Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rhydhowell Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Rhydhowell Farm
Rhydhowell Farm
Boncath
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA37 0LA
Tel: 01239 841267
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazmandoo 1 review from this member

Me and my friend visit as often as we can because we love the peace and quiet, and it's only 8 miles away from home though once there we could be 100 miles away, we usually go the morning after my week of nights and I feel all my stress just melt away. So if you like basic and don't want frills its great

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bencaz 1 review from this member

What can I say?

The bad points, Two toilets and one shower, get that other shower fixed John! Even then it's not really a bad point, get over yourselves your camping for goodness sake!

Now that's out of the way, let me draw you in with just how wonderful this place is:

Firstly myself the Mrs and our two dogs booked in for 5 nights. That turned into 12 nights and even then if it wasn't for the fact we both had work to go back to we would of stayed longer! (Indefinitely if I could work out how)

John, (Farmer John/John the farmer) is one person who I cannot express in words just how welcoming this one of a kind is. John made this holiday what it is, his singing of songs, and dittys, he really is a gent, polite, with nothing too much trouble.

An example: one of our dogs cut himself while bounding at 100mph through the fields, obviously this is a farm and fences have barbed wire. John phoned his vets and within 20 mins of driving D'arcy was seen. No messing about looking on Google.

John comes down every morning to see everyone for a chat,

(John likes his coffee black, one sugar)

His knowledge of the local area is fantastic, with plenty of recommendations for places to go and see, John will even try and find out what pubs in the local area are serving food etc.

The Farm:

Set in such beautiful rolling countryside you would be mistaken for being in the south of the U. K.

The views of the surrounding area are fantastic and if you venture into some of the top fields through where the horses are you can see for miles across such beautiful terrain. It really has captured our hearts just how magical this place is.

It wasn't really until our second week we realised the scale of the farm and all the nooks and crannies which are hidden In plane sight, the nature trail being an example, while heavily overgrown there is a path cut through part of it, fallen trees to climb over and a meandering stream as a nice backdrop to listen to. Buzzards and kites also on the farm and at night owls come out and call to each other.

The night sky:

If like me you've only ever grown up with the orange hue of the night lights and the city's then you will be in both shock and awe at how black and beautiful it is. I've never seen the Milky Way until now. In fact I've seen it more in two weeks then I have in 27 years. Breathtaking is what it is, the scale of how massive it is, the thousands upon thousands of stars you can see, puts into perspective how insignificant and small we are, a small boat in a truly massive ocean.

Nothing better then having a campfire, cooking on it, and then looking up to watch the shooting stars and marvel at the night sky.

The locality:

Go to the quiz on a Thursday with John who not only is a farmer, but quiz master! A couple pints of Gower gold makes for a good evening at the butchers arms in Tegryn. Spit and sawdust but welcoming, all the locals happy to strike up conversations.

The local shop in Boncath is perfect for all the little items you need, milk etc.

There is a tesco and Lidl in Cardigan, which itself is a beautiful town. In fact you don't even have to go to the supermarkets because cardigan town has everything you need, a butchers a bakers etc

(didn't see a candlestick makers)

Also, one place I will suggest because I loved it was on the way to Newport there is a petrol station just after Eglwsywrw (no idea how to spell but it is sort of pronounced Egglasuerue)

Go in even if you don't want fuel, it sells everything!

Newport also has a Masssive! Dog friendly beach which costs 3 quid to park on, or if you don't want the crowds go later and get on for free as there are not attendants after 5ish :) on a warm day it truly is fantastic. The beach is also lifeguard attended during the day.

Anyway while my review might be long, It really isn't enough to show how much we have enjoyed our time here.

We really will be back again, and again because 12 nights just wasn't enough to have a slice of tranquillity.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John Rolls 1 review from this member

Rhydhowell campsite set in the Preseli Hills, is a warm and welcoming addition to our list of sites visited.

Whilst the shower block was being renovated there was another camper/caravanners could use.

Farmer( John encouraged us to walk around the farm and we spent a good hour looking at the old machinery, there were also a Wicker Cow which was just finished, and a wicker man under construction) and a hand made wooden bench made from timber on the farm.

He also pointed out the Red Kite which was circling the field and told us the Kite has nested not far from the farmhouse.

If like us you don't mind the facilities being the height of elegance, then this site is well worth the visit.

Although the camping field is not on the level there's enough room to move, indeed there are two cosy camping areas as well as the main field and these can be pre booked. The weekend we were there, nature was in full voice, and Squirrels were running down the bottom end of the field.

There's a local shop about 1 mile away in Boncath, but we were well stocked so didn't have to use it.

If there is one drawback it is the lane to the site it had been dry before we came and was slippery ( only 12 foot of the drive) but one you are over that the camping field is on your left.

Situated where it is it has easy drives to Tenby, Saundersfoot, Cardigan, Carmarthen Lampeter. Next time we go we intend to go across country to Lampeter.

What really struck us was the silence, just the sound of nature, when you look at the hills in the night not a light can be seen it truly is an amazing place and I recommend this site

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yasisky 1 review from this member

As usual we were warmly greeted by Farmer John and his young sheep dog Mischief, who I must say is aptly named!

This year we were very tempted to camp in the Firs or the Willows, which are 2 idyllic secluded areas, where you can have camp fires and which give you the feeling of being a million miles away from anywhere but we opted for our favourite spot, which is at the top of the first field, so that we could sit back and survey the beautiful rolling countryside and listen to the bird song, whilst drinking a nice glass of wine and cooking over our camp fire.

Farmer John gave us a tour of the farm. This year he was hatching chicks and had done a wonderful job in the greenhouse, with beautiful sweet peas and sunflowers all around. The Welsh ponies were shyly watching us but didn’t grace us with their presence, although the sheep did!

Our most memorable nights at the farm, are sitting round the camp fire whilst Farmer John is in full flow, telling us some wonderful stories and reciting his witty ditty’s! Really don’t know how he remembers them all, he can recite forever and has us all in stitches!

This is our 6th year of visiting and we can honestly say that we never, ever, get tired of the absolute beauty and uniqueness of camping at Rhydhowell Farm. Farmer John is a wonderful, true gent, who goes out of his way to ensure you have a perfect holiday and who makes it what it is for both children and adults alike ……… magical!

We would like to add that the toilets and shower were lovely and clean, with hot water and plenty of loo rolls.

Also there is a lovely old out building where you can wash up all your pots or alternatively at night, switch on the fairy lights and dance the night away. Absolutely charming what more can we say

If you want to venture off the farm then there are lovely beaches to visit. There are also lots of charming old pubs where can you get a decent meal and wherever you look the countryside is beautiful. Also about 15 minutes away by car is Cardigan if you fancy doing a bit of shopping or just to stock up on supplies, although there is a local shop in the village and a couple of mini marts not too far away, together with a delicious fish and chip shop and butcher!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BadgersMoon 1 review from this member

Wonderfully peaceful site, deep in the Pembrokeshire countryside. Pheasants, woodpeckers, rabbits all spotted along with very friendly and enthusiastic dog ;)

Site amenities are basic but adequate, although they could do with an update and a clean. Showers are quirky but once you've mastered the quirks they're fine. (Check pilot light on gas boiler BEFORE removing clothing. )

Site owner is a lovely chap, very friendly and helpful, his dog is an adorable nutter who will lick you to death if you get close enough.

One possibly major problem is the access road. Apparently it was damaged last year and is now a very steep scree slope in places. We couldn't get our trailer tent up and had to walk up to the house to ask for a tow. This was sorted out very quickly, a neighbour with a 4x4 came and helped straight away, but if you are pulling a caravan or trailer you might want to ring ahead if you don't have a 4x4.

The nearest pub, the Boncath Arms is within walking distance, and servers fantastic food. It's a Welsh-speaking pub, but unless you march in singing the Eton Boating Song and behaving like a Hooray Henry this will not be a problem.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morgan1014 1 review from this member

We arrived here in August, 2 adults, 2 children and one dog with the intention of staying for 5 nights, however, after the 10th night and having run out of food and clothes we reluctantly decided that we needed to go home, and this was the only reason.

What a fantastic location, site and an amazingly knowledgeable, welcoming and accommodating host in John. We had an amazing time, my two girls aged 7 and 4 were so upset to leave, we and they had the run of the farm and were allowed to walk around and do whatever they wanted in a very safe and secure environment. From feeding the Ponies to watching the nesting Sparrows feed their chicks in the barn.

The site takes you back to basics but when you are sat at night under a full moon, campfire burning, listening to the owls and watching the bats flying around you realise that life doesn't really get much better.

Our host was such a knowledgeable, accommodating and generally nice person with a passion for camping which in turn made for a fantastic 10 days, if it wasn't for no clean clothes, a lack of supplies and the fact I was back in work a few days later we would have quite happily stayed at this site for a lot longer.

We will definitely return to this site and will be booking for next year imminently, my children did not stop talking about it for weeks afterwards, and again I cannot compliment our host or the site enough.

We are regulars to Cornwall and have been for several years, however, after these ten days North Pembs and Rhydhowell are looking good for future camping holidays.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garjul 1 review from this member

The best camping experience for a long time - remote surroundings with plenty of space made this feel a home from home. A lovely friendly knowledgeable owner who really put you at ease and was always there to call on if needed. It was so peaceful at night we even got to know the sounds of the resident owl! Basic camping at its best.

Ideal location close to main road links to both North and South coasts.

Will definitely return again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smellthehummus 1 review from this member

I concur with all the previous reviews.

It is an idyllic site, run by the Farmer who is a lovely chap and always happy to have a chat.

The setting is absolutely stunning in a remote location. It is a peaceful and tranquil. Perfect to chill out and relax. And to get away from regimented campsites with caravans, large groups and electric hookups.

There are two fields in which you can camp, with no set pitches, you have the freedom to pitch where ever you like.

There are fire pits dotted around. You can buy logs from John, or at the Post Office in Boncath, which is about a mile away. The shop also sells the milk, bread, meat etc. If you have little ones the park in Boncath is great.

The farmer is more than happy for the children to explore the farm. I stayed here with my two young girls. I felt it was a very safe environment for them to go off and enjoy themselves, making friends at the tree swing in one of the fields, and feeding the resident ponies.

Unfortunately the nature trail wasn't accessible, and had become over grown, which was a real shame, we did give it a go, but didn't get far.

I really don't want to leave a negative comment about this wonderful site. But, the toilet/shower cabin needs attention, it is rotten and in need of a proper clean, (more than a wipe with a cloth) It was filthy the week I stayed, and judging by the scuzz in the sink and around the toilet basin, it hadn't been cleaned for a very long time. I can do 'basic', non shiny, spanking new facilities, not a problem! But other peoples filth is a different matter. Especially with small children.

I'm not going to let this put me off, because we loved the campsite so much and had the best camp ever. It is a real gem.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sibo 1 review from this member

We absolutely loved this campsite. Spent 2 weeks here end July / early August. The kids had the run of the fields and surrounding streams and woodland. There was also plenty of space to play football and cricket in our field.

We collected wood from the woods and had some great campfires every night - listening to the owls and watching shooting stars (beautiful clear skies). There are areas that are sheltered if it's windy, and when it did rain - we had our campfire under the large Sycamore at the end of the field.

The farmer was most helpful and all his recommendations were spot on - letting us know the best beaches to go to, where to watch the sunset, places to go on wet days (there were only a couple). There’s also absolutely loads to do in the area - with North Pembrokeshire and Cardigan nearby. Nothing was ever too much trouble for John and it was a real pleasure to meet him and chat to him.

Facilities were basic but perfectly functional with hot showers and an indoor area for washing up.

We will definitely be back because we loved it.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pikeyrik 1 review from this member

Well what a treat this place is, the farmer owner is a very interesting chap with many a story to tell, very entertaining!

The farm itself is like stepping back in time and a real treat for nature lovers

Yes the facilities are basic, camping the way it should be?

Of particular interest is the musical gate, the farmer will be delighted to explain the workings of it!

If you do come I would advise a trip to the butchers

Arms pub in tegryn, real ales, log fires and may contain nuts! (farmers secret local!)

I will be back, many times!

Be assured you will love this unique place x

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019