Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Gwerniago Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth > Gwerniago Campsite Reviews

Gwerniago Campsite
Pennal
Machynlleth
Powys   (Browse area)
SY20 9JX
Tel: 01654 791227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

Beautiful rural campsite based on a working farm but with lots of space and an interesting landscape. Good facilities and free WiFi.

The owner was really helpful and gave us directions for local walks.

The site feels really remote and is free from traffic noise etc but it is only a pleasant 20min walk to the local village, we didn't see a shop in the village but there was a nice foody pub with a beer garden.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Lampet 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful campsite. Stayed for 3 nights. Level pitches. Well maintained grounds. Central shower/ toilet/ washing up facilities, always clean.

Would recommend and will be returning soon. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Peter+Viv 2 reviews from this member

Stayed a week with our folding camper just before the start of the school holidays so the camp site wasn't too busy. It is a lovely site. The views are wonderful and it has a lovely natural feel. Although we had heavy rain on a couple of days the site drained well and toilet block was always kept clean.

Mair, the farmers wife was always pleasant, helpful and friendly. Each pitch had a picnic table which was great. You can borrow a fire pit and buy a bag of logs for a fiver from the farm which will do a couple of nights. There is plenty to see in the area. We saw the Osprey chicks at two locations, plus the feeding of 100 Red Kites.

The rail trip to Barmouth is a lovely day out and worth walking across the estuary bridge to the previous station.

We had a great week and would love to return. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scoot67 1 review from this member

Had a lovely week at this site, it was our second visit and although it was a lot busier this time the showers/toilets were still cleaned regularly

There are 3 sinks for washing up A room with 2 freezers and a fridge and a few sockets to charge phones etc

Views of Dyfi valley are fantastic and owners very friendly

Prices are reasonable and my daughter appreciated the free wi fi although I didn't (teenagers and their phones !)

Hook up is 16 amp so had no problems with it tripping if you put kettle on while fan heater going (unlike other sites I've visited)

Would highly recommend and will be returning again, hopefully this year

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikede 20 reviews from this member

An excellent little site with first class facilities and wonderful views across the valley towards the coast if you are lucky enough to get one of the terraced pitches.

The owners/staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The EHU bollards are not lit up at night so there is very little light pollution so the night skies are stunning.

To be recommended !

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FlatBattery 5 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite in the Dovey Valley, with fabulous views down the valley. The campsite is family friendly, and there were children playing everywhere. The proprietor was very friendly, and once she'd shown us to our pitch we were left alone to do what we wanted.

The toilets were clean and usable, the shower rooms were fabulous apart from the push taps which made it difficult to have a shower and wash hair. These are common on a lot of camp sites - I just wish the timer on the tap was longer!

Access to the site is narrow but easily passable road.

Aberdovey just down the valley has a nice beach that we could take dogs on and have an ice cream and cup of coffee. Easy access to all sorts of attractions in mid-wales. I really enjoyed it, and will probably visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mhux43 2 reviews from this member

Just spent the last weekend at this excellent camp site. All toilets showers are spotless a credit to the owners who work extremely hard in keeping all the facilities and amenities clean and tidy. We stayed in a tent with electric hook up. Excellent views of the valley below. You can walk to the local village which has a pub, shop & post office. The camp site allows camp fires. The children can have a pony ride in the evening for a small fee. We will return to this wonderful site

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Darrengood 4 reviews from this member

Excellent campsite, excellent facilities, lovely views & surroundings!

Was gutted when we found out it was fully booked when we wanted to go but after the owner emailed to let us know a pitch had become available we jumped at the chance! 4 times back on the site & we really love it! Camp fires at night & hooting owls & waking up to lovely dawn chorus. Really peaceful family friendly campsite!

Dyfi osprey project is 10 minute drive & is a must visit during May - July/August time, great set up & lovely location!

Aberdovey is 10minute drive in the other direction & great seaside day out! Yummy icecreams, fish & chips, nice sandy beach & good crabbing fun!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 76 reviews from this member

We've just spent the one night here on our way back from a week's trip to Snowdonia and I'm only sorry that we didn't have time for another night.

Approaching the farmhouse, one has no idea of what a treat is in store once guided to the various pitches. As mentioned below, the lady owner is very charming, friendly and relaxed, making for a pleasant calming set up.

We chose a position which gave great views forward to the hills and sideways down the estuary - stunning!

The newish facility block was fine if not altogether gleaming but no complaints really; in fact it's a bonus to have such facilities on a site like this.

We managed a ride up Happy Valley and round to Aberdovey and had a great late afternoon meal in the Medina Coffee bar. Very friendly folk there too.

The night skies were amazing and waking up to more sunshine was a real treat and just had enough time to enjoy a final cuppa on one of the picnic benches chilling out before the drive home.

Wonderful and now we realise why some folk can't stand all the regimentation at the main club sites!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PamelaMJ 6 reviews from this member

Small farm site. We did not use the facilities but they looked very nice from a distance. The thing that blew us away about this site were the stunning views. We had only booked for 1 night as we were touring but would love to go back for a longer stay. Lady we spoke to way charming and showed us to an amazing pitch. Lots of picnic tables set up to be able to watch the sun go down, lovely.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Machynlleth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4395 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019