Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cairnsmill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Cairnsmill Caravan Park Reviews

Cairnsmill Caravan Park
Largo Road
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 8NN
Tel: 01334 473604
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Revid 13 reviews from this member

Lovely situated site easy reach of St Andrews but very limited mobile coverage, no mobile broadband.

Cycled the area but roads very rough and busy.

A very wet stay but was able to go onto a hard standing.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lindabaird 1 review from this member

Beautifully clean caravan and bar/shop/pool areas. However we arrived when the office was closed and although the warden was easy to find they gave us no information other than the key and said 'it's the 4th van down' - the vans weren't numbered and they didn't even come down with a torch to help us - they did know that we had travelled by train so no car lights etc.

Also no useful information in the van indicating where the bar was etc and no signage.

However bus stop outside the site every hour into town which was useful and very friendly staff in the bar - we would use the site again.

Small pots of long life milk would have been useful as there was tea/coffee/sugar. Would be 10 out of 10 if food was available in the bar.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Laura.breton 4 reviews from this member

We spent two nights here and found the facilities clean and well maintained. Itís a large site and the pitches are not huge.

We were allotted a pitch right next to the toilet block, which was not ideal, as everyone traipsed past our motor home where we were sitting out, on their way to the loo! The pitches are level and hardstanding, with a grass area alongside.

The shop was good, there is a lovely swimming pool, and a bar with entertainment if you want it.

One thing puzzled us: there are many, many rules, and many signs advising us of them. It all felt a bit overly rigid.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Karen baxter 3 reviews from this member

Had a lovely two night stay at Cairnsmill caravan park in St Andrews -very nice welcome and super organised at reception -

facilities great with clean toilets and showers and swimming pool and games room and bar -

intend to return next holiday -Great break

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jimagallan 11 reviews from this member

Nice clean site, lots of toilet and showers for tourers. Pub and entertainment basic but reasonably priced, no food on offer.

Fully serviced pitch. Motorhome grey water drop not good, very difficult to directly locate the pipe to as only a 9' hole to aim at and no taper to run towards this.

A 20 minute walk to town, plenty of supermarkets 5 minute walk. Steepish last 5 minutes back up to site.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz e 2 reviews from this member

Great caravan site just outside St Andrews, very clean - showers, toilets, pub, pool etc. Family owned site with touring area, statics and a few tent pitches.

Has lounge bar (no food), swimming pool, games room, play areas and a fishing lake. This is a great place for families. Dogs welcome. Keep on lead!

Gate at top end of site takes you on path to town, Morrison's supermarket is 5 minute walk away, beach and town centre 30 minute walk. Bus stop at site gate and there is also a bunkhouse.

Have been visiting Cairnsmill for over 20 years and would always return!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jcarter 4 reviews from this member

Stopped over for one night whilst touring east coast of Scotland. Very friendly staff, clean site and excellent facilities. Kitchen for tent area with hob, microwave and usual washing up facilities. Best shower I've ever had on a campsite.

Covered outdoor area for outdoor cooking even if weathers bad. Swimming pool included in price of £18 for tent and two people. Bar, games room and shop.

Would definitely stay again if in the area. Shame it's too far out to walk into town but highly recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fife-bloke 12 reviews from this member

Went to cairnsmill for the bank holiday weekend. Check in was quick and efficient and got our pitch details and off we went. Arrived at the pitch and while reversing in, two other caravans arrived waiting to get past me to get to their pitches(which I thought was a bit unusual sending 3 vans to the same row at the same time)

Pitch was a good size, although the van, awning and car was a squeeze so we had to park the car outside the toilet block which wasn't far in fairness.

Hard standing pitch was exactly that. Hard. I bent 4 rock pegs getting the awning pegged down which was a nightmare of a task.

Shower blocks were spotless and very well kept. But only 2 showers per block meant if you weren't quick, you were waiting a while to get a wash, which is a right pain.

Pool was excellent, as was the spa and my kids had loads of fun in there. Bit annoyed the sauna was a separate charge but only £2 so not the end of the world. Games room was fine and well kept and the bar prices were very reasonable. There was entertainment on the sat night which was loud and ran till midnight but didn't keep the kids awake thankfully.

Departure was fine, we were given an extra hour but didn't need it.

All in all a disappointing weekend mainly due to adverse weather (obviously not the sites fault) and the aforementioned issue with the lack of showers.

Would I go back? Yes but in the summer.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angie1993 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely two night stay at cairnsmill. It was all very clean and the staff welcoming, had everything you need. We were so pleased when we saw there was a two ring electric top in the washing up room, this was great for filling our hot water bottles at night as it was raining, much better than getting camp stove on the go and getting wet. The pool which is included in the pitch fee is very nice and the games room. The pitch was on a bit of a slope but we had a few giggles about rolling onto each other, all good fun and would definitely go back. Morrisons and aldi just down the road so handy for supply's.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alaine graham 5 reviews from this member

We have been coming to Cairnsmill for 7 years and have seen many changes over the last few years. Touring pitches are now all hard standing and large enough for van, awning and car. Some are fully serviced.

There are 2 toilet blocks in touring area. Maybe not enough showers when site is full but Iv never experienced having to wait. Toilet blocks are always clean.

The swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna is new this year and is really lovely and kept clean.

Behind the club there is a nice new lounge to sit in if you don't want to be in club area while entertainment is on and shout at each other over the music. We went in last night (thurs) and asked if the lounge was open, barmaid says not usually open on Thurs but she opened it to let us go in and sit in the nice comfy seats.

2 mins from Morrisons and Aldi and close enough to town.

Beaches are fantastic and always clean. Shame my dogs need washed after theyv had a run in the sand and a paddle in the sea!

There had been a mix up with my booking as our deposit payment hadnt gone through (which I made in may) and when I realised I hadnt recieved my usual postal confirmation I made a call to the office and the girl was very helpful and got us sorted out and was able to extend our stay to an extra night. She told us that she had tried to contact us several times by phone to recollect deposit but our answer machine wasn't working and our booking had in fact been cancelled. All the calls they made were logged on their computer. Efficient!

Saw a notice saying they were reconsidering allowing dogs on site due to owners not picking up dog poo. Hopefully this wont happen!

There are a couple of pitches which look onto statics and the toilet block but hey ho, I don't intend sitting in my van while I'm there so it doesn't bother me.

Cairnsmill also has free wi fi which is rare on a site!

Anyway, cant find any fault in this site at all.

Big changes, Big improvements, keep up the good work.

Booked up to return in Sept.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019