Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Billing Aquadrome Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Billing Aquadrome Holiday Park Reviews

Billing Aquadrome Holiday Park
Crow Lane
Great Billing
Northampton
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN3 9DA
Tel: 01524 781453
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 755
Open: 6th February - 6th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 25 Reviews
                6/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Yorkshiregem 1 review from this member

Free for all where you pitched your tent. Tents packed in like sardines. Showers and toilets filthy.

Drunk people shouting at 2am enough for security to be called.

Kids running everywhere swearing and shouting with parents unable to control them.

Will not be returning

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hafod 2 reviews from this member

Had heard awful things (and am fairly local so hear plenty) but risked a night there midweek. It was fairly quiet, pitched on river road which is right on the river bank with a nice view of the water and only two other tents in sight, and the camp was calm and peaceful.

Looking a bit scruffy and bins overflowing, but a basically nice place to be and you're sent by the front desk to pitch pretty much wherever you like.

The toilet blocks were old, shabby and stained, but were clean and perfectly usable, and the whole place is dog friendly. However £31 a night for a tent is steep unless you have kids who are going to enjoy the pool and play centres etc.

The big issues such as filthy loos, antisocial behaviour and noise, seem to be on the weekends and big events when the site is busy. However 3 police cars were on site the evening we were there, and escorted someone off site.

Somewhere to keep a close eye on your dog and be a bit careful, and go at quiet times looking for quieter spots.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rwells11red 1 review from this member

Campsite was fab, quite spacious, and the toilet/shower areas were very clean.

We travelled as a family. The swimming pool was clean and the kids enjoyed.

There was lots of entertainment for the kids and the fair was reasonably priced.

Would stay again.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mazzey 5 reviews from this member

This site is no doubt fantastic for kids in the season with a fairground, swimming pool, lakes, karting, miniature railway, plenty of tarmac roads for biking and loads of grass areas but when we arrived the season had finished and it was mostly closed up. We drew up at the barrier where security had our details as we pre-booked a super pitch and they directed us to the seasonal area, then suggested we may like to pitch in another area nearer the gates - so no specific pitch had been allocated! We set off to explore the options, but finding a hard standing pitch for a 35 ft RV was not easy. The seasonal pitches were all full so we looked at the touring area. Most of the pitches in EFGH where there had been hard standing were grassed over, so it was difficult to identify the outline and length. We eventually off-roaded with our 7. 5 ton - not a happy situation- and settled in. There was an well stocked mini market on site. There was no charge for electric hookUp but the water taps turned out to be a shared facility on the side of the roadways. The shower block was clean but quite dated, we found a much more pleasant one called Gingers. On leaving we found the RV dump point was under renovation so it was a good thing we weren’t desperate! The pool was a great hit, but closed at 4 pm and there was a lovely restaurant open till 6 on the site. There is a pub close by and a takeaway just outside the gates serving fish and chips and pizza. Best described as a little run down, we warmed to it over our stay so we will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Swannee15 4 reviews from this member

After reading other reviews, I was a bit apprehensive about this site, however, after spending 10 nights here, I was pleasantly surprised.

I booked onto Puddleduck with electric hook up. Most of the pitches were very good and flat, although some had been rutted up by vans. There was plenty of water points around the site so you didn't have to walk miles.

The whole complex is a massive site (more like a village). Although the camping areas is enough for about 750 units, it is only about a quarter of the site. The rest are all Statics and Chalets.

Toilet/Shower facilities on the whole were good. The cleaners were in every morning and couldn't be faulted, leaving the facilities very clean. So I'm afraid any mess that came afterwards can only be blamed on the caravaners/campers(very few) and not the cleaning staff. The showers are free and a good temperature. Although they only last 13 seconds per press, so you have to keep pressing the button to keep them going.

The washing up area was rather small (only 2 sinks) which seemed rather inadequate for such a large site. Again they were cleaned in a morning, but usually filthy by night (why cant people clean up after them rather than leaving a mess).

The main recreational area is the Venue. This has a restaurant/bar, the swimming pool and some games facilities.

I only used the restaurant for breakfast. Some days it was a buffet, others, ordered off the menu. All reasonably priced.

However, the evenings were somewhat of a joke. I ate in there on the 1st night and got the low down on opening hours etc (open 9 till 9 with last orders for meals at 2045). However on the 2nd night, I turned up at 1910 to find it all locked up. When I managed to attract the attention of a member of staff, he informed me that because it was quiet, they had decided to shut early (although his attitude was that they were bored and couldn't be bothered). This happened again the following evening, even earlier (1845). After that, I gave up and used the other eateries around.

The site boasts a number of children's play areas around, although some of these are in the Residential areas of the complex. As stated, there is a swimming pool, however in peak season, it does get busy apparently and I believe they use a booking system.

There is a fairground, train, crazy golf and hovercrafts all within the local area of the Venue/Willow lake. However, again, this seems to be seasonal. They were all closed during the week days I was there. The Fair and train did operate though at the weekend. There is also a Basketball/5 a side football hardcourt area.

There are 2 shops on site, the NISA shop just off the main camping area on the side of Willow Lake. Also the 'Small Shop' in the residential area of the complex. Both are run by very friendly people. They both sell all the usual food stocks etc that one would want, although bear in mind they only carry small amounts and are not supermarkets so expect to pay a higher price.

There is also a large shop at the garage, about 5 minutes walk from the main gates.

There looked at one point to be a number of other shops on site. But these were all shuttered up. So I'm not sure if again these are seasonal.

There are a couple of other bars/pubs on site. I'm not sure what these were like as I didn't use them.

Apart from the Venue (which as stated earlier cant be trusted for eating in the evening), there are 4 other eating facilities very close. A Fayre & Square (Premier Inn) within 3 minutes walk of the main gate. A Fish & Chip shop on one side and a Chinese Restaurant on the other side of the garage mentioned above. Also another Fayre & Square about 10/15 minute walk to the right of the garage.

Also across the road from the garage, is a Garden Centre, with a number of shop units, selling allsorts of various goods, including fruit & veg, meat, clothes, cafe etc.

Unfortunately none of the roads (and there are many) have footpaths so some care has to be taken when walking. There is supposed to be a strict 10mph speed limit on site. However, like any speed limit, there is always someone who will break it or totally ignore the one way systems.

My main reason for staying at this site, was for the large amount of fishing on the complex. There are 4(5) lakes (Willow, Marina, Kingfisher 1 & 2 and Lilly). Also about 1-1/2 mile of the River Nene. The lakes I'm afraid didn't really fish at all and it was a major struggle to get any bites. Unfortunately Kingfisher 2 & Lilly are very badly weeded up and in need of some serious work. The River did fish a little better, with Perch been the very predominate species. I found the best fishing here was right up in the top right hand corner of the complex in the residential areas. Watch out for the Pike though. I got the fish feeding nicely only for the Pike to move in and start snatch the fish I was catching.

One word of warning to anyone with small children. Apart from the lakes and river mentioned above, there are large amounts of other water features all over the complex, none of which are fenced, so keep a very careful eye on the little ones.

Whilst security is very good and getting in with a car, you have to show your pass, there is no restrictions to anyone just walking in or out. Also, the river section forms part of the Nene Walk and so is open to the public, which means there are a number of walkers going back and forth through the complex who are not staying on site.

Security cars are running through the site at most times, but I think this is aimed more at the Residential areas rather than the camping areas.

I was rather surprised about the noise levels at the weekend. The site did get a lot busier than the week days, however after 1130 at night, just about everyone obeyed the rules and kept the noise to an absolute minimum.

TV coverage in the area, for my TV system (Mini TV or aerial system on my tablet) was awful to the point, I never received a signal from either TV or Digital Radio for the whole time I was there. I did notice that most of the Caravans with aerials had them on masts.

Overall, and for the size of the complex, I found it rather good, offering most things I wanted. Yes the complex was very quiet as it was September (kids back at school) and the weather was not very pleasant. It may be completely different in July/August.

As already stated, the biggest gripe was the Venue closing/refusing to serve meals hours before its supposed closing time. One of the main reasons for choosing this site was that I could eat there in the evening without having to go offsite. Yes I know there are a number of other eateries within a few minutes walk, but I didn't realise that at the time of booking.

Billing Aquadrome need to sort this out. Either close earlier officially (and post the closing times both on the web and the information board on the front door) or keep the place open to the stipulated time of 9 o'clock. Messing people about, and them never knowing if the place is going to be open or not just gets customers backs up.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beilby 7 reviews from this member

I have never paid more for or been more disappointed in a site. The website made it sound ideal for a short break with our granddaughter but it was far from that. In addition to the site fees we paid for swimming pool passes (plus a 50p non refundable charge for a locker) and tokens for the funfair which made for a very expensive trip. The toilet and shower facilities are in poor condition and are grubby as are swimming pool changing rooms. To top it off the staff were the most miserable and unhelpful lot I have ever had to misfortune to deal with.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gazza50 6 reviews from this member

As a child we went to Billing Aquadrome as a treat, shall not be going back. The pitches are very random and because there didn't seem to be any control over who pitched where people pretty much chose our doorstep, despite lots of space. The whole place has just become a big commercial money maker now. We didn't have kids with us but noticed the fair was very expensive, if open. It was a special fireworks weekend ~ which watching over the lake from The Venue were fantastic. Used to be little odds and sods shops but the tenants were being chucked out to create more caravan space. The Venue itself ok, its food ok, if you like screaming kids ok!

To commercial for us now but probably ok for a young family.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matthews1 1 review from this member

I've stayed on Heron way for about 5 times this year for 1 night up to 10 nights found it very friendly and safe as the wardens would always be driving around. It was cleanish. The funfair is a bit expensive and not always open. The food in the Venue could be a lot better and cheaper. Could do a bit more for the adults in the evening. I've already booked my next trip in August 2016 but will be coming back again before that for a weekend. I would definitely recommend it to others. The facilities were good and all within walking distance.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peggymphillips 3 reviews from this member

Just spent a weekend here, and won't be returning. Good points you can pick any pitch you want in the area you have booked. Swimming Pool lovely. Underfloor heating in shower block. And that's the only 3 I can think off. Grass needed mowing, pitches had muddy ruts on them. Even though puddle duck 3 area wasn't even a quarter full, toilets were dirty, and hardly any had toilet paper in them. The hot water at the sinks only dribbled out. Showers flooded were water didn't drain away properly. None of the washing up sinks had plugs and they were filthy. All of the play areas were locked and when I asked at reception the lady said it was because it was the end of the season but earlier reviewers had also said they were closed. There is an area of long stayers that looks like an itinerants camp. When we were there cars were riding around at 1am with music blaring out and young men were racing around the site in the day.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Shortyloz 3 reviews from this member

We were booked in for 4 nights for a friends 40th birthday party in Northampton.

Venue looked ideal on the web, but in reality it was not so good.

The shower block was undersized for the number of people camping. The size of the showers were a little too small, with everything getting wet as a result. The water was hot, too hot if I am fair.

The layout and pitch size were not as well structured as the map would suggest.

The evening in-park entertainment was OK, but did go on a little too late for our 4 year old to get to sleep.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Northampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5310 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019