Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Billing Aquadrome Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Billing Aquadrome Holiday Park Reviews

Billing Aquadrome Holiday Park
Crow Lane
Great Billing
Northampton
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN3 9DA
Tel: 01524 781453
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 755
Open: 6th February - 6th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 29 Reviews
                5/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 21 to 29                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amandabriggstemple 4 reviews from this member

This site is really great. Booking in was swift and pleasant. All staff were really helpful & friendly. Finding the field and pitch was easy. Warden came over to check we were ok with everything. Facilities were really clean. Had plugs available for hair dryers etc. Swimming pool was good as well as mariner. Did most of the things available over the weekend. Go karting, train around the lake. Crazy golf. Will be going back to this location.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bessy525 48 reviews from this member

This is by far the largest site we have stayed on and with loads of thing for kids to do you can see why it is so popular. Whilst on site the main shower blocks were closed the one on Shelduck was nearing completion and should be open shortly the other was closed due to vandalism and no opening date was available, that left the original toilet block and the shower block some 150 mtrs apart from each other! They were clean and fully maintained but dated.

Freeview/Sat TV was no problem, water was at the edges of the fields and not too numerous, couldn't find grey waste disposal only sluice found near toilet block. Constant distant road noise from the busy A45 24/7. The BP station at the entrance offered all the essential items you would need and it also had a separate fish & chip shop. Next door was a large pub child friendly pub and a second smaller pub of the same name was at the edge of the touring site and looked more suitable for adult only parties.

Northampton town centre is minutes away by car and has all that you would expect to find in a town centre. For us a place to visit out of the main season hopefully with the proper washroom facilities opened up, for families with small kids its got to perfect but I would guess very busy given the size of the site + static caravans.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 21 reviews from this member

Stayed for a few days. Review by Dharl (previous review) very accurate.

Echo narrow harstanding pitches, and, owing to recent floods, lots of mud. The site was very quiet, and only toilet block available was quite a hike away. No signs to water, disposal points etc, so not the easiest. A new facilities block did look to be under construction. Making 3 in total. Still not many for 750 pitches?

This is a large site, which, I imagine in summer must be very busy. In a wet February however, it was quiet, and the kids absolutely loved the great swimming facilities, which were clean, with excellent staff, and in a lovely complex.

There are plenty of shops on the site, and we were very impressed with the large, and thoughtful range of items available.

This was not somewhere where we would let the kids go to the playground on their own, even though we could see it from the caravan, as the roads are confusing to navigate, and the lack of footpaths make this a little risky for under 10s. We will go back though. But only in the off season.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dharl 6 reviews from this member

Must remember to read reviews BEFORE booking.

We were visiting in the area on the Sunday so looked for a campsite in the area for the Saturday night. Due to the time of year we where limited in places open.

Billing Aquadrome Park is a Holiday Park for Static Caravans which they have decided that spare fields can be used by tents and tourers. It is not really set up as a camp site.

+ve

Landscaping is nice,

Easy access to major roads

Nice local, But big Chain, pub 10 mins walk from site.

Staff are very helpful and friendly.

-ve

Road signs take up to main gates however as a new arrival you need to go to reception on the left to sign in. Not clearly marked but security on gate was helpful in allowing us access and then park up.

Very few toilet/shower blocks. We had a very long walk from our pitch, the block was right in the middle if the static caravans, who had own facilities.

The toilet blocks where clean however no toilet paper in the gents and no hot water at the sinks.

Could not find a washing up area.

Hard to find any water points or rubbish bins

No Motorhome service points.

Hard standing pitches where very narrow. Just got our unit parked on it but then had to step out straight into grass/ mud!

Electric Hookups are a way from the pitches so need a long connection cable. Ours just reached!

Road system around site was vast and not easily signposted.

Very few footpaths, grass was covered in duck/goose/ swan 'mess' so had to stick to roads. The speed limit is 10 mph around site but few people seemed to stick to this!

Overall, if you want to stay in a static caravan on the holiday park then would think its suitable however as a tourer in own unit would suggest that it is not.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bromsgrove-Man 5 reviews from this member

Booking and checking was a little chaotic due to an original booking mistake but staff were helpful throughout. (Watch the hidden speed bumps on the way into the site though, easy to miss as they are not very well marked. )

Pitches were very hard indeed but then its been a while since we had any rain, I've seen photos of a couple of years ago when the place was flooded so I've no complaints.

There was a fair amount of rubbish left on the pitches, cigarettes, littler, lego(?) which we had to clear before pitching. Pitches were flat and though the site was busy we had a fair amount of space which was good.

Given the size of the site overall and the fact it was reasonably busy the site was quite quiet and peaceful in the evenings.

I think we were lucky as we were near one of the two shower blocks. I would agree with a previous reviewer that using the showers was a ridiculous experience, not enough space to hang anything, no door just a curtain and a thirty second blast of water that went from red hot to cold and then stopped. Along with buttons you can't press with soapy hands. I'm all for conserving water but this really was an exercise in futility.

Toilets were occasionally a little iffy but they were being regularly cleaned in the daytime and given the size of the site were as good as could be hoped I guess. Litter on site wasn't great. There were skips around but there were a few empty bottles left here and there around the toilets that no one cleared up all weekend.

Amenities were good, there are two pubs outside the site in easy walking distance, chain places but the food was good value and the staff efficient and friendly. There is also a waterfront bar on site which was pleasant if rather expensive and a wooden hut within the middle of the site which operates as an Indian restaurant, entertainment venue and breakfast cafe and had a nice charm about it. There is also a shop on site though it was quite poorly stocked in things you might want as a camper, the shop at the BP station at the entrance to the camp was much more use to us and quite well priced. Parts of the site, by the river, are quite picturesque.

We didn't use any of the water rides though could see them in action as well as the mini train. The pool was closed for the two days were were there (Due to 'Vomit' announced a sign containing maybe too much information?)

Overall I would go back but wouldn't go out of my way. The site was quite pricey for how its maintained, one of the most expensive places we've stayed this year and also one of the worst overall. That is not to say its bad as such but just we've stayed at some very nice, well looked after sites this year and this one doesn't quite live up to any them.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Westiewest 2 reviews from this member

Decided to go here as its not too far away for us to try out our new folding camper, and for the bank holiday weekend. My previous experiences were from many years ago as child when I used to visit a relative who had a static caravan on site.

We were warned by family not to go and wish we had listened.

We booked to arrive on the Friday evening, and were directed by the staff at the barrier to follow a sign. This we did and took us all around the touring area with no idea of what pitch number we had. Then we found out why. It a 'free for all' and you pitch where you feel like!

They had got so many tents and caravans on the pitches we had hardly any space between us and the van/ tent next to us! With no clear definition of which pitch was anybody's.

After setting up we eventually found a water point to fill up the aqua roll, not many seen where we were located. The toilets. Our experience peak season. We were lucky to find a cubicle with paper or soap, found the staff cleaning them whilst they had people walking in and out. Why not close for 30mins to clean properly instead of using a towel to dry the floors!

We saw on the map provided that there were only two shower blocks which for a site that size we were surprised. And they weren't up to much either! The button operation meant you had 30secs of water before it stopped, the tiniest hook to hang your towel, clothes and wash bag on, and even then the spray from the shower got it all wet, no means to wipe the floor after finished so when entering you were walking on someone else's shower water. Previous site I've been to have left mops etc to wipe away. I only saw two sinks to wash up by the toilets, but as we had a camper that was not an issue for us, there was only the sluice area to dispose of our sink waste water so that went along with everyone's toilet water as well.

There were very few bins around so we saw many of them had left there rubbish bags outside their tents etc until they walked some distance towards one. This meant attracting foxes etc which is not good when travelling with dogs.

The 'fun fair' if you can call it that consist of two maybe three bigs rides and a few smaller ones for the younger children. At 50p per token and some asking for three tokens they were expensive. We never ventured into the new 5million pound leisure complex, and so glad we didn't pay the fees for it at 5 per person pay as you go or 9 per person for the weekend. It seemed a lot of money for a small pool, not as big as the website gives the impression of.

All in all a very run down and depressing site with limited amenities and as many campers as possible on the piece of land. We will not be visiting again despite it being on our doorstep.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 204 reviews from this member

A one nighter was spent at Billing and impressions of the site were good. I stayed on a Sunday night and the site was very quiet with tons of space and choices of pitch.

It is a very flat site with plenty of water around it making it a haven for ducks and geese, of which there was plenty and plenty of their poo too, however this is not really an issue as ne can just move it from the pitch.

Plenty of pitches with EHU, plenty of water points, lots of toilet blocks and a few shower blocks.

The toilet blocks I used were large and were kept clean with plenty of soap in the dispensers and stocked with toilet paper. The showers were in a couple of blocks and were clean and functionable.

There is a big funfair / amusements on site and this is noisy and can be a real money eater. There is a train ride too, water sports lake with jet skis etc.

There are a choice of pubs surrounding the site and we ate at the Billing Mill and had a lovely Sunday Roast in there, which was two for 10. There is also the sites own leisure complex that offers swimming, cafe, bar, food, internet, etc. I did not go in there so cannot comment.

There is also a shop on site selling provisions, camping accessories, etc.

We experienced no noise, however it was a Sunday night during term time and the site was almost empty.

It is close to the A45 and M1, however I did not hear either of them. Off site Northampton is not far away and there is a retail park with the usual shops, McD's etc.

I would come again and would come with a group or the family.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vanfanclub 2 reviews from this member

Albeit 2 years ago but still wanted to share our experience as we will never stay on this site again.

The site itself possibly isn't what we would usually go for but the location was ideal for meeting friends centrally. It is a little bigger and busier than what we would usually go for but if it was a 'Butlins stlye' holiday you are happy with then there is plenty there to entertain the kids.

The pool was clean, park was kept well, as were the toilets and showers and all the staff were really friendly, the fair was okay and prices not too cheap but what you expect I suppose.

Our real issue came about on our second day when a large group of travellers arrived and I can not put into words quite the disturbance the group caused. Swearing at all hours round the site, fighting in the club, playing music until gone 3am (still shouting and swearing) then a transit van came screeching speeding round the campsite at 5am with music on full blast. Their dog (which shoud have been kept on a lead) fouled right outside our tent and when one of our group went to tell them they just ignored us so we had to clean it up. In fairness to the site they were trying to evict them and the police were attending however the group were threatening violence. Honestly I can not describe the scenes I have only ever seen behaviour like it on the TV it was so uncomfortable and unsettling to be there and we could not face staying a moment longer and we were not the only ones to pack up our tent. So our 5 night holiday was cut to one average night and one awful never to be repeated night, the site did refund us all our money and also offered us a free stay another time (needless to say we didn't take up this offer) but it is still not the point as it was our holiday ruined really.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zafiraman 2 reviews from this member

I have visited this site every year for the past 12 years as I attend the VBOA show that is held there. We stayed there in a tent in this particular year and because of all the rain prior and during the event weekend the site was actually flooded and we were all evacuated on the Saturday morning. I must say that the actions of the event organiser were a lot more impressive than those of the park management. The staff in the leisure centre were very good and gave us hot drinks however when it became light and we all decided to try and salvage what we could from our waterlogged pitches we decided that we would get our cars off the grass area's whilst we still could rather than have to be towed off later so we parked them on the roads well over so that traffic could still pass. We were then told to move them as they were blocking the roads (the management sitting in their nice warm and dry office said), we explained to the security guards that cars and trucks could still get past but still they asked us to move them so in the end we just walked away and got on with clearing up. If this wasn't enough we tried to get refunds once we got home only to be told that it was an act of god and they wouldn't be paying! The fact remains that if they had shut the flood gates none of this would have happened! All in all a very disappointing weekend. The site itself has lots of facilities and things to do, the toilets and showers could be better but they are ok as long as you go reasonably early before the masses get in there and make a mess as they are only cleaned once a day it seems.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 29     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Northampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2913 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019