Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hawthorn Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Dover > Hawthorn Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Hawthorn Farm Caravan Park
Martin Mill
Dover
Kent   (Browse area)
CT15 5LA
Tel: 01304 852658
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 250
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Quentinsf 5 reviews from this member

Yes, a very nice spot in a good location with good facilities.

'The Laurels', the grass section where there are hedges between each pitch, was particularly pleasant, especially when we went (mid-Sept, out of school holidays!). You do need good levelling capabilities for that area, though!

Also worth noting that there is a train line right beside the park, but the trains are not frequent and are remarkably quiet given their proximity, I think because they're going slowly just before or after the station, just around the corner. Anyway, the first one was a surprise, but they never bothered us.

I'd happily stay here again.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JessLes17 3 reviews from this member

This is a fab site! We booked online before arriving.

We arrived late evening about 6. 3pm.

There was nobody at reception however the ladies in the shop let us through the gate.

We parked up and plugged in the electric straight away, then head back to the shop.

Inside the shop is a cafe. They were using Google it for a game of vigo that night. We joined in and lived it. Tea, coffee and Berkshire available to purchase and lovely ham and bread like we did for supper.

Shower room is ace, a row of showers opposite a row of toilets. Radio playing and warm room. Water temperature was good too and use of a free hairdryer.

Laundry room and hand wash area next to the ahowers too.

Very quiet site, polite staff and awesome shower rooms.

Would highly recommend for people visiting France this is a very come table last night in the UK and less than 10 mins from port.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cc7979 8 reviews from this member

We stayed for just one night on a grass electric (10 amp) pitch before getting the ferry for Dover the next day. For this purpose it was ideal, close to port, easy access on and off the site and good value.

The shower facilities were adequate and it was handy to have a small combined shop and café on site where we had some well priced dinner on the evening. Only slight issue - it was the fortnightly bingo night and we essentially had to move table while we were waiting for our food as we were in the Bingo area.

I wouldn't stay here more than a couple of nights, but if you are heading to or from port than can definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffprinter 10 reviews from this member

Ok, so we have a static there, but being tent campers as well I feel I can give an informative review. We would more often than not avoid family sites, and stick to adult only sites. This site is for families, which is what we needed for our kids and grand kids to use as well as us. One of things I like here is there is no playground on site where some adults let their kids run amok and annoy other guests. There is however 5 or so minutes walk away a really well equipped playground, probably one of the best I have seen that's free to use with plenty of green area for ball games. We take our grandkids there a lot and they love the long slide. So no annoying other campers on site but still being able to let their hair down. The site is a good size and good to just stroll around. A variety of large pitches from hardstanding, enclosed grass pitches, to plain open field, the choice is excellent with EHU. Shower blocks are modern clean, warm and overall all you need. Plenty of undercover wash up sinks. Laundry area. We have the 3 network on our mobile phones and tether our laptops from them and they work fine where we are located on the park. The site does have Wi Fi but I don't think its great all over the site. The cafe, with its small shop is great and the ladies in there will go out of their way to feed you. Reception and entry barrier, so no tom dick or harry being able to just drive in. The staff are helpful and know their stuff, not in your face but good to know they are there if you need help. There is the village train station just up the road, which is handy if you fancy getting out without the car or want to go out for a drink with your meal. The small amount of train noise you RARELY hear is nothing to the advantage of having a local train station. We have spent nearly every weekend here since February and even at bank holidays have never felt the place was overcrowded. All in all a great place to stay and plenty of places to visit for days out.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LIZ20557 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. It is quite local to us within 30 miles, we were looking for somewhere quite close and quiet.

We arrived after reception had closed, but had phoned ahead so could get the gate code rather than stopping in the late arrivals area.

The facilities were good. Shower block was open all the time not closed for cleaning. It wasn't a problem that they were cleaning when I went for a shower.

There is a mix of statics and tourers. The tourers were a mix of overnighters (to and from the ferry) and those there for a little longer. We initially went to the furthest field for peace but moved as we were sinking in the soft ground! We ended up in the first camping area which was mainly used by overnighters. It was empty by the time we woke up but we only heard one van leave.

We didn't use the cafe but will next time we go back. It does back on to the train, but trains come and go its not a bother.

No play area on site but there is one about 10 minutes walk away across fields. It was a good play area for kids of all ages.

There are supermarkets in Dover and Deal and I think you could buy basics on site. There is a pub, but we didn't have time to go. We had to leave something to do for when we next visited!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Malk 4 reviews from this member

Perfect for a stop on the way to the ferry, or on returning.

We were allowed enough space to stay hooked up.

The small cafe stayed open if there were customers there, after 6.

There wasn't a lot to fault it. Local pub was closed when we were there but had a pleasant walk around the local countryside.

We would definitely stay again and would recommend it.

Good value, at least for a UK site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 32 reviews from this member

We used this site for one night prior to a very early ferry booking the next morning. It was ideal. Less than 4 miles from ferry port means that you are there in less than 10 minutes.

Welcome was friendly and informative. We stayed in the 'Paddock' next to the late arrivals field as it was closest to the entrance, useful for our quick getaway the next morning. Pitches are a good size.

Mixed clientele as there are static caravans on the site too.

Facilities excellent and very clean with plenty of toilets, showers, washing up etc.

There is a cafe on site that also serves as a shop providing basics.

Very peaceful setting in the countryside although there is a rail line that runs at the back of the site and we pitched right next to it. I can honestly say I never noticed one train go through.

Lovely old pub nearby called The Leather Bottle, within walking distance that serves huge portions of tasty food at a reasonable price.

Looks as though there is good cycling and walking around the camp site and if we return we will probably stay for a little longer as it did seem like a lovely, relaxing, peaceful site.

If you need to overnight near Dover either on your way or returning from Europe then I can thoroughly recommend this site. Late arrivals are catered for by a field next to the cafe. This was empty when we retired to bed at 10 pm but when we arose at 4 am it was full! We didn't hear any of them arrive and we were right next to them.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LorraineG 4 reviews from this member

I have just returned from a weekend with friends and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. When we arrived the very kind ladies in the cafe stayed late to cook us a meal, over and above as they were only 5 mins from closing and stayed to cook an extra 8 meals. Many thanks again. The weather was a bit hit and miss but we had a great time. Everyone is so friendly and the site is very clean and tidy. The shower blocks had been re-vamped since our last visit and everything was new and spotless. There is even a free hairdryer and the water was hot! This was our 3rd visit to this site and we will return again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Retroplehcar 3 reviews from this member

Used this site for a one night stop before catching the ferry. We contacted the site before arrival as we were going to arrive late. The staff were very helpful and gave us the code for the gate over the phone and told us to pitch wherever we were happy to do so. As it was dark on arrival, to pitch where we liked was great, as we could pitch our tent near a light. The site was clean and well maintained. The ablution blocks were clean and warm. We had breakfast at the site cafe which was excellent value for money before boarding the ferry. Our stay was very short, but would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Veedubmom 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a one night stay here prior to catching the Ferry to Europe in our VW Campervan and what a perfect start to our trip! The owners are really friendly and there is a nice laid back atmosphere here. The pitches are an excellent size and there is no check out time as such, as people are coming and going at all hours due to ferry times, which helped take the stress out for us. Despite the busy nature of the site, there was very little disturbance to us and we got a good night's sleep ! There is a lovely little shop and café on site, and toilets are clean and well maintained. One of our party didn't arrive until late at night, but we were able to let them in using our code on the barrier, and they paid the next morning. It's nice to see such common sense can still prevail at campsites in this country, as some can be so wrapped up in rules and regulations, they forget to see the stressed out people behind it all! The site is literally a 15 minute drive from the port at Dover, so was perfect in that respect too! All in all, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend this site to anyone!

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019