Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Glasgow > Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Balmaha
Nr Drymen
Glasgow
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G63 0AL
Tel: 01360 870236
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pendywooley 45 reviews from this member

 Totally agree with Sept 22 remarks about that tight bend and incline, thanks goodness our car is a good tug! On leaving we were dreading it and guess what- met a road cleaner on that bend! Ours is a long 'van but we made it. The road narrows again further up, and Bunty now needs some T Cut treatment.

The warden directed us to pitch, having to go wrong way round roundabout because of length. Unfortunately the large pitch lower down the site had been taken, so we ended up on a shelf with a slope that we couldn't correct due to trees etc. Felt bit isolated up there.

Fairly lucky with weather, only one morning of drizzle. There are 2 beaches that you can launch from, one with a landing, great views.

This site has a cabin for hikers with loos and areas to dry clothes.

The main toilet block was further away behind reception. It needs revamping, looking very tired and odd layout.

Midges got me, even on my face, forgetting to put on repellent before evening, OH not one bite.

Glad I had provisions in, as the roads and speed of some drivers was scary.

Would I stay here again? Probably not, unless allocated a large pitch on the lower levels. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 97 reviews from this member

 Location and views make up for the few negatives of this site,

The first of which is that tight bend and 15% gradient on the approach road, glad I wasn't towing a caravan, secondly, when site is busy the choice of pitches is limited to shaded areas with poor hardstanding, thirdly the elsan point needs a good clean and tidying up.

That's it really, the fact that you can be on the 'beach ' in seconds and launch your canoe or swim if you wish, makes up for it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martinsue 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site. Friendly welcome. Right on the edge of Loch Lomand. Access to jetty and slipway and small pebble beach. Fantastic views from majority pitches.

Would definitely return. This is a area of outstanding beauty. Plenty of walks for all levels.

Cruises on loch Lomand from Balloch a small village referred to as the gateway of Loch Lomand and Trossachs National Park. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scribs 1 review from this member

 Oh! What a beautiful site. We've got to return for longer next time. So beautifully laid out, and what a gorgeous view of Loch Lomond.

Showers were great. I've not long fallen and damaged my knee so had to hobble to shower but was delighted to find it was a walk in one, with non slip flooring and a handle on the back wall so I could shower in confidence.

Really really nice friendly helpful wardens and a useful little shop for essentials. So peaceful too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Harryc 10 reviews from this member

 A well laid out site, friendly staff, close to town with supermarket and dog friendly pub.

Trouble is it was a mosquito haven. Thousands of them ended cutting stay short so be aware, take plenty of mozzi spray.

I wouldn't visit again purely because of the mosquito, site lovely.

So my mark is for the site alone and not for things out of there control. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pandavw 7 reviews from this member

 Absolutely cracking site, unfortunately our first night was upset by noisy neighbours. We tried reporting on the night but the wardens phone was off.

Spoke to them the next day and mentioned we wanted to move pitch. Immediately they said NO, not lets talk about it, just NO you cannot move. We met a couple who had paid for an extra night who decided to leave early, so their pitch would be free. Answer to this was also NO. Assistant wardens on this site could not make a decision because it may upset The Head Warden.

Again great site. 10 out of 10. Wardens 3 out of 10. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Folawson 1 review from this member

 While the road is your typical 1. 5 lane road to get to the site there are plenty of areas for passing and arrival to the campsite is fairly straightforward. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and given an explanation of the site, facilities and a list of numbers for access, assistance, etc. Then we were escorted to our pitch where we received another quick brief and then allowed to go about our day.

The pitches do range in size but they were able to accommodate our 8x5m tent almost exact along with parking right next to it. The ground was grass for our pitch although the sod was only a few inches deep before you hit stone, I'm sure for load bearing, but it does mean many of your tent pegs might be raised higher than might be desired, still it's enough to hold the tent tight.

The site didn't get too noisy and seemed everyone respected the quiet hours well enough. Facilities are nice, although remember your access code if you're going to the loo in the middle of the night so you don't have to walk once and run a second time. Plenty of walking close by with the WHW right across the road, Conic Hill just to the South and so much more.

We enjoyed coffee and a toasty each day down at the coffee shop in Balmaha right across from the public toilets and parking, which at the time were all free and clean to use. Coffee, food and service at the coffee shop was great.

You can have a raised barbeque, which they supply bricks for if you don't have a raised one. You can't have a campfire but there is a beach nearby, about a 5min walk, where you could see a few fires flickering away in the evenings.

There are plenty of sheltered spots which can be nice in heavy winds but when the winds die down the midges come out in force so make sure you're taking some Smidge and a net for those times. When there's a good breeze though you can definitely enjoy sitting out and enjoying the views and the peace of a nice campsite.

Overall, highly recommend a visit here, I know we'll be back at one point. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Karma55 3 reviews from this member

 This has to be my favourite camp site so far that I have stayed at. I booked in for three nights and wish I had booked for longer. I felt completely at home at Milarrochy bay caravanning and camp site.

I arrived early and was asked politely to wait until the check in time. I was shown to my pitch and the helpful steward suggested I back the car down the slight slope to my pitch in case it rained and got muddy. I had a clearly marked pitch, there is lots of room between pitches on this site.

Facilities were open and were kept very clean. There is a code system on the doors to stop people just walking in off the road and using them, and a barrier for vehicles you are given the code for. There is a one way system around the site. Lots of places for fresh water and waste disposal and a recycling area, all clearly marked.

The toilets and showers were kept extra clean and the water was very very hot every time I went in. The views from the site are lovely of the loch and surrounding countryside. It is a great base to explore from and the West Highland Way goes right past the entrance to the site.

This was my first visit to the site and certainly won't be my last. It was very well run and staff were eager to help people staying there. Well done. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Toddy32 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and great staff.

We were on a grass bank facing the loch which was nice but the grass was very wet. Not the site fault I know.

Toilet were good and hot but not the cleanest. As other have said the road up to site has a very steep bank that turns sharply at the top.

Good site and good location 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John McQuillan 3 reviews from this member

 Nothing was too much bother for these guys, campsite was immaculate.

Ideal for photography, amazing scenery.

Oak Tree pub and restaurant a couple of miles from site, very nice food and reasonable prices.

Will definitely go back. 
via mobile


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7136 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement