Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rhydhowell Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Boncath > Rhydhowell Farm Reviews

Rhydhowell Farm
Rhydhowell Farm
Boncath
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA37 0LA
Tel: 01239 841267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 21 to 29                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SiNolsZo 2 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights at the farm with my hubby and daughter(3), the location is rural but fantastic - its a great place for kids to explore. There is loads of space to pitch your tent - you never feel invaded! Facilities are very basic!

Farmer John is lovely, very friendly and helpful.

Great location it you want lots of space and peace and quiet.

Welly boots are needed! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhys2610 1 review from this member

 If you are looking for a 'back to nature' camping site then this is the one for you.

The site is set on a working farm in an outstandingly beautiful part of rural Pembrokeshire, not far from Cardigan. We were welcomed from the moment we arrived by John & were able to choose from a selection of fields - all with wonderful views.

The children played until dusk in a safe environment, they loved the horses & sheep. Even our chocolate Labrador was relaxed!

Don't expect modern luxuries.However the basic toilets & shower were more than sufficient for our needs.

Enjoy the nature trail, light fires on the fireplaces provided & sit under the stars & hear nothing more than nature at its best. Would recommend ++ 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fastman 1 review from this member

 Great time had by me, my daughter (12 y old) and son (8 y old). First time camping and it was so much fun. We are going back in August, taking my 5 y old girl plus the other two kids. The farm is safe for kids to have a good run around and make new friends. Make a camp fire have a beer or two and others will come and have a chat, so will John the farmer. Also try Boncath inn, very good food. Dont take the kids PSP's or any toys let them look around the farm and make their fun. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma+Gordon 2 reviews from this member

 What a great site! We visited Rhydhowell Farm as part of our Lands End - John O'Groats tour which lasted all summer. After all the campsite's we stayed at along the way, our stay at Rhydhowell Farm is one of the places we reminisce about the most. What was supposed to be a 2 night stay, ended up being 4! We were made to feel so welcome by John and nothing was too much bother, we even got a lift to the local pub (the Boncath inn) on 2 of the nights! Such a sweet man.

The site is like all reviews have said, a little basic on the facilities front but as everyone else before me has said, what else do you expect when camping?! John did mention that plans were in place to improve the current toilet/shower facilities which may well have already been completed since our stay.

We camped in a little enclosed paddock just off the main field and couldn't see or hear any other campers. It is an idyllic spot and we were able to have a raised campfire every night which in my eyes completes the camping experience. John came and made sure we were ok everyday which is re-assuring and he gave us some very useful information with regards to what to see in the local area.

The local pub is about a mile or so walk away from the campsite and is very welcoming. If you do venture to the pub during the night, remember your torch as there are no street lamps on the way back!

The Boncath inn is a very friendly pub and we had a great time with the locals and the new landlord and lady. They serve lovely food and the prices aren't too steep either.

While we were at Rhydhowell Farm, we visited a lot of places which were all in easy reach, such as;

Cardigan, St Davids, Rosebush, Fishguard, Newport, Caws Cenarth Cheese dairy, Pemberton's chocolate farm, Carmarthen ect ect.

Overall, I give this site 10 out of 10 and would not hesitate to visit John, his dog and this wonderful campsite in the near future.  


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kable 2 reviews from this member

 We had a week at this campsite in August and had a great holiday. The site was really safe and there was loads of space for our children to run around in. We loved the quietness of the site and it was handy for getting to lots of different places in Pembrokeshire.

We did find the facilities a little bit basic; although they were always clean, the toilets and shower were rather grotty. We went swimming a couple of times during the week so that we could have a nice shower (really recommend Fishguard Swimming Pool). We definitely needed wellies as the walk to the site toilet was very muddy.

John, the owner, was great. He recommended places to visit and was always checking that all the campers were OK. He was building a new toilet block, so maybe that will be better! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ansilver 1 review from this member

 Rhydhowell Farm is the perfect location if you're after some tranquil camping away from busy campsites but still close to local attractions. We camped in 'The Firs' field where we had a BBQ and fire every night protected from the elements by a collection of Fir trees great views of neighbouring countryside.

Facilities were basic although adequate for a long weekend away.

John, the farm owner was a lovely chap - we took him up on his offer of a tour of the farm which was a nice end to our long weekend. The site is great value for money and would highly recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zoe Dutton 1 review from this member

 BRILLIANT! We stayed for a week at this wonderful secluded farm. John, the owner was the most friendliest man you could meet. The day we arrived it was raining. John came to greet us and took all 6 children for a tour of the farm whilst us adults pitched the tents. From that moment on the kids couldnt stop talking about 'Farmer John' and all his animals which by mid week the kids knew all the names.

One of the great things about this place is that you can leave your kids to wonder on adventures without worrying where they are. They were never bored.

The day after we settled, we went for a lovely walk on the nature trail which is all unspoilt scenery.

The bonus for us was the fire pits that were handmade by John. This provided us with our evening entertainment of toasted marshmalows and toast.

If you want a relaxing break away this is the place to be. We will definitely be back!

Good luck John and thanks for your great hospitality! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bushled 1 review from this member

 A hidden gem of a campsite. Quietly tucked away in some stunning countryside, it's a lovely location to enjoy the local nature and peaceful ambience. The facilities are basic by some standards, but clean and well maintained. Even with four dogs, we were made to feel welcome and very much enjoyed the woodland walks on the farm, and the opportunity to see Red Kites, Ravens, Buzzards etc at close hand. Can't wait to return next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stunix 1 review from this member

 This place is great! Due to the farms layout it has the opportunity to be anything you want, a secluded pitch next to a pond for a romantic weekend, a show full of 200 eco engineers, a stag party or all 3 together without affecting each other. The farm is on one hand 'miles from anyware' and on the other hand, walking distance to the village pub. John was more than helpful and accomodating and even though this is still a working farm with sheep, cows, horses, chickens etc it is kept very neat and manacured so we have freedom to roam where ever we wanted as do the kids.

I almost dont want to review so we can keep this place for ourselves, but that wouldnt be fair. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 29     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rhydhowell Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rhydhowell Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Rhydhowell Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Boncath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement