Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Polstead > Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Holt Road
Bower House Tye
Polstead
Suffolk   (Browse area)
CO6 5BZ
Tel: 01787 211969
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 14/02/2021 to 07/01/2022
           14/02/2022 to 07/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angela68 5 reviews from this member

 We have just spent the weekend here. This an extremely well kept, small campsite. The showers/facilities were quite new and very nice.

The pitches are quite small and there isnt really any room for children to play. I think this site is more for people without children. The site shop is open strange times which isnt very helpful.

There are some lovely walks around the area and there is a pub about 10 mins walk away which was very nice for a bit of lunch.

We wouldn't go back to this site because, as mentioned, it did not cater for or really encourage children. The campers here seemed to be older.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SpinningYarns 2 reviews from this member

 Would concur with other reviewers that this is an excellent, well-run and friendly site – the washroom block is extremely good. Cycling and walking opportunities are excellent – Lavenham (a must), Long Melford, Sudbury and Constable Country are all easily accessible for cyclists along quiet roads.

Nearby, the Brewers has an acceptable carvery and beer, while the Cock at Polstead (bit further, but still walkable) has better food and beer, a chatty landlord and a more villagey outlook. Further still, there’s a completely veggie menu at the Red Lion in Great Bricett (its good stuff too), while the Rose at Lynsey Tye has excellent food, beer and a brilliant beer garden – with stuff for kids to play on.

Bus gets you to Sudbury (Thursday is Market Day) and Ipswich – best freebie is Christchurch Park in Ipswich, where the mansion houses Gainsborough and Constable collections and lots more. Try and find the Woolpack near the park – it serves seafood and is a good local. Overall though, Ipswich is a bit disappointing – Colchester may be a better bet, but you have to change bus in Sudbury.

Chief downside to the site is the main A1071 road – traffic starts up surprisingly early. The tenting ground is also next to a water tower which houses an astonishing array of satellite masts if you’re nervous of those.

The field is also home to a flock of wood pigeon who work the ground during the day if it is quiet, leaving their inevitable (and surprisingly large) calling cards – ensure the ground is clear before pitching your tent, Unawares, I trod in a dollop and then trod it into our new canvas tent as we were unpacking – I was still chuntering to myself two days later. Also, check soles before entering tent.

Would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Binjence 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a very hot and lovely weekend at this campsite. Everything previous reviews had said about both the welcome from the owners and the shower block proved to be true.

Just to add the splitting of the site into smaller fields makes it feel so much better and much more personal and not like you are packed in. We had a great pitch in the front field- yes there was road noise but no worse than many other sites.

We will definitely be back and will try the fish and chips delivered to your tent! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bessy2 2 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this site which we found superb. We loved the site, the facilities and the surrounding area, including the nearby pub.

The toilet block is especially good, with showers that make you want to stay in them all day! We visited with friends who also had a motorhome and the site owners went to great trouble to ensure that we were sited together with all the facilities that we needed.

This is definitely a site that is hight on our list of recommendations to others and we will visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bigrob73 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent, compact and friendly site. Beautifully maintained grounds and the excellent recent upgrades with a stylish new toilet block and reception gives the site a quality feel.

My only criticism is that the tent field is too near the main road, which led to some noisy nights! No problem for caravans but a little too loud for tents.

All in all though a very welcoming place to stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Willaiamleather 7 reviews from this member

 Has to be the best site I have visited. The facilities are second to none, the new toilet and shower complex are heated and very modern

2 good pub / restaurants near at hand and close to hadliegh, a nice small town

Greg and karen and really nice and very helpful. Greg even helps you to reverse onto the pitch (a boon if you are not good at reversing)

Our second visit and will be going again 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nanjan 3 reviews from this member

 Cannot speak highly enough, this campsite is fantastic. Superb shower block, spacious shower cubicles, spotless. Free use of a good hairdryer. Karen and Greg could not have been more helpful. It was busy and very booked but they managed to accommodate our friends very near to us, despite their late booking.

The pub on the main road is to be recommended, especially the delicious carvery, but do remember to book.

There is a delightful walk through the woods to the village of Polstead and again the pub there, open all day, serves really good lunches and evening meals.

The campsite is perfect for touring the area which is very beautiful. Hadleigh is a small market town with great local shops. The village of Kersey is stunning.

This was our second visit to the campsite, and it will definitely not be our last. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Billyboggins 8 reviews from this member

 In short, probably the best site we have ever been to. Facilities, cleanliness second to none, in fact the toilet block, showers and wash up facilities are the best I've ever seen anywhere.

Very helpful owners. Great base for touring Suffolk, there is a great pub 300 yards from the site entrance serving good food at reasonable prices. Only one thing to watch out for try and get a pitch away from the main road as this can be a little noisy at times 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DrDick 16 reviews from this member

 Our second stay at this site and once again the welcome we received from Greg and Karen was really great. They are so helpful and friendly, it is like going to visit friends.

The improvement to the site since our last visit was really great, the transformation of the facility block from a somewhat rundown building to what must now be classed as 5 star facilities is amazing. With superb shower, washing and toilet facilities, complete with underfloor heating, fantastic to say the least.

The chicken flock has grown a little with a couple of silkies and some bantams to keep Lewis 'the cockeral' company.

The site always seems to full with pitches being occupied almost as soon as they have been vacated, which must be a testament to the quality and friendliness of the site which is due to the wonderful attitude of Greg and Karen. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharon + Phil 11 reviews from this member

 We have returned to caravanning after seven years and chose Polstead for our first outing. We would like to thank Karen and Greg for all their help and for their guidance onto the pitch!

We had a wonderfully peaceful weekend at Polstead. The shower facilities were brand new and excellent. The pitches were ample in size with gravel hardstanding and grass. We thoroughly recommend this site and you can be assured of a warm welcome from Karen and Greg. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Polstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2773 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement