Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Smeatons Lakes Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Newark > Smeatons Lakes Touring Park Reviews

Smeatons Lakes Touring Park
Great North Road
Newark
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG23 6ED
Tel: 01636 605088
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 43 Reviews
                6/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happybonzo 39 reviews from this member

 I recently stayed at Smeatons Lakes over the Bank Holiday

The plus side of things

Nice site but traffic noise could be intrusive at times

Plenty of fishing if you wanted it and very well laid out as well

Very handy for Newark shopping

The Minus side of things

The washing up facilities were grim. Two Belfast sinks that had seen better days.

The plate drainer was a filthy plastic thing. The same piece of soap was there 3 days running as was some filthy kitchen towel

The showers worked well and the WCs were clean but the buildings themselves felt dingy

The Staff could do with a bit of customer relations training.

When I arrive at a site it's nice to be greeted with a smile and a welcome not 'What do you want?' said in a very off hand manner.

Several of my friends had the same ill-mannered welcome on arrival. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs darcy 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a weekend break. The campsite seemed 'bare' - it didn't seem to have much character. Didn't help that it was really windy and the field didn't offer much shelter or protection (had to rethink the way the tent was facing!)

Our pitch was quite a walk from the toilet block which, although admittedly didn't get busy, wasn't really useful being so far away - especially in the early hours!

Pitches were well spaced, we had electric hookups so were amongst mainly caravans, pitches were well spaced. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

 It is several years ago since we visited this site and it has grown and improved quite a bit. We had a lovely pitch overlooking the main lake which was tarmac hard standing. Although the site was quite full it was very restful,the loos and showers never seemed to get too busy either.

As previous reviews have said buses to Newark are quite frequent and timetables are supplied in the shop/reception.

There are plenty of walks and if you follow the river down to some of the other lakes there are some lovely picnic areas where you can spot lots of wildlife and all sorts of birds.

We will be visiting this site again and luckily it's not that far for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dgeohegan 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this park august bank holiday, we really enjoyed it, my husband & son enjoyed the fishing, although some of the pegs are a bit overgrown, my son found it a bit awkward as hes unsteady on his feet.
The sites very nice, could do with some more toilets & showers but the ones that are there are very clean.
The staff in the office are friendly & helpful.
The site could do with having a kiddies park to keep them entertained.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay & definatley would go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gmsullivan 2 reviews from this member

 In fairness we did book quite late for the Summer Bank Holiday Weekend. However, we were trying to convert some close friends to the joys of camping. In short, tents are given a low priority in busy times and may well find themselves close to a busy road. This is not a quiet secluded campsite. The showers / toilets were 280 paces from the tents.
There were anglers toilets 240 paces away; these were very smelly  ( in my opinion). The showers were clean but old and in need of updating. There were only two washing up sinks which were (in my opinion) crusty and mucky. We had to remove dog poo from the site before we pitched. In general we did not feel that £27 for 2 nights was great value for money for 2 adults one infant and one child.
 
This site is best suited to caravans. I will not be revisiting and I would recommend only to adults with  a keen interest in fishing and a passing interest in personal hygiene. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vickybee 2 reviews from this member

 Me & my family did not enjoy our holiday here, the land was boggy & it smelt dreadful. There was one set of toilet for each sex & it was a mile down the road to get to a shop. Even though there was a shop on site it was not a very good one.

Newark castle just down the road is a brilliant attraction & I have spent many a time playing in the grounds.

The staff were friendly, but there was nothing to do for children. 


Date of Visit: November 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jane P 4 reviews from this member

 My daughter and I stayed at Smeatons Lake site in November with our 2 German Shepherd Dogs. We were showing them at the Newark and Notts Showground. The lady who welcomed us was very helpful, she showed us where to park and where all the facilities were.
 
The facilities on this site are excellent, clean, tidy and easy to access. The site itself was spotless as was the shower block. There is also a wee shop on site. Good dog walk and excellent fishing facilities for all you fishermen and women.
 
The following morning the lady from the night before was more than happy to direct us to the Showground.
 
This is an excellent site to stay at, we will be visiting again with some of our friends. The site is in easy walking distance into Newark and there are also buses into town.
 
Thank you for making us so Welcome. 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sarahjane&jason 29 reviews from this member

 Clean site excellent rally field and excellent if your into fishing. Electric gate which requires a £5 refundable deposite lovely walks around the 4 or so lakes that they have. Toilets where clean and there are a few blocks situated around the main site, never used the shower so couldnt comment. Within 1 -2 miles of historic market town of newark-on-trent. Loads of esturants and shopping around with loads of supermarkets within easy reach of this site. Am sure we will be back to vist in 2007. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kayscough 3 reviews from this member

 We loved this site and have just booked to go back again. Yes we the toilet are a walk from the tent field (we have a porter loo so not too bothered) but they were nice and clean and showers are free.
Hubby had a peg on the carp lake and loved it even thought he didn't catch any thing. (All the pegs where full booked over the weekend, you can book the in advance.)
loads of room for the kids to run around and play and when we booked in the lady told us we could put our tent any where in the field. It was bank holiday weekend put still loads of room (weather not good though).
You can have take away delivered to the site from a local chines and pizza place, great for a real lazy weekend!
For five pound depsoit you can get a card for the gate which made it much easer getting in and out (no waitting for someone to answer the buzzer)
From outside the gate you can get a bus in to Newark, but it is walkable (lady in shop said it would be a bit far with young kids so we didn't). In Newark thier is a big supermarket as well as a market and lots of little shops a lovely place to walk round.
The staff where very helpful and gave us lefelets on the local area and whats going on when we booked in even though we arrived late and they where just shutting up the shop. 


Date of Visit: June 2005 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rich29 1 review from this member

 Excellent place to stay. Great fishing lakes and big fish to be had> Small shop but there is everything you need. We visit often, may have seen me, blue and white volkswagon camper.
Staff are spot on and there to help. I would tell anyone its a place for young and old alike. It's a must for the angler with a v dub. Newark is a great place and lots to do if you dont like to fish. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Smeatons Lakes Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Smeatons Lakes Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Smeatons Lakes Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newark      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement