Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brora Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Dalchalm )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Brora > Brora Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Dalchalm ) Reviews

Brora Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Dalchalm )
Dalchalm
Brora
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW9 6LP
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 63
Open: 23/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Waterman 23 reviews from this member

 Site - Easy to find, but take care on approach over narrow stone railway bridge. Busy site as so convenient to road. There is a circle of grass pitches, with hardstandings around the edge and along a 'pan handle' with a couple of very nice grass pitches at the end, although these would be a fair way from the facilities. Talking of fairways, along one side of the site is Brora golf course, which is very busy at weekends, there is a signed path across the course which leads to a fabulous beach which stretches for miles. When I was there Artic Terns were nesting on the beach and care was advised - they're the ones that attack you if you get too close to their nests - you can just walk in the other direction. The pitches are divided by grass strips, and the water point and chemical disposal is sited in the central grass area, to one side, which means having to walk between two caravans with water containers and loos. Also has a small grass area for tents. Basically a good site badly let down by showers.

Wardens - were friendly and helpful and always seemed to be busy but available

Dog Walk - there is a dog walk running the length of the site on the other side of a small hump, all grass, between the site and the golf course, good for an early morning/late evening quickie, but the beach and dunes are only a couple of minutes away.

Washrooms - Just the one, but it is not a very big site, so adequate. The showers were the worst I have encountered on a club site. 4 Showers, with a fixed head, which can swivel, a couple of the heads were floppy, so couldn't be directed. You would turn on the shower and it would start to drip, after some time water would start to come through, but very weak, and if another shower was turned on it got weaker, luckily I wasn't in there with all 4 running. It was difficult to adjust the temperature and got quite hot. The showering area is large enough, but drying area small and not enough hooks.

One morning I showered at 7. 45 and it was freezing, both radiators were cold. Definitely not up to CC standards. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Just north of Brora on A9 turn right at Caravan Club sign on main road. The approach is narrow and involves negotiating a blind narrow bridge. Once past small commercial campsite turn left at T-junction and Club site is a little further on the right. Campers are requested not to arrive before midday to allow leavers to exit the site without meeting incoming units on the narrow approach.

This small campsite is situated just north of Brora in the Highlands and is close to the sea which can be accessed from the site, although this does involve crossing a golf course so care is required. Non-members and tent campers are also accepted. There are 52 pitches of which 33 are on hardstandings. There is one toilet block situated not far from reception and whilst of a good standard it is of the older type. It is some distance from the furthest pitches as are the service points. There are no play facilities for children. Mobile phone signal seems OK and I could get Vodafone mobile broadband but the signal is a hit and miss. If you have a WiFi signal enhancer you should be able to get BTOpenzone.

Dalchalm could be a good option for exploring this remote part of the Highlands and Dornoch is worth a visit. Brora Golf Course is adjacent to the campsite. The small town of Brora has a small supermarket and a couple of restaurants. There are two fuel stations on the A9 on the approach to the town. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jacky4me 39 reviews from this member

 Only stayed one night on this site but as with all CC sites the facilities were up to date and clean. We were greeted by the very friendly wardens and could pick our own pitch. All pitches were quite spacious and site was very well maintained. The beach was a short walk across a golf course and was a lovely area to walk your dog/yourself and is also in a very scenic area with great views.I cannot comment on the local area due to the fact that we didn't have time, but we had a short walk around the site which looked spotlessly clean and can recommend the beach walk. We would definitely return for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplehat 30 reviews from this member

 Agree with other reviews, very pleasant few days and enjoyed our visit to Dunrobin Castle which led us into finding out more about the history of the 'Highland Clearances' whose effects are still clearly visible.

Two notes of caution, firstly the wind became very strong and awnings had to be taken down, the site was less sheltered than we had expected.

Secondly, after coming over the single track bridge on the approach, make sure you turn left. It looks as though you are approaching the wrong campsite, but the CC site is just beyond it. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beulah 4 reviews from this member

 A beautiful, peaceful site with mostly level pitches, excellent facilities and a really good location next to a golf course which is in turn next to an amazing beach. Arctic terns nesting and dive-bombing our dog. Wardens gave a friendly welcome.

Brora, the nearest town was very pleasant with a good co-op, the Sutherland Arms for very friendly service and a nice pub lunch and a sweet little cafe / florists / picture framers with a helpful proprietor who knows the area well. Had a fantastic (but not cheap!) meal at the Marine Hotel near the golf course. We'll be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kennyboy2831 31 reviews from this member

 Arrived at Dalchalm to a warm welcome from the site managers. Because not busy were told to pick our spot. Well maintained site with shower and toilet facilities spotless.

Booked for 2 but stayed for 4 nights we enjoyed it so much. Walks to Brora along the beach were easy and once in the village there were shops pubs and small information centre.

There is a golf club in Brora we also visited the local distillery which was a pleasant walk from the site. We also visited Dunrobin castle which is well worth a visit if only for the falconery display.

Would we return the answer is a definite yes 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Seade 8 reviews from this member

 This is one of our favourite sites. The access road is single track and care is needed crossing the railway bridge. Peaceful location with direct access through the golf course to a large sandy beach. The toilet block is the older Caravan Club style, but spotlessly maintained. There is a mixture of grass and hardstandings. The Co-op supermarket in Brora is small, but very good. Dunrobin Castle is just down the road and trips to John O' Groats, Dunnet Head, Orkney Islands and the west coast are all accessible from here. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wayneandjulie 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful 16 night tour around northern Scotland where we were lucky to spend two nights at Dalcham on the way up to John O'Grotes (Dunnet Bay). Everything you expect from a CC site, very clean and well presentd, extremely friendly wardens, great views over the golf course and nearby beach on the other side.

We will deffinately be travelling the 480 miles each way to return at a later date, well worth a visit! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suewo 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site close to glorious sandy beach. Possible to walk to Brora along the beach, nice pub and good small supermarket. Wonderful bike ride up the valley past the distillery. Walked to Golspie (8 miles) along the beach and got the bus back - 1.95 each.
Dornoch - approx 12 miles away is a wonderful small town, great cycle track from Embo. Site is usual high CC standards, very clean and well kept. Amazing wild life - huge seals snoozing on the beach. Narrow access over railway bridge, our LMC just squeezed through! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Withigill 2 reviews from this member

 As usual with all Caravan Club sites very high standards. All facilities very good and very clean. Site generally level and the majority were hard standing, a few grass pitches in the middle of the site. There is a very narrow approach road over the railway line, but if you observe the access times there should be no problem with caravans leaving when you arrive. Lovely walks along the beach, access across the golf course and the walks in the surrounding area. There is stunning scenery in the local area a drive up the side of Loch Brora is beautiful or the more energetic the walk up to the top of Beinn a Bhragaidh gives great views over Sutherland. About 10Km south of the site.

Also a visit the local distillery Clynelish is a must for malt whisky lovers, shame Brora distillery closed in 1983. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brora Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Dalchalm ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brora Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Dalchalm )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brora Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Dalchalm ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brora      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3888 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement