Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trossachs Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > By Aberfoyle > Trossachs Holiday Park Reviews

Trossachs Holiday Park
Gartmore
By Aberfoyle
Perthshire   (Browse area)
FK8 3SA
Tel: 01877 382614
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 50 Reviews
                8/10 from 50 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arlene43 4 reviews from this member

 Our first time camping and testing our stuff. Firstly I phoned ahead to book this as it was Easter weekend, we were told we were lucky as they were busy. At a cost of £49.50 for two nights, with electrics and water we thought it was expensive, but what do we know. Any way took us 2 hours to erect our Mojave 5 tent. Lol.

As for the camp site staff were friendly, toilets were immaculate, lots of hot water, small play area for children, and small shop with basics. The tent area was far from busy!

All in all camp site for us was so so, but that's our first time. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squince39 14 reviews from this member

 We arrived on 3rd September 2010 for a two night camping stay.

We were greeted at reception by a very friendly person who explained everything to us.

Attached to the reception is a shop. Which has a range of basic food requirements in stock.

We then followed the person from reception to our pitch. A lovely pitch with nice scenery around us and a great day, we couldn't have planned it any better.

There was a kid's playground only a stones throw away from our pitch.

The toilet block and tv room was about 150 metres from our pitch.

The toilet block was great. It was nice and clean and the showers were nice and hot. No tokens or extra money either for the shower.

The tv area was a little outdated and could maybe do with an upgrade, but there again we hadn't come here to watch t.V.

All in all this was a great weekend. A very clean and scenic location with warm and friendly people.

One of our best camping weekends ever and we'll most definitely be back.  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irisgirl 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful location, close to cycle tracks, Queen Elizabeth Park and beautiful countryside. Site immaculate, facilities excellent (but only 2 shower cubicles in ladies toilet) and staff helpful and friendly.

It is such a shame that tents are relegated to an area which is quite small, and because of this, where you can pitch a tent has to be quite regimented. The area consists of three narrow strips of grass separated by a U-shaped gravel drive where you park your car in front of your pitch. The size of each pitch is also limited which means you will be very close to your neighbours.

I spent 2 nights, and my experience of each quite different. The children’s play area was very close to the tents - so I was prepared for extra noise.

Not sure that I would return, as the children’s play area is definitely too close to the tents. In an ideal world would be great if they put families with children next to this area. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ed.Ridsdale 4 reviews from this member

 I visited this site on for the last week of August this year and agree with the other reviews that it has lovely views and the site staff are very helpful.

The toilet blocks however were inadequate for the number of tourers accommodated on the site, both caravans and tents, although the staff endeavour to keep them clean. While we were there, there was frequently queuing in the toilet blocks, in the males for the three wcs or the two shower cubicles, whereas the 6 wcs and two shower cubicles in the female side did little better.

In all other respects the site is fine, staff are helpful and the scenery lovely, but then again what do you expect of Scottish sites. Beautiful scenery is everywhere. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DOIGS4 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite by chance as most places were fully booked. I have to say I am so glad we did. This campsite is set in one of the most beautiful areas I have ever camped in. Facilities at the site are very good with toilet, showers etc cleaned regularly. There is a small shop and reception area, staff on site are extremely helpful and friendly.

The site has a room with pool table tv, tables and chairs etc and although it is in need of updating it is a bonus when the weather is no so good. I mention this room needing updating but it certainly isn't a criticism as many campsites do not provide anything like this and if you are sleeping in a tent then it is really a great room.

The site is reasonably priced and electrics and water can be provided for tents this is the first time we have camped using this facility and although we never used the electricity having water on tap beside the tent was a definite plus. There is a play area at the site a lovely wooden climbing frame, swings and chute my sons loved it they are 9 and 5years old.

While camping in this area there is so much you can do just a short distance away is the three lochs well worth a drive around to see the beautiful scenery, David Marshall lodge is also close where you can find out all about the wildlife in the area, have lunch on the decking outside overlooking beautiful scenery and also complete one of the many beautiful walks.

The lodge also incorporates GO APE for the more adventureous amongs you zip wires were not for us but we watched as young and old had a wonderful time. We also spotted a golf course as we walked around the area. It is £3 to park for the day here but no entry fee for the lodge itself, our lunch was reasonably priced and the food was lovely.

In Aberfoyle we paid a visit to the Scottish Wool Centre were we were treated to a sheep dog display fantastic sight the centre is a great place to pick up souvenirs. You are also not far from Callander where you can visit the Rob Roy museum not a huge display but certainly informative as there are a couple of videos to watch.

There is also the toy museum wow you really want to go visit there every toy you can possible imagine in one place all of my family enjoyed it it is definitely for all ages. From Thunderbirds to Sindy, dolls houses to train sets I can't speak highly enough about this lovely place.

We ate lunch in the cafe across the road although the food was a little pricey it was a very high standard and the staff were very friendly. Loch earn is nearby to with a variety of water sports and beautiful views, we managed to take in the Highland games too.

We loved the site and will definitely come back we are also looking at hiring one of the static caravans or lodges they have on offer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Visitor89 1 review from this member

 We camped in a tent: on booking we were told we could arrive up to 9pm and after getting there at 8.30pm we were surprised to get asked why we were late!

However after this the warden was very friendly- drove round to show us our pitch for the night- quite a generous space for our 3person tent, the pitch came with a picnic table and we had a water tap and electic hook-up if we wanted to use this. The warden then pointed out the facilities- toilets, games room and laundrette and left us to get set up. You can park your car right beside your tent, so no awkward trailing with it and the view from the tent pitches is lovely as it looks over woods and fields.

On sight there is a good park for the children and space for them to run around and there were many children there. The toilets were spotless, we were very impressed with the cleanliness of them. The games room has a TV and pool table and various books and was empty on passing.

After 10pm all was quiet and everyone was in their tents, so you can get a decent night sleep here.

Next time we would stay for longer. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KateM28 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night over a beautiful May weekend with our two boys. The site is run by forest holidays and is very geared towards families with a playground, forest trails and ranger activities. It is also at the junction of a cycle path with Drymen in one direction and Aberfoyle about 2 miles away.

Facilities were very clean and our pitch with electric hook-up was right opposite the playpark. The boys quickly found friends to play with. Where we were located the pitch was quite small and they are strict with distance between campers so we were very politely asked if we could move a bit (and offered help to do that too).

The shop looked well-stocked and all staff were very helpful.

We will be back, for longer next time. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CAROLHACKRAY 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights at this site as part of a touring holiday of Scotland. Upon arrival staff were very friendly helped pitch caravan! Toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and free. Laundry facilities were very handy and quite reasonable. The on site shop was well stocked. There are also several farm shops within a few miles in which to sample local produce

Stunning scenery and lots of places to visit, had a fab day at loch lomand and Callender is well worth a visit. Will definitely be returning. We stayed through the week and it was quiet and peaceful, left on Saturday and it was busy with lots of families, so if you require peace and quite through the week is the best time to visit.

The only downside is that you are a little too close to your neighbours so a little claustrophobic at times but apart from that everything else was excellent, well worth it! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Angela2293 3 reviews from this member

 Very helpful staff who quickly helped us pitch. Very well stocked shop selling everything you need at competitive prices.

No charge for dogs and a lovely enclosed dog walk. Great cycling and walking from the site. Gartmore farm shop very handy too.

Toilets and showers were lovely and cleaned several times a day. Games room/tv room open until 10pm.

It was very busy when we were there and some pitches are quite close to their neighbour but no as bad as I've seen else where.

The staff were great! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nel373 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a three night stay at Trossachs holiday park. This was our first visit here and we will definitely return.

Site is lovely and quiet with beautiful views.

There was a warm welcome on arrival and help from the warden to manoeuvre caravan on to pitch ( vans have to be put on hitch first ). Toilet block was clean and showers were warm and free.

The shop was fine for any forgotten items.

This was a perfect site for exploring the surrounding Queen Elizabeth Forest with walks for all ages and abilities. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Trossachs Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trossachs Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Trossachs Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Aberfoyle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1681 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement