Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Foxhangers Canalside Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Devizes > Foxhangers Canalside Holidays Reviews

Foxhangers Canalside Holidays
Rowde
Devizes
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN10 1SS
Tel: 01380 828254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Annie3 1 review from this member

 A fab caravan site. 5 minutes walk to the Kenton and Avon canal. Good for cycling and walking.

Itís a good half hour walk to the tea cafe at the top of the locks and itís another half hour walk to Devizes.

On a hot day itís tuff. Big pitches well kept grass pitches. Showers ok. Good hot water.

Also dish washing facilities all good.

Score 8 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BristolPete 1 review from this member

 Great sight, with really good facilities.

My only warning is if you are in a tent the slope of mist if the site is greater than suggested.

That says recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alion1 1 review from this member

 What a beautiful site. Great location near the canal, spacious pitches, lovely hot showers and peace and quiet.

Convenient for wonderful walks, love the site ducks, ducklings, sheep, chickens and cat.

Great hosts and plenty of Covid-19 guidelines in place. Slight slope on the pitches but each pitch has its own water supply and electric. Excellent value for money.

Thank you for a great stay. We will definitely book here again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pepperpotts 3 reviews from this member

 Beautifully spaced out grass pitches. Electric and water to pitch.

Well kept, great recycling facilities. We did not use washroom or washing up facilities.

Reasonable price.

Great for canal walks and cycle rides. Lovely pubs dotted along the canal.

Ideal location for Longleat, Wookey hole, Stonehenge etc. Devizes town close by.

Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ged600 20 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for 2 nights on our way to Dorset. We picked it because of the reviews and that it was next to the canal.

The Caen Hill row of locks is nearby and Devizes is around an hours walk which we did.

The check in is at the Farmhouse not the Foxham gers reception, There are shared toilets and showers which were nice and warm. There are two sets one small one larger.

It's a working farm with dogs and ducks in the yard. Both fields are on a slope but we managed ok even with an awning. The owners are friendly.

You can walk left or right on the canal we chose right up to the flight of locks, there's a cafe at the top which serves good food and tea also locally made ice cream.

Devises is a lovely place with lots of history it also has a brewery with horses and dray.

Overall lovely site with plenty to see and do. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Camel campers 38 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a long weekend and its well placed for access to the canal and the towpath walks.

The flight of locks is fantastic and starts right outside the campsite. The toilet facilities are basic but sufficient and clean. No difficulties with booking in, nice pitches and good electricity points.

Devizes is a good walk up hill from the site there are bus routes on the main road, but best probably to use the car unless your used to walking.

All in all a good site, fees for our stay were £20 or £22. 50 depending on the size of pitch, including electricity. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Irene4X4Overland 6 reviews from this member

 Visited here with our Land Rover Defender 110 with Roof Top Tent and Side Awning in September 2016. Weather was dry by day with very heavy overnight rain.

I booked this site and paid on-line, which is no bad thing. But even so what I would expect is that at some time during the 48 hrs we were on site is for at least one member of staff to show some kind of 'hello - welcome' type face.

The site is a gently side slope all grass pitches affair which leaves leveling the unit a bit of a challenge. Some neighboring units had decided to pitch nose up or down the slope, which is all well and good but then leaves little privacy or space between units.

The facilities are all mixed usage and appeared to be clean, though on the days we visited the showers where totally unusable due to a water pressure problem. The facilities are also located in the farm yard complex which is across a busy side track leading to the nearby marina. It is not somewhere where younger children could be left unsupervised to visit the facilities.

The saving grace thou is the location. A small footpath give direct access onto the Kennet and Avon Canal just below the Caen Hill flight of locks which makes the walk to the pub so much more enjoyable. Especially on the walk back. It's down hill ! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpy man 5 reviews from this member

 What a lovely, pleasant site. We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend with family in their motorhome. The site is clean and tidy and clearly looked after. Yes the fields are on a slope but we still found a flat enough spot on our pitch for our tent. Having EHU and water on the pitch made the stay even more comfortable.

The facilities are down by the farmhouse a short walk from the camping fields. These are unisex and are kept very clean, perhaps even some of the cleanest facilities I have seen on a site. There are not lots of toilets and showers but I never had to queue all weekend.

The site is a short walk from the canal with a lovely walk up the Caen flight to Devizes in one direction. We also took our kayaks and could launch near to the site on the canal for a paddle away from Devizes (didn't fancy all those locks!)

We would also recommend the Black Horse in Devizes at the top of the flight of locks. Lovely beer garden next to the canal for a much needed pint after walking up there.

We will definitely be back to this site and have already recommended it to friends. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shorty11 1 review from this member

 A really lovely place to camp. Colin and cynthia were really nice. Are family had a great time. 5 stars as far as I'm concerned.

We look forward to booking with you again very soon. Thanks again to colin and cynthia for make are camping trip perfect. Location is perfect for devizes.

The canal is excellent. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pillsley 25 reviews from this member

 With two weeks off and a plan to travel North, we ended up in Devizes for the weekend to avoid rain. This was a last minute booking and campsites in the area were quite busy so we counted ourselves lucky to get in. At £18 per night I thought it quite expensive and we paid for EHU which we don't use.

On the upside, the site is pleasant and has easy access to the canal with a launch point for canoes and kayaks. The facilities are clean and adequate and not crowded although my OH found it a bit disconcerting to share with a strange female while he was shaving.

It's a pleasant walk up through the famous Caen Hill locks into Devizes which is well worth a visit. Would I go back there? Probably. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Foxhangers Canalside Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Foxhangers Canalside Holidays?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Foxhangers Canalside Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Devizes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement