Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Solway Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Solway Holiday Park > Reviews

Solway Holiday Park
Skinburness Drive
(lake District)
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4QQ
Tel: 01697 331236
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 47 Reviews
                7/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: UK holiday 1 review from this member

 Came here for Easter Break with kids aged 6 and 3. Weather wasn't great which I appreciate the site owners can't help but our caravan ended up completely flooded to the point we couldn't get in the door without full length wellington boots/waders and carrying both kids.

When we informed the staff no action was taken, despite the cleaning staff not being able to access the front door to clean a bin that was left very dirty (we informed them of this and they came out straight away but we passed over the balcony to give them as they couldn't access the caravan via the front door). Bit of a red flag in terms of customer service.

On the plus side the nighttime entertainment was great and both kids really enjoyed, not too busy either which was nice and staff were great with the kids 😊.

It did strike me that a lot was still to be renovated though and I noticed that other than in the evening there were virtually no free activities.

The playpark and softplay that are still on the website have now been shut for some time it seems in favour of an arcade and some expensive activities, shame really.

I know its not a big site but even a basic playpark is very much appreciated by families. Swimming pool was nice and clean but had to be booked in advance which we weren't told either in advance or on check in, worth bearing in mind if going here.

Could be a lovely site but definitely room for improvement!

Silloth itself is lovely, was about a 30 minute walk away (would have been less if we hadn't been going at toddler speed 😆) and had nice eateries / playpark / bmx track which my kids (3 and 6) both loved 😊 (even in the great British weather!) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 51 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a Chalet here {whilst visiting with friends who both camped and stayed in one of the sites rented caravans}

Our chalet was clean, and well appointed, as was our friends {static, rented} caravan. Having stayed here previously, I'm guessing that the chalets have been either re-vamped, or completely replaced. Our friends caravan was obviously fairly new, and to high standard [and that is coming from the owner of a large 2022model "static" caravan elsewhere}

We found the staff polite & helpful, and there is a "Security Patrol" at night.

The camping/caravan field field looks spacious, and the facilities look good, although it is a fair walk to the main area, which has the reception/ pub/ amusement arcade /swimming pool & chippy. And it seems there are activities "for the children". Travelling as a retired couple, I can only say that the site looks very child & family friendly.

Silloth is a quiet town, maybe a little dated, but it is pleasant, and has some nice pubs. The campsite is some 5-10 minutes walk from the town. The small Motorcycle Museum is worth a visit. And free to enter.

We were lucky to have a nice view from our chalet, across the Solway Firth to Scotland. Although the camping/touring field is some distance from the "seafront" {if that is what one could call the rather grey waters of the Solway}. Although, we did find a nice beach a little further down the coast at Allonby.

Gretna Green is only a short drive over the border {into Scotland}.

At almost £400 for three nights {in a chalet}, its not cheap, but check the prices out yourself before judging.

To sum up, I would say that this is a great site for holidays with young children, we were lucky with the weather, but it seems that there is plenty to do {with a young family} if the weather lets you down.

Would we return?. Yes, but only with the same group of {"retired couples"} friends we were with. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Scarzy87 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site it's the 1st big caravan site we have visited and been a great experience.

Loads of things for kids to do from play park football pitches and swimming plus activities put on by the site.

Great customer service and friendly staff all around.

Brilliant place for a family with young children also situated within walking distance into siloth Town centre and always seems to be a busy place with lovely cafes and pubs for food and drinks.

The only downside of the site is the toilet and shower blocks could do with a bit of an update but overall will be returning for a few more nights over the summer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Klc170 1 review from this member

 Touring areas spacious.

Facilities are a little dated but absolutely fine. Staff very friendly.

If you want to stay in the solway firth area with children then this is a good place to consider particularly if you want on site entertainment. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RJMS 1 review from this member

 Customer service was very friendly.

Had clean facilities.

It was in a very nice location.

This was good for kids and me. We would definitely recommend.

Good value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elaine 1 review from this member

 The site was very spacious. Plenty for kids to do but we as a mature couple didnít think was for us. Was very little to do even down to location.

Toilets and shower block were passable but we think could be a bit cleaner. One night we ordered a gin and tonic in the bar. It came in a plastic glass and was frothy obviously washing up liquid not rinsed out. The next night came in a proper glass and was fine.

Like I said plenty for kids but the grab a toy was a con. Absolutely no grip. Poor kids be wasting their pocket money. We wonít be returning but canny for young families.

The pool was full of kids so we didnít bother 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Meter rat 4 reviews from this member

 This site is not exactly the best. We visited as we were meeting friends from the Citroen 2CV club, and the Silloth beer and music festival, which had been cancelled for this year.

Pitches are a muddy mess. Felt sorry for the site warden, who was doing his best to pitch every one on the road. He kept apologising for the state of the ground and the poor maintenance. He had to pull a few vans and cars off the pitches with his tractor, which he did with a smile, dispute the weather.

The reception staff were friendly as were the cleaning staff. The toilets were kept clean and were ok. The whole site is in need of modernisation and upgrading. Cars racing around at night, driving through puddles, covering everything in muddy water. Arguments going on at three o'clock in the morning.

Part of the site looks as if it has been taken over by the traveling community, large twin axle caravans with plenty of vans and pick ups in evidence.

We cannot comment on the other facilities like the pool or bars, on the site as we kept ourselves to ourselves, and did not visit them. Not much to do in the area, but a nice play park and green in Silloth, which was being well used by families.

Had a nice cake and tea in Bessies cafe, and the chip shop opposite was always busy with ques outside every day.

If it was not for going there for a specific reasons, we would not revisit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fozzle83 5 reviews from this member

 Do not waste your money!

Disgusting unclean and expensive. The toilets and showers were disgusting no hand dryers at all to dry ha ds so you have to leave with wet hands.

Boggy pitches, bird poo all over, disgusting pee smelling fountain on arrival, be warned you won't be informed of rules so when going swimming go with your costume on as there is no changing facilities and doesn't waste £20 on floats they sell in the shop on site as the pool isn't allowed them.

I also seen my sister static which she booked and omg! Dirty horrible marks all over the furniture dirt all over everything definitely not cleaned properly and certainly not to pandemic standards. People partying till early hours not for families this site as they take massive group bookings of teenagers who were on drugs and drinking all night and day. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Beccih 1 review from this member

 Worst site Iíve ever been!

Pitches are like mud slides, we must of been in a foot of deep mud. Toilets donít flush and the showers dribble out.

The site is shocking for the price you pay. ! Disgusting 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 62 reviews from this member

 We have just spent three nights at this campsite and it is probably one of the worst we have ever visited. The buildings and washing areas are completely out of date. In the shower block there are only three toilets in gents and four in the ladies, so when the campsite is busy these will definitely be inadequate. When we visited there was extremely heavy rainfall and there was nowhere for the water to go and so the campsite and roads were completely waterlogged. The only saving grace was Denver the campsite warden. He was so friendly and helpful and we felt extremely sorry for him trying to promote such a worn out site. The town of Silloth has obviously seen better days, although still fairly attractive and has lovely open green areas. We found a fabulous coffee shop - The Fairydust Emporium. Very friendly owner and staff and our dog was made to feel very welcome. Lovely coffee and cake. Please note the 10 out of 10 for customer service applies to Denver. We will not be visiting again. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Solway Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Solway Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Solway Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Solway Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement