Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Dornoch > Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Embo
Dornoch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV25 3QD
Tel: 0844 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 185
Open: 22nd March - 11th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracy2 1 review from this member

 Easy to find and navigate around. Great spot by the beach and all alone. Staff at reception were lovely and helpful.

Bar staff relayed a tirade of information on arrival! Didnít take most of it in. The food we ordered was terrible, in a pizza box, thatís all they had, and was cold by the time I got it back! The skin on fries were not as advertised - they were deep fried frozen chips! They smelt like fish (probably as they were fried in the same oil!) so as a vegan I could not eat these. I realise things are different with COVID regulations but it was very poor and we did not eat there again. Money missed! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moraypark 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite at Embo, staff very friendly and helpful however a couple of pointers

: I think only 4 shower cubicles in each toilet block is not enough for campsite

: Pitches too close together should be at least another meter apart 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ginty1 8 reviews from this member

 Good site for families. Clean facilities, staff helpful but we personally prefer a smaller site as this site reminds us of being young an going to Butlins holiday camps.

Also found having to book swimming pool the day before was crazy as you don't want to plan your day by having to be there at a specific time just to have a swim so we didn't bother.

Not planning a return but as I said great for families. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Siannunn 2 reviews from this member

 Great setting beach within walking distance. Shower toilet washing up block.

On arrival book swimming right away especially for short stays to avoid disappointment.

Been a few times can get great late tourer deals closer to date direct from haven. Lots of pitches ehu available.

Shop on site, Dornoch short drive to co op.

Hair dryer broken and detached in ladies bathroom. Hope it's repaired before our next stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Herring9 3 reviews from this member

 Part seasonal pitch. Staff very friendly. Great beaches. Nice to see all types of wildlife. The walk to little ferry well worth the trek. Lots of good walks in the area.

Only about 60 mls to the west coast. Very busy on the bank holidays but no problems. Good wifi in club house.

Well stocked spotless shop with nice staff. Will return. Food nice price of beer no different to any holiday park. Will return 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shargar23 3 reviews from this member

 Aririved here on 13th October 2017 and stayed for 5 nights. Check in was simple and pitch was easy to find. Managed to get the caravan set up on a dry(ish) part on the pitch next to a very muddy puddle. Looked like previous people had been stuck and car tyres had churned up a big hole in the ground which had filled with water.

Attempted to put the awning up but gave up after a few attempts as was so windy. Looking around, not a lot of people had them up so decided was the best idea as didnít want it damaged.

The toilet block was clean enough but there was a funny odour at random times (not a normal toilet smell lol) there was only 4 showers for the whole of the touring park in both male and female blocks and these were poor.

Showers only stayed on for a few moments and when the button was pushed, it trickled down the pole. Few times, the floors were covered in sand and dirty and the shower trays were sandy too. There was a pair of sandy boots sat at the door the whole time we were there and at least 2 of the soap dispensers were empty during our stay.

We knew a couple who had been there a few days before us and had reported that a few of the street lights on the way to the entertainment were out. She actually fell and hurt herself and they were still not fixed by the time we left even after us reporting it again. Was a very dark road even when the other lights were on.

Only used the entertainment a few times which was ok. The projector wasnít working so couldnít do karaoke as advertised. Had a meal at the show bar once and was ok but for what we paid, wouldnít return. Ordered a Big kids meal of fish fingers for my son and he got 2 fingers on his plate with some chips. Daughter had nachos with chilli which cost £9. 95. Not worth it in my opinion. The on-site shop Closed quite early in the evening and also the amusement arcades were closed at 10 which I found strange when the entertainment went on till later.

The pool was good and warm but small. Only 30allowed in at a time which was fine. Jacuzzi was within the pool which was nice but when I wasnít able to get a ticket to go in with the rest of the family, wouldíve been nice to be able to use this as a separate option from the pool. Did go for a sauna which was nice and clean.

Nice a close to a gorgeous beach which we walked every day. Nice walk into Dornoch which had nice local shops.

A few miles away from the park was a sign for Skelbo Forrest walk so we went with the dog and kids. Was lovely place with a sculpture walk. Was a nice find and would recommend it if you were there. Took us about an hour to walk, with a few hilly climbs but not too steep and a flight of steps.

Would check out the seals on Loch Fleet which is a few miles away from park also. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lenandlou 10 reviews from this member

 Much better than many such parks for tourers and vans. The services were fairly adjacent, clean and not too busy. The shop was well stocked, and reception staff very helpful.

The food in the restaurant was fine, and the entertainers good.

The beach is marvellous for wild life, and the walk to Dornoch along the golf course is bracing. The little museum in Dornoch is worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Driftaway 3 reviews from this member

 We have been been to Parkdean Grannies Heilin Hame Caravan site several times. It has always been a great site. The weather was bad but we got caravan set up. We used the clean toilet block.

We used the site shop, was shocked that it was over £2 for 6 eggs which my husband bought. We went to the club, played bingo and won £80. The entertainer that night was not very good, a Rod Stewart Tribute.

The next night there was a Duo on and they were very good. There was a lot of kids but the staff were friendly and had them under control. We love to go there as the beach is beautiful even in stormy weather.

Will definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shirl56 7 reviews from this member

 Sorry, Grannies - we won't be back. Dogs running free all over site, dog mess left, adults and children playing football, frisbee around vans. Small children knocked over by large dogs. Football kicked into the side of our van with no apology. Huge play areas away from vans - lazy people. In short, anarchy. Toilet facilities are good, clean and heated. Only 2 showers for women, no means of cleaning them after use therefore dirty floors at busy times. Restaurant fully booked by the time we arrived (around 3pm). Noisy bar with one pool table. Pool table mechanism temperamental, member of staff helped us on day 1. On day 2 pool table mechanism wrecked by man in bar with huge fists. Good dog walks on beach. Only satisfied customers in our group were the dogs. Focus here is all on static vans. Tourers left to their own devices. No obvious security. Paid for 4 days, left after 3. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crazyterrier2000 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here July 2015, prior to peak season, Tent with elctricic, 1 adult, 1 child. Have stayed at Embo various times over the last 30 years, its the nearest family park to me, I love it, as does my daughter, which is why we go back. Entertainment in area in general is dated, and I don't think much has changed except the decore for a while. As you would expect with Parkdean the kids entertainment is brilliant, and I could not fault the people that do it at all, food was quite good, although they did run out of Ice cream in the restaurant, which was not good out of peak season.

Small shop which had an awful lot of stuff in it, so no reason to leave thesite if youdon't want to.

Large swing park which was well used, with sand underneath.

Toilet blocks, 1 modern which had everything required for a touring site, lots of hot water and well cleaned, and the original one which is open weekends and peak season (I think)is older and dated, but the one we used most because it was quieter and nearer, dated but clean, although it did tend to run out of hand soap and toilet paper regularly. Losts of camping areas, however, check your weather, the central area of the camping area does hold water, and as such has a tendancy to flood, as happened when we were there, but years of knowledge means I was not in that area.

Staff are friendly, the area is beautiful, with Dornoch being the nearest town, there is larger supemarkets in Tain, about 15 minutes away. In Golspie, 15 muinutes north, there is a very nice fossil/rock museum which was fascinating, even though its not my cup of tea, but is my daughters, and well worth a visit.

2 different styles of beaches, 1 sand and 1 rockpool, which always attract the children, these are very good rockpools, but make sure you have the correct footwear, not the heels that I noticed 1 lady wearing, 1 occasion we gathered anough muscles for a light lunch.

I will be expecting to come here at least once a year while the kids are young, and hopefully after they have left home as well. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dornoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


919 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement