Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Smeatons Lakes Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Newark > Smeatons Lakes Touring Park Reviews

Smeatons Lakes Touring Park
Great North Road
Newark
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG23 6ED
Tel: 01636 605088
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 43 Reviews
                6/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spiritburner 20 reviews from this member

 Been to many rallies here but this was first visit as a camper. We didn't need hookup so we're able to park on the grass of the big rally field.

For covid19 this has been marked up with numbered pitches to ensure distancing. Midweek & only a couple of other units on this field. The smaller main area with hookup looked to be nearly full. I'm aware the main toilet block & showers were revamped prior to last year's visit.

This year the basic toilet trailer by the rally field has been replaced by a modern portakabin type unit & is a lot better. Nice walk around the fishing ponds & along the Trent. Traffic noise can be heard but we quickly seemed to zone it out.

Maybe not a destination site unless you're an angler but a very pleasant stopover for visiting local sites, antique fairs etc 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 15 reviews from this member

 Pitch was on hardstanding with water, leccy you pay for what you use, nice walks for the dog pretty view of the lake, we stopped lakeside on reed lake as hubby likes to fish, but the fishing swim was so far down a steep bank it was actually dangerous! I slipped and fell on my backside and I suffer with back trouble anyway so that didn't do me any favours, hubby fell over 3 times due to bricks and lumps of concrete under the grass, so be warned!

The lakes flood from time to time due to the river hence why there isnt many fish in the lakes they escape to the river hubby caught nothing in 4 days not even a knock, waste of time wont go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LolaC 1 review from this member

 Campsite appears pleasant on arrival but is badly let down by the lack of management in ensuring that site rules are adhered to. We stayed 2 nights, the first wasn't too bad but on the second night we were kept awake until almost 3 am by a large group of people on the site playing loud music, drinking and shouting. The site policy is meant to be 'no noise after 11. 30pm'.

Other points are that some of the camping pitches are too close to a main road so there's a lot of traffic noise and also there was a lot of dog mess on the grass around the fishing lakes in spite of bins being available.

Facilities also very basic with little hot water. Doubt we'll be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cahir 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent site with numerous fishing lakes, well spaced and providing walking opportunities. Really helpful staff. Clean and heated toilets and showers. Good lighting at night. Good value for money.

The only down side I think was that some of the fishing pegs were difficult to access, particularly those on the Severn where three of the seven were downright dangerous.

The bus stop to Newark was right outside and Newark itself is an attractive place to visit.

Stayed four nights but would be very happy to stay much longer. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carol and andy 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site but toilet and shower blocks very tired, much needed updating. Went for a break and do bit of fishing but very disappointed as ponds and banks overgrown, could do with having fishing platforms.

Not really the best site we have been to for fishing. No shops nearby but minor essentials could be purchased at reception. It was a bit noisy at nights with the sugar factory being close by.

Don't think we would go back again just not for us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

 Another few days spent at Smeatons in August. We really do like it here despite the sense that it is a little tired round the edges it is in a lovely spot and it is just a wonderfully laid back environment. Some friends stayed in a tent for a couple of nights whilst we were there. The pitch they had was enormous and next to ours so all in all we had a pitch the size of a field!

We didn't use the facilities so cannot comment.

Newark is a wonderful little town and the pubs are brilliant.

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Retfordlcouple 2 reviews from this member

 This place could be nice but. The lakes weren't managed properly & are overgrown with rickety fishing pegs not fit for purpose. Don't bother fishing here as the only fish are at the local chippy wrapped in paper.

Then there's the pungent smell wafting around the site, the showers that go off every 15 seconds so you have to keep pressing the button etc etc. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amber6 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed a few nights here and what a lovely site. If you appreciate wildlife and nice scenery, this is a great site. Formations of geese fly over morning and night. We watched herons, rabbits and woodpeckers to name a few. On arrival, the warden was very helpful. Our pitch was scenic and a good size.

A quiet site. The facilities were not the most most modern, but our shower and toilet block although small (3 showers, 3 toilets) were always clean. You have to use a code to get in the toilet block, which was a bit of a pain.

Good for cycling and close to Newark, we would definitely come again. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at Smeatons a couple of times recently - four nights in September 2015 and 3 nights in march this year.

In September I stayed with 3 mates whilst we attended the Newark Blues Festival; recently with my partner for a weekend meeting some friends in Newark.

The site itself is pretty basic with facilities that are ok; that said I have really enjoyed it both times I have stayed and we will certainly be going back. The warden and owner are really friendly and helpful and give you plenty of info on arrival. Pitches are a really good size and the site is pretty open giving a further sense of space.

It is a bit jaded and seen better days and the British Sugar factory next door can be a bit noisy but there is something endearing about Smeatons.

As for Newark, the Just Beer Micropub is sensational, there are a good few other very good pubs, plenty of restaurants and there is plenty to do with the castle and a really nice antique shop.

We will definitely return, probably later in the year. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Edmund40 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here but was disappointed, toilets and showers near the lake had a strong smell of damp, Pitched near the lake traffic was very loud residents leaving for work very early. Nice walks around the lakes. On bus route to Newark, shop is small but you can get daily papers, you have to pay on an electric meter as this isn't included in pitch fee. Could possibly do with some improvements to toilet blocks 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Smeatons Lakes Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Smeatons Lakes Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Smeatons Lakes Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newark      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2604 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December