Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Hoddesdon > Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir Reviews

Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir
Essex Road
Dobbs Weir
Hoddesdon
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
EN11 0AS
Tel: 03000 030 619
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richar 1 review from this member

 Excellent site with great facilities and location, perfect for both the water sports on the Lee and also access into both London and surrounding towns.

The customer service was great and very helpful.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hoedown 46 reviews from this member

 As an elderly couple venturing out for the first time in lockdown we were quite cautious about the social side of the campsite.

We liked the hard-standing pitches well separated from each other. Toilets/showers had alternate basins and toilets closed off and only 2 people were supposed to be in there at any one time, but this was not adhered to. We also found them to be very cold especially as the outer doors were constantly propped open.

Fri/Sat night we had a group of about 7 females sitting around outside in a non socially distanced party until at least midnight. They were sharing 3 pre-erected tents, This did not impress us.

There were plenty of walks alongside the canal, boots were essential due to the muddy terrain.

We had a pleasant lunch in the cafe across the weir but again did not feel very comfortable with the covid restrictions not being enforced.

It was nice to be able to get away at last for a change of scenery, but I don't think we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Elsiec 1 review from this member

 We like dobb weir very much. we came in September and wanted to come back in October but was not able too

It was such a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the site and as we were by the river, wonderful to see the men fishing and the locks and the park was good

I would be recommend to my family and friends as I like it

A nice clean site

The shop was helpful too.

We bring our grandchildren with us next

Thank for a wonderful week 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Freckles63 61 reviews from this member

 Great site, just back from couple of nights (frid/sat) with friends, they had pitch 23 ehu with tent and we had pitch 10 hard standing with caravan /ehu. £23 night with ehu

Easy to find off A10, only 45 minutes from home, we used our own showers but the showers by reception block had at least 10 in the ladies all looked very modern and clean with sanitisers outside all buildings. The toilet block in middle of field was clean and modern with sanitiser on outside wall again.

We took our bikes and had a cycle into Waltham Abbey along the canal towpath, stopping off at the white water centre for a coffee, and then back again along cycle route number one, nice circular route. This is a great site for cycling/running.

We visited the local pub on canal and only a short stroll across the road from site, The fish and eels, a vintage inn chain, only for drink, it was ok but staff not that friendly. Another nice looking pub on canal in other direction was The Crown, we didn't go in.

Must say thank you to Edna in reception, she was most helpful with the booking and phone calls and a small query whilst there. We booked online but phoned to sort pitches as with friends.

We will definitely be returning again, our friends enjoyed their stay just as much as us. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danlebath 10 reviews from this member

 Couldn't fault the site. Friendly Owners and Staff, hot, spotless clean showers and toilets, clean Elsan. Quiet location (even with it's proximity to an Industrial area) Some plane noise from nearby Stansted but not intrusive. Free WiFi. Small shop (we went in off season so imagine it's better stocked in peak) They are dog friendly (naturally on a lead on site) however nearby walks. Wide, mostly hard standing pitches with nearby water and hook up. Would certainly recommend and visit again. The nearby town is only a short drive away with the A10 and links to the M25 again a short drive away. We were down for visits to other areas so didn't stay on site much but nothing to do with the facilities. Mobile Signal is excellent and Wifi is free and good if basic. One small tip. Please note when filling water barrels that one tap is drinking and the other is not. There are signs denoting this but small. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: CampingSwede 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in the safari tents. We were not able to get to the site by check in time so we phoned to check whether that was a problem - the reception assured us this would be ok - when we got there the gate was down and we could not get an answer on the office / emergency number (which was switched off). We eventually found the tent ourselves but it had not been 'made up' for the correct number of people. We got little by way of apology the next day - save for some inappropriate language in front of our children. The hob was difficult to use, the camping chair was broken and we also found some dirty laundry from previous residents in the tent. Also there was a substantial party taking place on the site. I heard someone else complaining about it and all the response was, 'Well, it'll be quieter tonight as they are leaving'. All this left a rather poor impression.

The site itself is fairly big. It's level. The facilities are OK - playground, warm showers, a couple of water taps, refuse, bike hire, etc. The shop is not great. There is a train line nearby - I am a light sleeper and I was not particularly disturbed by this. The area around the site is pretty good. We went to the park farms, which has a good slide, jumping, climbing area (8 and 11 year old) and walked along the river Lea; there is walking, fishing, biking. The safari tent itself was OK - as a real camper it felt like cheating and not great value for money. Perfect if you are new to camping or short of time though. These are quite big but not luxurious. It was really cold at night (like a normal tent) and as we had beautiful dry sunshine during the day the site was probably the best it could be. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Carl47 1 review from this member

 I stayed here with my three children over Easter. Great location with lots to do as a family. We specifically enjoyed the cycle routes and walks making use of the cafe half way round! The local pub is worth a visit serving great food.

We visited Lea Valley Farm which we all thoroughly enjoyed. Lots to do for the children.

The site is maintained to a high standard with the showers and toilets being immaculate

Staff were so friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Watsit35 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night. No complaints at all. Staff were friendly and helpful. Site was immaculate. Didn't use showers but toilet block and elsan point were spotlessly clean. Lovely quiet site with lovely walks and very good pub over the road. Definitely would recommend this site and return. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Polly7705 5 reviews from this member

 Staff were very helpful. Good size pitch even in middle of busy season.

Toilets and showered were very clean.

Cafe and pub both within very close walking distance, both very dog friendly. Food in the pub 'The Fish and Eels' was excellent (so much so, that we ate there three evenings!).

Lots of lovely walks along the canals.

Don't be put off by the proximity to the industrial estate - you can't see it and we certainly weren't aware of it. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wordfan 2 reviews from this member

 Have visited before a couple of years ago and loved site. It is in a generally nice location although you need to ignore that it is fronted on two sides by a trading estate, but it is also on the canal, near a really nice café and pub, and has excellent clean facilities and nice staff. It is part of a large organisation and as such is subject to some rather daft, I think, rules ie if you have visitors they cannot sleep in awning, so be careful. We ended up booking another pitch for our guests with a small tent we happened to have with us. Also we had a couple of kayaks with us and these cannot be put in the water on the site (those rules again) and we were told to put them in across road, which we did although the sign there also said we couldn't. So be aware kayak owners. All that said yes it is a nice friendly site in a good location. Near town with nice restaurant. If you like a cake visit nonnas kitchen, although be aware you will put on a pound or two just walking in door. We will go back although this is not a cheap site. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hoddesdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement