Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Hertfordshire > Hoddesdon > Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir > Reviews

Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir
Charlton Meadows
Essex Road
Dobbs Weir
Hoddesdon
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
EN11 0AS
Tel: 03000 030 619
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 313 reviews from this member

 Another stay at this site and refer to my December 2021 review for more details.

This time we camped on Hardstanding without electric and I paid £15. 50 for 1 adults in a campervan.

As before all booking details, gate code, pitch number, etc were on the booking confirmation email so we had no need to go to reception.

Toilet and shower blocks are the same, and kept to a good standard. 2nd toilet block had 2 toilets and one urinal in the mens and 3 cubicles in the ladies If you wanted to shower you have to go to the main block.

Whilst the field is nice and flat, there was a lot of geese mess everywhere and this got dragged in to the campervan, but it soon dried and brushed out. It would not be nice on a groundsheet of an awning.

Campfires are still allowed and we had a nice firepit raging away to keep us warm.

No noise again from the industrial estate and this is great cheap site and one I will return to again and again. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Frank Sebem 3 reviews from this member

 My wife and I were driving up from London to Manchester and wanted a stop on the way. We Emailed this site telling them that we were aware that there were no spaces left for campervans on the site on our preferred date and informed them that we didn't need any facilities a van needs (EHU etc) and would happily accept any type of pitch.

At this point, a lot of sites simply say 'No campervan pitches' without taking into account that our van would happily sit on a tent plot.

We were very impressed that the team here went to the trouble to search the site for us and came back and told us "If you don't mind a plot on grass with no EHU we can accommodate you".

We are glad they accommodated us because we loved staying at the site which has many showers, toilets, waste facilities etc and is literally on a beautiful river bank.

Thanks to the team for accommodating us. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stokes 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite :

- Great location

- friendly helpful staff

- clean facilities

- relatively quiet site.

Jean was particularly helpful.

The only downside was that there was a lot of goose poo which we had to pick up from the site prior to setting up awning etc. Although I do realise this is difficult to control. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Christine S 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Dobbs Weir for two nights so that we could attend a family event in nearby Chigwell. The site was very conveniently located for us, though I would not normally choose a somewhere so near to an industrial area and railway. The riverside setting of the site itself was quite pretty.

The staff were friendly and helpful and very efficient, with booking and check-in done online.

We were allocated to the tent field, which was well-kept and flat, with a loo block adjacent. Despite the low rumble from the industrial estate in the background and being under the Stanstead flight path, it was relatively peaceful, especially on the Sunday morning when we heard a cuckoo in the distance. We actually enjoyed the sound of the trains. The only drawback was the flock of Canada Geese who were apparently resident and who left their poo everywhere, so we had to clear our pitch before putting the tent up.

The shower cubicles were a bit small but redeemed themselves by having benches. The water was hot, with adequate pressure. All the facilities were clean but the menís toilets by the tent field were both blocked on the Sunday. Some rubbish bins near the tent field would be appreciated.

We will return to Dobbs Weir if we need to visit London or our family in the future 


Date of Visit: March 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevinj 3 reviews from this member

 Weather had not been good and grass very muddy. As piches are so small we had to walk on grass to set up. Paid for awning but not enough room on pitch so half on muddy grass.

Site would be OK in summer.

The site is next to an industrial estate that causes traffic problems at rush hour.

Train station nearby gives great access to London Liverpool Street. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 313 reviews from this member

 Another stay at this site and refer to my December 2021 review for more details.

This time we camped on Hardstanding with electric and I paid £20. 50 for 2 adults in a campervan.

As before all booking details, gate code, pitch number, etc were on the booking confirmation email so we had no need to go to reception.

The hardstandings are around the edges of the site and are a good size even for the larger units that were dotted around. Toilet and shower blocks are the same, and kept to a good standard. 2nd toilet block had 2 toilets and one urinal in the mens and 3 cubicles in the ladies If you wanted to shower you have to go to the main block.

Nice flat field which was great for kids to play and there is also a large play area for the little ones to enjoy themselves.

Campfires are still allowed however it was a little too cold for a fire, so we enjoyed the warmth of the camper.

It is on the edge of the industrial estate, but we did not hear this at all and had a great nights sleep and wonderful drink at the Fish and Eels, which is a short walk away.

I will be back to ride the canal path soon. 


Date of Visit: January 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Elton3 26 reviews from this member

 Good all year round site, great location for a great pub.

Facilities are always very clean and in good condition.

Staff are always very helpful as well.

Not the prettiest of sites but all round a very good site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hipaul 1 review from this member

 Easy access from the A10 dual carriageway, although speed bumps on site need to be driven over very slowly.

It's an excellent site to walk or cycle from along the river Lee in the country park literally just across the road.

Lots of local attractions including RSPB Rye Meads where there are kingfisher and the Olympic white water centre at Cheshunt.

The site is clean and well kept mostly grass with many gravel hard standings but it does get busy at a weekend.

Staff are friendly and helpful with a shop stocking the basics.

Shoes are required near the entrance road as the local Canada geese make a mess! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 313 reviews from this member

 Another stay at this site and refer to my December 2021 review for more details.

This time we camped on the tent field on non electric and I paid £20. 50 for 2 adults in a campervan.

All booking details, gate code, pitch number, etc were on the booking confirmation email so we had no need to go to reception, however I did to check out the shop and the offerings in there and the lady on reception / shop was friendly and helpful.

The tent field is beyond the 2nd toilet block and this block had 2 toilets and one urinal in the mens and 3 cubicles in the ladies If you wanted to shower you have to go to the main block. The facilities were clean and well maintained and there was a water tap behind the block too.

Nice flat field which was great for the tents in our party, however there was loads of geese poo everywhere, so a bit of careful planning was needed to avoid this.

Campfires are allowed and the atmosphere on site reminded me of camping in the 80's, proper camping, children playing, laughing, etc. With the bonus of having modern, clean facilities.

I will be back to ride the canal path soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Opi-Wan-Canopy 1 review from this member

 Great little campsite.

Clean and well maintained toilets and shower block.

Small basic shop but perfect to top up on icecreams and fizzy pop.

The route in was through an industrial estate which had us worried, but once inside the campsite, you'd never know apart from the odd rumble of a nearby train line.

Would definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lee Valley Caravan Park Dobbs Weir dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hoddesdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46329 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement