Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Glasgow > Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Balmaha
Nr Drymen
Glasgow
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G63 0AL
Tel: 01360 870236
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 79 Reviews
                8/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John McQuillan 1 review from this member

 Nothing was too much bother for these guys, campsite was immaculate.

Ideal for photography, amazing scenery.

Oak Tree pub and restaurant a couple of miles from site, very nice food and reasonable prices.

Will definitely go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MatthewCameron 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed a week, with our 2 teenage children and another family (our friends) in the adjoining pitch.

We didn't need electric and got allocated pitches beside the water. The view is gorgeous. We were bothered by midges, but had brought nets and some old joss sticks, which helped inside the tent.

The facilities are as we expect from C&CC sites. Given Covid and distancing some facilities were restricted, I didn't have any queueing for (male) toilets but did for the washing up sinks, and for the disabled toilet whe the mens was having it's deep clean.

I don't know what it is, but I always find C&CC sites oppressively quiet, with people (and children) keepng the noise down. We kept our two families as one bubble, but on our last two nights it sounded like a few families were having a big party together late at night.

It is a long but pleasant walk into the nearest town, or you could drive it. As families which included 8 & 11 year olds and up, we did manage to walk to the nearby town, and we played and picnicked on the nearby beaches. Bring your own barbecue fuel and equipment, do not use driftwood. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikebj 2 reviews from this member

 Nice views of loch lomond and friendly staff.

The site was very tidy and easy to access in a large motorhome.

Would recommend for families or couples. Shop was closed but close to the village where daily groceries were available 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Helenp 1 review from this member

 Excellent site and facilities. Cleaned throughout the day and not overbooking site made me not worry about contamination.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ipenna 2 reviews from this member

 The camping is only 20 minutes from the center of Glasgow in a very beautiful park.

Personnel was very kind. Pitches comfortable.

Services clean with hot shower. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 What a great site, staff, facilities and location are superb.

Walks to die for, dog friendly, just great.

Nearby village is a safe walk through the woods and a great pub there also.

The staff take you to a pitch, if you donít fancy it speak up, lots to choose from. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Argyllie 11 reviews from this member

 Situated on the eastern shore of Loch Lomond with direct access to the water from site, there is good walking available directly from site as it is adjacent to the West Highland Way.

The site is clean and tidy and the CCC staff, at the time of our visit, were friendly and helpful.

Definitely one we will return to. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Seasidenana 7 reviews from this member

 We stored our caravan here for 4 nights first, then stayed for 3 nights. (We were touring Scotland and had other arrangements for the 4 nights).

The storage was good, on a small field. We left our keys which was just as well, in our absence they had to move our van due to flooding after torrential rain. The van was fine, moved to a dry part ! Note, if you use the storage, bring your insurance details with you.

Access to the site is via a barrier and you do have to wait to be let in, although you get a code after first arrival. We were lucky to get a lochside pitch which was beautiful. We ate breakfast and evening meal outside by the loch. Wine chilled nicely in the loch.

The toilets and showers are good, and clean. There are a few essential items for sale in the reception shop. Wardens are very efficient and friendly. There is a laundry and good 4g signal.

The nearest pub is about a mile away, although we didnít use it. My husband went for a long walk and took some good photos of the loch. We drove into Balloch to sail on the loch.

The weather was gorgeous on one of our days, unfortunately wind and torrential rain the others which canít be helped. We would return to this site it is a beautiful spot and very peaceful. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 70 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for our two week summer holiday.

On arrival we turned into the entrance, unfortunately, the entrance is only wide enough for one vehicle and a barrier is in place. So new arrivals have to wait for a warden to open the barier to let them in, whilst blocking the entrance for other guests. We were greeted by friendly wardens who gave us lots of site information and showed us to our pitch.

Our pitch was large, and we had a good view of the loch. One thing that did annoy me a little, we were informed by the warden that all awnings have to go on the hardstanding, they are not allowed on the grass, which I would have preferred as its a bit comfier on the feet. Trying to peg the awning out was a big chore and resulted in many bent rock pegs due to the very hard ground below.

The site itself is lovely, and the views to the Loch are amazing. Many reviews I've seen complain about the midges, well, we hardly saw any. Though we did see many wasps. As other people have mentioned, there is quite a walk to the toilet block, if, like us you were pitched at the end of the site. The toilet block was, as mentioned a bit dated, though it was always clean and I never had to wait to use the facilities. The toilets and showers would though benefit from a little more care, there were several loose toilet seats in the mens, and during several visits I noticed the soap dispenser ran out.

Generally the site was quiet, apart from one night, when two work vans turned up with a group of men (most sites don't allow single sex groups). They were very very noisy into the night. When we looked in the site info leaflet, it said that any disturbances should be reported to staff the next day as staff finish as there are no staff on duty overnight, so, unfortunately we had to ut up with their noise.

Location to the Loch is great, though pretty much all visitor attractions are quite a drive from the site. Though just down the road is Balmaha, which had a fantastic pub that served great food.

In all a good site, that is let down by a few maintenance issues. Though at the price they charge for this site it should have 5 star facilities, I'd only rate it 3 stars. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: D J T 4 reviews from this member

 Terrific campsite on the waters edge run by lovely people.

Facilities are good, plenty of taps around the site.

Some sites in shade, phone to get a waterside site.

There is a good restaurant in Balmaha which is a beautiful walk of about 25 mins along the shore and through the woods to the south.  


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4227 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement