Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Smeatons Lakes Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Nottinghamshire > Newark > Smeatons Lakes Touring Park > Reviews

Smeatons Lakes Touring Park
Great North Road
Newark
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG23 6ED
Tel: 01636 605088
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carole 1 review from this member

 Absolutely stunning site. Really well laid out with plentiful facilities.

The 80 or so acres it's set in are really well kept and it is a beautiful place to be and watch the wildlife.

We didn't fish but there are several lakes if that's your thing.

The staff were all super friendly and helpful with local knowledge etc.

Absolutely loved it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marsh7600 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, my brother also booked a touring pitch who they happily moved so we could be closer together,

Grass pitch 59 lots of room, water supply on pitch,

Site very accommodating more than happy to let family visit for the day including 2 extra dogs.

Would definitely recommend roughly 30 min walk into Newark town. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 639 reviews from this member

 Lots to like about this site.

We were pitched by the lake with a beautiful view. Hard standing on tarmac, electric and water pipe on pitch.

Facilities block bleak from the outside but inside they are almost brand new. Always very clean and plenty of hot water, definitely a case of not judging the book by the cover.

Miles of walks, we loved the walk up the River Trent, there were also marked dog walks and plenty of walks around the multitude of lakes.

Road noise not a problem, touring pitches are nowhere near the road. It's a fairly long lane into the site. Barrier control and what appears to be height barrier used overnight for increased security.

About 10 minutes drive into Newark. No matter which way you go in traffic always seems heavy and slow and the roundabouts are a bit chaotic.

Lastly wardens, couldn't have been more helpful.

We paid £22 per night plus £1. 50 a night electric. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nicki61 6 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous gem of a site, really spacious pitches and great value for money at £22 per night plus metered electric charge (£1. 50 for our two nights great not being ripped off 👍)

The toilet and shower blocks were spotless with the use of hairdryer and shaving points also very useful,

The site is 88 acres of fishing lakes and grounds in all with plenty of dog walking areas and plenty of dog bins too.

The only downside is if you don’t like road noise. Unfortunately the main road next to the site is very busy so you do get some noise from the road,

But overall a fabulous site will definitely be returning soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martyn 1 review from this member

 Loved this site ! It is vast and I suppose I understand some of the previous negative comments about road noise but where we were pitched it was not a problem, you can always ask to be moved if it is a problem to you.

The toilets and showers were very good, we had a pleasant evening walk around the site and the next day took a leisurely stroll (1mile) into town. There are buses if you prefer !

We were very lucky to be ‘lakeside’ and when we asked to stay another night, the receptionist could not have been more helpful swapping things around so that we did not have to move to another part of site.

The electricity is metered and although I was dubious as I had not paid in this way before, it cost us 53 pence for the two days, bargain !

There is a shop at reception selling the basics and the facilities were all very good.

We will definitely be returning ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spiritburner 21 reviews from this member

 Been to many rallies here but this was first visit as a camper. We didn't need hookup so we're able to park on the grass of the big rally field.

For covid19 this has been marked up with numbered pitches to ensure distancing. Midweek & only a couple of other units on this field. The smaller main area with hookup looked to be nearly full. I'm aware the main toilet block & showers were revamped prior to last year's visit.

This year the basic toilet trailer by the rally field has been replaced by a modern portakabin type unit & is a lot better. Nice walk around the fishing ponds & along the Trent. Traffic noise can be heard but we quickly seemed to zone it out.

Maybe not a destination site unless you're an angler but a very pleasant stopover for visiting local sites, antique fairs etc 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 17 reviews from this member

 Pitch was on hardstanding with water, leccy you pay for what you use, nice walks for the dog pretty view of the lake, we stopped lakeside on reed lake as hubby likes to fish, but the fishing swim was so far down a steep bank it was actually dangerous! I slipped and fell on my backside and I suffer with back trouble anyway so that didn't do me any favours, hubby fell over 3 times due to bricks and lumps of concrete under the grass, so be warned!

The lakes flood from time to time due to the river hence why there isnt many fish in the lakes they escape to the river hubby caught nothing in 4 days not even a knock, waste of time wont go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LolaC 1 review from this member

 Campsite appears pleasant on arrival but is badly let down by the lack of management in ensuring that site rules are adhered to. We stayed 2 nights, the first wasn't too bad but on the second night we were kept awake until almost 3 am by a large group of people on the site playing loud music, drinking and shouting. The site policy is meant to be 'no noise after 11. 30pm'.

Other points are that some of the camping pitches are too close to a main road so there's a lot of traffic noise and also there was a lot of dog mess on the grass around the fishing lakes in spite of bins being available.

Facilities also very basic with little hot water. Doubt we'll be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cahir 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent site with numerous fishing lakes, well spaced and providing walking opportunities. Really helpful staff. Clean and heated toilets and showers. Good lighting at night. Good value for money.

The only down side I think was that some of the fishing pegs were difficult to access, particularly those on the Severn where three of the seven were downright dangerous.

The bus stop to Newark was right outside and Newark itself is an attractive place to visit.

Stayed four nights but would be very happy to stay much longer. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carol and andy 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site but toilet and shower blocks very tired, much needed updating. Went for a break and do bit of fishing but very disappointed as ponds and banks overgrown, could do with having fishing platforms.

Not really the best site we have been to for fishing. No shops nearby but minor essentials could be purchased at reception. It was a bit noisy at nights with the sugar factory being close by.

Don't think we would go back again just not for us. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Smeatons Lakes Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Smeatons Lakes Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Smeatons Lakes Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newark      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement