Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Hoddesdon > Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir Reviews

Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir
Essex Road
Dobbs Weir
Hoddesdon
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
EN11 0AS
Tel: 03000 030 619
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Danlebath 7 reviews from this member

Couldn't fault the site. Friendly Owners and Staff, hot, spotless clean showers and toilets, clean Elsan. Quiet location (even with it's proximity to an Industrial area) Some plane noise from nearby Stansted but not intrusive. Free WiFi. Small shop (we went in off season so imagine it's better stocked in peak) They are dog friendly (naturally on a lead on site) however nearby walks. Wide, mostly hard standing pitches with nearby water and hook up. Would certainly recommend and visit again. The nearby town is only a short drive away with the A10 and links to the M25 again a short drive away. We were down for visits to other areas so didn't stay on site much but nothing to do with the facilities. Mobile Signal is excellent and Wifi is free and good if basic. One small tip. Please note when filling water barrels that one tap is drinking and the other is not. There are signs denoting this but small.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: CampingSwede 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here in the safari tents. We were not able to get to the site by check in time so we phoned to check whether that was a problem - the reception assured us this would be ok - when we got there the gate was down and we could not get an answer on the office / emergency number (which was switched off). We eventually found the tent ourselves but it had not been 'made up' for the correct number of people. We got little by way of apology the next day - save for some inappropriate language in front of our children. The hob was difficult to use, the camping chair was broken and we also found some dirty laundry from previous residents in the tent. Also there was a substantial party taking place on the site. I heard someone else complaining about it and all the response was, 'Well, it'll be quieter tonight as they are leaving'. All this left a rather poor impression.

The site itself is fairly big. It's level. The facilities are OK - playground, warm showers, a couple of water taps, refuse, bike hire, etc. The shop is not great. There is a train line nearby - I am a light sleeper and I was not particularly disturbed by this. The area around the site is pretty good. We went to the park farms, which has a good slide, jumping, climbing area (8 and 11 year old) and walked along the river Lea; there is walking, fishing, biking. The safari tent itself was OK - as a real camper it felt like cheating and not great value for money. Perfect if you are new to camping or short of time though. These are quite big but not luxurious. It was really cold at night (like a normal tent) and as we had beautiful dry sunshine during the day the site was probably the best it could be.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Carl47 1 review from this member

I stayed here with my three children over Easter. Great location with lots to do as a family. We specifically enjoyed the cycle routes and walks making use of the cafe half way round! The local pub is worth a visit serving great food.

We visited Lea Valley Farm which we all thoroughly enjoyed. Lots to do for the children.

The site is maintained to a high standard with the showers and toilets being immaculate

Staff were so friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Watsit35 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night. No complaints at all. Staff were friendly and helpful. Site was immaculate. Didn't use showers but toilet block and elsan point were spotlessly clean. Lovely quiet site with lovely walks and very good pub over the road. Definitely would recommend this site and return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Polly7705 3 reviews from this member

Staff were very helpful. Good size pitch even in middle of busy season.

Toilets and showered were very clean.

Cafe and pub both within very close walking distance, both very dog friendly. Food in the pub 'The Fish and Eels' was excellent (so much so, that we ate there three evenings!).

Lots of lovely walks along the canals.

Don't be put off by the proximity to the industrial estate - you can't see it and we certainly weren't aware of it.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wordfan 2 reviews from this member

Have visited before a couple of years ago and loved site. It is in a generally nice location although you need to ignore that it is fronted on two sides by a trading estate, but it is also on the canal, near a really nice café and pub, and has excellent clean facilities and nice staff. It is part of a large organisation and as such is subject to some rather daft, I think, rules ie if you have visitors they cannot sleep in awning, so be careful. We ended up booking another pitch for our guests with a small tent we happened to have with us. Also we had a couple of kayaks with us and these cannot be put in the water on the site (those rules again) and we were told to put them in across road, which we did although the sign there also said we couldn't. So be aware kayak owners. All that said yes it is a nice friendly site in a good location. Near town with nice restaurant. If you like a cake visit nonnas kitchen, although be aware you will put on a pound or two just walking in door. We will go back although this is not a cheap site.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: My little sanctuary 2 reviews from this member

This site is very local for us so thought we would take our little caravan there, as a treat for the grandchildren.

We were pleasantly surprised how lovely the site was. Very clean & well maintained throughout.

An enclosed play area for the kiddies, which they loved.

Beautiful view of the river lea which runs through the site & you can even hire fishing gear on site.

There's a pub & a cafe very near by, which serves grey food. You can even walk it off after along side the river lea path.

The staff were helpful & friendly.

There's a little shop which stocks the essentials, even wine!

We all had a great time, we weren't rushed to leave so that took the stress out of packing up & will definitely be going back in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tscheps 2 reviews from this member

Place not recommendable

Reasons:

* it is loud because of train and factory noise

* it is very expensive 4 person family 41 pounds each day

* 2 pound extra fee for credit cards without telling before

* our tent must be placed very near to another tent, there was plenty of space during our visitation (6m goverment regulation was not an issue for the warden)

* In the brochure of Lee Valley Caravan Park you find the information free car parking near Broxbourne. This is wrong. The parking fee is 4. 10 each day on the long stay car park.

* in the evening, many goose are walking on the tent field, this is funny for children, but the gras is full of goose

shit.

* the showers are usable for small person. They are fixed and a small amount of water is coming out.

* the day we moved a woman with the lawn mover drove directly to us and blow the grass to our tarpaulin. 10 min later we drove away. I did not understand why she do that because we had never complaint before.

We believe there are so many beautiful tent places in the area, so it is not necessary to visit such a place again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littlestmonkey 1 review from this member

Stayed two nights in the pre-pitched tents, as a largish group. LOVED IT! Kids aged from 1-11years all had a blast from beginning to end, and adults too.

The actual site was just the right size, to keep us busy for the length of our stay, and a quick look around the surrounding areas would easily occupy our party for a week.

The tents were generously sized, bell-tents; well-equipped with electricity, and comfortable bedding, and attractively decorated. The accompanying sheds to each tent, were equally well-thought out and cared for. Kettle, hobs, washing up bowl, cutlery, and crockery. And fridge all provided, clean and in good working order.

The camp staff were friendly. I bumped into a poor chap, whose child had taken ill, and the staff seemed extremely sympathetic and helpful.

On site is a laundry, showers, dishwashing room, and WC's. All well-kept. Also, a shop for firewood, and milk etc. I would have offered full marks, for an hour earlier opening times for the shop (8. 30am). And all-night laundry. However, we were extremely pleased with the set-up.

The feel of the place was very friendly, and relaxed. Also, very respectful to other campers. And sound didn't travel badly, between tents. So, knowing that we had (potentially crying) babies in our party, wasn't an issue overnight.

The Fish and Eels pub around the corner did amazing fish and chips, and was in a beautiful surround.

BBQing, and fire pits were available, and recommended.

An excellent experience. We've already vowed to return next year!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gadsby 2 reviews from this member

Second visit to Dobbs for us. It's a great site and they are a very friendly and helpful lot. We recently camped there for 3 nights and although the weather was actually ridiculous and at times scary - we're all laughing about it now - of course the kids had a great time. They have a great play area and the forest bits are fun too. The facilities are pretty good and the shop is a real bonus. It's a great location for visiting London and Lee Valley - the pub (10 minutes walk 'Fish and Eels' is lovely and friendly staff, great food, the kids menu pizza is worth it). My only gripe is that the site is very close to an industrial park, and therefore there are quite loud noises, forklift trucks beeping and the like, very early hours of the morning. It's such a shame.

I would recommend pitching nearer to the play area at the top of the field. But overall totally recommended and I'll go again - thanks Dobbs Weir x

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3805 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019