Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Gwerniago Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth > Gwerniago Campsite Reviews

Gwerniago Campsite
Pennal
Machynlleth
Powys   (Browse area)
SY20 9JX
Tel: 01654 791227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
                9/10 from 43 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allthingsfine 1 review from this member

What a great campsite - lovely location, love the new shower block and really good to be able to have a fire.

Only small issue was the use of a generator by a caravan not on mains - detracted from otherwise peaceful evening (which we like when in a tent).

Despite being a bank holiday the site wasn't busy - lots of space. Hope to return

BTW if you want to visit the pub in Pannel for food, book well in advance.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Floyd23 3 reviews from this member

Went to Gweniargo over Easter and we love it. Second time we've stayed there. A lovely site on a working farm and very peaceful. The views are stunning!

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Main change over our first visit is that the new toilet and shower block is finished. The new block is great with hot and powerful showers and 3 washing up sinks. Also there is a fridge and freezer available for milk and freezing ice packs. All these new facilities are free.

Camp fires are permitted which is a great way to finish the day, sacks of logs are 3 each. You can also buy eggs from their own free range chickens, delicious!

Site is close to Aberdovey beach, Ynys Hir nature reserve and CAT. Also a great locality for walking.

We had a wonderfully relaxing stay. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lozsheffy 12 reviews from this member

Me and my husband stayed here for a weekend at the end of March. We found it very relaxing and a lovely place to stay.

The toilet and shower block was brand new excellent, just a stones through from where we camped.

The owners were very helpful and friendly and always around if you needed anything.

There is a lovely walk to the village which was nice with a nice pub, and post office/shop which had everything you need.

Will be going back to this lovely site. There was nothing on the site for children other than walks. Thanks

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: How2 5 reviews from this member

A basic campsite with fantastic views. The campsite as per it's description is on a working farm.

I enjoyed seeing birds of prey (possibly kites), house martins, the children saw mice. They enjoyed muddy play, and rope swings just like we did when we were young! There were geese and hens around the farm and the owners would give pony rides on request 3/5.

We booked for the long bank holiday weekend, which was wet (no surprise!). I chose the site based on previous reviews and it's proximity to CAT, Arthurs Labyrinth and the coast.

We asked for a pitch with electric, we didn't know until we arrived whether we'd have electric or not. I think it is a turn up and see rather than book if you require electric. There were around 6 tourers who appeared to be long pitches and I would guess there were 6 more pitches with electric.

We arrived late, (sat nav underestimated our journey!) but there was no problem we just called to say we were running late.

As earlier reviews there was only 1 shower and over the weekend I only saw it in use by 3 other people other than myself. It really needs a more modern block, with more showers. The site was busy so I wonder whether other campers just held off showering. Showers cost 50p for 5mins. A quick shower was possible although neither of my children showered, they would have needed longer and a bit more space. They showered at the local swimming pool. I don't agree with charging extra for hot water, but that's just my opinion. A new block is in the process of being built although I note from an earlier reveiw this was due over the winter for this season. It does look like work has stopped on the building.

Washing up facilities were one sink, with cold water. We boiled our kettle to wash up. Again for the number of campers it wasn't really adequate and with only cold water.

The owners are friendly, and they walk around the site of an evening which was reassuring.

Camp fires are allowed and although you need to use a previously used fire site there are plenty.

Despite a wet weekend we enjoyed our weekend although I don't think I'd return. I'm not a fairweather camper but I do like to be able to enjoy a long shower and wash with hot water.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smiths78 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for two nights what a great little site. Owners very friendly, bit of a walk to showers (one) and toilets but they were very clean, but that's what camping is all about, new showers and toilets being built on the camping field.

We had a fire both nights (great fun )wood only 3 from the owners.

Only a short walk to the pub and shop and if you want to drive your not far from Machynlleth which has a street market saturdays and wednesdays or Aberdyfi and the sand dunes.

Great site to sit back and chill if you want to party best go to another site.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ray and kas 1 review from this member

We had read the reviews of this camp site and booked 4 nights over a long weekend, to take grandson(4), (with daughter & son-in-law) for his first camping trip.

After booking in and pitching both tents in an excellent spot, suggested by owner for our requirement, we had a look around the site. All the reviews were correct in the fact that this was a very well maintained site with everything you need available either for free or a small fee payable in to honesty box if no one in reception area.

The camp site is well situated with its own walks, lakes and wooded area to explore, grandson enjoyed looking around, playing games without disturbing other visitors, excellent size pitches allowed this and keeping us exhausted with his new found outdoor energy.

Over the first few days we were able to explore nearby towns, the Red kite feeding station, Elan valley and excellent meal in the 'The Castle', Rhayder.

Due to the weather taking a turn for the worst we reluctantly decided to leave a day early, and even while packing up tents and kit in constant rain, we were offered help from other visitors, which showed the friendliness that this site gave us.

We had a fantastic few days and we will ensure that a return visit is arrange very shortly, this is a site that once you have been there, you will want to come back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisacmckenzie 2 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic campsite and thanks to the owners we really enjoyed our stay.

This was our first ever camping trip and we chose this site because it is very close to CAT and Aberdovey beach.

We stayed in the bottom field which I thought had the best views compared to rest of the site over the mountains and the small town Pennal (1 mile away and it has a PUB!).

Camp fires were allowed to but you had to use a spot that had been used before to avoid damaging the grass which was fine, logs were sold by the owners 3 a bag.

The only downside was that there was only 1 shower that cost 50p for 5 mins and that you could only use a hair dryer in the barn where the fridges and recycling bins were kept but the owners informed us that they will be building a brand new toilet block in the lower camping field over this winter.

Also the lower field had a drinking water tap and sink for washing dishes but you will need to boil your own water and take it to the sink as there is only a cold water tap.

Other than those 2 issues that were completely minor and will be addressed when building the new toilet block I would say that this is a fab, quiet and beautiful campsite that is in a great location.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peteluwie 7 reviews from this member

As other reviewers have said this a lovely and peaceful site just happened to see the sign on the road to aberdovey and drove up to it,

Yes basic but has showers etc, about eight statics on site but separate from the camping fields, also a working farm but hardcore track leads around the back of farmhouse to the site

Only stopped one night on our way touring around could and should have stopped a bit longer. For a peaceful stay recommend a stop here will be back

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mike Logan 3 reviews from this member

What a first class site. Superb location. Lovely walks surrounding the site. Village of Pennal with pub, shop etc, 1.5 miles walk away down very pleasant country roads.

Owners were very friendly and helpful. The only problem I encountered was blocked toilets in the Gents on Sunday morning, after two parties of Saturday night campers with very young children. Quickly restored back to normal.

Not being selfish, I highly recommend this site for those wishing peace and tranquillity.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikew67 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a night at Gwerniago. Love the place.

Spotted it a few months back and hoped to return for a few nights, in the end only managed one night due to a combination of weather and a virtualy useless Argos cheapo tent.

Owners are very friendly and the views from the site are stunning, the Dyfi valley is very beautiful.

Walked into Pennal on the night and had a few quiet beers in the Riverside Hotel, another friendly place.

Walked back in the dark with torches, good fun. Returned to a dark and quiet campsite with a few campfires going, people sitting around talking quietly, perfect.

Site dark and silent by half ten.

Just gutted we couldn't really stay any longer as our tent was leaking like an old tea bag.

Facilities are basic but clean, there is a toilet at the farmhouse for night use and a toilet and shower block in the static caravan field, showers were 50p for five minutes 1 for 10.

I love this place and reckon it's a gem, hope to return soon with my trailer tent.

Great comedy moment when a cow wandered into the tent field. Fantastic entertainment watching some fast jets racing up the valley earlier in the day.

Superb!

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Machynlleth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2472 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019