Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Umberleigh > Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Over Wier
Umberleigh
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX37 9DU
Tel: 01769 560009
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/04/2021 to 28/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DavViv 1 review from this member

 The site was in a lovely part of North Devon, secluded and with beautiful outlook.

The site was exceptionally well maintained, clean and the facilities were extremely clean.

The showers were just the right pressure and temperature, and no residual water was left on the floor. All ages catered for, and for active youngsters there was a lovely field adjacent to the site with a football pitch!

Dog owners were also well catered for with plenty of open space adjacent to the site for dog walking. Dogs seemed to present no trouble at all.

The site was very peaceful and relaxing and our hosts were very helpful. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vwdubman 25 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite, peaceful, immaculately maintained by the friendly wardens.

Has a great dog walking area that our little Jack Russell thought was her own.

A couple of very good pubs near by, highly recommend The Bell at Chittlehampton, great food and nice choice of real ales.

Would I go back, yes for a week of sitting around doing nothing and chillaxing 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 26 reviews from this member

 Just back from two days at Umberleigh, our first visit to this area and site and hopefully not our last. Given a very warm welcome from Anji (almost hidden behind a huge computer screen) and directed to a choice of pitches by Paul, nothing was too much trouble.

The site was less than half full - maybe everyone else sensibly looked at the weather forecast! - and very quiet, despite being Easter holidays for some schools, there were no children on site so it felt like an adults only.

Facilities blocks spotlessly clean (possibly the cleanest we've ever seen) and warm, the showers are a good temperature with good flow (the tip about pressing longer does work) and useful moveable stools for us oldies, though they only seem to be in the ladies. General site maintenance was to a high standard as well, pitches not all level but I'm sure that if that was a problem they would do their best to accommodate you. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davendeb 11 reviews from this member

 Just got back from umberleigh. On arrival Ron showed us a couple of pitches and choose. He then told us about chip van, his words "the best in the west", spot on very good. Dog walk was great. Ron and Jo there to help but still accept its your holiday, not in your face, but there for you. Easy to get to, after umbeleigh sign look for brown camp sign.

Will be going back. Thanks Ron n Jo 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevincarter 1 review from this member

 Very beautiful camp site. Ron and jo are very helpful. The site is spotless every where. If they had a star rating of 1 to 5 I would give them 10. Lovely location. Excellent views all around. We went there on our bikes. No problem with parking. You will not go wrong if you go to this site. Highly recommend this camp site. Thanks ron and jo, see you next year. Kev bill, ginge wayne 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HicVadum 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week and were very pleased with the site. Easy to get to, friendly staff, large open pitches with lots of space between them, basic necessity shop that ordered newspapers, fish and chip van called Tuesday and the quality of the food was very good, pub within walking distance (if you didn't mind a steep walk back), single toilet block which was clean.

Dog and child friendly, we had neither but there were several play areas off site which worked on two levels, peace and quiet maintained around the units and kiddies entertained. Good satellite tv reception and c&cc wifi (10 a week or 20 for a year) A 6 mile drive to Barnstaple for Tesco or Lidl. The only slight niggle was a long walk to the rubbish & recycling point.

We will stay here again. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

 A lovely country site on the edge of a farm. Consists of field with track looping around, with hard standings and a lower grass area. Toilet blocks are clean and well maintained and appear to have been refurbished fairly recently. Site was not too busy as it was end of season. After dark it was really quiet with little noise or light pollution. Site team friendly and helpful. Good pubs in nearby villages. Would particularly recommend the Bell at Chittlehampton. Chip van visits on a Tuesday, they serve really nice fish n Chips. Handy for Barnstaple and North Devon attractions. Whilst there we visited The National Trust Carriage Museum at Arlington Court, Datington Crystal, RHS Rosemoor and the delightful Clovelly. All within easy travelling distance. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mick 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with very helpful friendly wardens as is normal with ccc. Kids loved the games room and a tennis coach comes on Tuesdays in summer holidays and offers free 1 hour tennis lesson for kids over 7.

We'll be back as only stayed 4 nights and would like to see more of the area. Lovely bread from local bakery can be ordered from site reception. Toilets and showers were always clean. A nice warm shower was the push button type but seemed to last a little longer between presses than some I've been too. I'd not used a ccc site for about 3 years but remember the fun banter you get with just about every ccc warden I've ever met. No different here.  


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peter Jones 70 2 reviews from this member

 The sign on the main road could do with the hedge cut back or the sign enlarging, we have been here before but came from a different direction. The staff are very good at reception but not being asked if we would like a grass or hard standing pitch we were directed to a sloping grass pitch, I know were not members but it would have nice to have been asked.

The facilities are tidy and clean and the site quite quiet, the local pub has reopened since last time we were here and the antique place across the bridge is worth a visit. We will probably visit again sometime. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiesel 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for4 nights. Easy to find if you use the sites Instrutions. Sat nav useless in this area, stick to main roads. Beautiful site. Friendly welcome from site wardens. Clean facilities with nice hot showers. Grass kept nice and short. Kids loved the play ground and the games room was a welcome addition. Landry 3. 50 a wash with 1 for 20 min drying time. Lovely views from site, however it can get quite windy and the offset is not too much protection from the wind if you are on one of the upper pitches, but you can't book the weather!

The Bell Inn at Chittlehampton is good for food. Friendly staff there and a really nice beer garden. Book table for food though as gets busy. Quince honey farm close by was worth the visit and has an indoor play area for wet days.

Arlington court also nice to visit. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Umberleigh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3140 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement