Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Solway Holiday Village

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Solway Holiday Village Reviews

Solway Holiday Village
Skinburness Drive
(lake District)
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4QQ
Tel: 016973 31236
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 41 Reviews
                6/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dezzie 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a full week at the beginning of July 2010. The site was quite quiet throughout the week and busy at the weekend. Pitches are all large and EHU is included free with your pitch. There is a charge for the entertainment passes and in my opinion is well worth the money as our kids absolutely loved the weeks entertainment which meant happy mum and dad too!

Some pitches have not got great drainage - especially the two pitches directly across from the toilet block - avoid these at all costs if there is a chance of rain during your stay. We were dry, but the outside of the tent was a mud bath after a couple of downfalls. The showers are adequate and there's a £5 returnable deposit for the key. Dishwashing facilities are also in the same building as the showerblock.

The camping site is at the very back of the camp and away from the entertainment, so you don't get noise travelling. There are also regular security patrols through the night and the security manager lives just in front of the touring park. This is a favourite site of ours because of where its situated. The area around it has lots to see and do and I'd recommend the Gincase farm. Lots of well kept animals and a fantastic restaurant. Lots for the whole family to do and only 5 miles from the site.

There is plenty to do in this site - it even has a little farm that you can go and see deer and pigs etc. We got to feed the deer during our visit. The swimming pool is great fun and bearing in mind that its an old style park, your not going to get the flumes and fancy spa type things you get in the more expensive parks. I like the layout of the park as nothing jumps out at you to spend money - something parks of a similar nature seem to thrive on.

The site is a little bit tired looking on the outside, but don't judge on appearance. We had the best holiday we've had in years at the Solway and cant wait to go back. A couple of downsides - The takeaway in the park is very expensive and portions very small. Surprisingly the town of Silloth has some fantastic chippies - Andy's is absolutely brilliant and very reasonable. Portions are Massive - even the kids meals are gigantic.

The on site shop isnt great. Ok for sweets and perhaps emergency pint of milk or a newspaper. Silloth has a co-op and a Spar, so there's somewhere closer to get the groceries and if you need a decent sized shop there's always Morrisons in Workington. Another thing to be aware of when camping is the powercuts when using EHU. Granted that the week in July we stayed it didn't happen at all, but we stayed here during the May bank holiday and the EHU kept tripping - due to how busy the site was, and the folk who couldn't live without 32 inch tellies, microwave ovens etc. The site electrics just couldn't take it.

I'm not saying this site is perfect for everyone. Our family love the site and its perfect for us. If you want your kids to experience the kind of British holiday you had as a child, this might just be the place to do it. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rnsyorks 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a few nights in July and don't think we will be returning. Generous sized pitch although the grass did need cutting. The warden tried to keep the toilet blocks clean doing them twice a day but was a losing battle really and the showers were very disappointing.

Swimming pool was ok but paint was flaking off the side into the pool and I was told the ladies changing rooms were very unclean. Club also ok, ents staff tried hard. Bistro was just a jazzed up takeaway. Playpark was ok, kids loved it. T

he on site farm doesn't live up to expectations and although we saw the train a couple of times round the site we never saw it stop so didn't know where to get on or off. More information is needed from the Reception when you get there. Not a great deal to do in Silloth itself although it does have a paddling pool on the green and a small funpark. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Trampervan 5 reviews from this member

 After 9 years of static caravan ownership on this site we have decided to sell up, the site is very large and could do a lot better if the present owner invested in it. But in saying that some of the site facilities are good if not a bit tired and the staff are all excellent. Drainage has always been a problem as mentioned in other reviews.

Dont think I will go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Sophie sonny 1 review from this member

 We stayed in the buttermere chalet +, our group had 4 adults & 4 children & we absolutely loved it!

The chalet was very clean with 3 big bedrooms & a comfy sofabed in the lounge area, fully fitted kitchen with everything you need & bathroom with shower & bath, the living area was large & airy, we had a fenced outdoor area with decking around the hot-tub & picnic bench all pathed & private. Overall the chalets could do with being updated, but as I say perfectly clean & usable!

In the main areas there's a lovely indoor swimming pool & gym (could do with an update, but still clean & enjoyable) fab arcades, pool tables etc, good bar areas & plenty of outdoor seating. The kids soft play is good with ballpools slides etc.

The outdoor park is really good too with zipslide, slides, swings etc, large sand pit & crazy golf! There's a large night club area & also an over 18s bar along with another main sports bar with flat screen tvs for sports etc! Also a launderette if needed?

There's a little farm where there are many free roaming animals pigs, deers etc,also a golf course, the little corner shop has everything you need & is reasonably priced

Don't listen to the bad reviews its much better than they make out, I was worried about going when I saw the bad reviews but we all honestly loved it & will be going back!

I highly recommend a chalet with a hottub. The kids (& adults) loved it, so if you can afford the extra do! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jo+h 8 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with my 1.5 year old daughter. I found as previous posts have stated that it could have done with a spruce up and to be fair some of the entertainment facilities were being renovated while we were there.
However it did not detract from the fun we had on site, the pool was great, as was the kids entertainment including the indoor soft play area (cost extra) that was invaluable when it rained.

We loved the farm (some of the animals were a bit old and desheveled but obviously cared for, we met the keeper every morning and helped him feed) The train was fun and the location of the site is very good for getting into the village.

The only down side I found was that it was quite away from other tourist sites, we did go to the ostrich farm near by and loved it. Over all I would definitely recommend this site for families with children of all ages, but if youve not got kids you might want to give it a miss. I will go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madcowjac 1 review from this member

 2nd time been to this campsite, first time in a tourer liked it so much stayed the season. 2nd time in a tent we stayed at this site, found the toilets clean and tidy plenty to do. Went to kite festival in village. Recomend fish shop Johns Place, try mince patties their huge. Only downside, got bit off midges but didnt spoil the holidays would go back again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayneyd07 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from 5 day camping at this site. The surrounding area is absolutely brilliant if you are into peace & quiet. The site is ideal for use as a base to visit the Lake District. After reading other reviews I did not have high expectations of this site & this pretty much summed up my experience.

Took 4 attempts to get a pitch with electric hook up (booked months in advance!) as other units already setting up - this resulted in numerous visits back & forth to reception before we decided to tour round the site and find our own pitch. Again, creating further visits to reception to advise where we were now pitching.

Toilet & shower facilities are very basic & not exceptionally clean. Paid £5 deposit for key - showers are on timers and turned off after 30 seconds. Sauna was the size of a small garden shed & the one sunbed (solarium) was out of order.

Paid £4.95 for each pass which no one requested to look at. Noise levels were pretty ok despite being the bank holiday weekend. Pitches were a generous size and well marked out although not quite even which when camping in a tent can prove problematic if it rains.

Despite this, I would return to this site, purely for the location. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chaz451 2 reviews from this member

 Good value site three nights bank holday £41.

Could do with another shower block but clean and tidy. Site okay for a weekend, not sure if a week would be advisable.

Club's okay as well, good entertainment. Would go back. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Morecambebay 2 reviews from this member

 Positives:- Pool, Kids Club, Farm and Club House on site.

But,very waterlogged pitches, not really suitable for large motorhomes or caravans. Several units had to be towed out.

Don't think we'll be going back, site rather expensive, passes cost an extra £4.95 per person. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chubaka 1 review from this member

 Many times after you have had a Holiday good or bad, and moan about what could have been done to improve your break but never get round to saying what you feel, well…
If I was to be very honest and I feel that things do need to be addressed. Overall putting the weather aside, this campsite isn’t the worst we’ve been to, and is certainly by far not the best. 
We were on a touring pitch, very spacious, and not limited to 23 feet square like on other sites.
This site was very clean and had friendly staff, however a coat of paint certainly wouldn’t go a miss. It has over the years been very much neglected and in need of some TLC. The shower blocks leave a lot to be desired, with a campsite of this size there should have been Two blocks not just the One. Comprising of 4 cubicles and 3 shower cubicles, and One chemical waste which appeared to of been cleaned by Stevie Wonder. 

Pool facilities were good; clubhouse not bad but expensive and very warm as there isn’t any aircon, so you drink more! As we only stayed over the bank holiday weekend, Friday to Tuesday it was probably enough. Would we stay here again? yes with a Tin of Paint! 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Solway Holiday Village child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Solway Holiday Village have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Solway Holiday Village?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Solway Holiday Village dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement