Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyllwyd Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Tyllwyd Campsite Reviews

Tyllwyd Campsite
Rhayader
Cwmystwyth
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 4AG
Tel: 01974 282216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 21 to 29                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenclarke 16 reviews from this member

 Basic site but made up for by its idyllic location alongside the river with mountains both sides and sheep and cattle grazing.

Nice to feed crumbs to the friendly pair of chaffinches who visited me every morning. Very little traffic along the mountain road. Didn't have any problem with midges in June.

James and Clare lovely people, always willing to help. Will freeze ice packs for free.

Long walk to shower, toilets etc which were kept fairly clean, free hot water, loo roll, soap and hand dryers. Only one shower which was inadequate at a quiet time so expect a queue in school hols.

No phone signal for miles (Orange), generally not a problem but I was unfortunate enough to have car problems and had to keep trotting to the farmhouse to use their phone.

Lovely walks from the camp site. As other reviewers have said, stock up on essentials as there's nothing for miles. Heaven! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Expedswales 3 reviews from this member

 A very nice and well kept, quiet little site.

Very pleasant spot being next to a river, the toiled facilities are a bit of a stroll from the far end of the site, but this shouldn't put anyone off, as they are kept very clean!

A number of pre built fire/barbecue areas and picnic tables available, all in all very relaxed and fab views.

Regularly camps small groups here with no complaints, Clare and James are very friendly and helpful and put a lot of time into keeping the place tidy.

Midge repellent would be a very good idea in July. The Google car passed on an April visit.

Well recommended, especially if you are cycling or enjoy walking. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jual 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this beautiful campsite for the end of May bank holiday, we stayed for just over a week.

It's just up from the beautiful Elan Valley on a spectacular mountain road. The roads are very quiet and lovely for cycling on.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, the campsite and farm are very well kept and maintained. There's a nice play area for the children and the shallow river also provided a lot of entertainment. Fires are allowed as long as they are in the BBQ or a fire pit.

We took mosquito coils and spray which seemed to work. They weren't there for very long, only just as it was getting dark then they disappeared again.

They give a discount if you stay for a week or more.

I was a bit concerned at first by the two toilets and one shower but this turned out not to be a problem. The site is a lot smaller than a lot of campsites. Over bank holiday there would be sometimes one person waiting in front of me for the toilet, in the mornings there was a queue of about 4 for the shower but no-one in the evening. After bank holiday you didn't often meet anyone at the toilet block! (There were only 8 caravans/tents).

It is now one of our favourite campsites, a proper get away from it all, very restful and peaceful.

We are planning our next return! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: R_is_for_rachel 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is set in beautiful surroundings-valleys and a stream running through it.It is quite isolated but that is a good feature! Next to the Elan Valley and the resevoirs-which are good to visit.

Facilities are 1 male/1 female toilet, 1 shower room(free) and a small room with a sink for washing up. Also there is a small playground and many benches and barbeques.

Main problem for us was the midges- the one night was very bad and we had to wear scarves over our faces as even breathing and talking was difficult. Also got bitten to death! I imagine the site is perfect when there are no midges though! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimuth 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site.

Very quiet: very well run and maintained, miles from anywhere (roads are great fun to drive around though!) and great walks up the surrounding hills. The owners are always ready for a chat or help, and the site has a very laid-back feeling.

The river is a great hit with the young (and not so young) and the Elan Valley is close enough for a good days walk.

Our favourite campsite we've been to yet. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BushBabyJane 25 reviews from this member

 This quiet little site is about 10-15 minutes drive(along a narrow road) from the nearest shop, so make sure you're well stocked!
 
The location is lovely, surrounded by hills and with a wide stream running through the site. Red Kites can be seen overhead. Very quiet.
 
There is just one toilet for the men, one toilet for the women and a single shared shower. The facilities are kept clean.
 
Recommended for a few days away from it all. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C.Heron 4 reviews from this member

 I had a wonderful 12 days based here.
The site manager Mary is lovely and friendly.
There was a very relaxed approach to bookings my extended family were able to arrive at odd intervals and stay for various lengths of time .
It was nice not having to leave by a set time on the day of departure we were able to pack up at our leisure allowing the tent plenty of time to air.
The facilities clean and well kept.
The location is perfect to get away from it all; no phone signal for about 15 miles around on most networks and no shops 'til you get to Devils Bridge or Rayader
 The river was beautiful to swim and paddle in. The play area kept young children amused.
The other site users were friendly. We saw Red Kites, visited a lead/silver mine, walked  in the mountains, climbed up and down the Devils Bridge trail, cycled and had fun.
The sheep were good company too keeping the grass on site short. I bought some fleeces from Mary's son to practise spinning and the wool is lovely.
 The Midges were a bit over welcoming; do take repellents and something for the bites.
 A lovely site . 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mkgb 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite in a peaceful and picturesque location. Here are a few of the features that make this site stand out above the rest.

- Mary Raw, the owner is the friendliest and most helpful person you could ever hope to meet. She made sure that our stay was as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.

- 'Chip' the retired sheep dog is on site during the day to keep the children entertained. We even took him on a walk onto the surrounding hills. A very good alternative for those of us who constantly get nagged by our children to get a pet but for practical reasons aren't so keen.

- The stream running the length of the camping field is also a favourite with the children and is safe for all but the youngest ones. You are able to pitch a tent directly along the bank. It's great to fall asleep with the sound of flowing water in the background.

- Excellent hill walking and cycling from site. Near by Elan Valley and Nant-y-arian provide additional cycling opportunities for all abilities.

But please don't tell anyone about this site. Let's keep it our little secret 


Reviewer: craigh21 3 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Very nice site, picturesque, very clean and tidy, we will definately be returning. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 29     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tyllwyd Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyllwyd Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Tyllwyd Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberystwyth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2924 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window