Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Polstead > Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Holt Road
Bower House Tye
Polstead
Suffolk   (Browse area)
CO6 5BZ
Tel: 01787 211969
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 14/02 to 07/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 72 reviews from this member

 Not cheap (27 pn) but a lovely clean, tidy site with very helpful staff. Lots of information available. Free wifi but it's weak and slow.

The buses are every two hours. Hadleigh and Sudbury only merit a short stay in our view. The takeaway delivered by the Royal Bengal was really good.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bazpoint 1 review from this member

 Very pleasant site - we had pretty dire weather but that's not their fault!

Greeted on arrival by owner/manager who bravely walked us down to our pitch in pouring rain. Only had a couple of minutes of interaction with her but seemed very nice. Be aware it's a 1pm earliest check in (but the pay-off is a generous midday departure). Good sturdy (almost) flat pitch on chunky gravel. Took pegs well enough with a bit of persuasion. Surrounding mud was a quagmire, totally understandable given the weather.

Toilet/shower block was faultless. Immaculately clean, well lit, good water, etc. Only waste water disposal was near the toilet block, a short walk from where we were on the bottom field - not the end of the world by any means, but a minor drag in the rain.

Simple assault-course style play area for kids. Was pretty muddy but again understandable given recent weather. I'm sure that it'd provide a decent bit of entertainment in better weather.

Plenty of local interest - on the Friday we went to the small but cute local market in Hadleigh, followed by a fun outing to the interesting Lavenham Hall (National Trust) about 20 mins away. NT again on the Saturday with a longer drive to Sutton Hoo, though sadly the walks were closed due to high winds.

Only real downer was traffic noise. Main road is only a few metres away from the bottom field, and we could definitely hear it (when we weren't getting battered by the wind). Did put a bit of a damper on the 'camping in the county' vibe. Probably wouldn't be such a problem in a caravan (we were in a FC).

Overall happy, will probably explore elsewhere rather than returning, but would have no qualms recommending to others. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Johnscrivy 8 reviews from this member

 A very very nice site all be quite small pitches.

I booked on morning of arival and spoke with a very friendly lady who is one of the wardens, I booked in and was shown my pitch which was a double one

Because I was traveling solo and over 60 the cost was very cheap. "well chuffed" I got set up and had a wonder around, all pitches are a bit smallish unless you get a double.

The site toilets showers and disabled toilets and washing up areas are immaculate and plenty of them. There is a very good play area for kids. There is a road next to site and road noise was quite minimal.

Would I go back YES I will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Teeekay 13 reviews from this member

 We found this site very easily following the CCC instructions and while the main road is not that far away the noise was not a problem.

Very high hedges around the perimeter of the site and hedges between pitches provided protection from the wind and any road noise.

Lovely site and friendly wardens who were helpful on arrival. Toilet block was very good with u/floor heating and spacious shower cubicles.

Pubs in surrounding villages all serve high quality found and are pet friendly (sole exception was the closest) but not cheap. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Elgrego 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely site - perfect for relaxation. Very friendly welcome and given a choice of pitches - very attractively landscaped with shrubbery between spacious pitches giving a sense of privacy.

Excellent facilities. A very pleasant half hour walk through the woods takes you to Polstead village - very pretty with a large duck pond, village green with an oak tree, community shop and pub.

One tip - don't do what we did and drive to Polstead looking for the campsite - it's a couple of miles to the north down narrow country lanes and not signposted.

It's just off the A1071 and easily accessed from there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jusbluey 25 reviews from this member

 The site is very good & so are the facilities, the only downside for me was the road noise, which I found to be very annoying at night time.

I plugged my ears with cotton wool & this certainly helped. Whilst there we did a lot of walking (its a very flat county) & visited many villages, local hostelries & churches, which I have to say are magnificent.

The pub just down the road is very popular, which is a good sign, but doesn't allow dogs, the meal we had there was very enjoyable.

Overall a pleasant stay but due to the road noise I wouldn't revisit 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gmp57 4 reviews from this member

 Compact site. Reasonably quiet, depending on the traffic on the nearby main road.

All 'road' surfaces and pitches are covered in pebbles.

Each pitch is separated from the adjacent pitch by a high hedge, giving some privacy.

Mixture of 10A & 16A EHU's - we use our microwave, so prefer the higher rating. This may not be a concern for everyone. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robbie_redcote 11 reviews from this member

 After a gap of 4 - 5 years, we returned for a very pleasant weekend at Polstead. Spotless clean toilet / shower as ever, site laid out very well, plenty of shrubs and flowers etc. To make for a very good visual experience. Pitches very generous in size, Wi fi worked well in caravan, and Karen and Greg just a friendly, helpful, supportive as I remember them.

Indian meal delivered from Royal Bengal in Hadleigh 30 mins from when we ordered it. So worth considering

We had an issue with our car which meant I had to leave my caravan for an extra night, no problem at all to Karen and Greg, and would not here of any charge for this.

All in all, excellent site, excellent Wardens, cant recommend highly enough.

I rate them at 10 only because there is not a higher score to tick. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gordon67 16 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to Suffolk took us to Polstead. Lovely welcome from the warden and a little gem of a site. After a lot of rain we were rewarded with a few days of sunshine which helped!

The pitches were large enough and the shower block had under floor heating and was very clean. We took the bus from outside the site to Hadleigh one day (well worth a visit) and Sudbury in the other direction another day.

We also did the walk into Polstead which was beautiful. Our dog enjoyed the stay but sadly the nearest pub to the site is not dog friendly.

Very enjoyable stay and we would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 26 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! With a warm welcome, choice of two pitches, very easy access to the facilities block (we also had a water tap by our pitch) which was very clean and warm, handwash topped up as soon as it got low, plentiful hot water in the showers which are a very good size (no curtains to stick to your wet body!) with hanging hooks and a little bench seat -

my only advice here is put your shoes as close to the door as possible to avoid splash from the shower - but that's the only (very small) downside.

Quiet and tucked away, the only sound was birdsong, being half term there were some children on site but absolutely no problem to anyone that we could see and a few well behaved dogs.

The pitches are spacious with space to the side for an awning (we don't have one) or chairs to sit and relax.

The only slight downside is the minimal signage from the roads and the narrowish access road round the site, which requires extreme accuracy when manouvering - but it's a well laid out site using every available inch effectively!

TV reception is excellent and the free Wi-Fi a plus point that other sites could easily emulate to their advantage. Fully booked when we were there, each pitch vacated and filled again straight away, we feel this reflects how well run this site is.

All in all a great site that we will visit again. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Polstead Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Polstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3090 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement