Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hawthorn Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Dover > Hawthorn Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Hawthorn Farm Caravan Park
Martin Mill
Dover
Kent   (Browse area)
CT15 5LA
Tel: 01304 852658
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stewartandcharlene 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site over the August bank holiday for 9 nights, and overall was satisfied. Originally we were placed in a pretty area of the park with each pitch sectioned off with bushes and trees. But because we had young children who wanted to play and have their freedom we asked to be moved into one of the fields, which I felt was safer for them.

The pitches that are sectioned off by bushes and trees are of all different sizes and will accommodate most tents or caravans etc. But they all have the road running along them, which if you have young children I would advice not to stay in one of these pitches. But would be perfect for adults or older children. The staff were very happy to place us in the field. I was disappointed though for the whole bank holiday weekend, as it was like camping in a car park rather than a field. They cramped so many tents into this field the kids had no room to play. But as soon as the Bank holiday was over, it was lovely.

The train track does run along side of this park and you do hear around 2 trains each hour, but doesn't seem to put people off. There is lots of wildlife to spot at this park and my kids enjoyed looking out for the bats, squirrels and many rabbits. The warden lives on site and is very friendly. He has 2 dogs which are lovely and enjoy the kids fussing over them, he even lets the children walk with him whilst taking the dogs out.

They have 2 toilet / shower / dishwashing areas. These are kept clean, I was always seeing the cleaners cleaning something or emptying bins or litter picking. Other sites I've stayed at, rubbish can over flow and build up, but not at this site. I was very impressed by this, they collect rubbish several times a day. The showers have a free hairdryer, and as I showered at night I never had to wait to use it. The shower cubicles only have one hook. It would be a lot better and helpful if they added a couple more hooks to each door.

They have a shop and cafe/takeaway on site by the reception. The shop seems to stock most things from tent pegs to milk to jam to kids toys. There is a good selection of kids sweets at good prices. The cafe has a very good menu, even catering for veggies! They have attraction leaflets and list the train timetables and local info which I think is a good touch. The train station is about 2 minutes walk over the road. The staff are all chatty and very helpful. They do have a large seating area outside, I think they would benefit a lot if they added a children's play area. I felt this was the one thing that let them down. They have room for one, and it would get used!

This site is very close to Dover ferry port, about 10 minutes drive. Tesco, Mcdonalds, Petrol station and a Brewers Fayre restaurant are also about 10 minutes drive away. Local attractions are very close, Dover castle being my favourite. Dover town has most shops that you may need including Argos. Deal town is close by again 10 minutes drive away. There isnt as many brand name shops like in Dover, but a good size sainsburys and Co-op supermarkets. There you have Walmer castle and its huge gardens, Deal castle, huge pebble beach front with its pier and at the other end you can walk on top of the White Cliffs. In the summer Deal have a free children's outdoor swimming pool along the sea front, this is very popular. In Deal there also is a golf club.

The campsite is a short walk away from Martin village, with a local pub and a very nice park with the biggest slide I've ever seen! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: A11 GEE 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here overnight before boarding the ferry to France. Easy to find with good access roads. Site is next to a train line but this doesn't really distract you from the overall peace and quiet of the site.

Good facilities although the showers could do with a revamp, but clean and warm. Friendly helpful staff and good sized pitches. There are a couple of pubs which are a drive away if you want to eat out (we chose the 'Smugglers' at St Margarets but wouldn't recommend it). All in all a good clean site worth the money 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jeremyp 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for one night as an overnight stop for the ferry. Nice site but beware of the railway line running across the back of the field, that said the trains stop and start running at a reasonable hour. Nice welcome at reception. Given the choice to drive and find a pitch.

Shop and cafe on site with takeaway serving simple food. They kindly made us an omelette and salad even though they were about to shut up for the evening.

Pitches were relatively private with hedges separating them and lots of nice landscaping. The only thing that lets this site down would be the shower block which was tired, not particularly clean and had dreadful water pressure (and only one temperature).

Great overnight stop though and except from the showers, I would stay there again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ronandchris 14 reviews from this member

 Spent one night at this lovely site prior to getting the ferry to France.

Reception was great! the gentleman who booked us in was very helpful, just choose any vacant pitch.

We had a hardstanding complete with water (ours just happened to have the tap) and electricity.

Very well maintained, immaculate toilets and showers, shop on site selling newspapers milk etc. Though it had limited opening hours, but as we visited in April this might be different during busier periods.

The site also had a lot of static vans but these were away from the touring/campsite and hidden in trees, very quite when we were there, just birdsong and the occasional resident walking by.

A lovely site, we would recommend it for either an overnight stop or for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Klunked 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for three nights 'out of season' having made arrangements with a very kind gentleman on the telephone. Was the only tourer there so difficult to know what it would be like in a busy season, but on my own fantastic. Saw all kinds of birds right outside, squirrels rabbits the lot. The railway is close but trains few and far between and after a while forgot about them.

Walks near the site are many and varied and the bus stop and railway station 5 minutes walk away. As long as you check the times great service. Easy journey into Folkestone, had a great day out there and then to Dover next day. Marton Mill is a lovely quiet peaceful place, the only drawback could be that there is absolutely no shops whatsoever in walking distance so if the shop hasnt got what you want you have to take your vehicle out (which I avoid doing at all costs) Showers could do with some work on the tiling, grouting etc. But maybe that is one of their winter jobs. Otherwise great facilities and definite revisit. (You can even get the train straight up to Charing Cross from here. ) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: QEDUK 3 reviews from this member

 This is the third time I've stayed at this site, spread over the last 25 years. It is and always has been a lovely site and because it is so well established, obviously a lot of thought has gone into it.

It is incredibly well sheltered from the weather, although our last visit being in low season, we did pretty much have the pick of where we pitched our tent.

As it was the weather was mainly kind to us, with only a very wet and windy last night to test the tent and our resolve to sleep through it. With plenty of trees and bushes around, although it was still very windy, it obviously wasn't as bad as it could have been.

The staff are very friendly, the bins were emptied and the shower block cleaned everyday, and the waste bins are all kept in their own little areas, and are liberally scattered around the site.

There is a gate entry system for keeping unwanted visitors to the site out during the night, and no limit on what time you arrive back from your trips out during the evening / night.

I do have one little niggle though, and it's one that seems to have been picked up by a number of sites these days as an extra money earner.

Freezer packs for those of us in tents are pretty much the only way to keep food fairly fresh. I've always believed that when paying anything more than 10 a night for a patch of grass, then certain things should be provided as standard.

These include hot water, toilet paper, etc, and, the ability to freeze your freezer packs. Thankfully some sites still do this, however Hawthorn Farm isn't one of them. In fact it is probably one of the highest charging sites I've ever been to for this 'service'. At 25p per pack / per freeze, it really doesn't offer value for money. I know it's a small amount to pay, but I was left with the feeling of being ripped off, and it really did detract from what otherwise would have been a near perfect campsite.

I would still recommend the site, however next time we go we shall get the electric hook up, and plug in a large coolbox for pretty much the same price. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick Osmond 2 reviews from this member

 Second time we have stayed at the site and once again was not disappointed.

Booked in and found that the Manager had not charged us for our two dogs and when asked was told to not worry about them.

The plot was great with plenty of room for two large tents and five kids.

Every where was clean and tidy and each camping area has a set of bins even emptied on a Sunday).

The shower rooms were kept to a high standard during our stay with no waiting or hot water issues.

Nice site and will book again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mavlyn3 2 reviews from this member

 What a great site this is, The shower and toilet blocks are clean and very well maintained.

There is a shop and a cafe on site. It is situated in the middle of Deal and Dover so easy access to a town or supermarket etc. The park is very well looked after. I would strongly recommend this site to other people.

The park is split into different, sections we stayed in a lovely section surrounded by trees for added privacy. There are water points in every section so not far to walk to refill.

I am booking this site again for next month.

The managers are also very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BobandPam 14 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting this site regularly since the 1980's and never been disappointed. There are a lot of statics on site, but barely noticeable as discreetly hidden behind hedgerows etc. An excellent shop and cafe is open long hours.

Perfect location for the ferries to and from France. There is a security barrier requiring a card for entrance after a certain time but late arrivals are catered for in a field close to the entrance which now has electricity.

Toilets/showers (2 blocks) are very clean with plenty of hot water, but perhaps starting to look a little tired, but don't be put off - they are fine.

The management do not bother you at all unless rules are being broken, but are always available if you need help. Very rural and pretty.

Mixture of hard standing and grass as well as large open field used mainly by tenters. Easy drive to Dover, Walmer, Deal and beyond but also served by a mainline rail link as well as a local bus, within short walking distance of the site.

Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hotrodboy 4 reviews from this member

 The second visit to this site within a few weeks as its only a short distance from my house!

A group of us go just to get away and relax, the kids go off playing, the dogs run about and we drink and eat! Its not been busy either times we have been and no one bothers us to leave on time.

You almost have a mini campsite to yourself as all the pitches are split into small areas were you can get about 10 tents/caravans, all surrounded by trees. Although the non electric field is just a large open space.

The site is well kept, and toilet blocks etc all very clean.

We will be going again soon! 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hawthorn Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hawthorn Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hawthorn Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dover      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


262 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement