Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Foxhangers Canalside Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Devizes > Foxhangers Canalside Holidays Reviews

Foxhangers Canalside Holidays
Rowde
Devizes
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN10 1SS
Tel: 01380 828254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 41 to 49                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shaz and Mike 2 reviews from this member

 Our 1st time away, what a great site, really enjoyed it.  The shower and toilet block were really clean, with lots of hot water.  Plenty of space for the kids to play and lovely walks along the canal.
 
The only downfall was a slight slope on the field.  Will definitly  stay there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dai and lou 1 review from this member

 Visited here for 5 nights and had a lovely time. Plenty to do and the surrounding area is beautiful. The sight is nice and clean, as are the toilets. However, the one shower available is cramped, dirty and in need of updating.
Ideal if your looking for a short, quiet stay.  


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andrew daniels 2 reviews from this member

 Stopped here in may, well, what can I say, very wet, very very wet, if you have booked this site and had heavy rain before your due to visit, please take note. There is absolutely no drainage on this site, our caravan had to be towed on site by a tractor which only cut the field up further. I really felt sorry for the couple who had to pitch there tent on what can be said was little more than a swamp. Facilities were a little bit to be desired, 1 shower which was very small and 2 toilets, bins were overflowing with rubbish. I'm sure this campsite is ok when its dry.

Plus point, loads of things to do, the amazing site of Caen Hill locks, mystical stone circles, white horses and Bath not to far away. Loads of places to walk, Devizes only up the road or 1hr walk via canal 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scubapro 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip away and had no idea what to expect. Fortunately we had chocks because the site is sloping. The hookup would not take anything more than the lighting. Even our low output microwave was too much for it. The toilet /shower block is only small with one shower and 2 toilets. Anyone using the potwash is immediately "in the way" for someone needing to use the toilets or showers because it's located in the doorway. Care should be taken not to get scalded because the temperature of the shower is affected too by someone using the potwash facilities.

As the site is compact it was also very friendly. Just as well we took everything with us or I think we would have been stuck as there are no shops or pubs within easy walking distance. We liked it and are planning to return in the near future. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: GazH 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 4 night stay at lower Foxhangers, what can I say a lovely site set in Wiltshire countyside run by really nice people. Toilet facilities are kept in immaculate condition though are minimal (we never had to queue) All in all a great value site well worth a visit and I'm hoping to revisit next year 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: HomerSimpson 3 reviews from this member

 Very friendly site. Only a short walk from the Canal and locks. A very pleasant walk along the canal towpath to Devizes ( almost a two mile walk to the first pub in Devizes, but worth the walk for the beer and food! ).
We stayed for one night, booked on Saturday afternoon to stay on Saturday night. It cost just £8 for the tent pitch. We were able to pick where we wanted to pitch. There was one shower and two toilets, small but immaculatly clean. We will definatly be visiting again. Highly Recommended site! 


Reviewer: .Steve. 4 reviews from this member

 August 2004
So the facilities may not be the best but the owner warned us that there were only two toilets and one shower when we booked. Being late risers, this didn’t matter to us – even on a busy Bank Holiday weekend – and I think the price per night meant that the site was good value for money. The best thing about the site is its location on the Avon & Kennet canal. The walk to Devizes is only a couple of miles but it was the 20 to 30 minute walk in the opposite direction, to Seend Cleeve, that led us to the fantastic Barge Inn. This pub is in an idyllic location and offers good food, a vast wine list, and well kept beer. You could be forgiven for spending the whole day here… like we did! 


Reviewer: SUZY HOLT 2 reviews from this member

 JUNE 2004
We stayed at this site for three days. There is plenty of room and a lovely walk to Devizes along the canal taking in the 29 locks.
We were very glad that it wasn't busy though. There is only one shower, one pot sink and two toilets in quite a cramped block. 


Reviewer: asdj45 3 reviews from this member

 May 2003
We like this site as it is quiet, lovely views, flexibility where to pitch etc, great open spaces for kids, near canal and lovely. 20min evening walk to the pub (you can cycle along the canal.)

No atual climbing frames or activity areas for kids - great for a short stay at only £7 per night - good value for money.

One downside though is that the leccy wont cope to weel with anything like heaters or kettles so mainly used for fridge, lighting etc. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 49     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Foxhangers Canalside Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Foxhangers Canalside Holidays?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Foxhangers Canalside Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Devizes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement