Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Umberleigh > Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Over Wier
Umberleigh
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX37 9DU
Tel: 01769 560009
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/04/2021 to 28/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 28/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Susperella 11 reviews from this member

 Umberleigh is really a fantastic little club site. Located in the beautifully hilly North Devon countryside, approx half an hours drive away from major beaches and about 15-20 mins away from the nearest town of Barnstable- where you will find Supermarkets like Lidl, Asda and Tesco.

The site is a typical club site offering all the usual amenities with the added benefit of tennis courts a ball field and a games room ( although the games room was closed due to Covid ).

Tennis courts were fantastic- and so was the free kids coaching once a week in school holidays- my children loved it! Toilet block was kept clean during our stay being cleaned 4 times during the day- and had 3 showers- 2 wash cubicles and lots of loos. They also had a family wash room that looked huge.

Highly recommend the fish and chip van that comes on a Tuesday- but start queuing early as it gets busy.

Lastly Covid measures on this site were fantastic and included extra cleaning of facilities and even disinfecting taps and touch points. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gailbonney 33 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this site. Mixed emotions really. Was well presented and the wardens seemed to be very busy! Our pitch was dirty when we arrived and I had to clear it before siting the van! Not wardens fault. The pitches are very close together and the road between very narrow. My husband said it felt like we were in a car park! It was quite a trek to anywhere as its off the beaten track. Again not a problem, but you do need to drive.

I had a problem with cold water and no waster in the showers though. Husband and son didn't. I only use shower block when washing my hair as its easier. So again, I managed!

We had a couple of issues with our nearest neighbours not understanding the C&CC rule re parking. One refusing to move his table and chair so we could park our car!

The wardens were so busy (only 2 of them) that we didn't want to cause trouble and dealt with it ourselves. The water and waste water area was in the middle of pitches, so you always had to cross someone's pitch.

Which I have always told my children not to do. Felt odd doing it esp. When trundling a waste hog or aquaroll.

According to son, wi-fi was poor and very slow!

Wider area was extremely busy due to what's happening at mo. No ones fault but did make it more tricky finding parking etc. Most places we visited were crowded too. And that's something I'm struggling with since covid.

We probably won't stay there again as we've done everything we want to in the region. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stu71 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, friendly wardens

Nice flat grass pitch.

Facilities very clean.

Very busy but still quiet.

My only grumble is that there is only one private sink in the gents washrooms 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fenner33 3 reviews from this member

 This site is extremely well kept and all facilities were very clean with the bins, including dog bins, water taps etc, sanitised daily.

There is a lovely big dog walk field adjacent to the site. The views and sunsets are stunning from site.

There is games room, tennis courts and small children’s play area but we didn’t make use of these.

There is also a small fishing pond about a 10 minute walk from the pitches and a small woodland walk, however my husband got a tick after being in these areas so be careful.

The site is in a great location for exploring north Devon with easy access. The pitches are very generous in size BUT some are very very sloped. We couldn’t get out back legs to reach the ground even with a brick underneath so had to move pitch.

Unfortunately due to the grumpy wardens we won’t return to this site. When we asked to move, the warden was rude and sarcastic and said “well what if this was the only pitch left” after a 7 hour drive we didn’t want this sort of response. It felt like we were in the way as neither warden really wanted to speak whenever we saw them and most of our fellow campers said they’d had issues with them and all were very minor petty things.

After 5 days we were asked to move our windbreak, even though we were initially told it was ok to put it where we did, as it was exceeding our pitch boundary. We were at the end of a row with only grass between us and the road so we weren’t breaking any fire regulations. Our neighbour on a hard stand wasn’t allowed to have any part of the awning(other than guide ropes) touching the grass.

In summary, the site is immaculate with great facilities, a great dog walking field, stunning views and in a great location but the wardens were extremely unfriendly so for this reason only, we won’t return. If there were different wardens, we would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DavViv 1 review from this member

 The site was in a lovely part of North Devon, secluded and with beautiful outlook.

The site was exceptionally well maintained, clean and the facilities were extremely clean.

The showers were just the right pressure and temperature, and no residual water was left on the floor. All ages catered for, and for active youngsters there was a lovely field adjacent to the site with a football pitch!

Dog owners were also well catered for with plenty of open space adjacent to the site for dog walking. Dogs seemed to present no trouble at all.

The site was very peaceful and relaxing and our hosts were very helpful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vwdubman 26 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite, peaceful, immaculately maintained by the friendly wardens.

Has a great dog walking area that our little Jack Russell thought was her own.

A couple of very good pubs near by, highly recommend The Bell at Chittlehampton, great food and nice choice of real ales.

Would I go back, yes for a week of sitting around doing nothing and chillaxing 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 26 reviews from this member

 Just back from two days at Umberleigh, our first visit to this area and site and hopefully not our last. Given a very warm welcome from Anji (almost hidden behind a huge computer screen) and directed to a choice of pitches by Paul, nothing was too much trouble.

The site was less than half full - maybe everyone else sensibly looked at the weather forecast! - and very quiet, despite being Easter holidays for some schools, there were no children on site so it felt like an adults only.

Facilities blocks spotlessly clean (possibly the cleanest we've ever seen) and warm, the showers are a good temperature with good flow (the tip about pressing longer does work) and useful moveable stools for us oldies, though they only seem to be in the ladies. General site maintenance was to a high standard as well, pitches not all level but I'm sure that if that was a problem they would do their best to accommodate you. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davendeb 11 reviews from this member

 Just got back from umberleigh. On arrival Ron showed us a couple of pitches and choose. He then told us about chip van, his words "the best in the west", spot on very good. Dog walk was great. Ron and Jo there to help but still accept its your holiday, not in your face, but there for you. Easy to get to, after umbeleigh sign look for brown camp sign.

Will be going back. Thanks Ron n Jo 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevincarter 1 review from this member

 Very beautiful camp site. Ron and jo are very helpful. The site is spotless every where. If they had a star rating of 1 to 5 I would give them 10. Lovely location. Excellent views all around. We went there on our bikes. No problem with parking. You will not go wrong if you go to this site. Highly recommend this camp site. Thanks ron and jo, see you next year. Kev bill, ginge wayne 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HicVadum 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week and were very pleased with the site. Easy to get to, friendly staff, large open pitches with lots of space between them, basic necessity shop that ordered newspapers, fish and chip van called Tuesday and the quality of the food was very good, pub within walking distance (if you didn't mind a steep walk back), single toilet block which was clean.

Dog and child friendly, we had neither but there were several play areas off site which worked on two levels, peace and quiet maintained around the units and kiddies entertained. Good satellite tv reception and c&cc wifi (£10 a week or £20 for a year) A 6 mile drive to Barnstaple for Tesco or Lidl. The only slight niggle was a long walk to the rubbish & recycling point.

We will stay here again. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Umberleigh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2870 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement