Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Site Reviews

Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Balmaha
Nr Drymen
Glasgow
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G63 0AL
Tel: 01360 870236
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seasidenana 7 reviews from this member

We stored our caravan here for 4 nights first, then stayed for 3 nights. (We were touring Scotland and had other arrangements for the 4 nights).

The storage was good, on a small field. We left our keys which was just as well, in our absence they had to move our van due to flooding after torrential rain. The van was fine, moved to a dry part ! Note, if you use the storage, bring your insurance details with you.

Access to the site is via a barrier and you do have to wait to be let in, although you get a code after first arrival. We were lucky to get a lochside pitch which was beautiful. We ate breakfast and evening meal outside by the loch. Wine chilled nicely in the loch.

The toilets and showers are good, and clean. There are a few essential items for sale in the reception shop. Wardens are very efficient and friendly. There is a laundry and good 4g signal.

The nearest pub is about a mile away, although we didnít use it. My husband went for a long walk and took some good photos of the loch. We drove into Balloch to sail on the loch.

The weather was gorgeous on one of our days, unfortunately wind and torrential rain the others which canít be helped. We would return to this site it is a beautiful spot and very peaceful.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 67 reviews from this member

We visited this site for our two week summer holiday.

On arrival we turned into the entrance, unfortunately, the entrance is only wide enough for one vehicle and a barrier is in place. So new arrivals have to wait for a warden to open the barier to let them in, whilst blocking the entrance for other guests. We were greeted by friendly wardens who gave us lots of site information and showed us to our pitch.

Our pitch was large, and we had a good view of the loch. One thing that did annoy me a little, we were informed by the warden that all awnings have to go on the hardstanding, they are not allowed on the grass, which I would have preferred as its a bit comfier on the feet. Trying to peg the awning out was a big chore and resulted in many bent rock pegs due to the very hard ground below.

The site itself is lovely, and the views to the Loch are amazing. Many reviews I've seen complain about the midges, well, we hardly saw any. Though we did see many wasps. As other people have mentioned, there is quite a walk to the toilet block, if, like us you were pitched at the end of the site. The toilet block was, as mentioned a bit dated, though it was always clean and I never had to wait to use the facilities. The toilets and showers would though benefit from a little more care, there were several loose toilet seats in the mens, and during several visits I noticed the soap dispenser ran out.

Generally the site was quiet, apart from one night, when two work vans turned up with a group of men (most sites don't allow single sex groups). They were very very noisy into the night. When we looked in the site info leaflet, it said that any disturbances should be reported to staff the next day as staff finish as there are no staff on duty overnight, so, unfortunately we had to ut up with their noise.

Location to the Loch is great, though pretty much all visitor attractions are quite a drive from the site. Though just down the road is Balmaha, which had a fantastic pub that served great food.

In all a good site, that is let down by a few maintenance issues. Though at the price they charge for this site it should have 5 star facilities, I'd only rate it 3 stars.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: D J T 4 reviews from this member

Terrific campsite on the waters edge run by lovely people.

Facilities are good, plenty of taps around the site.

Some sites in shade, phone to get a waterside site.

There is a good restaurant in Balmaha which is a beautiful walk of about 25 mins along the shore and through the woods to the south.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pulster 2 reviews from this member

Just had a 4 night visit to this site to give our new Dutch pyramid tent a trial run.

Arrived at the site and was greeted by the friendly and helpful staff who quickly directed us to our Loch side pitch.

The views are stunning. Was a rather wet stay though and our grass pitch was very waterlogged come the end of it and a mini mud bath was under our groundsheets when we left.

We ended up packing up a day early to try and ensure a dry canvas - nothing to do with the site, just a practical move for us due to commitments when we returned home.

As I said the views are stunning, a nice cafe & pub in the closest village, Balmaha. A short car trip to Balloch and we visited Loch Lomond Shores, not many shops there but we did go on a short 50 min Loch cruise. There was a farmers market on which had a lot of local produce for sale.

Facilities were more than adequate, including laundry appliances and were kept clean by the staff. There is a small play area for children and a back packing shelter where back packers can cook in the dry.

Mossies and midges are very present, I didn't put repellant on during the first 25 mins of our set up and I was almost eaten alive with over 100 bites (I am prone to attracting any bloodsuckers).

Overall a great site to visit to take in the views and have a quiet Loch side relax, or use as a base for your hiking needs.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 24 reviews from this member

My son and I finished our two week holiday here, staying for two nights, before heading home. We secured an (almost) loch side pitch, guided there by the very helpful lady from reception. The weather wasn't great, during our short stay but, being walkers, it was a case of put the gear on and get out anyway. Plenty of lovely terrain to walk through in the surrounding area but, like any other spot like this, it comes with fairly high midge presence! Little blighters get everywhere! Site facilities pretty good, had no issues with anything. From a wheelchair user's perspective; I didn't get to see into the disabled facilities but the main building is accessed by a ramp. All roads within the boundaries of the site are tarmaced and hardstands are coated in a very fine gravel, not causing any issues for either wheelchair occupant or carer, in my experience. The motorhome service point is adequate but not perfect as the grey water drop point is a manhole, set to the side of the parking area - totally useless for my set-up so my grey water came home. Recycling is also available on site. Summing up, a very pleasant location and one I would, certainly, revisit.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 37 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights here en route to the West Highlands. Arrived in rain but friendly helpful warden offered us a couple of pitch choices. Loch-side pitch chosen. Fantastic location with walks from site. Nothing much in Balmaha except village shop and cafe. Our dog managed to pick up a tick so dog-owners be vigilant. Showers/toilets fairly basic but clean. Good price of £17 per night with EHU. Great site for walkers and water users.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidwburkey 1 review from this member

We camped here while doing the West Highland Way. It was a pretty rainy day when we got in to pitch our tent, but they had a good camping hut where we sheltered until the rain stopped. In the hut was space to cook using our stove and a sink for washing etc. Good facilities there, warm showers, what more could you want on the WHW.

The price for a night to pitch our small 2 person tent without membership was £6. 70, just slightly above average from other places we stayed on the way.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights on our motorhome trip, beautifully located on the shores of the loch, and although our pitch was 2nd row back we had an uninterrupted view of the loch. Toilets and showers were good although the hated push button but good and hot. Very friendly welcome and had decided to walk to local pub using the loch side walk and was advised when we got to the fork to keep right which was handy to know and that we could get a cab back was also good as it would be almost impossible to do the walk in the dark! Pub, Oak Tree Inn is well worth a visit as food is very good. We did a loch cruise in the morning and then visited Loch Lomond shores which was a bit disappointing as it's basically a shopping centre! We were fairly lucky with the weather as the site is beautiful and very peaceful and everyone we meet very friendly, would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 2buyjps 2 reviews from this member

Recently stayed at this very picturesque campsite. No complaints about the site. However I think that the spirit of camping as I understand it is not alive and well at this particular site. On selecting a pitch we discovered our electric hook up lead was two foot short of the site hook up point. Not allowed to move the van closer as apparently the grass was too wet! When I enquired at reception 3 of the 4 site stewards decided that £2. 00 per night hire fee plus £20. 09 deposit was a fair price stating when I said in a jocular manner 'that's a bit harsh' one of the stewards snapped back at me sayin 'd you know how much these things are?'. Being a camper for 51 years and buying and selling campervan for a living yes I do know how much these things are. His dismissive and uncooperative attitude completely ruined our 2 day stay here.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 39 reviews from this member

We enjoyed this site - literally on the banks of Loch Lomond. You are able to launch boats and canoes but we are walking types so enjoyed a hike up Ben Lomond itself and also the much smaller, but with equally good views, Conic Hill from Balmaha. The West Highland Way passes the site and provides a steady stream of backpackers pitching their tiny tents each evening. They have their own large 'shed' so there is somewhere warm, dry and hopefully midge free for cooking, clearing up and chatting. There are also picnic tables available.

In contrast we have a largish tent so opted for hardstanding with electric. You will need an extra groundsheet to protect your actual tent from the gravel and rock pegs for the guy lines etc. Many of the grass pitches were waterlogged and the ground muddy where cars had driven onto the grass so the staff were quite happy with us on the hardstanding.

Facilities were good and very clean. Wifi and phone reception good. Staff friendly. Reception sells absolute essentials but Balmaha (2 miles walk on good paths) has a village shop which will keep you going with all the basics needed for a short stay. I don't know where the nearest supermarket is - Drymen has a Spar?

There are two further sites up the road - Camping in the Forest has Cashell Bay, which looks similar. The Forestry Comm also run a basics only site at Sallochy. Wild camping is not allowed March to October.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dunbartonshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2888 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019