Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Solway Holiday Village

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Solway Holiday Village
Skinburness Drive
(lake District)
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4QQ
Tel: 016973 31236
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 38 Reviews
                7/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 16 reviews from this member

We have just spent three nights at this campsite and it is probably one of the worst we have ever visited. The buildings and washing areas are completely out of date. In the shower block there are only three toilets in gents and four in the ladies, so when the campsite is busy these will definitely be inadequate. When we visited there was extremely heavy rainfall and there was nowhere for the water to go and so the campsite and roads were completely waterlogged. The only saving grace was Denver the campsite warden. He was so friendly and helpful and we felt extremely sorry for him trying to promote such a worn out site. The town of Silloth has obviously seen better days, although still fairly attractive and has lovely open green areas. We found a fabulous coffee shop - The Fairydust Emporium. Very friendly owner and staff and our dog was made to feel very welcome. Lovely coffee and cake. Please note the 10 out of 10 for customer service applies to Denver. We will not be visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alleycat500 1 review from this member

The site is quite a bit rundown. The campsite grass had been cut and the grass left so you took grass into the tent every time you entered, though the ground was good and flat. The entertainment was okay for children but nothing for adults. The farm was nice. Not a petting farm but a proper farm. Could not touch the animals. I wouldn't take a dog to site if your dog likes to chase.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Blobby1939 1 review from this member

We were delighted with our caravan it was brand new with beautiful white bed linen everything was spotless. The site itself was very tidy grass well tended but other parts were very dated and needs some money and maintenance spent on it. The staff on reception and in the small but well stocked shop were very pleasant and helpfully. I would definitely return for along weekend again we were there as a family with grandchildren aged 11 and 7 they loved it and as it was not too busy we felt it was really safe for them. 😁

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: William scott 13 reviews from this member

Touring site well looked after

Toilets cleaned to perfection

A lot to do on site swimming pool and entertainment were good

Small soft play area was well kept also the shop was well priced

Only thing we thought needed was more grey waste points

And perhaps some hard standings in case the summer weather got as bad as a few years ago

Silloth village has a shop to be envied prices the cheapest around for food toys any thing you would need its a Aladdin's cave right on the main street

As the Big Man said We will be Back

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Sasamax 7 reviews from this member

We arrived at Solway Holiday village for a mon-fri break with our 3 kids.

The staff were extremely helpful and fixed our smelly toilet, provided the missing glasses and oven tray as soon as we alerted them to these issues.

The caravan was warm and comfortable, and within close proximity to the main facilities.

Wifi is 10 for 2 devices, for 3 days and the signal was good

The main facilities are arranged in a hacienda-style complex. The swimming pool was good with an in-pool jacuzzi and a separate sauna. Showers were hot and the changing rooms roomy, although only 2 cubicles in the ladies changing room. There was quite a strong smell of urine coming from the men's toilets, however.

The Nag's Head bar was welcoming and comfortable, with the obligatory amusements attached on one side. We didn't sample the food, but the drink was reasonably priced with carling, Guinness and ale on tap and a good selection of bottled beers including peroni, and kopparberg fruit cider.

The show bar offered kids entertainment every night and has ample seating surrounding a dance floor area and small stage. All the usual novelty records were played, and there was a puppet show one night, and kids karaoke. The Irish bar didn't appear to be open while we were there.

Silloth offered a lovely promenade which was great to go for a run, if a bit windy. The west beach looked unappealing with strange looking froth and painful shingle and stones. A better beach is at Allanby which had more sand but still quite a lot of shingle. Water looked better quality there.

We can recommend the Roya's pizza takeaway in silloth - reasonably priced and delicious pizza.

To do our big shopping, we headed to Asda in Workington which is a big town with plenty of facilities.

All in all, the site did look a bit tired and could have done with some sprucing up - painting, resurfacing etc but the staff were helpful and the facilities fine.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cjp0349 2 reviews from this member

This holiday centre seems to receive a mixed bag of reviews on various websites so having just spent an enjoyable (but read on) long weekend at SHV with my 8 year old daughter, despite the mediocre weather, I thought I would leave my own observations particularly in respect of the camping/touring facilities.

The venue itself is well located being a stones throw from the Solway Firth promenade and a nice 10/15 minute stroll to Silloth seafront.

I found the staff on site to be pleasant and efficient, reception, the bar bistro and evening entertainment area are all clean and smart, the food although obviously prepared from frozen is edible and not too expensive. The pool is OK if a little tired but its changing and toilet facilities are in need of refurbishment. There is a nice farm area on site with lots of friendly animals and a decent play park (without swings!) and sand pit. There is also a large unused area just off the touring fields which is ideal to exercise dogs. The early evening kids entertainment consists of the tried and tested person in a furry animal costume and lots of 'Macarena' style group dancing.

However what lets SHV down is that externally the whole place looks a bit shabby and in need of TLC typified to me by the large illuminated Solway sign outside the main building of which only the letters SOL light up.

The touring field toilet/shower/pot wash block is basic but adequate with plenty of hot water and appears to be cleaned twice daily.

The touring fields themselves are somewhat of a mess and have obviously not recovered from the heavy rains of the last two years. On arrival despite recent reasonable weather I found all pitches to be sodden underfoot several having pools of standing water and it took me a good 20 mins to select the best of a bad lot available. The heavy rain of the following day resulted in the pitch becoming waterlogged, forcing me to seek out a drier plot, and turning the majority of the touring field into a bit of a bog the situation not being helped by knuckle-headed 4x4 owners driving across the grass for no apparent reason other than their own selfish amusement.

Because of the state of the touring fields I will not be returning to SHV until major drainage improvements are made to the touring fields which I doubt will happen as I get the impression that the touring side of the business is the poor relation to the static side. This is a shame because SHV has the potential to be an excellent short break facility and one which we would have probably returned to every year

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dmbishop 1 review from this member

Loved it! The pitches were big and the toilets were clean and close. Plenty of space for the kids to run around. Lots to do especially for younger kids (mine are 3 & 2) but even our 15 year old had a great time. Read lots of negative reviews about this place but we don't have a negative thing to say about this site, it was cheap, good entertainment, bars, pool, football pitch, tennis courts, arcade, soft play and water walkers! Yes it is a little bit dated but that just added to its charm, we will be definitely visiting this site again before the end of the summer. The staff were lovely too!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DENNIS255 2 reviews from this member

Me and my partner visited this site march 2013. Loads of space but to find one that wasn't water logged was hard. After an hour and 15 minute we did find one but the electric didn't work so we had another go and we did find one. The toilet were fine apart from the toilet doors didn't lock but sometimes did. We stopped for 2 nights it was ok but would not use again we had to be pushed out of a hole as we had become bogged down

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alicia77 7 reviews from this member

Upon arrival at Solway the staff were very pleasant and check in was easy - we could just go ahead and pitch wherever we wanted with an ehu.

We drove around to the touring area and instantly noticed pitch after pitch of boggy, swampy, muddy ground. I got out at several possible spots to pitch only to be foot deep in mud.

My oh drove the car onto the grass and the car got stuck in the mud - I managed to help push the car out.

It was then that I noticed a motorhome and 3 caravans pitched on the road and not on the grass - I suddenly realised why!

Eventually we found a dry patch of mud with some grass around it. We pitched here, pitch 68. After pitching, the nearest EHU point did not work so we had to keep our fingers crossed to see if our cable would reach to the next nearest and thankfully it did - phew!

We booked to stay for 5 nights but left after 4 nights as even the slightest bit of rain made the ground too swampy.

We used the swimming pool which the kids loved but did not use the bar or food areas and did not visit the farm. The shop had essentials and prices were fair. Outdoor play area was good too.

The toilet and shower facilities were good plenty of hot water and very clean. Only noticed one drinking water tap outside the shower block - I wasn't going to wade through mud to find any others!

We enjoyed driving out to Keswick and Windermere & Bowness. Approx 50 minutes drive to Keswick. Approx 90 minutes to Windermere.

Not much in the local area of Silloth though, you really do have to be able to travel unless you like staying on site all the time.

Something really needs to done about the poor drainage of the pitches, it really is unpleasant.

I would not recommended this site to tourers, although it would be fine if you were staying in one of their static caravans or chalets!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stovicbr400 2 reviews from this member

One or two negative comments on this site, but don't be put off, it's a great place. Okay, some areas were a bit wet but we were given a choice of dry pitches, all level, separated by little fences, nicely grassed and extremely spacious- we put up our frame tent, pup tent for the kids and gazebo tent with still room to park the car and space to sunbathe!

Bit of a walk to the loos and maybe they could've been cleaned a little more often but with so many using them, what do you expect? Never queued once though and stacks of hot water available. Same goes for the nice little indoor dish wash area.

A nice shiny Harley Davidson was parked in the welcoming reception area, where we were greeted well and assisted with any enquiries. Little shop, accessed from reception, quite adequate for essentials. The Nags Head bar is beautifully decorated and a relaxing place for a pint, we watched some of the Olympics on the big screens. We didn't sample the food although we did have breakfast in the bistro one morning, it was an enormous full English and top quality, served with a smile.

Upstairs, Harley's Bar is the entertainment room, a refreshing change from Haven type clubrooms, some real character with exposed brickwork, rock 'n' roll memorabilia, vintage Harley Davidson photos on the walls, a life size Elvis and Marilyn Monroe and a TV in the floor! Furniture is more pub style and much less crammed in than some other holiday parks. We particularly enjoyed the karaoke and a great soul and motown singer from America.

Pool was clean and really warm. Outdoor play area pretty good, also a nice indoor soft play for the littler ones. The farm was great fun for the kids, loads of little piglets running around their feet! The alpaca paddock was right next door to our pitch.

Silloth is a lovely little seaside town with just a slightly faded Victorian feel. Great sea front park with water play area. We liked the chip shop, very popular and queued out the door on Friday night.

Overall, the park does show its age a little in places but to me this only adds to its charm. Our lasting memory will be the enthusiasm, friendliness and attitude of the hard working staff. We'll be back, and would recommend anyone else to give it a go.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


307 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!