Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Morpeth > Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park Reviews

Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park
Alwinton
Rothbury
Morpeth
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE65 7BG
Tel: 01669650341  or  01913780146
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 78
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roshmum 2 reviews from this member

 Been here 2 weekends in a row with friends and kids, both parties have 2 adults and 3 children, kids think its great and we find it good too.

Toilets are fine although need updating. Nice and peaceful, no shops nearby although rothbury isn't too far away. Its all you need for a weekend away, I don't think I could do more than 2 nights though, not enough to do. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jill32 1 review from this member

 This site is brilliant, great for the kids hardly saw mine they were always at the park which is safe and easy for them to get to, my youngest is 5 and he was going by himself!

The showers and toilets are very clean the best I've been to. Dogs are fine on this site and have plenty walks nearby. The only thing this site lacks is a shop nearby or on site, the closest shop is in rothbury which is a bit of a pain. Will definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Waterston 1 review from this member

 After reading other reviews we went with open mind and to expect the worst.On arrival we were greeted buy both campsite mangers who were very polite and helpful as we went to put our tent up the kids went to the park the views of the cheviot hill were out of this world after putting tent up kids came back with a couple of new friends.
The toilets were very clean the shower has a mind of its own but once you knew how to use them they were great.
We visited clennell hall,2.50 a pint which is very fair,kids only allowed in till 9 oclock.
On sunday the site manger recommended a pub for sunday lunch 10min away.Rose and thistle.Staff very friendly the sunday lunch was out of this world meat provided by local farmer and they grew there own veg,for desert I had homemade cheesecake well what can I say except mmmmmmmmmmm. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sir Bobby 1 review from this member

 Upon arrival staff were friendly and helpful. The site was quite quiet (Thursday) and there was plenty of space for the children to run around as well as a decent play park. The facilities are quite dated but they were clean. The location appeared to be very nice and our first impressions were good. (This changed on the second night!) After an enjoyable first night we headed into Rothbury where there are plenty of pubs, shops etc.

Friday evening was a disaster. The site was much busier but that wasn't the problem. Clennell Hall, which is right next door to the tent field, hosted Blyth Rugby club for the evening. I have nothing against anyone having a good time but when they were still going at three in the morning it was a bit too much for the children. Clearly the Hall must host events regularly as some of the caravan owners were talking about it on the Thursday. So anyone planning a visit would be advised to check whether any event is planned at Clennell Hall. I think the owners of the site need to try and come to some sort of agreement with the staff at Clennell Hall with regard to putting a time limit on events there because it must impact on business for the campsite. Alternatively they could warn guests before taking bookings.

Personally I would be reluctant to go back because my main recollection of our stay there was the noise!

Overall it's not a bad site but being located next to Clennell Hall has major disadvantages when they host events.

As for Blyth Rugby club. They will have won few friends after one of their members fired a tirade of verbal foul mouthed abuse at the campers in general because somebody dared to complain! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Louisechloe 22 reviews from this member

 We could not get a hook up pitch so stayed on the tent pitches which was not level but nothing the chocks could not handle and as we were with friends who were camping its was ideal. The price for two nights 2 adults and 3 children was excellent at £36, as before the gentleman on check in was very nice and helpful.
Toilet blocks again clean but do need up dating and wash up area could do with another sink as there are only 2 and it was quite busy when we were there.

Take plenty of midge spray as there was loads after dusk and I had loads of bites after the weekend. Clennell Hall was just across from the tent pitches, no entertainment on that weekend but had a few drinks, its was very friendly.
There is a large children's park which our children enjoyed and did not see them for most of Saturday night. The surrounding area is very picturesque and Rothbury is about a 15 min drive and is a lovely place with a variety of local shops, park and river walks. This is a lovely clean cheap site which we will return to in the near future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roisinbound 1 review from this member

 We went as a family of four, two boys. Arrived after clock in time to delightful managers who were happy to help. The site was wonderful, the toilet blocks were kept pristine at all times, but I must say they are a bit dated and could be modernised somewhat. The area was lovely, especially the views that could be seen on the walks. Overall, we'd definitely go back because of the site managers and how helpful and friendly they were. Give it a try! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brian / KK 10 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site quite a few times over the years, mainly for it's peace and quiet and the fact that it's only about an hours drive from home.

I stayed last night and the nearby Clennel hall must have had some sort of band, in an outdoor marquee. At times I couldn't hear the radio due to the noise from the nearby Hall, which lasted until well after midnight.

The field where the tents are placed on this site is right next to the Hall

The site remains very nice and the chap who seems to run it very friendly and helpful, but if you are considering staying here and don't like loud music, best to check with the Hall whether or not they are having a function on.

The first time I visited this site, there were several day trippers parked along this same road having picnics by the small river. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welovecamping 1 review from this member

 Been to this site recently and would like to give members an idea of what it's like.

We booked over the internet and arrived for a 2 night stay just after half term with our 11 yr old son. Beautiful scenery and a lovely site but we had not been informed that there was to be a motor bike rally on the very evening we had booked in for our first night. The music was ok during the afternoon but got a little wearing when it was still going on at 3am and we found it difficult to get any sleep at all. As we left on the Monday, the owners didn't even mention the rally and acted as though it would be a normal thing to expect.

I could not fault the site itself, as I have said, it is set in a lovely location and the facilities were good but please beware if you book in at the weekend then you may get more than you bargained for. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karlos1972 9 reviews from this member

 We (my partner and kids, my two brothers and their families, 17 in all) went to Clennell hall the first weekend in April and decided to go back for the Easter bank holiday weekend. The first weekend was ok, nice and peaceful we were on the small field where the kids plat area is but it wasn't busy so we didn't mind. The first week we stood and talked to the duty wardens and found them friendly, we never got to see the site managers.

In contrast our second weekend was a nightmare, The site was very busy none of our party got a hot or even warm shower and there was no hot water to wash up. Being on the playimg field was a nightmare too, we had other peoples kids running past tents right through the middle tripping over guy ropes, one tent and one wind break ripped!

There was noise both nights we stayed until early hours and nothing done about it (even though several campers complained). Other campers couldn't find a pitch so asked for money back and were refused. Grass cutter out at 8:30 in morning next to tents, I heard one camper complaining but given a very surly 'we start work at 8:30 so there's nothing you can do about it'.

On our third day we went to visit Amble, on returning we found someone had been in our tents and the site manager marching over to show us that our rubbish had been set on fire. He insisted we must have started it but we had been off site at least two and a half hours before it started. My brothers tent was damaged by the fire and it wasn't fit to sleep in it that night, we all packed up to head off home.

As we hadn't caused the damage ourselves we asked for a refund for that night. The manager refused to even talk to us, then refused to give us his bosses name and number. In 17 years camping I have never heard so many complaints, and never heard so many ignored by the site On this second experience I agree with previous reviews about staff attitudes and the poor facilities. Myself or My brothers won't be visiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karlos1972 9 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 2 nights on this site, I have to say what a perfect location. There are walks in almost every direction which would suit anybody from serious hikers or just for a nice leisurely stroll. There is a small stream just outside the site which if the weather had been warmer would have been perfect for the kids to paddle in, there are hills and fantastic scenery all around. 
The site itself has a good play area for the kids which is now where the tents are pitched so you can keep an eye on them. There is a bar in clennell hall itself (nothing to do with site) which is reasonably priced and it has a restaurant which we never used so can't comment on.
The shower blocks aren't ultra modern but are clean and well looked after, the showers were ok but on the second morning weren't very warm, but that may have been down to the fact that when we got up there was a thick ground frost! after all it was the 2nd of April. There was also a lack of hot water on an evening in the toilets.  But overall a friendly well maintained site apart from the hot water. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morpeth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2083 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement