Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Glasgow > Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Balmaha
Nr Drymen
Glasgow
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G63 0AL
Tel: 01360 870236
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Harryc 10 reviews from this member

 A well laid out site, friendly staff, close to town with supermarket and dog friendly pub.

Trouble is it was a mosquito haven. Thousands of them ended cutting stay short so be aware, take plenty of mozzi spray.

I wouldn't visit again purely because of the mosquito, site lovely.

So my mark is for the site alone and not for things out of there control. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pandavw 6 reviews from this member

 Absolutely cracking site, unfortunately our first night was upset by noisy neighbours. We tried reporting on the night but the wardens phone was off.

Spoke to them the next day and mentioned we wanted to move pitch. Immediately they said NO, not lets talk about it, just NO you cannot move. We met a couple who had paid for an extra night who decided to leave early, so their pitch would be free. Answer to this was also NO. Assistant wardens on this site could not make a decision because it may upset The Head Warden.

Again great site. 10 out of 10. Wardens 3 out of 10. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Folawson 1 review from this member

 While the road is your typical 1. 5 lane road to get to the site there are plenty of areas for passing and arrival to the campsite is fairly straightforward. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and given an explanation of the site, facilities and a list of numbers for access, assistance, etc. Then we were escorted to our pitch where we received another quick brief and then allowed to go about our day.

The pitches do range in size but they were able to accommodate our 8x5m tent almost exact along with parking right next to it. The ground was grass for our pitch although the sod was only a few inches deep before you hit stone, I'm sure for load bearing, but it does mean many of your tent pegs might be raised higher than might be desired, still it's enough to hold the tent tight.

The site didn't get too noisy and seemed everyone respected the quiet hours well enough. Facilities are nice, although remember your access code if you're going to the loo in the middle of the night so you don't have to walk once and run a second time. Plenty of walking close by with the WHW right across the road, Conic Hill just to the South and so much more.

We enjoyed coffee and a toasty each day down at the coffee shop in Balmaha right across from the public toilets and parking, which at the time were all free and clean to use. Coffee, food and service at the coffee shop was great.

You can have a raised barbeque, which they supply bricks for if you don't have a raised one. You can't have a campfire but there is a beach nearby, about a 5min walk, where you could see a few fires flickering away in the evenings.

There are plenty of sheltered spots which can be nice in heavy winds but when the winds die down the midges come out in force so make sure you're taking some Smidge and a net for those times. When there's a good breeze though you can definitely enjoy sitting out and enjoying the views and the peace of a nice campsite.

Overall, highly recommend a visit here, I know we'll be back at one point. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Karma55 3 reviews from this member

 This has to be my favourite camp site so far that I have stayed at. I booked in for three nights and wish I had booked for longer. I felt completely at home at Milarrochy bay caravanning and camp site.

I arrived early and was asked politely to wait until the check in time. I was shown to my pitch and the helpful steward suggested I back the car down the slight slope to my pitch in case it rained and got muddy. I had a clearly marked pitch, there is lots of room between pitches on this site.

Facilities were open and were kept very clean. There is a code system on the doors to stop people just walking in off the road and using them, and a barrier for vehicles you are given the code for. There is a one way system around the site. Lots of places for fresh water and waste disposal and a recycling area, all clearly marked.

The toilets and showers were kept extra clean and the water was very very hot every time I went in. The views from the site are lovely of the loch and surrounding countryside. It is a great base to explore from and the West Highland Way goes right past the entrance to the site.

This was my first visit to the site and certainly won't be my last. It was very well run and staff were eager to help people staying there. Well done. 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John McQuillan 2 reviews from this member

 Nothing was too much bother for these guys, campsite was immaculate.

Ideal for photography, amazing scenery.

Oak Tree pub and restaurant a couple of miles from site, very nice food and reasonable prices.

Will definitely go back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MatthewCameron 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed a week, with our 2 teenage children and another family (our friends) in the adjoining pitch.

We didn't need electric and got allocated pitches beside the water. The view is gorgeous. We were bothered by midges, but had brought nets and some old joss sticks, which helped inside the tent.

The facilities are as we expect from C&CC sites. Given Covid and distancing some facilities were restricted, I didn't have any queueing for (male) toilets but did for the washing up sinks, and for the disabled toilet whe the mens was having it's deep clean.

I don't know what it is, but I always find C&CC sites oppressively quiet, with people (and children) keepng the noise down. We kept our two families as one bubble, but on our last two nights it sounded like a few families were having a big party together late at night.

It is a long but pleasant walk into the nearest town, or you could drive it. As families which included 8 & 11 year olds and up, we did manage to walk to the nearby town, and we played and picnicked on the nearby beaches. Bring your own barbecue fuel and equipment, do not use driftwood. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikebj 2 reviews from this member

 Nice views of loch lomond and friendly staff.

The site was very tidy and easy to access in a large motorhome.

Would recommend for families or couples. Shop was closed but close to the village where daily groceries were available 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Helenp 1 review from this member

 Excellent site and facilities. Cleaned throughout the day and not overbooking site made me not worry about contamination.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ipenna 2 reviews from this member

 The camping is only 20 minutes from the center of Glasgow in a very beautiful park.

Personnel was very kind. Pitches comfortable.

Services clean with hot shower. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 What a great site, staff, facilities and location are superb.

Walks to die for, dog friendly, just great.

Nearby village is a safe walk through the woods and a great pub there also.

The staff take you to a pitch, if you donít fancy it speak up, lots to choose from. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3388 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement