Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cairnsmill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Cairnsmill Caravan Park Reviews

Cairnsmill Caravan Park
Largo Road
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 8NN
Tel: 01334 473604
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Banksie 7 reviews from this member

We decided to chance a late-season getaway at Cairnsmill so we could do the tourist thing in St Andrews.  The park was close to empty (including staff), but we were placed on a rather muddy pitch in a shallow hollow just outwith the lea of a large hedge (which would have provided some much-needed shelter).  As the weekend passed, the wind and the rain caused the pitch to turn into a quagmire, which rather spoiled things and the car struggled to get the caravan out of the mud at the end.
 
On the face of it, the facilities looked good - shop, swimming pool, games room, heated toilet blocks etc.  The shop provided the essentials and the toilet blocks were clean (and empty), so no complaints there.  The swimming pool was also empty, which was great for the kids (and me!).  However, the water was not particularly warm and the changing rooms were freezing, which made getting dressed an interesting experience.  The games room is accessed through a lounge and both share a bar.  Everything was open despite the fact that there were so few people.  The kids and I were disappointed that several of the machines in the games room were broken and both pool tables were in an unplayable state.  I can only hope that this will be rectified for the new season.
 
All in all, Cairnsmill is a nice wee site with decent facilities and we definitely benefited from the fact that it was empty.  I'm not sure what it's like when it's busy though.  Our experience with the pitch with rather off-putting too.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samtheman 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from spending a week at this site-had a lovely time -great facilities, very helpful staff and good weather too! Lots to see and do in the area. Big Morrisons supermarket just down the road. Bus stops outside the gate- beautifully kept grounds - very friendly locals. Would certainly re-commend this site and would also return to it!

Reviewer: Nieci 4 reviews from this member

August 2005
I have just returned after a three night stay at this excellent site with my son, and a friend and her young family. This site appears to be well established and well maintained. The toilet / shower block was clean but I would suggest a stool or folding seat (hung on the back of the door to save on space) for parents with young toddlers.

There were numerous activities for all ages on site e.g. swimming pool, games room, play parks, bar (unfortunately no restaurant). The site is in close proximity to St Andrews where the Lamas Fair was in progress along with numerous things to see and do e.g. good beach for the dog! and kite flying and of course golf.

My only grivance was the extremely hard stoney ground, (so a good strong tent peg and malet is required!) and the regular ear piercing noise of low flying jets from the nearby RAF airfield. But never the less we enjoyed our stay! Thanks

Reviewer: Skinny_jay 3 reviews from this member

July 2005
Just back from this site - agree with the other reviews - very mixed feelings. Good facilities as in the toilets, showers, dishwashing, etc but at times the showers and toilets were not very clean - our own fault though - we should have reported them and never!. Also agree with the sites for the tents - quite hilly and our pitch had a huge "divot" in it that you had to jump over or fall in if not careful!

Great location for visiting St Andrews which is a beautiful town (great ice cream!). The beaches are lovely as well as the harbour. The kids loved the pool room and the playpark was good - if they are happy - we are happy. A great holiday and probably will return but would ask for certain pitches next time.

Reviewer: Janet98 2 reviews from this member

April 2005
Just back from this site when we arrived didn't think they were very informative about the site and was very disappointed in their toilet block very cold and only had two showers as a disabled person there was nowhere to put your clothes while having a shower.

Reviewer: Shafto 4 reviews from this member

October 2004
Mixed feelings about this one - great to be so close to St Andrews. However it is on a busy road which never seems to quieten.

The new toilet block is fantastic and well maintained, although on occasion a little short of hot water both for dish washing and showering.

Probably not return, perfer a quieter site.

Reviewer: Jadenorthborder 10 reviews from this member

August 2004
Absolutely fantastic campsite, very close walking distance to the town itself.
The shower blocks are clean and everything is in one block, toilets, shower, laundry and washing up facilities.
The club house is good and caters for children and the swimming pool is nice and clean.
We got flooded out so be prepared for the weather changing very quickly. If you dont want flooding don't go on pitch 17 and 18 as these pitches do flood as all the water runs from the car parking area and tends to run like a valley into these pitches.

Reviewer: JennEd 4 reviews from this member

June 2004
We had a lovely weekend at this site however we weren't very impressed with the tent pitches.

When I booked on the phone I told the lady (very friendly) that we had a large tent and she assured me this would not be a problem. On arriving at the site we were very disappointed with the tent area: it was fairly small and the pitches seemed very close together and most of them seemed to be on quite a slope. The pitch we had been allocated was not large enough for our tent.

The site was busy and there were no other pitches available in the tent area, however we were given a pitch in beside the caravans and this worked out beautifully. The caravans were all well spaced so we had loads of room and it was a flat even pitch.

It wasn't a problem to be moved and the staff, while not overly friendly, were pleasant enough.

The toilet block and showers were clean and modern, however there was no place to put your "stuff" in the shower (clean clothes etc.)

Reviewer: Alimac 1 review from this member

June 2001
This is a lovely site, we had plenty room for 2 tents and 2 cars not far from a toilet block. Kids loved the pool and the games room, Granny loved the peaceful evenings sipping wine outside the tents. It was clean, staff were nice and friendly, and it wasn't far from the town. We only booked in for 2 nights, but ended up staying there for the whole week. Would go back again, as it's a beautiful area.

Reviewer: l harris

22nd aug 03
The camp is very clean, there are loads of anemity points, the staff are all very friendly and helpfull. We have four children and they loved the pool and the play parks and games room. We were very impressed and we will definately be going back again soon.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2859 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder