Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gables Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Moreton Valance > Gables Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Gables Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Gables Farm
Moreton Valance
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7ND
Tel: 01452 720331
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 51 to 59                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dead Sheep 13 reviews from this member

 This site provides a rather interesting fusion of good and bad features. Starting with the good, we were located in a very pleasant orchard located at the side of the site. Environmentally, the site is well cared for an maintained. The pitches were reasonably smooth though the ridges within the ground would be problematic for campers with large 'family tents'

On the negative side, I slept well with the aid of ear plugs but my fellow campers complained about the volume of noise pollution originating from the M6 and nearby A38. Furthermore, a reclamation plant a couple of fields away was also generating some noise from around 7am.

The showers and toilets were clean and contained soaps. Etc, however the block is in dire need on investment and is showing its age. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Magic48 26 reviews from this member

 Just spent three nights here. Had we not had to pay upfront before we were allowed in we would probably only have stayed one night.

The friendliness of the owners mentioned by other reviewers does not compensate for the substandard facilities [shower block] and level of cleanliness.

There are at least two sites nearby [Apple Tree Park and Tudor Arms] that are far superior. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparklycamper 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for 4 nights in August with a group of Adults.

The owners were friendly to me, but you must pay before you are allowed through the gate. Most of us were charged 8 a night, including friends with a large 8 man tent with a canopy, but our friends with a tiny 3 man tent were charged 10 / night. None of us could work this logic out?

There are lots of old caravans (many didn't seem to be in use), then a gate through to the field where tents pitch. When we arrived the grass was quite long (and we commented on it) but a tractor came the next day and mowed it.

Field mostly flatish and easy to peg into.

There were lots of fruit trees and blackberry bushes so we picked lots of yummy blackberries.

A couple of concrete blocks were lying around to rest a Bar B Que on.

The facilities were a bit old / dated but perfectly functional. Just a few small spiders. 3 loo's 2 showers per sex. They were cleaned and stocked daily. The showers were hot and clean and powerful and free.

There was a plug for hair dryer etc, with a mirror next to it.

There was also a washing up sink with as much boiling hot water as required.

Recycling is encouraged with separate dustbins for each type of recyclable waste.

This site was an ideal location for viewing the severn bore (which we did) and also for visiting Gloucester.

Its close to the M5 which is convenient, but also means its quite noisy, as you can hear the motorway throughout the day and night.(suggest ear plugs)

Animals have to be on leads. This is strictly enforced and the owners lead by example, by keeping their CAT on a lead at all times!

I would return here if I needed to, but not desperate, though 8 per tent per night including super hot showers, & unlimited blackberries was good value! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Willi1 3 reviews from this member

 All other reviews say how helpful the site managers are and I can't fault that.

Pulling onto the site, lots of empty caravans some possibly dating from the 50's. Three other vans on site that were in use and this was august.

Toilet block was supposed to be very clean, must have been reviewed when new. Dirty brown towel hanging on a piece of string on the wall,stains in the toilet bowls, not nice at all. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vinwasp 1 review from this member

 Booked very late for bank holiday weekend.

Warden very friendly, campers in separate field at back with plenty of space. Cheap and cheerful. Close to road but not disturbed by traffic. Toilets and showers clean and tidy.

Good access to canal for cycling but make sure you turn right out of campsite first. Once at Canal can take run into Gloucester but we preferred to turn right and go past cafes and ice cream shops until we came to really lovely village of Frampton. Great pub for eating outside. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pmills63 1 review from this member

 I visited this site after reading the positive reviews it had allready been given and I am pleased to say I was not dissapointed. It is a small site with basic facilities but everything is clean & tidy, the showers are hot and the rubbish area is all organised for recycling.

What made the site special was the friendliness and helpfilness of the Warden (Sonia) and her assistants, son Richard and helper Patrick. They were helpful, gave great service and advice and even invited us to join them for drinks & BBQ ( no pressure though)

The site is close to the M5 so a great stop off point. Less than a mile away is the canal and you can walk or bike all the way into gloucester - about 6 miles. It is beautifull countryside and Gloucester is well worth a visit - Docks & Cathedral visit reccommended. There is a cycle park area at the docks where you can leave your bike to tour town.

Back to the site- there is a shop (post office & cash machine) / 2 pubs / Indian and Chinese all in a complex 1 mile left out of camp. There ia a petrol station & McDonalds 1 mile right out of camp and a great pub with food on the riverside about 2 mile cycle or drive called The Anchor. Go right out of camp, first left over the canal bridge & bear left. Food was great.

I will be going again. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happycamper 1 1 review from this member

 Our stay at gables farm was very pleasant, the site itself is quiet and relaxing. Toilets and showerblock are kept very clean. The warden and her son are very friendly and helpful when needed,there are local shops and pubs nearby.
The M5 motorway links make it very easy to reach,we will be using this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Claire Williams 1 review from this member

 I'd like to let you know about this quiet, friendly site, which me and several friends visited in August 2007. My folks were holding a motorbike and sidecar weekend at the venue so myself and several members of my family decided to also go there (we're not bikers). The site wardens were extremely friendly and welcomed us all. We were given our own small field. Their prices were cheap the grass was neat and short, the toilet and shower facilites were clean. It was easy to get to from the m4/m5. There was a pub, takeaway and a small shop 1/4 mile away. Initally I thought my children would get bored very quickly, I was surprised to find that because of the sites size, the children explored more on their own, and had another nearby field to play football without the problem of knocking into caravans/tents or people sunbathing. All in all a very enjoyable weekend, which I would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 24 reviews from this member

 A very convenient site for the M5, between J12 and 13. Minimal facilities - a toilet /shower block, EHU and water.. Showers more of trickle. Mostly used for storage of caravans. Quite a secure site on a farm, not far from a small parade of shops local (1mile). 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 59     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gables Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gables Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gables Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Moreton Valance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1721 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement