Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyllwyd Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Tyllwyd Campsite > Reviews

Tyllwyd Campsite
Rhayader
Cwmystwyth
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 4AG
Tel: 01974 282216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 The owners of this campsite have advised it will not be opening for the 2023 season as they are having building work done. They hope to reopen as normal in 2024.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Anemar 1 review from this member

 Lovely place.

Our family had a great time in this camp, friendly with our lovely dog.

Lively area lots of places to visit around.

Definitely we will come back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Suewhi 1 review from this member

 This has got to be the best campsite we have stayed on.

Surrounded by beautiful mountains with a stream running through.

A gem of a find and will definitely be back.

10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lathom 1 review from this member

 Set in the most beautiful valley with next to the river. It was a midweek break and only one other motorhome on site.

If you're looking to emerse yourself in nature away from modern technology this is the place for you. We had no phone signal and the campsite Internet went in and out.

No toilet or shower facilities but there is electric hook-up, water and a basic place to empty toilet cassettes.

There is a slide and swings for children and the river was low enough for paddling ( we didn't take the grandchildren but may do so in the future).

We absolutely loved it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ergates2112 7 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed here, and is still the best site we have ever been to - if it suits you (it's not for everybody) it's everything you need and nothing you don't.

It's a long way from the nearest town Rhayader, over a fairly forbidding mountain road, but the hosts are lovely and the Riverside site is glorious.

No tents at the moment as the toilets and showers are closed, but we will be back as soon as we can. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Leahog 1 review from this member

 Tyllwyd campsite was absolutely gorgeous, I mean the weather helped but it truly was the perfect pitch for us. The pitch was big, right on the river side, secluded and a fire pit and picnic bench per pitch too!

The facilities were not open, but we were self contained so no biggy! The owners were great, nothing was too much of an ask, we even forgot butter and they gave us some of theirs!

Will definitely be returning, lovely little find. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DocSara 1 review from this member

 Beautiful situation. Tidy and quiet. Just what we wanted. We were happy being so close to the river, and watching the birds.

We will be back next year. The pitch was dry although it had been raining. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Neriss 1 review from this member

 Loved loved loved this campsite! Basic facilities but you have what you need to stay warm, clean, occupied and vaguely connected with the outside world.

Thereís plenty of fab days out for anyone of any age. The owners clearly run a farming business but were happy to help out where they could.

The main highlight for me was the location right in the middle of the Elan valley. Itís not silent but so peaceful. It really felt like getting back in touch with nature and the creatures and plants that we rely on.

I really got to spend some quality time with my family too which was really precious.

Canít recommend highly enough and will definitely return there in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gypsydi 10 reviews from this member

 Utopia in camp sites. Beside a bubbling brook, sun shining, mountains all around, camp fire alters, everything you could wish for.

And we had the site to our selves. We had to stay 2 nights, it was so perfect. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 37 reviews from this member

 This is one of those locations which you dream about but rarely find. Surrounded by mountains, by the side of a delightful stream, you could spend hours just sitting at one of the picnic benches watching the red kite overhead, the wagtails and redstarts by the river, or the hare in the fields opposite.

No TV, no phone, no newspapers - and, amazingly, very few midges during our stay - we must have struck lucky, because it was certainly the season for them!

We read reviews before we went so were not disappointed by the small toilet block - other than that the people who left on our first day swanned off with a nearly full toilet roll from the ladies, and it had not been replaced 24 hours later, and, contrary to information from other reviews, there was no hot water in the washing up area when we stayed -

but these are small inconveniences and I'm sure would have been resolved if I had torn myself away from the views long enough to call at the house, because the owners were very friendly and did say to shout if we wanted anything.

If you cross the road and head back towards the Elan valley a short way, there's a splendid walk up into the hills (part of the cycle network) but do cover your legs or use insect repellent - I did neither, and acquired some very thirsty large black insects on my legs.

The views get better the higher you go. For dog owners, please be aware that you will need to keep your dog on a lead all the time.

Sheep run free even on the roads, and pop up when you least expect them, so I would recommend a flexi-lead to give your dog risk-free exercise.

All in all a top rate site, good value at £15 inclusive of electric, and one to return to whenever we feel the need to escape into the slow lane. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyllwyd Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyllwyd Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Tyllwyd Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberystwyth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5211 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement