Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tyllwyd Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Tyllwyd Campsite Reviews

Tyllwyd Campsite
Rhayader
Cwmystwyth
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 4AG
Tel: 01974 282216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: March

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gypsydi 10 reviews from this member

Utopia in camp sites. Beside a bubbling brook, sun shining, mountains all around, camp fire alters, everything you could wish for. And we had the site to our selves. We had to stay 2 nights, it was so perfect.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 30 reviews from this member

This is one of those locations which you dream about but rarely find. Surrounded by mountains, by the side of a delightful stream, you could spend hours just sitting at one of the picnic benches watching the red kite overhead, the wagtails and redstarts by the river, or the hare in the fields opposite. No TV, no phone, no newspapers - and, amazingly, very few midges during our stay - we must have struck lucky, because it was certainly the season for them! We read reviews before we went so were not disappointed by the small toilet block - other than that the people who left on our first day swanned off with a nearly full toilet roll from the ladies, and it had not been replaced 24 hours later, and, contrary to information from other reviews, there was no hot water in the washing up area when we stayed - but these are small inconveniences and I'm sure would have been resolved if I had torn myself away from the views long enough to call at the house, because the owners were very friendly and did say to shout if we wanted anything. If you cross the road and head back towards the Elan valley a short way, there's a splendid walk up into the hills (part of the cycle network) but do cover your legs or use insect repellent - I did neither, and acquired some very thirsty large black insects on my legs. The views get better the higher you go. For dog owners, please be aware that you will need to keep your dog on a lead all the time. Sheep run free even on the roads, and pop up when you least expect them, so I would recommend a flexi-lead to give your dog risk-free exercise. All in all a top rate site, good value at £15 inclusive of electric, and one to return to whenever we feel the need to escape into the slow lane.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Louey 7 reviews from this member

I stayed here for two nights after passing several times in the past. The Location is wonderful, next to a small river and surrounded by fields and hills either side. Entry to the site was okay for my 6m campervan and all but one pitch would have been suitable. I didn't use the hook up but it was available. The site has raised BBQs dotted around the site, great instead of using environmentally unfriendly disposables. The toilet block is over the road from the fields, but the road is quiet and I never saw a speeding car or motorbike during my stay. There is one shower (free), and individual toilets for each sex. Hot water was always available in the washing up room. The owner also runs a farm so might not always be available, but when they are they are extremely helpful - I was leant OS maps, suncream and given details of suitable mountain biking in the area.

The site is miles away from shops, pubs or restaurants. To me that is idyllic. For others this may meant that you need to be organised with your food and provisions.

My only gripe about the place are the midges, but you are next to a river in the summer so don't forget your repellents like I did. I will be make a return visit with my family in the near future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lin297 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site in August to do a bike ride around the Elan Valley. There are ehu's and grass pitches and although the river was very high when we were there, there was no problem with sinking into any soft ground. The facilities are just as described with one toilet for men and one toilet for women and one shower. There is a small basin in the toilet for washing which could cause a problem if there's a queue. It would be good to have a separate area for washing to prevent any embarrassing moments or more facilities although there were no problems when we were there. When we visited to reach the toilets we had to pass by a dog who was chained to a post nearby. Although it couldn't reach us it's barking was very intimidating.

The site itself was in a lovely location alongside the river with picnic tables and bbq/ firepits and a play area for children. Because of the weather and the time of year we had a few problems with the midges but they seemed to disappear at dusk so we enjoyed sitting by our fire looking up at the stars. We thought the site was great and would go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Corinne tite route 5 reviews from this member

When you want a quiet and lonely place, whithout phone, without people, with great landscape, it's perfect. I fall in love with the valley and stayed three very nice days there, with the charming sound of the river and the birds, and the colors of the falling sun on the hill on the other side of the river.

Shower is limited but ok. There are barbecues and tables in the field.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsroly 4 reviews from this member

We went to Wales over the Easter break, but decided not to book in advance as previous experience suggested there perhaps may be a chance of it chucking it down for a fair bit of the time, so we were please to get a site with EHU (£15 pn)when we rang a couple of days before we were due to go.

Never having been to the Elan Valley, we followed the instructions by the owner to follow the mountain road out of Rhayader to Aberystwyth. Middle of nowhere was a correct discription - I wouldn't recommend a large motorhome or towing caravan on this road, especially after dark. However the site was stunning, riverside, mountains and lots of sheep nearby (not on the camping field). Oddly, the shower and loos were next to the farmhouse, which meant crossing the road (quite a few motorbikes using it over the Bank holiday) so care needed.

We were the only motorhome on there, with some tents nearby and using the shower and 2 toilets did not pose a problem at all, but I wouldn't like to be waiting for these minimal conveniences when the site was busy!

We went a walk up into the hills/mountains? at the back of the site, saw many red kites, drove to Devils Bridge (terrible for the legs - many many steep steps), woodland walks and a wonderful Sunday roast at the George Borrow Hotel for about £8 each. Hafod, a country estate type place near Devils Bridge has marked walks with a lovely one along the river, free parking too. Elan valley is marvellous for walks, we stopped by the second dam which has minimal parking, but is very picturesque. There is parking at the visitor centre (£2) but the walk from there along the reservoir wasn't quite so pretty.

All said, great place, great site (isolated) and even the weather was kind!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note, the site owners have advised that they will be closed for the remainder of 2013. Normal opening will resume next year, in 2014.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HOWARDKEY 7 reviews from this member

If you want to escape the age of digital communication then this is the site for you. No mobile phone reception; absolute bliss! Tyllwyd is very remote, located next to a beautiful small river with a stunning backdrop of impressive hills. The site amenities are basic but perfectly adequate.

The toilet / shower block being situated some way from the pitches, over a quiet road, in the farmyard itself. There is a well maintained play area for kids close to the pitches and next to the river. The river itself is 'babbling' and quite shallow during drier weather, but exercise caution with younger tots!

At night all you will hear is sheep and running water (plus the snorers!). The road adjacent to the site carries light traffic during the day and is almost unused at night. We had no problems with road noise during our 3 night stay. There are numerous walks and Forestry Commission parks to visit in the area.

Devils Bridge is only 5 miles away with it's impressive waterfall. Aberystwyth is some 30 minutes away by car. Local shops are few and far between so stock up before you go!

We ate at the Halfway House pub in the unfortunately named village of Pisgah, 15 minutes away, on the Aberystwyth road. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The pub dog, a collie, is pure entertainment if you play pool or darts, removing the pool balls and hiding them under the table or trying to catch rebounding darts. The dog, amazingly, still has both eyes!

All in all a lovely little site. Uncomplicated, quiet and picturesque.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bonning 1 review from this member

We love Tyllwyd, the family have been coming here for many, many years. The location is just perfect to get away from normal life and relax.

The Elan Valley is just magical and we love visiting all of the dams, walking alongside the campsite river.

The facilities are always clean and well kept and the owners make it a pleasure to stay.

We also highly recommend Pent-Y-Bont tea rooms for a lovely lunch and charming company.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplepiglet 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights just as the Olympics were starting - had hoped to watch the ceremony online but there's absolutely no mobile reception on O2, 3, Orange or TMobile! We went elsewhere to watch it. But the reception problem is due to the remote location which is beautiful, and makes up for it in it's tranquillity.

It's a no-nonsense site with mostly clean washing and loo facilities. I think they got a bit untidy because of the gang of about 10 kids that were there for a birthday party, so coped quite well considering.

As other reviewers have commented, its location requires a bit if forward planning in terms of supplies. We only took basics, so ate out in Aberystwyth both nights, which is a 25 minute drive away, but the route is stunning. Overall a nice little get-away-from-it-all campsite.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3234 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019