Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Morpeth > Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park Reviews

Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park
Alwinton
Rothbury
Morpeth
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE65 7BG
Tel: 01669650341  or  01913780146
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 78
Open: 01/03 To 31/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barrymc 1 review from this member

 My partner and kids and I have had a lovely little weekend at riverside holiday park, lovely kept grounds nice and rural just what we were after, felt completely safe letting the kids run around playing. Will more than likely be back but probably without the kids so we can explore the stunning scenery and walks a lot better. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cycling Snail 1 review from this member

 Many thanks to Jill and Brian for a great welcome after an early morning 275-mile, 5-hour drive here- coffee and biscuits much appreciated! Lovely location- perfect for walking in the border country (we did Cushat Law- fantastic view of snow-covered Cheviot/Hedgehope Hill), or cycling up the Coquet valley and over the Otterburn Ranges, or indeed the 34 miles to Warkworth on the coast- and back through the charming town of Rothbury. Very relaxing, pleasant 15-min walk to the friendly Rose and Thistle in Alwinton, being checked out by a pair of nesting oystercatchers on the way. Campsite nice place to sit whilst having breakfast and watch a great spotted woodpecker drumming on a tree nearby. Bathroom facilities very clean and wonderful hot shower after all the cycling and walking. Highly recommended, and definitely want to come back again to do more exploring, hopefully the weather will be just as amazing as it was on this trip! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandy11 6 reviews from this member

 22 (+ an expensive 6) per night for electric, lovely peaceful and level site with basic but clean toilet and shower facilities. The ladies had four toilets, a hand basin, two basin cubicles and three shower cubicles. Extra hooks to hang towels/clothes would be helpful. There are washing up sinks and a telephone, useful as no network available but we did get wifi in Clennell Hall. There is a washing machine if you ask. The warden was very helpful. There is a lovely play park on site for children.

We were lucky enough and surprised to see a red squirrel on site twice and the surrounding countryside is amazing with lots of walking in the area.

Clennell Hall, next to the campsite serves delicious food. I wish we could have stayed longer for more of it! There is also a good sized pub serving food at Alwinton a mile away. The nearest shops are at Rothbury about 10 miles away so it's best to buy any groceries etc on your way to the campsite.

Three places we visited and recommend are Cragside (National Trust), Alnwick Castle and Castle Gardens including the poison garden and Chillingham Castle.

We would like to return to this campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debrahay 1 review from this member

 I took my 10 year old daughter for a short camping trip at Clennel campsite, I kept going and paying for another night as it was so lovely. The staff are friendly and helpful, the site is just what we needed. Showers and toilets lovely and clean. The only down side was the midgies at night, so go prepared. But that has nothing to do with the site or staff.

We had a very enjoyable stay, lots of walks and peace to recharge my batteries.

I'm hoping to go again, later this month. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stevesmith2410 1 review from this member

 Fantastic!

Booked in for 1 night, I was the only tent in as it was the end of the season. Very clean and tidy, the staff were very helpful and friendly.

All the facilities were clean and in good order.

Great stay and hope to go back next summer when its warmer as I woke up to a bit frost on the ground which looked great. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruby Wray 6 reviews from this member

 Great location for walking and the site itself is very scenic. There are some challenging walks straight from the campsite. Quite remote, nearest shops are 10 miles away in Rothbury (which is worth a visit itself). Camping field is level and sheltered. Toilets are satisfactory and clean. No charge for showers.

Robin the on duty warden was very helpful even when it was clear his head office had not told him about our booking. He lent me some tools when I had a problem with the gas regulator.

Only down side is the high cost (19 for 2 people and smallish tent).

Clennell Hall is weird, fascinating but friendly and serves meals at times. Pub at Alwinton (20 mins walk across the fields) serves simple food but not bad.

We had the additional attraction of a motor bike rally and live band at Clennell Hall.

Also saw the same red squirrel 3 times visiting a water trough next to the campsite!

Despite the price we would go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 9darts 1 review from this member

 Great site the location and views are really good. There are walks ever where. The toilet block does its job. There is a park for the kids. Alwinton is just tens walk away where there is a nice pub which serves nice food and drink. The tent field is flat drains well. There are red squirrels on the park but have to be quiet so see them the wardens Jill and Brian cant do enough for you they made us a coffee while we put up are tent I will be going back next summer 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gillyhigg 1 review from this member

 We have now been to this campsite twice and both times have been welcomed with a warm and a friendly smile. The relaxed atmosphere set in the most beautiful countryside makes for a very worthwhile camping experience be it one night or more. Children loved the play park and plenty of area to play ball games and also stream nearby to go plodging ! Toilets and showers were kept clean ! Visited lovely pub in village rose and thistle and also visited clennel hall bar area which were both very child friendly and welcoming. Will look forward to returning soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WalkandCamp 9 reviews from this member

 A bit expensive at 13 for 1 person tent but in the lovely Coquetdale and no other sites in the dale.

Very flat camping field hidden away from the caravans. Toilets are dated but do the job. Hot shower no extra charge.

There is a bar in Clennel Hall next door. Had 1 drink and found it a bit odd and the glass was filthy so walked the easy mile to Alwinton and visited the Rose and Thistle, which is a friendly pub with good food.

The price puts me off but the area is fabulous for walking so likely to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jazzypete 2 reviews from this member

 We have been 2 times to this site once last year and again last week 15th june, both weekend stays have been so relaxing I'm planing my next trip.

The site is so out there for walks, bike rides or just lazzing about, the couple who run the campsite are lovly and very helpful.

We found the toilet blocks clean and tidy and loads of hot water and the grounds tidy with short grass ideal for tents.

Well worth a visit 10 out of 10 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clennell Hall Riverside Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morpeth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6956 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements