Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Hoddesdon > Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir Reviews

Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir
Charlton Meadows
Essex Road
Dobbs Weir
Hoddesdon
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
EN11 0AS
Tel: 03000 030 619
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I enquiried using the form on here and got a swift reply saying they had availability and the cost which was 20 for two adults, the campervan on a hardstanding pitch with electric. I booked and received confirmation email with details.

The site is next to an industrial estate which you have to drive through to reach the site (depending on which side you come in from), and whilst it is visible, we were not disturbed by it, or hear any noise from it.

Upon arrival we met the warden in the shop owner who was lovely and explained where things were and a bit about the area. We know the area well anyway, but a good refresher.

The pitch was great, completely flat, hard stand and it looked out over the campsite.

Facilities are made up of a huge block with plenty of showers and toilets for both, a washing up room, laundry room, chemical disposal, family bathroom and access for people who need the disabled facilities. The blocks were clean, tidy, kept warm and well looked after. Showers are not the push button type, but you cannot change the angle of the shower head, but hot and good showers.

There is free on site, we did not use it as we have reception on both EE and Three.

There was a playground for children which looked quite good, plus loads of open space for them to play and use imagination.

Plenty of geese on the site so be aware there is also a lot of geese poo around. This is due to the location of the site next to the canal, so expected anyway.

Walking from the site is good, you have to do a short bit on the road before joining the canal paths and footpaths and these can take you for miles in all directions. You can walk down the canal to the Fish and Eels, (great pub with great food) and further on to the next one.

There is also a cafe opposite the Fish and Eels, and we had breakfast in there and it was reasonably priced, quick service and delish. Real sausages too, not the cheap ones!

There is a shop on site selling all sorts, and if you need bigger there is a superstore in Hoddesdon just 5 minutes away, plus lots of other shops and pubs too. Station is 10 minutes away to head in to London for the day if you wish.

Close to Lee Valley itself, the white water rafting centre, London, the canals, Ware, Hertford and more.

I would stay again, the site is great, a good price and with wonderful wardens and great facilities. 


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AMB72 1 review from this member

 We booked a hard standing pitch which we were surprised to see was very narrow.

The showers were clean and tidy as was the camping field.

But the most disappointing thing was the fact that they had no recycling bins, only one for glass. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Freckles63 67 reviews from this member

 A return visit in Sept for my birthday weekend with friends, about 20 of us in all, staying in caravans, motorhomes and their 2 statics.

Great site with plenty of walks along canal, couple of pubs within distance. We all ate at the local pub The Fish and Eels on the Saturday night, no complaints for such a large party, service and food great, unlike The Crown pub further up, which is of the same group, service and food were horrendous.

We used our own facilities but some in our group used the showers with no complaints, plenty of toilets in another building. The camp field has a separate toilet block also.

Would return again 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dauun Harris 3 reviews from this member

 Site was in an industrial area so getting in and out you encountered queueing traffic also entrance is on a blind corner.

Though you can't help the weather the place was flooded and waterlogged so couldn't put an awning up.

Though we had a hard standing the pitches were unkempt and untidy as weeds were growing through it.

As far as we could see there were plenty of people living on the site as they were going off in the morning in work uniform also school children in uniform. Coming back later in the evening in same uniforms.

Which to our mind is not a holiday site.

The charge for the dog was disgusting 2. 10per night, no dog bins or dog walk.

As for saying toilet blocks are modern, don't think so. Toilets and showers in separate buildings, so if you need the loo while having a shower you'd have to run outside to next entrance to toilets. NO hot water at hand wash sinks in toilets. No hair dryer.

It was the worst site in 15 yrs of caravanning that we have ever stayed on.

This was a last minute booking as site we had booked was unable to open due to covid, suffice to say we would Not recommend this site or ever stay there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Happytravelling 1 review from this member

 Positives: lovely walks and pubs near by.

Negatives: very noisy campsite with large groups playing music from their cars until midnight. Groups of kids/teens playing around the site until very late.

Lots of litter around site. Staff seemed very miserable and not very helpful. Basic facilities not cleaned very often.

Site next to a industrial estate. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richar 1 review from this member

 Excellent site with great facilities and location, perfect for both the water sports on the Lee and also access into both London and surrounding towns.

The customer service was great and very helpful.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hoedown 55 reviews from this member

 As an elderly couple venturing out for the first time in lockdown we were quite cautious about the social side of the campsite.

We liked the hard-standing pitches well separated from each other. Toilets/showers had alternate basins and toilets closed off and only 2 people were supposed to be in there at any one time, but this was not adhered to. We also found them to be very cold especially as the outer doors were constantly propped open.

Fri/Sat night we had a group of about 7 females sitting around outside in a non socially distanced party until at least midnight. They were sharing 3 pre-erected tents, This did not impress us.

There were plenty of walks alongside the canal, boots were essential due to the muddy terrain.

We had a pleasant lunch in the cafe across the weir but again did not feel very comfortable with the covid restrictions not being enforced.

It was nice to be able to get away at last for a change of scenery, but I don't think we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Elsiec 1 review from this member

 We like dobb weir very much. we came in September and wanted to come back in October but was not able too

It was such a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the site and as we were by the river, wonderful to see the men fishing and the locks and the park was good

I would be recommend to my family and friends as I like it

A nice clean site

The shop was helpful too.

We bring our grandchildren with us next

Thank for a wonderful week 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Freckles63 67 reviews from this member

 Great site, just back from couple of nights (frid/sat) with friends, they had pitch 23 ehu with tent and we had pitch 10 hard standing with caravan /ehu. 23 night with ehu

Easy to find off A10, only 45 minutes from home, we used our own showers but the showers by reception block had at least 10 in the ladies all looked very modern and clean with sanitisers outside all buildings. The toilet block in middle of field was clean and modern with sanitiser on outside wall again.

We took our bikes and had a cycle into Waltham Abbey along the canal towpath, stopping off at the white water centre for a coffee, and then back again along cycle route number one, nice circular route. This is a great site for cycling/running.

We visited the local pub on canal and only a short stroll across the road from site, The fish and eels, a vintage inn chain, only for drink, it was ok but staff not that friendly. Another nice looking pub on canal in other direction was The Crown, we didn't go in.

Must say thank you to Edna in reception, she was most helpful with the booking and phone calls and a small query whilst there. We booked online but phoned to sort pitches as with friends.

We will definitely be returning again, our friends enjoyed their stay just as much as us. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danlebath 11 reviews from this member

 Couldn't fault the site. Friendly Owners and Staff, hot, spotless clean showers and toilets, clean Elsan. Quiet location (even with it's proximity to an Industrial area) Some plane noise from nearby Stansted but not intrusive. Free WiFi. Small shop (we went in off season so imagine it's better stocked in peak) They are dog friendly (naturally on a lead on site) however nearby walks. Wide, mostly hard standing pitches with nearby water and hook up. Would certainly recommend and visit again. The nearby town is only a short drive away with the A10 and links to the M25 again a short drive away. We were down for visits to other areas so didn't stay on site much but nothing to do with the facilities. Mobile Signal is excellent and Wifi is free and good if basic. One small tip. Please note when filling water barrels that one tap is drinking and the other is not. There are signs denoting this but small. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hoddesdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4956 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement