Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Umberleigh > Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Over Wier
Umberleigh
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX37 9DU
Tel: 01769 560009
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/04/2021 to 28/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patches 29 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Umberleigh and we were not disappointed.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful and pitched us 'next door' to our friends, as we had requested prior to arrival.

The place is still well kept/organised and quiet.

We were given a sheet of money off vouchers at reception which was useful, including 10% off food at The Rising Sun and The Bell. The Bell at Chittlehampton served reasonably priced food but it's popular and we needed to book a table well in advance. Worth it though - lovely pub in a pretty village. Also used The Portsmouth Arms which was a little more expensive but again, the food was very nice.

Didn't visit Woolacombe on our last visit so decided to try it this time. Beautiful beach but not really my cup of tea as it was very busy and parking was expensive. Much preferred Croyde or The Tunnels beaches at Ilfracombe.

Really enjoyed the Village Fete and Garden Show in Umberleigh.

This will not be our last visit to this site.Very relaxing and peaceful, just didn't want to come home. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lm.1 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely, relaxing visit to this site during the school summer holidays. Site was busy, as expected at this time of year but never seemed overcrowded.

Hardstanding pitches are flat, grass electric and non-electric pitches slightly sloping. Toilet block, although not modern, has everything you need and the free hairdryer is a bonus! TV reception is digital only but we got most channels. Holiday Site Managers are great - very helpful and knowledgeable.

Games Barn is great for kids of all ages. Downstairs there is a pool table (50p a game), table tennis table (remember your bats & balls) and a wooden skittles bowling lane and upstairs there is a tv with seating and also a playhouse for younger children. There are two tennis courts on site - we hired the older concrete one for 3 per hour but there is a newer one for 6 per hour. Remember to bring rackets and balls (and more than one as there are hedges around the court which the ball gets stuck in!)

Playing field is great. It is fully visible from the camping field - there is a football goal and plenty of room to run around. There is also a climbing frame on the site. The fishing lake is quite small, payable in the site office. There are lots of small fish but we did catch a couple of nice tench.

Umberleigh very small village but does have pub. Larger towns of Bideford & Barnstaple are only 20 minutes away and bus and train services are near the site. Westward Ho and Instow have lovely beaches when not high tide but remember this is the North Devon coast, so quite windy!

Plenty to do around the area. As we have teenagers we hired bikes in Bideford and cycled along the Tarka Trail. They also had a go at Kayaking and Surfing at a local activity centre.

All in all this is a lovely site if you like peace and quiet and we will definitely be returning again! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen04 4 reviews from this member

 Toilets, showers and dishwash all clean. The site was busy when we visited so there were queues on some mornings for showers. There was a hairdryer to use free of charge in both ladies and gents.

The shop sells a few basics and will get your newspaper if you order it. Pitch size was small and we did feel hemmed in as we were in rows. It was made worse by the fact that everyone was instructed to park their car at the end of their unit at the side of the road. When looking up or down the road all you could see was cars. Car parking was monitored and our neighbours were asked to move their car by the site management.

There is a play area for ball games and a separate area with a climbing frame. There is also a building with skittles, pool, table tennis and table football, fee payable for the latter three games. Quite often parents didn't supervise the children here and the upstairs became a hang out for the teenagers as there was a TV. I also gather there was a play house upstairs for smaller children.

Fishing a short walk over adjacent fields but expensive. Fish and Chip van once weekly but be prepared to queue as they are very nice. Beaches at Woolacombe and Croyde are about 40 minutes drive.

Tesco supermarket about 7 miles away. We probably wouldn't revisit as the pitches are close together. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pauljw09 1 review from this member

 Just visited over half term holidays. Fantastic site for younger family. Location slightly isolated from main beaches by 45-80 minute drive but, this is more than made up for by the peace and quiet that this site offers. Pleasant welcome and helpful site managers. Good mix of units with slight predominance of caravans and mobile home/ camper van units but, plenty of tents of all sizes. Tents on non serviced pitches are on sloping ground.

Clean and pleasant toilet block with decent laundry facilities. Games block with table tennis, table football, skittles and TV good for older children. Younger ones catered for by play area. Games field with football goal well visible from all areas of camp. Fishing lake well stocked- experienced match fisherman in our group was very complementary about fish stocks- day license can be purchased on site.

The area is good with supermarkets in south Molton and Barnstaple both within 20min drive.For visiting can recommend RHS Rosemoor 8 mile drive.

Beaches. Croyde for surfers, Woolacoombe for families but v busy and commercialised. Lee bay best rock pooling beach I've ever been on, glad my childhood hadn't betrayed me with false memories.

We will be going back again.

Only criticism is that tents get the raw deal of pitches (sloping) as usual though this site better than most. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stevet7913 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 11 nights with my wife and 2 children (9 & 2 yrs). I was very happy with this sight. Facilities are good and always clean. Site management are very helpful and welcoming. I pitched on an overflow pitch with EHO which was slightly sloping. Site management provided help to get my unit on a ramp. Most of the pitches are level. Site is in a very pretty location about 6 miles from a main town, Barnstaple. Not a lot in Umberleigh village but lots on the site especially for children. There is a converted barn with bowling, table tennis and pool table. Toddlers area is also in the barn. Small pond for fishing is nice. The countryside is very relaxing - perfect if you just want to unwind. Beaches are approx. 15 miles away. Very nice pub with good food in Chittlehampton(2 miles away) - The Bell. It is located in a nice village with a magnificent church surrounded by houses with thatched roofs. All in all an excellent site in a good relaxing location. Will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tipitastic 3 reviews from this member

 Great little, well run,clean and tidy site with very helpful site managers.

Mainly aimed at the big boys (caravans, trailer tents, hookups, hardstand etc) but accommodated a small tent, 2 dogs and a couple of humans at the last minute.

Toilets, showers, washing up area & launderette area spotlessly clean (as was the entire site). Dog exercise field and playing field/climbing frame area for the kids. Very family orientated but as its fairly small it never seemed to be overwhelmed by kids. Yes there is a 'games/TV barn' which was basic, but probably very useful for those families with children during the downpours.

It was fantastically quite at night, not a peep from anyone after 11pm.

Will recommend the local pub, the Rising Sun Inn, up the road and down the lane. Good food, great service and a couple of real fires. It is only 5 mins walk and the last bit is steep, but fortified with ale, will help you on the way home. Take torches as it is dark and I'd also recommend a fluorescent tabard thing, the cars go pretty fast even on the back road, (this was only a 300yd stretch at the most though).

Although not jam packed with luxuries this was a great basecamp for exploring North Devon & Exmoor.

(Scoring. Value for money drops a point because we weren't club members. And won't score the kids bit. Some kids would be happy as pigs in **** others no doubt would be disappointed that there's no pool, video arcade etc etc.) 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ukbirder 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with lots of room for the bigger family tent. Very helpful staff, a very clean and well run CCC site which is open to non-members. Clean toilets and showers as campers are requested to clean up after themselves.

Location is very good for coast and countryside visits whichever takes your fancy. We went to Westward-Ho for the day and that had a good beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jdt020471 1 review from this member

 Really nice site this one, the shower blocks were clean and hot and the managers were friendly and helpful. The games room was a hit with our kids, it has a pool table, a skittle alley, table tennis and table football. The play area was ok, but it was rather muddy on our first week. The chip van visited on Tuesdays around 7.15, queue early otherwise you'll be in for a long wait. The site shop was a little disappointing as it was very small, it did have the essentials but lacked in a few bits such as bread for example.

We found a nice pub not far away, The Bell Inn at Chittlehampton, nice food, nice ale (all at reasonable prices, we paid 40 for 2 adult meals, 2 kids meals and 3 rounds of drinks), nice people and kid friendly too. Food is served from 6.00pm, best to get there early as it does get booked up quickly. The nearest supermarket is Tesco in Barnstaple which is about 10-15 mins away.

The only downside, be prepared to drive a lot, for example the nearest(ish) beach (Westward Ho!) is about 20-25 mins away, Woolacombe is 45mins, Lynton is 45mins-1hr away. However we didn't really think this was a major problem.

All in all I'd recommend this site and will probably return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patches 29 reviews from this member

 Little gem of a site, a little out of the way but this meant it was quiet and in beautiful surroundings. About 7 miles to Barnstaple for supermarkets etc. Farm shop about 2 miles down the road and a petrol station about a mile away. Staff were always helpful and friendly.

Shower/toilet blocks, although a few years old, were spotless (3 showers in the ladies and 2 heated washing cubicles). Also had a good laundry room which was well kept and a very good family room for those with young kids or disabled visitors. Information room was useful and had info on local restaurants, shopping, caravan spares/repairs, events etc.

Pitches are very slightly sloping but well laid out. Good pegs are needed for the awning if you are on hardstanding, as we were. We also placed a tarp under our 'best' groundsheet to avoid any damage from the lumpy gravel. A 6 metre rule between units is imposed and everything has to be kept within your pitch, including pup tents, etc., which is for everyone's benefit. Even so, some couldn't resist building windbreak villages (why?)

The games room was a big hit with our 2 teenagers - it made a nice change to have facilities for kids of this age rather than just the usual 'swings and slides' for the younger ones (although there is an outdoor play area provided).

We used The Rising Sun pub in Umberleigh village - good food and prompt service with a good selection of local ales - a little on the expensive side but then again, you get what you pay for!

All in all, 9/10 for Umberleigh. Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tea and coffee 1 review from this member

 We visited this site at easter BH - lovely quiet site. Our only critisism was the lack of any heating in the shower block which wasn't much fun on a freezing cold BH - only managed to have one shower all weekend.
Wardens were very good and site clean and well laid out - no trees so could be sunny all day long. We would revisit this site but only in warm weather or if we knew heating had been installed in facilities block. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Umberleigh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5492 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement