Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Dornoch > Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Embo
Dornoch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV25 3QD
Tel: 0844 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 185
Open: 22/03/2021 to 11/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CKC100 15 reviews from this member

 Just back from Grannies. This is the first time this year and looks like some money has been spent on the toilets as the old block is getting redone and the new ones are a lot cleaner than they were last year.

The pool was super warm and the changing rooms have been cleaned up as well which is a lot better than last year, only thing they have moved lockers to the pool side, so best to bring a back to put your clothes in to carry out past the showers.

We never used the entertainment this time as the sun was out and we just sat out in the awning with a drink. Lots of places to choose from which is all ways a bonus at this large park. Beaches great as usual as well. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynnmc1 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights midweek - 2 adults and 2 children aged 5 and 1.

I was pleasantly surprised with this site. We had a star site which was hard standing - worth paying the extra as these sites are in a slightly nicer location/layout.

Park itself has lots of statics with a large area for tourers and tents. Very spacious site with a good layout.

Toilet/shower facilities are in a modern block and always found to be clean. 4 showers in gents and ladies. Disabled cubicle with full size bath - ideal for the kids.

Swimming pool is very small and 50 minute time slots require to be booked at reception. We got spaces no problem each day. Pool although small is lovely and warm. Pool changing rooms were a big disappointment. Separate male and female changing rooms with old style open plan changing layout with 2 cubicles. Not good for families. Lockers are poolside.

We didn't use the restaurant. We went to the children's entertainment which started at 6.30pm with a children's disco. Kids all seemed to enjoy it. Drink prices high which was to be expected. Poor bar service, only one server and long queue!

Amusement arcade has several machines for adults but none of the kiddie rides to my sons disappointment.

Lovely sandy play park with toddlers slides and adventure style for older children. Both my kids loved it.

We loved going on to the beach and down the side of the pier to the rock pools. Pier has fallen in to disrepair and is unsafe but still looks lovely. Beautiful beaches.

Site itself is just over 3 miles outside Dornoch which is a lovely small town which has a couple of small supermarkets, bank, hotels/restaurants, golf course, coffee shops and a lovely cathedral. We cycled along the old railway line from the caravan park to Dornoch and found this heavy going therefore decided to cycle via the road on the way back - most of it being uphill and to be honest quite a struggle.

We also went a drive a couple of minutes north of Embo where we saw loads of seals bathing in the sun - it was amazing!

We will hopefully return again next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ninajade 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights after it being recommended. First night went to eat at the restaurant, they had run out of 90% of the menu, waited 2 hours for our food and when it came out it was disgusting and had to send it all back.

Went through to the entertainment bar which service was just as bad. They had had a magician on which was the only good thing about our 3 night stay.

Showers were dirty, used razors on floor, showers trays full of hair and floor looked like it had not been properly cleaned for a long time.

Would not go back and would definitely not recommend it. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ClaudiaH727 1 review from this member

 Grannies was great! first off the entertainment was fabulous my little sister enjoyed it lots. Katie and craig are the best entertainment we've had so far we especially liked the songs and the dances and the fact that they had characters like maxi and milli and they got to interact with the children. My sister was pleased with the prizes and certificates she won. The only downside we could really think of was the toilets nearest the beach they are covered in bugs in the lights and really should be cleaned, I don't think we saw any one cleaning them the week we stayed. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Christian05 2 reviews from this member

 We were right beside the toilet block it was a super spot a stone throw fromt the fantasic beach. The kids loved the facilities, they used the park, swimming pool, and arcade, we had entertainment in the evening and we had a super couple of days.

Weather was great, take away was maybe a little expensive, if I have to make one criticism but that is the only one I can make. We loved our stay at Embo and will make this a regular spot for the family to go.

Site was very clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Moody347 6 reviews from this member

 Just had another glorious week at grannies. Caravan spotless as usual. No coat hangers in wardrobes but all we had to do was go up to reception and came back with a bag full of them. Amanda and her staff cant do enough for you.

The kids entertainment is excellent with special mention to Craig and Katie who do a great job with the kids. Whole site is spotless and shop has a good variety. Plenty of bins round whole site and even poop bags supplied at the car park before you go on to beach.

Definitely a 5 star site with 5 star staff. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Haggarj2 5 reviews from this member

 If your thinking of purchasing a static at this site beware.Once the site have your money they will do nothing. During the year the amount you pay for rates, site rent/pitch insurance, testing of gas equipment testing of electrical equipment. Draining down filling up testing fire equipment is huge compared to other sites.When we bought ours the entertainment brought in was six days a week now your lucky if its four days. The children's play area has had the death slide locked up for the past two seasons and it was the most popular thing in the kids play area.

Street lighting takes months at times to get repaired, leaving you in total darkness walking to your caravan. The grass is not cut as regular as it used to be, that is unless you have bought at the top of the site where they have spent money to encourage new business. The roundabouts on the park have not been looked at for planting or tidying in the last five years.

The food used to be reasonable now it is downright diabolical.

The pool is small and dated but generally okay although the changing rooms leave a lot to be desired.

The is a laundry although on certain days you can not use it until later as the staff do the laundry for the hire caravan in there to.

There is a small takeaway in the entertainment lounge but there is also a small chip shop beside the laundry which has not opened for the last two or three seasons and even when it did it only open for a short period of time and was closed long before the bars shut so was no good to anyone really.

If your selling they have you by the short and curlies as you do not know what is being said we had three people put off this way and ended up having to sell back to the site for a fraction of what our van cost.The price owners pay for electric is quite high to but not as high as the gas, we had a bill last year for £400+ and this year we only unused the caravan for one weekend and got a gas bill for nearly £300.

So if you have plenty of money or do not mind throwing it down a drain, go ahead and buy here if not, I would seriously recommend purchasing a tourer instead. They are more fun and you have hundreds of sites to choose from with genuinely friendly staff especially if you join one of the clubs 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RichardPM38 6 reviews from this member

 Just Back from a 5 night stay at Grannie's, we had 5 days with only a shower of rain, but it was a bit windy at times, but that's to be expected here.

The site was busy as usual for this time of year, we were rather disappointed with the toilet block at the bottom of the park, even though they have put a new toilet block further up the park this one remains open, and it was in quite a state, the first two days I think it was only cleaned once, a lot of the problem is that it is near the beach and unsupervised children frequent it and make quite a mess. Also the cleanliness of the function room and adjacent area were far from perfect, I 'm not sure whether this is down to shortage of staff or not. The entertainment team try very hard and do well with the children, but for adults this time was a bit poor, having said this we still love it here and if you can get the weather there are not many places better to be, and we will be back, but hoping for improved facilities for us poor campers. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Star1234 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous week at this site. Site is clean with a large touring / camping area. Site is also very quiet at night surprisingly for such a large site.

The toilets & showers are probably amongst the best we have experienced so far,very clean, hot showers, with free hair dryers. There is also electric sockets in the dishwashing area for those not on ehu.
There is a clubhouse which has entertainment day & night although think it needs a bit of an upgrade, the swimming pool is clean and tidy and you pre-book a session at reception. There is also a municipal pool in Golspie if you can't get booked in for a day.

There is an amusement arcade with various pocket money machines so well geared towards families.

The beach at Embo is gorgeous and safe for kids when tide is out to do a bit of crab hunting in the rock pools. Chippy is ok but is skinny frozen fries no real chips here I'm afraid!

Take a kite or buy one its fabulous here for kite flying as it can be windy.

Can't comment on any of the restaurants has never eat in them.

There is a Costcutter on site which is ok,sells good selection of pocket money toys! Couple of spars in Dornoch or best bet is Tain about 10 miles away where there is a large co-op & also a Lidl.

Loads of various places to visit, Dornoch has the Cathedral, Dunrobin Castle at Golspie, There is the Shin falls where if right time of year you can see the salmon running, and see a very famous face in the gift shop, also has an excellent playpark for kids.

Lairg has the ferry croft centre and lovely views of Loch Shin and we can highly recommend the Lairg Highland Hotel for a bite to eat, excellent service and lovely food. Nice playpark in Lairg also. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Evony666 2 reviews from this member

 We are first time campers and came with an open mind. I set up my tent no problem on the well manicured grass and got settled. The toilets and shower facility were clean and in okay condition. The area was generally tidy and park supervisors seem to keep a good eye on the place.

However, I was disappointed with the facilities:

The child’s play area was a bit care-worn and could do with an upgrade.

The Swimming pool was small and the changing rooms were in poor condition. The spa area was broken and had no signs that anybody intended on fixing it.

Flowerbeds were full of weeds and obviously haven't been maintained and had broken fences (I thought that they were blobs of grass with rocks in that the keepers couldn't cut!).

Take away food on site was soggy, cold and overpriced from a small, amateur menu – they didn’t even have drinks. Don't bother with the restaurant at all.

It was noisy until about midnight daily.

On a positive, the small shop on site was excellent and the lady there was fantastic for advice. The penny arcade was fun and the entertainment is good. The area is beautiful and peaceful. Dornoch has a few good cafe's and pubs and the Capaldi's (Royal supplier) ice cream is to die for.

All in all, go to the area. £25 per night to pitch a tent at Grannies Heilan Hame is ludicrous. I would expect much better and I wonder if the site is living off a reputation from a few years ago? 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dornoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4482 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement