Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Elm Cottage Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Tarporley > Elm Cottage Touring Park Reviews

Elm Cottage Touring Park
Chester Lane
Little Budworth
Tarporley
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CW7 2QJ
Tel: 01829 760544
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 157 Reviews
                9/10 from 157 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  157 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sos2301 20 reviews from this member

Well I am in 2 minds to leave a review as when I book again I am sure there will be no space!

We stayed here for 10 days from the 1st June, we were on pitch 20. We took in the touring cars at Oulton Park, Llandudno, Blackpool, Liverpool, Chester, Cheshire Oaks, and much more, such a great base for visitng the area.

The facilities were immaculate every time we used them, I do wonder if there are enough showers if expansion continues, (although we did not have to queue). The washing up area was always clean and I used the washing machine and this was very reasonably priced.

Some people mentioned the road noise, (which is not bad, (we have stayed at noisier) but this is inevetable if you want a site that has good travel links to the area, the road never bothered us. There is a pub just down the road but we didn't manage to get there, we did use the Jade Buddah Chinese which is about 10 minuites drive and it will NOT dissapoint!

As it was busy due to the touring cars Elm Cottage even have a breakfast van at peak times! Brilliant

Then a chippy van arrived on the Saturday evening and all of the orders were cooked fresh.

We would not hesitate to return.

Considering Jackie & James have only been the owners since August, I would like to thank them for being helpful and keeping such a lovely site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LHeidinger 1 review from this member

Fantastic camping weekend at Elm Cottage during half term. The site is super clean and has the best grass quality I've ever seen at a campsite - the kids enjoyed running around barefoot! Loved it! Quality facilities with lots of hot water. Additionally what makes the site so special are all the extras and personal touches that the owners Jackie and James arrange for: we had Thai food stall, music band, games for kids, not to mention a snug room where you can plug in your hair dryers and straighteners or just chill out:-) Overall a fab campsite and we are already looking to book again in the summer!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Grand campers 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site! Our first visit to the site and the area too on May Bank Holiday weekend to watch motor racing at Oulton Park. The owners Jackie and James were very welcoming and friendly. The site is right on the main road, so easy to find and no long and narrow road to traverse to get to it. Traffic noise was surprisingly unobtrusive. We had a lovely pitch in the touring field. There is also a large camping and rally field, which appeared to be very busy, but again, surprisingly, noise from it was also almost unnoticeable. Although there is a single toilet block (which also houses a laundry room and dishwashing facility) this again ran very smoothly, considering the number of campers on site. The best thing for me though was the cleanliness, especially of the toilet block! I have never been on a site where the toilets are so spotless - the owners are obviously putting their heart and soul into their site. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KellyJoa 1 review from this member

Just spent a lovely weekend at this site, owners and staff were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us even lending us a screwdriver to fix one of our children's toys and they came round regularly on their bikes to check we were OK. There was a Thai meal available on site which was run by external caterers on the Saturday night which made a nice change from cooking although the portions could have been a little bigger for the money.

Pitch sizes are decent and although the site was full we didn't feel packed in and had plenty of space around us, noise levels were fine considering it was a busy weekend and we have two young children who had no problem sleeping.

Facilities are very clean, I even bumped into one of the owners cleaning the toilets at 1am that's dedication for you. They also have a very nice toddler room on site which was great for washing my two year old after he had spent considerable time digging in the dirt.

We also enjoyed a very pleasant meal at the Shrewsbury Arms which is within walking distance from the campsite and the site is perfectly located for both Chester Zoo and Oulton Park both of which we attended over the weekend.

There is a small shop on site offering camping essentials such as bacon, eggs, bread, milk which was really handy and bacon was very tasty.

Will definitely be making a return visit.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joannem1 13 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay on this site. After being shown to our pitch( which was an all - weather pitch) we had a walk around the site. There was an indoor dishwashing area as well as an outdoor one, also there was a freezer for campers to use, and a nice little room called The Wee Snug to plug in hairdryers, straighteners etc, which was a thoughtful addition to the site. There is also a nice little dog walk around the edge of the site. The park says it has 35 pitches, but that is only for touring vans & motorhomes & does not take into account the camping field which holds a lot of tents and extra touring caravans etc, so this B\H with the weather being warm & sunny the 3 ladies showers, 1 private wash cubicle was not sufficient for the amount of people on the park. On the Sat eve they held an ' Elm Fest' with an outdoor Thai caterer followed by an open mic then last off a band. One of the Ts &Cs of the park is for people to not make any noise after 11pm so we were surprised that the band didn't finish playing ( quite loudly) until 11. 30 pm. Overall it was OK, the weather & the local area made it for us. If you like Haven holiday parks then this is for you, however if you are looking for a bit of relaxation then I wouldn't recommend going during busy Bank Hol times.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: StaffordKnot 37 reviews from this member

Just spent two lovely days at this pretty site.

Well sign posted from the A54 and easy access onto the site.

We arrived mid-morning (by pre-arrangement), so we could make full use of the day and welcomed on arrival by the very friendly owners Jackie and James.

We had chosen an all-weather pitch which had plenty of space for the van, awning and car Ė hook up very nearby. The site is extremely well maintained, nicely mowed grass, flower tubs and even a help yourself herb box! The facilities are excellent, underfloor heated shower/toilet block, free showers and hairdryer. There is a wash up area, laundry and recycling area.

The site also has a great little shop, ideal for everyday essentials and ordering a newspaper. Also on site there is a small private collection of owls in which you are welcome to look around.

There is chargeable WIFI available; mobile phone reception (O2) was good.

Nearby is the small village of Little Budworth. Itís a good 20 Ė 25 minute walk (5 minute drive) where there are two excellent pubs. On our first evening we were going to walk, but due to bad weather booked a taxi to the Egerton Arms (cost of taxi £15 return). This is a great traditional pub with friendly staff and lively atmosphere. The menu is slightly limited to being pre-dominantly burgers (all homemade), with a couple of specials also available. Donít let this put you off as the burgers were delicious!

The following day we visited the other pub in the village the Red Lion. Again, very traditional and cosy. We didnít eat here, but probably will next time after looking at the menu. Good choice of pub classics.

That evening we took a 5 minute walk from the site along the A54 to the Shrewsbury Arms. Lovely little pub, friendly staff. Had a good pub meal.

All-in-all, a really lovely site, would highly recommend and we look forward to another visit soon.

Thanks Elm Cottage.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liptrot 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a 3 night stay. First visit to this Park. Been to other sites in the area and this is as good as any we have been on. Not a big site but all facilities good and very clean. A small shop on site with a few essential provisions.

An unusual feature is a small owl sanctuary on site in a very pleasant little garden area. Also a free air pump installed for topping up car/caravan tyres. Overall would recommend this site for long or short stay to explore the surrounding Cheshire countryside.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joannie71 1 review from this member

Booked here as wanted to be close to the Oulton Park race track. We were greeted by one of the new owners, who was lovely and polite and happy, she gave us a quick run down of the campsite, she gave us a map of how to get to the track via a safe footpath, which is not for the infirm! but we enjoyed a walk through the woods and over stiles etc. Anyway, back to the site, Its well laid out and very well looked after. We were pitch no 1 in the touring field, less than a 20 second walk from the amenity block. The toilets were clean, warm and well looked after. The showers hot, clean & free, there was a lovely indoor dishwashing area, as well as an outside one for heavier items like bbq's cookers etc. They also included a freezer for your iceblocks! great when camping! there was also a laundry with a washer and dryer, at a very reasonable cost - great touch. The owl sanctuary was a lovely touch and it was really lovely to look at the birds. The site is a very peaceful quiet site, so you wouldn't get your late night camping parties here. The New owners are lovely, we cannot wait to go and stay here again for the next bike meet. Great pub (shrewsbury arms) down the road which do lovely food and are really well priced (4 of us ate mains & a few drinks for £77. 00) Beware- they stop serving food at 8pm on a sunday! however. The local Chinese will deliver to the campsite! there's also a a tyre pressure machine on site, clean drinking water facilities, waste water facilities and chemical toilet facilities. There are a couple of rooms ( the barn & the snug) available for hire, but would recommend they open these in the evenings for people to go sit it and chat on the colder evenings. Because its such a lovely site the guests are very respectful of the facilities and the area which is great.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Innuendo 4 reviews from this member

We looked for a site near to Oulton Park Raceway and seriously looked at three. This was the dearest, but it also had the type of facilities we wanted.

On arrival, we were greeted by a lady in the reception and booked in with no problems. She is very friendly and made us feel welcome. Pitches are numbered, so with our motorhome, we could leave the site and come back to the same spot.

We opted for a grass pitch with EHU at £23. 50p per night. Our pitch may have been grass, but the wheel tracks were solid gravel. This made it easy to park and took away any danger of getting stuck if we had heavy rain. We were given a map of the site with our pitch circled and asked if we wanted papers for the morning. The shop, although very small and in the reception, had the few essentials including local bread (mmmmm!).

Although child friendly, it is not really a site if your kids have to have things prepared for them. No club, no amusements and no swings and slides. That made it perfect for the two of us. The kids that were there played outside and respected others privacy.

One of the things we did think was a lovely touch was the Owl Garden! I don't know the story behind the owls, but there they are in aviaries in a small, private garden. Although private, the site have a sign on the gate encouraging people, kids included to go take a look. Again, the kids here that we saw, even without adults in the garde, were great and no problem to the owls.

The toilet block is probably one of the best we have ever seen! Geothermal and solar powered, fully insulated and heated. Best thing though, no matter what time of day you went in, they were always spotless. Because of the way they were kept, it would seem that everyone who used them for showers, washing or the toilet facilities, respected the block.

When we arrived, we did mention that we were going to Oulton Park. We asked about the possibility of walking and they produced a map and marked out a safe and beautiful walk through the country park.

This site has taps for fresh water and a drain for grey waste. The drain is well designed and makes the task of getting rid of your old washing up water very easy. There is a small area built into the block for emptying toilet waste. It is well designed and easy to use, there is even a shelf for the toilet tank cap, so you don't lose it down the drain.

There is also a motorhome service area. Park the van on it and open the drain taps and away goes the water, grey and clean! Obviously the Black waste goes in the toilet area disposal. There are also taps for filling with fresh water.

So to sum this stay up? Brilliant. Great staff, great site, great facilities and they even kept the good weather there for us! Would we go back? A resounding yes from us both!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Schussman 1 review from this member

We found this site to be very welcoming and the staff very friendly. The site is quiet, well kept and clean and caters for all types of campers. Ideally situated to visit the Cheshire countryside (Chester 20 minutes away by car), with a very good gastro-pub within 500 metres. There are many National Trust sites in the area within easy reach, for the kids there's an Ice Cream Farm and Theme Pa

Previous     157 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Tarporley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2056 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!