Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Polstead > Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Holt Road
Bower House Tye
Polstead
Suffolk   (Browse area)
CO6 5BZ
Tel: 01787 211969
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 15/02 to 06/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 95 Reviews
                9/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robbie_redcote 11 reviews from this member

After a gap of 4 - 5 years, we returned for a very pleasant weekend at Polstead. Spotless clean toilet / shower as ever, site laid out very well, plenty of shrubs and flowers etc. To make for a very good visual experience. Pitches very generous in size, Wi fi worked well in caravan, and Karen and Greg just a friendly, helpful, supportive as I remember them.

Indian meal delivered from Royal Bengal in Hadleigh 30 mins from when we ordered it. So worth considering

We had an issue with our car which meant I had to leave my caravan for an extra night, no problem at all to Karen and Greg, and would not here of any charge for this.

All in all, excellent site, excellent Wardens, cant recommend highly enough.

I rate them at 10 only because there is not a higher score to tick.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gordon67 16 reviews from this member

Our first visit to Suffolk took us to Polstead. Lovely welcome from the warden and a little gem of a site. After a lot of rain we were rewarded with a few days of sunshine which helped! The pitches were large enough and the shower block had under floor heating and was very clean. We took the bus from outside the site to Hadleigh one day (well worth a visit) and Sudbury in the other direction another day. We also did the walk into Polstead which was beautiful. Our dog enjoyed the stay but sadly the nearest pub to the site is not dog friendly. Very enjoyable stay and we would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 22 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! With a warm welcome, choice of two pitches, very easy access to the facilities block (we also had a water tap by our pitch) which was very clean and warm, handwash topped up as soon as it got low, plentiful hot water in the showers which are a very good size (no curtains to stick to your wet body!) with hanging hooks and a little bench seat - my only advice here is put your shoes as close to the door as possible to avoid splash from the shower - but that's the only (very small) downside. Quiet and tucked away, the only sound was birdsong, being half term there were some children on site but absolutely no problem to anyone that we could see and a few well behaved dogs. The pitches are spacious with space to the side for an awning (we don't have one) or chairs to sit and relax. The only slight downside is the minimal signage from the roads and the narrowish access road round the site, which requires extreme accuracy when manouvering - but it's a well laid out site using every available inch effectively! TV reception is excellent and the free Wi-Fi a plus point that other sites could easily emulate to their advantage. Fully booked when we were there, each pitch vacated and filled again straight away, we feel this reflects how well run this site is. All in all a great site that we will visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spinklespoo 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long weekend away at Polstead campsite with our 7 month old daughter and it was a lovely site. This was our first attempt at camping with a baby so we were a little nervous but the facilities (and the weather) were so good we needn't have been.

On arrival we were shown to our pitch, we were in a tent pitch with no electricity. It is a small site with the caravan pitches surrounding the central facilities block and the two tent fields on the outside of this. The site is completely flat and the grass is kept short. There are rows of trees separating the tent fields from the caravan pitches which gives it a nice secluded feel. Our field had nine pitches but there was plenty of space so you aren't too close to your neighbours. We were also instructed to park our car so as to separate the tents.

There is one facilities block with three sinks for washing dishes, a washing machine, tumble dryer and sink for washing clothes, various caravan things (I didn't pay much attention sorry), toilets and showers and a 'family room'.

In general everything was spotless and the toilet and shower areas were lovely and warm. The shower water was so nice and hot I didn't want to get out. But the best thing there was the family room. This was a large room with a toilet (disabled friendly too I think), wet room type shower, sink and baby changing table. It was lovely and warm too and it was great for getting the little one washed and changed out of the cold.

The location is great, being within walking distance of two pubs (or three for a day trip). There are several walks around the area which are not too challenging for most.

All in all a lovely place, highly recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blinkie 9 reviews from this member

On arrival we were made most welcome. We were allowed to choose a pitch of our choosing. We wanted a pitch near the showers and toilets as I am blind and my wife has mobility issues. The pitches are relatively private with tall hedges surrounding most pitches. The shower and toilet block was very clean and the accessible facilities were superb. The site was well maintained and spotless. It was very peaceful and relaxing, the sounds of birds was a pleasure. Our cat was fascinated by the hens that patrolled the site. Would we go again - certainly!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lifesforliving 1 review from this member

I felt I must take the time to write a review for this fabulous site. What a find! We had just left a coastal site a day early after being extremely disappointed and how different could 2 sites be.

We arrived early afternoon and were welcomed with a big smile by the joint owner Karen. We could choose our own pitch and decided on one adjacent to the shower block. The site is beautifully laid out amongst mature trees and shrubs and each pitch on the main part of the site had its own hedge which provided some privacy without cutting you off from your neighbours. The owners, Karen and Greg, had a wealth of information about the surrounding area, pubs etc and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay (we had booked 3 nights but extended to 5!) In fact they work extremely hard to ensure the site is pristine and it is obvious they put a lot of love into their work. They even organise takeaway fish and chips every Saturday.

Facilities were excellent with well appointed and warm shower block, laundry room and washing up area. Whilst the showers were the usual timed push button they seemed to flow longer than others we had experienced. The cubicles were larger than many and there were dressing areas with hooks and bench. There was even a hairdryer ladies!

We had supper at the Cock Inn in Polstead village which was a walk of approx. 30 mins through woodlands and meadows. Lovely pub and very nice food. Polstead is a pretty village with typical Suffolk architecture, cottage gardens and a large pond.

The area is criss crossed by narrow roads which take you through picturesque villages and there are a number of nice pubs within 5 miles of the site e. G. The Angel and The Crown at Stoke by Nayland. We did not visit the Brewers Arms which is 5 mins walk up the road but were told it served generous bar meals!

To summarise if I could replicate this site all over the UK I would be one happy camper. More importantly, Karen and Greg should be up for an award for their standard of customer service and care. I salute them.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy12miller 12 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the May bank holiday, what a lovely find, very welcoming on arrival- shown to our pitch by warden/manager, who ensured we knew where to find all facilities etc

Entrance a bit tight, have Buccaneer caravan but negotiated ok without a problem.

Very well kept and maintained site, didn't see a single piece of rubbish or litter - Toilets and showers very clean and excellent standard, copious amounts of hot water !

Other campers very friendly and chatty

Will be coming back and look forward to visiting again

Read reviews before coming here about the road noise, didn't find it to be an issue, close to the main road but road noise not a problem to us and did not spoil our stay, if you wish to hear a pin drop then maybe not the site for you.

We have two boys who are rugby mad and like to play cricket etc, it would of been nice if there was an area for ball games.

5 min walk to The Brewers arms - excellent pub food but take torch with you if walking back in the dark as need to cross main road.

Visited Hadleigh for a bit of food shopping - large coop in town and 'Andrews' butchers/deli bar in high street worth a visit - in one word superb !

Thank you Polstead Caravan park we had a lovely weekend XXX

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andtra 15 reviews from this member

What a great little site, I think friendliness must have emanated from this particular site. Both Gregg and Karen always find the time for a smile and a wave even whilst working incredibly hard and I think it rubs off on all the visitors. The site is very compact but with expert guidance from Gregg we reversed onto our pitch with ease, we visited within hours after storm Katy so the ground was sodden and being clay did not dry up much during our short stay but that was nobody's fault other than mother natures. The dog walks are small but there are plenty of walking opportunities literally just off site and me and the Dane walked miles down quiet country lanes and across fields. As mentioned by another reviewer there is some road noise but do not let you put this off as it is not an issue during the night. There is a great deal to see locally so this site is absolutely ideal and after a busy day totally relaxing. The facilities are some of the best we have come across and although small (3 showers in each), this seemed to be enough as we never queued, the underfloor heating is fantastic and they are always spotless no matter what time of the day you use them. Taking all things into consideration I think that both Gregg and Karen should be congratulated for running a fabulous site that we will most certainly be revisiting in the future.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oldcodgers 21 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site well laid out, the bushes and trees between each pitch are home to lots of different birds. The toilet block is very clean and tidy. The site shop is well stocked for every day items, the bread was great especially the granary loaves. You can order daily newspapers. We didn't need to shop but there are plenty of supermarkets etc in Sudbury, including an ALDI. Our dogs enjoyed the varied walks, the dog area is good if you don't want to go far. We had an evening meal at the Brewers Arms just across the main road, the landlord was really friendly and we had an excellent meal, there is a carvery which a number of locals were using. Plenty of places to visit in the surrounding area. Finally the owners were very friendly, welcomed us to the site, showed us to our pitch, always smiling. Would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul + stella 21 reviews from this member

Great site with lovely owners. Beautifully laid out with gravel driveways and each pitch hedged for privacy plus plenty of grass areas for relaxing. Fantastic shower block always spotless. Reception doubles as a small shop for essentials including beautiful bread and their own eggs. Lovely pub with excellent food just 5 minutes walk. Looking forward to our next stay in this peaceful location.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4033 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019