHarrods 1 review from this member

 Generally do not travel too far from home to camp and this was no exception. Cannot believe We have found this gem on our doorstep. Without doubt the cleanest facilities I have come across. Far too many good points to mention, here are a few.

The most tranquil surroundings.

Personalised hook up- everything, water, electric, tv.

Superb pitch- guaranteed first time peg in.

On site village store- Mace with no extortionate pricing.

The owners are a joy, nothing too much trouble. Happy to offer lots of tips on local area.

Nature walk and kids play area are well kept.

Village pub is equally accommodating with the best fish and chips.

Immaculate shower facilities.

The area has some amazing surrounding towns and villages.

Advice to others. Only about a dozen pitches. Be sure to book quickly! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sally M 2 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site in peaceful countryside with loads of space for kids to play football or on the play equipment provided.

Brand new toilets and showers which were kept lovely and clean.

Handy shop with great range of food, drinks and papers etc.

Very friendly owners who made our Jubilee holiday memorable despite the usual English summer weather.

Great local pub with good selection of real ale and home cooked food. Landlord and lady also A1.

Will be coming back again and again.

Good bus service outside pub for visiting surrounding areas if you wish to leave motorhome static.

Agree with other reviewer about almost wanting to keep this one in the family! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leeney 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a weekend at Heathside Caravans. On arrival very pleasantly surprised as site had no previous reviews. Owners very helpful and polite. All facilities new & clean.

Only downside there is only one shower - 2 toilets in ladies and one in mens. Very good value. Excellent shop. Friendliness of all staff. Very nice surroundings. Fair size pitches.

Good playground for children. Nice walks connected to site. Would definitely go back. In heart of countryside but within easy reach of surrounding villages.

Hesitant about writing a review as its the sort of place you would only tell your best friends about! 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 27     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heathside Caravans child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heathside Caravans?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heathside Caravans dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wenhaston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement