Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Glasgow > Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Balmaha
Nr Drymen
Glasgow
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G63 0AL
Tel: 01360 870236
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tim and Cary 60 reviews from this member

 At the beginning of April we stayed for 11 nights at the Milarrochy Bay Camping and Caravanning Club site which is situated on the eastern shores of Loch Lomond. We had last visited this site on our first family holiday with our, then, new frame tent when we started family camping in 1992.

It is a site I would recommend highly. The site is located on the narrow, minor road along the eastern shores of Loch Lomond which ends at Rowardennan. This road is reached by leaving the A811 at the village of Drymen and taking the B837 to Balmaha.

At Balmaha the road narrows considerably. Immediately on leaving the northern end of the village there is sharp right-hand bend followed by steep hill, the Pass of Balmaha. Care needs to be taken in negotiating this hill, particularly when towing.

Milarrochy Bay itself is reached after about 1. 5 miles and there is a large car park and small National Park Information Centre and a public slipway for boat launching. Milarrochy Bay Campsite is about 0. 5 miles past this Centre and clearly signposted on the left.

The site has a separate entrance and exit. The entrance is on a steep downhill slope with the campsite barrier at the bottom. On our arrival one of the wardens came out and opened the barrier so that we could drive in and park safely before registering at reception. The barrier is always closed during the daytime and locked at night.

The exit is on the far side of reception via a large gate. There is an overnight/visitors’ car park next to this gate. The exit is poor designed. The view of the road, which is single track at this point, is obstructed by overhanging trees.

In addition there is not sufficient length between the gate and the road for a caravan outfit to stop after the gate has been closed. On our departure I had to drive out onto the road to allow Cary to close the gate and then she had to run 100 yards up the road to join me waiting in a passing place!

The site is quite a large and the pitches are very well spaced out. To the right of the entrance, from the road, there is a large pitching area with a mixture of grass and hardstanding pitches with EHU.

The pitches nearest to the Loch are mainly hardstanding and on flat ground and the site then slopes upwards away from the Loch. There is smaller “backpackers” toilet block in this area with a washing-up area and dining room.

The site is popular with walkers as the West Highland Way passes the entrance. Next to reception there is a small information room and the main toilet and shower block. To the left of the entrance is a storage area for caravans. Beyond this there is a storage area for boats and nearer to the lochside a further large area of pitches without EHU.

The site has a long lochside frontage with a small rocky beach. There are 2 concrete slipways for boat launching for which a fee is payable. Many folk using the site have canoes and other water craft which they launch from the site's slipway. We had originally planned to take our Zodiac inflatable boat but decided not to due to the poor weather forecast.

The road along the Eastern side of Loch Lomond is a dead-end and so the site was wonderfully peaceful. A downside of the site in my opinion is that the trees around the site screen it from best mountain views.

The water’s edge hardstanding pitches were already booked when we made our booking, they're the popular pitches, but we were fortunate to get a semi-hardstanding pitch near the water's edge on an unmarked pitching area.

The wardens were always very helpful and allowed us to move our 'van when the overhanging trees prevented us getting a signal on our TV satellite system. The weather was mixed with some wet and some sunny days. We managed to avoid the snow which fell on Glasgow during our stay although the snow did cap some of the mountains to improve my photos!

The village of Balmaha is just less than 2 miles away by road. It a small Lochside hamlet with a couple of pubs, a small village store, a few houses and not much else. We found village shop to be both expensive and not very well stocked.

Their new National Park Information Centre opened for the first time during our stay. The Centre is very pleasant with informative interactive displays including some for children.

The Centre is situated in the large public car park and includes public toilets. The staff were pleasant, well-informed and helpful.

The village has a marina and small boatyard from where boats can be hired. There is, also, a ferry to the nearby island of Inchailloch.

The Millennium Forest Trail from the centre of the village leads past the ferry pier and by a partly paved path to the high viewpoint of Craigie Fort before returning along the shores of the Loch. Craigie Fort gives spectacular views along the Loch to the mountains at its northern end.

The larger village of Drymen is situated just under 6 miles from the Campsite. It has a number of shops including a butcher, village store and “Spar” minimarket. We did not ever stop at Drymen as we preferred to shop at the larger Co-op in Balloch, but had to drive through every time we went out from the Campsite.

The nearest town of any size is Balloch is about 13. 5 miles away. Balloch is, a not a particularly attractive, small town situated on the River Leven at the southern end Loch Lomond. It has a good tourist information office.

There are a selection of small shops and a well-stocked large Co-op supermarket. In addition there is the Lomond Shores shopping 'experience' on the shores of Loch Lomond but it is a rather ugly building in my opinion with rather overpriced shops.

Adjacent to the Lomond Shores complex is a 'SeaWorld Centre' but we didn't visit it. 'Sweeney's Cruises' on Loch Lomond operate from the riverside in the centre of Balloch.

Balloch Country Park at the eastern end of Balloch stretches along the shores of Loch Lomond and that is worth a visit, particularly on a sunny day. Balloch, also, has a rail station which connects it with Glasgow. Balloch, also, has several pubs and restaurants and a McDonald's.

The road from Balmaha continues for a further 5 miles before ending at Rowardennan and we did take an exploratory drive. On the way we drove past a Forestry Centre but we did not visit this. The road to Rowardennan is a narrow and quiet with just a few farms and the Cashel Camp site enroute.

There is not much at Rowardennan, just a hotel, a National Park Centre with a Car Park and a Youth Hostel. However the lovely views over the Loch to the mountains are superb. Rowardennan is, also, the starting point for those who wish to climb Ben Lomond. Ben Lomond is Scotland’s most southerly Munro, ie, Scottish mountains over 3, 000 feet.

We had a wonderful time staying at Milarrochy Bay. One of our favourite walks was along a section of the West Highland Way along the shores of the Loch to the small village of Balmaha and then back again.

Apart from a few hundred yards on the road the path followed the shores of the Loch and we were able to spend time sitting on the beach in the sunshine enroute. Just before reaching Balmaha we joined the Millennium Forest Trail to the viewpoint at Craigie Fort which gave spectacular views over the Loch to the mountain beyond.

At Balmaha we enjoyed a very pleasant lunch at the “Oak Tree Inn” in the centre of village. The restaurant was very busy and so we opted to sit outside in the adjacent beer garden. We enjoyed a very pleasant meal of beautifully tasty home-made beef burgers and chips although for a bar meal it was quite expensive at c£10 each.

The beer garden would have been more pleasant if there had not been builders working on an extension to the Inn very close by.

We took cruises on the Loch with “Sweeney’s Cruises” and “Cruise Loch Lomond”- we found “Cruise Loch Lomond” much better value and the crew more friendly. We took their “Rob Roy Cruise” from Tarbet along the northern shores of the Loch one afternoon.

The cruise still ran even though we were the only passengers. We were still given a Camping and Caravanning Club discount of £1.50 on each of our fares and the young lady crew member even served us our complimentary liqueur coffee on the upper viewing deck. “Sweeney’s Cruises” on the other hand cancelled several of the cruises we had hoped to take with them from Balloch leaving us the option of their one hour cruise from Balloch. This cruise was not, in my opinion, really worth it as it did not really go far up the Loch at all.

We, also, spent a day driving along the single track road to Inversnaid further north on the eastern shore of Loch Lomond. I don’t think that this rather challenging road was worth the effort, particularly the final precipitous hairpin bend stage down to the Inversnaid Hotel.

The hotel has its own landing stage and is more easily reached by the regular ferry from Tarbert on the other side of the Loch.

On the way back from Inversnaid we visited the western end of the beautiful Loch Katrine much beloved by Sir Walter Scott. We had thought about a trip on the restored steamer “The Lady of the Lake” but the weather that day was not really suitable.

We, also, visited the village of Luss. Luss is a rather busy and touristy village as it is just off the A82. Loch cruises and ferries depart from Luss and in addition there are some pleasant walking routes in the area.

On another evening we drove along the northern banks of the River Clyde through Dumbarton and Helensburgh before driving around the Rosneath Peninsula along the shores of Gare Loch to Kilcreggan before returning back to the campsite via the shores of Loch Long, Arrochar and then back down the western shores of Loch Lomond.

For our final outing we took a day long tour to and around the Isle of Bute. This involved driving north along the A82 and then on the A83 over the “Rest and Be Thankful Pass”. We then turned south onto the A886 along the shore of Loch Fyne and then along Loch Riddon to Colintraive.

From Colintraive we took the 5 minute Cal Mac Ferry crossing to Rhubodach on the northern end of the Isle of Bute. We spent the day touring the beautiful Isle of Bute before catching Cal Mac ferry from Rothesay to Wemyss Bay in the early evening. We then had a lovely drive back along A770 the southern banks of the Clyde through Greenock and Port Glasgow to the campsite.

The only disadvantage in my opinion is that it is necessary to drive about 6 miles on minor roads to reach main A811 road when travelling to anywhere else. From a peacefulness point of view that is, of course, an advantage!

A final tip - if you are travelling to this area in the near future via the Erskine Bridge and up the A82 to Balloch I would recommend you check the traffic bulletins. We were held up in lengthy delays at roadworks between the Erskine Bridge and Balloch on both our outward and return journeys. The roadworks may have finished now, of course. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aileenr 1 review from this member

 I have visited this site 6 times in the last 2 years, every visit has been brilliant and most enjoyable,

Toilets always very clean & many of them, staff very friendly & helpful- last year was my 1st year with a caravan so was lost many times with the setting up etc..

But the 4 wardens last year were so helpful & understanding, site kept in good order.

Beautiful scenery, great walks in the area, boat trips available at a reasonable cost on the loch.

Really like the shops at Lomond Shores in Balloch about 20 mins car drive away, lots to do in that surrounding area for the kids, good food to be had in Balamaha village at a reasonable price.

Would recommend it to all. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NettieG 5 reviews from this member

 This is the second time I've visited this site and it was up to its usual standard. Absolutely spotlessly clean.

I did find the staff this time around a little too cheeky as was mocked for a simple request on arrival - not a good start. If it had been my first time visiting I would have been put right off. Another question was met by a sarcastic comment from a different member of staff. Again, off putting if it's your first time there. Completely unnecessary.

However, all the staff work like trojans and never stop keeping the site clean. I was told I could use the backpackers' toilet block if I wanted to but was warned it would get very, very dirty. The site was busy even though it was midweek but the block was only a little dirty, which to Milarrochy standards probably is very dirty as it's so well kept.

A great site I would highly recommend especially to those who have never camped before and are nervous about facilities.

I will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anna21 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived on a very wet Thursday night and received a loch side pitch. This site is stunning as you are directly by the loch. It is you, your tent and the loch. No cars or people walk in between you and the loch. The Loch was about 3 meters away!

Toilets were very clean and in the ladies, 8 toilets, 8 wash basins and 6 to 8 showers. All wash basins were in a cubical ideal for a private wash or change of clothes.

On our last night which was a Friday night, the site was very busy due to a Scottish Bank Holiday. A few campers were talking very loudly however they did abide by the rules of no noise after 11 o’clock. However don't let this spoil a stunning site.

I would head to this site in the week for loch side pitches and a quiet stay in a stunning location. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foofoothesnooo 2 reviews from this member

 I have massive complaint about this site, they have gone and spoiled us for every site we visit from now on!

Everything everyone said before was true, fab facilities, incredibly clean, Martin, Ann, Tim and Shirley couldn't do enough for you. Great atmosphere on site, the barrier by reception and gates on exit made the site feel very secure.

Lovely little park for the kids, beautiful pebble beach with an old tree stump that became a rocket/car/house/boat for hours on end.

Did need a few rock pegs so glad we'd seen reviews here before we went and the pitching area was quite stony with lots of broken twigs from the trees behind (breached our groundsheet as we didn't spot them all, our fault).

Other than that the site was about perfect, shame about the midges which were a real nuisance, even the Avon Skin So Soft didn't work for us!

Sorry, one last niggle, we had to pay for a Jumbo pitch due to our porch taking us over the size limit (which was expensive), but the pitch we got was only just big enough. Everything else more than made up for it though! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nadius 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed two nights in this beautiful site. It was well kept and clean and the staff were helpful. The views were gorgeous and it was easy to get to the Loch for a walk or go out down the road a little way and back onto the Lochside for a longer stretch.

The first night was a Saturday and the park was quite full and lively. There was some people with guitars and singing down the far end which would be quite noisy if you had small children to get to sleep but they quietened down about half ten. They weren't bad actually - we quite enjoyed it.

The main toilet block was way back at the check in office and we were near the backpacker toilets which were okay if you held your nose cos they smelt of pee as they were unisex but okay for a quick dash out at night.

We'll definitely be returning to this one! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: V+M T 2 reviews from this member

 Great wee site, staff very helpful, site manager helped me out when I had a leaking toilet tap, loaned me the tools needed to fix it, so we could enjoy our hol.

Toilets gleaming, water v hot, shop modest, could do with more of a play park for the bairns,

Very steep brae when coming out of Balmaha towards site, so watch that one but nice base for walks,

Local shop at Balmaha got what you would need, not licensed yet though,

Would we go back ? YES  


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Almaz 37 reviews from this member

 Beautiful! Says it all really. This is just about as good as it gets.

We visited after there had been some fairly heavy rain and there was a lot of surface water about the site but even that couldn't detract from the fabulous views from here. Our pitch faced onto Loch Lomond and peered through some trees.

The welcome from the wardens was friendly and helpful and the toilets were clean and tidy.

Balmaha village is just over a mile walk alongside the loch and Conic Hill sits just above the village. The views from here are great even though the hill itself is a 'baby' in Scotland terms. If you want a bigger challenge then Ben Lomond is obviously close by but weather conditions frustrated us for this one.

Ben A'an however, in the Trossachs, is a short drive away and even on a relatively cloudy day you can usually get a terrific view from its top. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gatesy 20 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately we didn't get off to the best of starts at this site. We arrived in a small convoy of people, and I didn't realise that it was a case of first come first served - we've found previously on Camping and Caravanning Club sites that pitches are pre-allocated.

Anyway, had I realised that, I would have muscled my way into reception rather than giving way to a man who arrived just behind us but who had obviously stayed here before and wanted a lochside pitch - he got the last one! I was disappointed but that's the way it goes and we could at least see the loch from out pitch, despite there being a couple of lines of caravans in between!

Anyway, location good, there's a nice walk to Balmaha, along the loch, and from there we caught a foot ferry to Inchcailloch which is an island in the loch.

Lovely walks around the island, and in nice weather (unfortunately we weren't that lucky), you could easily spend all day there, with a picnic and a dinghy! The ferry was expensive for the length of trip, so might be worthwhile hiring canoes. The Oak Tree Inn in Balmaha serves very good food, is child friendly, and is extremely popular.

Back to the site - toilet block fine, and a small play area for children. As well as views of the loch, you can access it from the site. There was no motorhome water disposal point, however, which was a nuisance. The site is popular with canoeists and walkers. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Galdeb69 7 reviews from this member

 We went for a long weekend to this site, its only 45 mins from our front door, but it could be 100 away when you are their.

The site is really nice, with a mixture of grass pitches and hard standing, with excellent showers/toilets, and superb views of Loch Lomond, the only down point for me, is that the bins are located in one central area, which is a bit of walk if you are at the far end of the site, and dog bins, only one at the very far end of the camp, there were a lot of dogs on the site, and I saw a number of owners with their doggy bags, having to trek to the far end of the camp to dispose of them.

We didn't really leave the camp, but we know if you were a keen walker you could walk Ben Lomond or the smaller Conic hill, and for the less fit, parts of the West Highland way, or local forest tracks.

Beware of the midges, take plenty of insect repellent, they are a totally menace, and if the sun isn’t shining, they are out in force. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement