Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Hoddesdon > Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir Reviews

Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir
Charlton Meadows
Essex Road
Dobbs Weir
Hoddesdon
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
EN11 0AS
Tel: 03000 030 619
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A McCann 1 review from this member

 Great site, There was Eight of us, we had a great time, nice friendly people in reception, plenty of loo's and showers very clean. The site was well kept nice flowers at reception.

Great for cycling along the canal we cycled for miles .

The Pub Fish and Ells is in a lovely location right by the canal. Good food.

Breakfast in the Cafe over the road wonderful. My husband and my Brothers loved it. They had the full Monty.

We definitely will be back very soon 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Goboy36 6 reviews from this member

 Very nice site with very friendly helpful staff. The toilets/showers are plentiful and clean with coded entry doors. The washing-up facilities are inside and warm with 2 sinks that are kept clean. Site shop that sells a few bits like milk, bread, tin food, bacon and eggs and stuff, and have a few freezer meals…. Handy if you run out of anything. A cafe just across the way selling a good breakfast. You can take the dogs along and well behaved dogs don't need to be kept on their leads and fishing on-site in a lovely large lake, as well as fishing on the canal that’s near. The campers were friendly and chatted as was the staff. A lovely pub that serves meals across the road (fish & ells) and a few other nice pubs along the canal that is worth visiting. And if you are a keen cyclist, there’s good rides along the canal that goes for miles. Grass only is available which is flat with no hard standing pitches. A good size field but only a small park for the kids to play. Plenty of electric hook-up and water available. Short notice booking has never been a problem. Very disappointed that this site is closing due to make way for the Olympic Games that we don’t want anyway. We are losing a good site park and people are losing their jobs because of the Olympics L. Will be visiting this park again as long as it is open. Closes in September 2007. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cazabela 2 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site a few times now and we have always enjoyed it. The showers and toilets are very clean. This site is great for families with children as it has a lovely little play area for them. The shop sells all the basic and morning newspapers and sweets for the kids! The pub Fish and Eels is great and so nice in the summer to sit out next to the river with great local beer and food! We will always come back to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2006  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I visit this site regularly and this time I was in a tent rather than the caravan, therefore I went without electric hookup and was pitched in the middle of the non-electric area.
 
It was great, there was a great party atmosphere all day long, but not too loud to be in your face.  This went on until the evening, but around 10pm all quitened down expect for a small bit of parting, but hey why not, we are camping after all.
 
The toilets / showers and shop were all up to the sites normal great standard, still with key code entry to the facilities and a barrier to get on the camping section.
 
Fishing on site, or across the road on the canal and Wier.
 
the Fish and Ells, still serving great food and drinks with a very friendly atmosphere.
 
Cycling is great along the canal paths and into some lovely nature reserves or furtherinto London for the more energetic.
 
Not much more to add, other than I will keep coming back here, local, good value and perfect for cycling. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crazycol 3 reviews from this member

 Booked day before and no problems in finding the place. As a speedway following family this site is handy for the rye house rockets speedway track which was less than a ten minute drive away. Site staff were friendly and helpful, and the pub was handy after long drive that day. Everything was on site that we needed but the super market was pay and display, I will be back to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharonlesley 1 review from this member

 We stopped on this lovely little site in the middle of the school holidays and we were really pleased to see how clean and tidy everything was.  We are quite new to caravaning, due to the terrible state of affairs these days with air travel we thought we would try something new, hence the caravaning.
When we arrived, the reception staff were very helpful and offered us helpful advice regarding setting up of our "outfit".
We found the site shop very well stocked and was very pleasantly surprised to see how cheap it was.  The children went in daily for the morning paper and as a treat they were given money to spend on a few sweets.
The site toilet block was always spotless and there was plenty of hot water which is a real bonus with two small children.
The children's play area was a god send when I was trying to cook tea, as the play area was enclosed and had bark chipping underfoot I knew the children would be safe, in the words of my children it was "well good".
The site was well placed for sight seeing, we went into London on two separate days, for the four of us it only cost £22 for unlimited  train / tube travel which we felt was a real bargain.
I think this was one of our best family holidays ever and would most definitely recommend this site to anybody, great site, very clean and very friendly and helpful staff . 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandra kellman 2 reviews from this member

 My first time to go camping with my family.  I had a wonderful time. We stayed at dobbs weir and really enjoyed our time there. It was really peaceful and relaxing, the people were really friendly and the staff at the reception were so friendly  and helpful.  my husband and daughter went fishing which is just a few yards away from the caravan and tent site, the fishing is brilliant there. The toilets and shower rooms were clean. I would highly recommend this campsite to anyone who were looking for a campsite as for myself I will be returning to this campsite very soon for another stay.  


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Esprit 2 reviews from this member

 We use this site regularly and find it great for a weekend stay with our two boys. There is plenty of space for them to play ball games and frisbee etc.the pitches are of a good size and it never seems to be overly busy. Cafe and pub opposite the site both offer good value meals and you can walk them off afterwards on one of the many walks in the area,usually very scenic riverside walks.good clean site in a very nice area for walking, fishing and more importantly relaxing. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaffadub 2 reviews from this member

 We camped at Lee Valley Hoddesdon Weir site on the May Bank Holiday weekend 2006.
 
The campsite has 3/4 non-electric tent pitches on the river edge, but there are no designated pitch areas, so we had to camp in the middle of the field, therefore the river view was obscured.
 
There had been a lot of rain, so quite boggy underfoot.
 
The campsite facilities are basic but very good, heated shower block, cleanish toilet block, laundry and dish-washing facilities. The reception come shop has all the essentials. The staff are really lovely, and very helpful with advice and tips on how to make the most of your stay.
 
The surrounding area is very pleasant, the pub is just across the weir and serves great food and drinks all day, Sainsbury's is nearby. There are some lovely walks along the canals, you can hire bikes and boats etc. The Lee valley area is vast so you won't get bored.
 
Three disadvantages; there is a refrigerated lorry depot behind the site so you can hear the engines running non-stop, and the site was really noisy - people (music and shouting) celebrating until the early hours, lastly no designated pitches so the kids football always being kicked near / on the cars and tent. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gonkman61 1 review from this member

 My Girlfriend and I experienced our first camping experience here. I arrived on the Saturday and booked very easily. As a novice I struggled to get the tent peg's in due to hard ground, but put that down to not knowing better, or having cheap pegs. That evening we went to the Fish and Eel pub and had a terrible experience. Waited over 1 hour 30 minutes for a meal that awful, was informed this was due to staff sickness, but didn't impress. We were leaving early the next morning to attend the London Marathon, and it was raining, however the toilets were spotless, the showers were hot, in fact to hot. When we left there was someone in the reception that waved us goodbye, it made us want to camp here again. From a personal point of view despite bad service in a pub, the rain. My girlfriend and I are spending my impending birthday money on a tent. We've caught the bug and hope to add more reviews in the future.

 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hoddesdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1981 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement