Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Umberleigh Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Umberleigh > Umberleigh Campsite > Reviews

CLOSED: Umberleigh Campsite
Over Wier
Umberleigh
Devon (North)   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that as of 2023 this site is no longer part of the Camping and Caravanning Club network. We are endeavouring to find the new owner's details.

. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 An excellent site, very well laid out. Very clean. Staff showed us onto our pitch and guided us in.

We found them to go the extra mile to help people. We found the campers very friendly.

We would highly recommend this site. It's close to Barnstaple and the Tarka trail for cyclists.

We will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Susperella 11 reviews from this member

 Umberleigh is really a fantastic little club site. Located in the beautifully hilly North Devon countryside, approx half an hours drive away from major beaches and about 15-20 mins away from the nearest town of Barnstable- where you will find Supermarkets like Lidl, Asda and Tesco.

The site is a typical club site offering all the usual amenities with the added benefit of tennis courts a ball field and a games room ( although the games room was closed due to Covid ).

Tennis courts were fantastic- and so was the free kids coaching once a week in school holidays- my children loved it! Toilet block was kept clean during our stay being cleaned 4 times during the day- and had 3 showers- 2 wash cubicles and lots of loos. They also had a family wash room that looked huge.

Highly recommend the fish and chip van that comes on a Tuesday- but start queuing early as it gets busy.

Lastly Covid measures on this site were fantastic and included extra cleaning of facilities and even disinfecting taps and touch points. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gailbonney 36 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this site. Mixed emotions really. Was well presented and the wardens seemed to be very busy! Our pitch was dirty when we arrived and I had to clear it before siting the van! Not wardens fault. The pitches are very close together and the road between very narrow. My husband said it felt like we were in a car park! It was quite a trek to anywhere as its off the beaten track. Again not a problem, but you do need to drive.

I had a problem with cold water and no waster in the showers though. Husband and son didn't. I only use shower block when washing my hair as its easier. So again, I managed!

We had a couple of issues with our nearest neighbours not understanding the C&CC rule re parking. One refusing to move his table and chair so we could park our car!

The wardens were so busy (only 2 of them) that we didn't want to cause trouble and dealt with it ourselves. The water and waste water area was in the middle of pitches, so you always had to cross someone's pitch.

Which I have always told my children not to do. Felt odd doing it esp. When trundling a waste hog or aquaroll.

According to son, wi-fi was poor and very slow!

Wider area was extremely busy due to what's happening at mo. No ones fault but did make it more tricky finding parking etc. Most places we visited were crowded too. And that's something I'm struggling with since covid.

We probably won't stay there again as we've done everything we want to in the region. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stu71 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, friendly wardens

Nice flat grass pitch.

Facilities very clean.

Very busy but still quiet.

My only grumble is that there is only one private sink in the gents washrooms 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fenner33 4 reviews from this member

 This site is extremely well kept and all facilities were very clean with the bins, including dog bins, water taps etc, sanitised daily.

There is a lovely big dog walk field adjacent to the site. The views and sunsets are stunning from site.

There is games room, tennis courts and small children’s play area but we didn’t make use of these.

There is also a small fishing pond about a 10 minute walk from the pitches and a small woodland walk, however my husband got a tick after being in these areas so be careful.

The site is in a great location for exploring north Devon with easy access. The pitches are very generous in size BUT some are very very sloped. We couldn’t get out back legs to reach the ground even with a brick underneath so had to move pitch.

Unfortunately due to the grumpy wardens we won’t return to this site. When we asked to move, the warden was rude and sarcastic and said “well what if this was the only pitch left” after a 7 hour drive we didn’t want this sort of response. It felt like we were in the way as neither warden really wanted to speak whenever we saw them and most of our fellow campers said they’d had issues with them and all were very minor petty things.

After 5 days we were asked to move our windbreak, even though we were initially told it was ok to put it where we did, as it was exceeding our pitch boundary. We were at the end of a row with only grass between us and the road so we weren’t breaking any fire regulations. Our neighbour on a hard stand wasn’t allowed to have any part of the awning(other than guide ropes) touching the grass.

In summary, the site is immaculate with great facilities, a great dog walking field, stunning views and in a great location but the wardens were extremely unfriendly so for this reason only, we won’t return. If there were different wardens, we would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DavViv 1 review from this member

 The site was in a lovely part of North Devon, secluded and with beautiful outlook.

The site was exceptionally well maintained, clean and the facilities were extremely clean.

The showers were just the right pressure and temperature, and no residual water was left on the floor. All ages catered for, and for active youngsters there was a lovely field adjacent to the site with a football pitch!

Dog owners were also well catered for with plenty of open space adjacent to the site for dog walking. Dogs seemed to present no trouble at all.

The site was very peaceful and relaxing and our hosts were very helpful. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vwdubman 34 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite, peaceful, immaculately maintained by the friendly wardens.

Has a great dog walking area that our little Jack Russell thought was her own.

A couple of very good pubs near by, highly recommend The Bell at Chittlehampton, great food and nice choice of real ales.

Would I go back, yes for a week of sitting around doing nothing and chillaxing 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 27 reviews from this member

 Just back from two days at Umberleigh, our first visit to this area and site and hopefully not our last. Given a very warm welcome from Anji (almost hidden behind a huge computer screen) and directed to a choice of pitches by Paul, nothing was too much trouble.

The site was less than half full - maybe everyone else sensibly looked at the weather forecast! - and very quiet, despite being Easter holidays for some schools, there were no children on site so it felt like an adults only.

Facilities blocks spotlessly clean (possibly the cleanest we've ever seen) and warm, the showers are a good temperature with good flow (the tip about pressing longer does work) and useful moveable stools for us oldies, though they only seem to be in the ladies. General site maintenance was to a high standard as well, pitches not all level but I'm sure that if that was a problem they would do their best to accommodate you. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3665 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement