Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Heathside Caravans

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wenhaston > Heathside Caravans Reviews

Heathside Caravans
Blackheath Road
Wenhaston
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP19 9EU
Tel: 01502 478747
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JDB13 1 review from this member

 Beautiful campsite, immaculate facilities especially toilets and showers and all grass areas very well kept.

Very helpful and friendly owners.

Local shop on sites sells everything you need at competitive prices.

Best part we felt very safe here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Codon 2 reviews from this member

 Great site very relaxing, loads of space for children to explore. Facilities clean and well kept. Good size pitch's. On site shop was great as well as it doubled as the local shop. We will be back again.

The nature trailer is a little gem. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wheeliebins 3 reviews from this member

 This should be a great site but I'm afraid that the owners let it down. It also trades as Heathside lodges.

The site is a mix of wooden lodges (booked direst or through hoseasons etc), glancing pods and touring pitches. We arrived on bank holiday Monday to a view of overflowing bins which stayed that way until Wednesday, which wasn't the best start. We were with two other groups that at various points in our stay consisted of 7 adults and five children (aged 6, 4 and 3) over three touring pitches and one glampng pod.

There is a small field between the touring pitches and the lodges. We were twice told off by the owner for having the kids playing outside our pitches and for us sitting in a sunny spot in the field area. They only want children to play down in the playing field, which they have planted a hedge to hide the site of, and want to prevent the lowly touring pitches coming too close to the lodges. This quite frankly annoyed us, I've never been to a site that has stopped children playing outside the tents and to give the impression that he didn't want the lowly campers disturbing the lodges (who seemed to be the ones generating the noise) is insulting. I will not be returning and would not advice anyone with children who they are not happy to play out of site visits either.

N. B in case the owners respond saying the rules are laid out on the information sheet were given when booking in. For the third time we were never given one.

On other notes, there is one shower in the ladies, one in the gents and a unisex one in the disabled. The one in the disabled is the only one where you can alter the temperature the others run too hot for children. We only had to wait once for the showers but the site was nowhere near at capacity. There was no step stools or anything similar for smaller children to reach the dunks and it took at least three days for the bin in the ladies to be emptied during our stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billy bobby 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, quiet, clean and very well managed. Facilities are excellent and well maintained- nothing is too much trouble. There is an amazing space for the kids to play and a lovely climbing frame and a brilliant nature area. The children love to visit the donkeys. We have stayed at this site many times and it has always been really good. Would recommend it to anyone its also in a brilliant place for visiting the delights of Suffolk. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judipearce 23 reviews from this member

 Visited this fabulous site to try out a new to us caravan. It is quite near us so not used before but will definitely be coming back next season. The road to the site is narrowish but there are plenty of passing places so not a real problem. Greeted warmly by staff in the really well equipped shop and told we could chose any pitch. As we were only one of two people on site we were able to drive straight through and onto a pitch between two hedge (newly planted with a birch tree at the end of each. Pitch ample for car, awning and van side by side and had tv, water, power and waste. Quite level and not too muddy. Separated by more mature hedges were pods on one side and lodges on the other but far enough away to feel we were in a really big caravan area.

The whole site was well kept with huge fields forthe dog to run in, a wondeful wild life area and pond and new facilities. 2wc's and a shower for men and the same for women plus a disabled. The chemical toilet disposal was on of the best we've used and the shop had everything you could want as it acted as the village stores. They ordered papers for us each day and made a fuss of our little dog when he called to collect them each morning. Free good wifi and wonderful staff make this a really good site. Perhaps a dog waste bin would be useful but otherwise excellent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ckonetwo 3 reviews from this member

 Great location, flat pitches, toilet block clean, shop well stocked. Pub down the road and kids play park and football pitch well away from tents.

Toilets - 1 shower/2 toilets/2 handbasins. Clean - I never had to wait. Pods and lodges all have their own so only has to cater for 16 pitches. No real issues here.

Site could benefit from an on site management presence after 6pm. Some campers fail to understand noise travels after 11pm!

Would go back definitely. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jeon 1 review from this member

 This was the first time I had been in a GLAMPING POD, and my first impressions were good, so had high expectations all was good inside. All seemed ok until the evening and night time. As an older glamper we chose this option rather than camping with our young family because it would give that extra bit of comfort. Alas, the lighting particularly in the lounge are was so poor you could not even read a book, and the bed was so uncomfortable we had to go out the next day to buy a good quality topper so we did not feel every spring through the poor quality (so obviously cheap to replace) mattress. When we did complain we were given a single duvet to sleep on (implying they had heard this complaint before) and a small clip-on electric light which was only slightly suitable for one person.

The other complaint we had was that, as these units are built for families in mind, there was no partition or curtain between the sleeping and lounging areas so it was impossible to watch television while our grandchildren were trying to get to sleep.

Lastly, was the lack of hooks on walls to hang up damp items or just overnight clothes etc. And how about a mirror somewhere other than a small shaving mirror in the bathroom area.

On the up side, lovely shower and plenty of readily available hot water, but this would definitely not encourage us to return. At £60 a night I at least expected a good nights sleep.

When all these points were mentioned on leaving it was dismissed withou an apology, as no one else had complained. I was surprised at that!

Oh, and one last thing. The children's playground was behind a hedge and completely out of site of the GLAMPING pods. This appeared to be the only activity for children on the site - not counting a goal which, for obvious reasons, my granddaughter really didn't appreciate. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fkj184 1 review from this member

 Lovely site surrounding grounds very well maintained, lovely position near to Southwold, Walberswick. Great on site shop which stocked newspapers booze etc very well priced. Really friendly staff. Only issue was number of toilets and showers on site, need at at least two more. Also walking distance from a fantastic garden centre Wootons and the local pub The Star which serves excellent food and great local beers. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bambi13 16 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful site with a lot going for it. The views are really good as are the walks around the site and off of it. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. There is a lovely big field for the children with a few playground items, also a nature trail on the site with a pond.

The site is well maintained and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

There is plenty to do around the area with Minsmere Nature Reserve about 8 mile away and the coastal villages of Southwold and dunwich not much further.

The only down side is as others have said the lack of toilets and showers. Two toilets and one shower for the ladies and the same for the gents. Not really enough if the site gets busy.

We will certainly go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eamonn 11 reviews from this member

 Well we're back again, it's starting to appear that we only use Heathside, well we do almost, as it's such a Fantastic site to stay on, during our latest visit the camp was full for the weekend and early week, and even with the extra hussle and bustle still a fantastic place, cues for the showers wern't that bad, and I know a new cleaner has just started so any issues from the previous review should now have been delt with, although as I've said in previous reviews there is a mop bucket to clear your own muddy footprints up for the next user, (its not difficult and only polite to leave the rooms as you find them)there are also signs on the doors to keep them shut(again common sense but unfortunately some people cannot read or just choose to ignore them. Even when the camp was full we managed to get great TV signal (although we don't come to Heathside to watch TV so much more to do ;) ) and the internet was sproadic but considering the number of people accessing it still acceptable, and now that there are only a few units on site it's much quicker but again how long does it take to check emails ? And before the internet and wired TV everyone managed with a local phonebox and a battery opperated radio. The laundry room uses modern machines and are reasonably priced compared with laundrettes locally which we had used before The owners installed these machines and so much more convenient. IMHO Heathside is still the best value for money has a awesome location and facillities that are second to none with super friendly owners and staff. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heathside Caravans child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heathside Caravans?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heathside Caravans dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wenhaston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3254 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder