Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Coleford > Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site
Forest Of Dean, Bracelands Drive
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL16 7NN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 520
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 130 Reviews
                7/10 from 130 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  130 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MandiNKel 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights and it rained oh boy did it rain!

The toilet and shower block was clean, even in the down pour.

The surrounding area (forest) is astounding, its a beautiful area.

The only problem we had was the stony ground we must of taken twice as long pitching just due to trying to peg down. The ground was really stony and we bent quite a few pegs due to this.

All in all this is a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kmac9909 5 reviews from this member

 Visited this site over the August Bank Holiday weekend. The site is large and is well located to visit the Forest of Dean, Symonds Yat and to go canoeing on the Wye.

The place was packed though with in many instances less than the fire regulated 6 meter gap between tents. The ground was mostly sloping.

The toilets especially the gents were awful. They stank and were very basic. For a site supporting over 500 units, they should have had more toilets and cleaned them more than once a day. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fletcher5050 13 reviews from this member

 Pre booked 4 nights on a premium pitch (includes EHU) a week before trip. Arrived and booked in with no problems had a number of pitches to chose from, views are quite good from the premium pitches as they are all on higher ground. Non EHU are on a lower level which may get water logged in wet weather. There are numerous water points around the site, there are 3 shower blocks lower 2 are a bit dated but plenty of hot water and clean, on the last morning there was no water to any of the blocks, wardens were working on the problem when we struck camp but they ended up flooding middle block cannot say what the final outcome was? Plenty of rubbish bins around the site but not much in the way of recycling.

Found the reception very helpful after a small accident. I asked about the nearest A & E (20 miles away) and they printed me off directions to nearest Small Injury Clinic 6 miles away which I found to be most useful.

On the River Wye there is Canoeing and boat trips, also near-by are plenty of tourist attractions. The area is great for walking and cycling along the forest tracks. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oxtonvillage 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in early August having booked an EHU for a tent with two adults and two children. We arrived on Sunday and left on Saturday.

The scenery is fantastic and the walks in the woods are lovely (esp. Biblins Bridge)

There are very few places on the Bracelands site that are level and the EHU pitches are quite close together. The standard pitches had a bit more space and it seemed that you could pitch more or less were you liked - as long as you were 6m from the next unit.

The toilet blocks are quite old and the men's urinal constantly stank of urine; locks on some of the doors were missing and on the odd occasion toilet-roll was missing from the cubicles. There was, however, plenty of hot water in the showers and dish-wash rooms. There was some queueing in women's shower and dish-washing area on a couple of occasions during busy periods.

It was fairly quiet though the week apart from a couple of yobs riding bikes between the pitches - very close to our BBQ and Swing-Ball, and over the EHU line - despite being asked not to. When we asked the staff for help, the ranger just didn't want to know and was quite off hand - it took three phone calls before anyone would come over to the pitch. The site staff just shrugged their shoulders and said they couldn't do anything

On the plus side, we did see deer in the woods on a couple of occasions - which the kids loved. Monmouth and Ross are lovely and we walked from Bracelands to Monmouth, had a pub lunch and caught the bus back to the site entrance. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave+Sue35 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived around midday on a Friday To a very busy Reception. I was a little disheartened to find that the pre paid ticket I had, still meant I had to que with the masses but after about 20 Mins all was OK. We opted for hook up this time which limited our options for a pitch. I would say unless you really need hook up I would opt for not as there are some much better private pitches around the edges of the site.

The site is very pretty with the woods to the back. The site was very busy and a hive of children and play areas. To be expected the first weekend of the summer hols! The toilet and shower facilities were ok but I have to say that they were not the best I have seen for 3 stars but plenty of hot water. Just didn't seem really clean and a bit tatty round the edges. The shop was ok but through high volume soon ran out of a lot of things but there is a tesco and summerfield in Coleford which is only about 5 mins in the car.The surrounding area is simply outstanding and we did around 20miles on the bikes through woods and along the river Wye.

A good time had but on the more expensive side I would expected a little more for the money. I would avoid the middle of the site if your not an early riser as well as the roads soon turn into kiddies racetracks.

So all in all a fair site in a nice part of the world. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jen9984 1 review from this member

 We've just completed our first camping trip at Bracelands and were quite impressed. The other reviews here give an accurate portrayal of the site, which was really helpful for us - no nasty surprises!

We arrived on the Wednesday afternoon and 'checked in' at Christchurch - it only took us about 5 minutes (as others have said - be ready with 10 in cash for the barrier key). We were allowed to pitch wherever we liked on Bracelands, and there was lots of choice. Eventually we chose a flat pitch on top of the hill at the far end of the site - there were only about 5 tents on the entire top field so we had lots of space.

Unfortunately, the facilities block nearest our tent was out of order, but we were told about this twice before we pitched near it - we didn't mind the 5 min walk to the next one. Showers were a good temperature and I didn't mind pressing the button every 30 seconds - this is camping after all! A free hot shower is something of a luxury.

Although we had a flat pitch, it was rather exposed to the wind and rain, and I wonder whether the pitches further down, although on a slope, would have been better sheltered from the elements.?

Our dog was made to feel very welcome, and it really was a spaniel heaven for him. The site was very quiet on the Wednesday on Thursday. On the Friday it filled up quite dramatically, and by 9pm we had tents pitched both sides of us. Still had some space but people didn't always obey the '6 metre' rule. It got a little noisy on the Friday night with lots of big groups, but things seemed to go quiet after midnight. I have to say though, we preferred the quieter nights and were glad to be leaving on the Saturday!

As for the area - it's great. You walk straight off the site and into the forest - miles and miles of tracks to explore. We very rarely bumped into other people when we were out and about. We had a couple of emergencies - needing to buy a new dog collar and also pay a trip to the local health centre. Both times Coleford came up trumps and we found everything we needed there. Including a nice little takeaway on the night it rained incessantly.

So, would we return? Yes, I think so. But probably not at peak times, and when we do - we'll find a more sheltered pitch! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susieb88 3 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from a weekend at this campsite and had a great time. The views were fantastic, we had a good selection of EHU pitches as we got there around 1pm on the Friday. All were pretty level and the soil depth was good so no bent tent pegs.

The toilet blocks, (3 of them) although a bit tatty looking were fairly clean, the showers were good with plenty of hot water, the only problem was you have to continually push the button because they don't seem to last very long.

Washing up facilities were as required, although very busy at peak times of the day. Other facilities Including water, waste & litter all in easy reach from everywhere which made for a convenient and comfortable stay.

Locally there is plenty to do for young families.

We went to the Perrygrove railway and had a lovely time there, hunting down the clues for the treasure hunt. The steam trains were a big hit and everyone there was very friendly and helpful.

The campsite is a short drive away from the amazing Symonds Yat and Yat rock, with fantastic views over the Wye Valley.

All in all a lovely spacious site, facilities are basic but good and its in a beautiful setting. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Warbis66 28 reviews from this member

 This is my first visit to Bracelands but my fourth to that area as the last twice we have stayed at Christchurch.

We live in Bristol so very easy to get to and were there by 4.30 on the Friday afternoon.

Sadly as usual the queue at reception always makes the start of the experience rather stressful. For some reason it always seems to be a shock to them that people are there!

The receptionists however are very polite and courteous and do make you feel as though you are checking in for a holiday which is nice.

We picked the furthest away spot in the campsite at the top of the hill as we wanted to camp with some other families.

View gorgeous, spot lovely. However they do need to get the point that loo blocks need to be cleaned. I fully appreciate that it had been raining and that you will always get grass but that does not excuse the loos themselves which were unpleasant, often dirty and usually unflushed. Also bearing in mind there is a swine flu epidemic and we are ment to be hygiene aware they did not once fill up the soap dispensers, so much for hygiene. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jellycandy 2 reviews from this member

 I have stayed in this area before, but never in a tent and never at Bracelands. It is a fantastic spot. The facilities are excellent, clean and tidy and lots of hot water. The wardens are very helpful, including when I booked Christchurch campsite instead on Bracelands on line, it was changed with no fuss at all.

The woods are fantastic lots of walks and bike rides, if you want to stretch your legs on the hills you can, if you are feeling less energetic I would recommend taking your bike to Cannop Ponds and picking up the cycle trail here for 10 miles of fairly flat terrain. If you are motorhoming it is worth mentioning that all the car parks are free of barriers (hooray), if you are staying for a week I would recommend the weekly car parking pass, for only 10 pounds (this may have increased) you can park in any of the Forest Car parks all week, available at beechenhurst lodge. The sculpture trail starts here also and is a good way to aquaint yourself with the forest.
Symonds Yat is a must and a nice bit of homemade cake can be found at the food kiosk here along with hot and cold sandwiches, well worth a visit. It is worth plodding down the hill to the pub and the hand ferry below the yat, however be warned you need good lungs for the journey back to the top. From Bracelands you can walk to the Yat cross the river at the hand ferry and make your way back via Bilbins Bridge and back to camp, map recommended. Staying just once is a must, you will be back for more! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RDJT 3 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location for visiting the Forest of Dean, Symonds Yat is only a few minutes drive and you can walk to the River Wye from the site.

It has a small site shop with plenty of information. The local town has basic shops, everything you need.

The site has adequate facilities which are always well maintained. Showers are free and there are plenty of them. Washing up etc is also good. There is a security gate, you need a 10 refundable deposit for the key - this is to keep out the wild boar!

There is no playground, but there is so much space that the kids have plenty of room for a frisby, football etc.

We would highly recommend this site for visiting the forest and local area. 


Previous     130 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coleford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3264 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement