Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Coleford > Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site > Reviews

Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site
Forest Of Dean, Bracelands Drive
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL16 7NN
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01594 837258
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 520
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 135 Reviews
                7/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dcperk 2 reviews from this member

 Booked site as 2 families both hard standing when we arrived we we're informed pitches are not reserved and to just find 2 together, luckily we found 2 next to each other but have to say I’ve never experienced this before.

However We did find ourselves pitching behind sited caravans, we set up and let the kids play near by whilst doing so until we had time to check out site fully.

The site has no play area for children which is not a problem for us as we always have a bag of games, however after the children had been playing football for around 10mins an elderly lady from one of the sited caravans told the children to stop playing ball & came over to complain to us, my wife duly defended the children playing & decided to go to reception to lodge a complaint, it was at this point we were informed the site has a no ball game policy “very surprised at this as throughout the site children were playing in various spots all manner of ball games”

We spoke to the kids and asked them to play away from all caravans, pods, tents ect ect which was not a problem.

This put a slight dampener on what was generally a good break, the sites facilities are very basic & showers intermittent, shop is basically stocked, staff where friendly.

By day 3 all the kids where playing cricket In Some space in amongst all the other families with no issues.

I think due to the size of site the pitch were you like method is used however with no defined area for children to play this can cause problems,

If I was to go back I would not pitch anywhere near the miserable sited crew 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Phil-c 2 reviews from this member

 Visited with friends for the June Bank holiday this year, this is a very large site and my first impression was it looked like a very large car boot sale with the amount of campers positioned, with most pitches being on a slope.

If you like sitting outside talking to friends then this site is definitely not for you as we were told off for talking and listening to quiet music at 21:15 and no BBQ food can be cooked after 10pm, so again we were told of by a site marshal who made us put the BBQ out.

The toilet blocks was adequate although a toilet door kept hanging off in the block we used but with the amount of usage they were what I would expect.

Another surprise I did have was the site shop didn’t sell any types of bread.

On a plus note

The location of the site for the forest off Dean is in a fantastic area with lovely walks through the forest and to the pubs and Symonds Yat. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SoggySteve 6 reviews from this member

 If I'm being honest, I tend to avoid overly organised campsites as they are often more enticing to caravan and motorhome users with satellite TV aerials on their roofs and lawn mowers in their garages. That is not my style of camping and although we like to be warm, dry and comfortable. We like to be out there camping in the truer sense whether in our van or in one of our tents.

This site actually does a bit of both but leans more towards white plastic boxes than nomadic style tent dwellers and small vans. We did actually use their electric hookup as our solar panel is mostly broken through impact damage and our batteries had been abused the past few days. This was an additional £5 on top of the £20 we paid for two of us in one van. There are plenty of points to plug in on hard standing or on the grass so they've done well there. There is another much more hilly field that has no hookup as well.

The site is large and their toilet blocks and showers are super clean and relatively modern as well so no problems there. The site is surrounded by tall pine tree forest where you can walk and cycle around. It's beautiful and more so when you head up towards the river Wye where you can walk for hours.

A walk to the Saracen's head pub that also has a kayaking/canoeing facility where you can go on a 9 mile journey down the Wye which is highly recommended though a little pricey at £60 for two people in one canoe.

The Saracen's pub is also very nice and has some great real ales on tap and a great outside seating area that I imagine gets very busy in the summer months. The food is also very good, though a little pricey also.

A walk to this pub was done using a Garmin hiking GPS and takes about an hour though the walk back has some steep hills to climb but it is well worth it.

There is no shop on site as such and what is there is basic tinned stuff and milk but very little that's useful. There is a small shop less than a mile away (the Dairy) which has a much better though basic selection of stuff though they had a good selection of real ales which I didn't expect.

Overall, I wouldn't go back to this site for the camping experience as it was nothing special but could be swayed by the tall trees, walks and sitting by the river on a sunny day. Our last day was a Friday and the overall price went up to £28. 80 which I find hard to explain.

Yes it's a business but why hike the price for people already there as if you are getting something better than the night before just because it's Friday. Our personal finances don't increase because it's the weekend but theirs do which earns them a marking down.

Finally. The people that work there are very friendly and accommodating. There is no contactless payments so take a card or cash.

If you like walking and prefer the comfort of that indoor feeling you get with a caravan and to some extent a motorhome and require electricity then this could work for you.

If you like the more nomadic less frilly campsites I'd have a look around the area a little before heading there. 


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 56 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for eight nights arriving on the day storm Eunice arrived followed closely by storm Franklin.

Really lovely site right on the edge of the forest, with plenty of cycling trails and walking routes including down to Symonds Yat - note the word down which means very up on the way back.

Only one toilet and shower block was open and this was sufficient for the number of units on the site at the time (out of season)

Wardens very helpful, lots of local up to date information in the foyer of the shower block, with lots of places to visit locally in the area.

Pitches are not level its a terraced site and will require levelling blocks for motorhomes.

The site is well maintained and clean, although the facilities are of an age, but perfectly usable. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 36 reviews from this member

 As we neared Bracelands we used the directions given in our welcoming email rather than those given by ‘Jane’, the voice of our satnav and it worked out well.

Arriving Friday mid afternoon, we were dealt with efficiently and politely by the wardens.

Our pitch was dead level in both directions which made setting up a doddle.

The site appeared very full yet never had to wait for a shower which surprised me as there weren’t that many though there were two shower blocks in operation.

The blocks are not brand new but found them more than adequate.

Stroll out of the site and you’ll find walks through the forest on either side of the road. We chose to walk to Symonds Yat - about 1. 25 hours away - and met both young and old on the trail. Well worth it as the views were stunning!

There’s not much within walking distance - apart from walking!

Enjoyed our stay and would return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philip Howarth 14 reviews from this member

 After a well signposted approach, a warm welcome by friendly & informative staff.

A large site with good facilities, a good location for activities, whatever your tastes and quiet - be aware a weak mobile signal and no internet.

The site is well kept and tidy, the wardens running a friendly but stick to the rules attitude - great!

Our only criticisms were while there were speedbumps on the top internal road not the others - badly needed for folks who can't read/ are lazy/ don't care for other people's welfare & obey the speed restriction signs-in spite of the staff issuing regular & timely reminders to offenders.

It is a large open site with minimal separation or hedges- maybe the introduction of some hedges would improve the site.

Otherwise a lovely site. Great walks adjacent. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Islandboy 6 reviews from this member

 As others have said, a very large clearing in the middle of the Forest of Dean.

We were allowed to choose our own pitches. When we were there over the Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend the place was full (520 units) so not that quiet during the day.

It has 3 toilet blocks, 2 of which need some updating but the one nearest the entrance is the better one.

There is a Cafe at the top of the hill where food is served. The cups of coffee are huge so well worth the cost. The burger and chips are also delicious.

There are plenty of shops in Coleford which is only a couple of miles from the site, including a Lidl and large Co-op. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, including the Forest of Dean Railway in Lydney and plenty of walks and bike rides in the forest itself.

The play area is by The Cafe along with bike hire and Archery lessons.

We have been here at various times of the year and it never disappoints. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 32 reviews from this member

 Our first time at this site. We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival and were left to choose our own pitch. The surroundings are lovely and you really feel in the middle of nowhere.

The shower and toilet block was adequate but a little dated. Free showers but no temperature control.

We drove to a nearby pub and had a very nice meal. There is also the Forest of Dean camping/hot tub site nearby where you can eat and buy food and drink - it is a little expensive though. We also discovered a convenience store at the top of the road.

We took a long walk down the side of the river and ended up at the Saracens Head Pub. It was going to be a long walk back, it was getting dark and our mobiles were fast running out so we tried to order a taxi - it was impossible to get one with some saying it was too far to come out and another wanted to charge us £25. 00 for a short journey. Luckily the manager of the pub offered us a lift and thanks to him we got back safe and sound. So, if you are venturing out then bear this in mind.

The only downside for us of the campsite was that there was limited phone signal and no internet signal. This might be a plus point for some.

A very nice site in lovely surroundings - we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: CB-Camper 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Bracelands for 3 nights in July 2018, our first foray to the Forest of Dean and what a great site and location, just make sure you follow the site directions and not the Sat Nav if you're towing a trailer or caravan!

We intended our stay to just be a stopover to break up our journey on route to South West Wales however we were pleased we chose to stay for more than 1 night as there is so much to explore in the local area.

Staff on site were super friendly and helpful, facilities were clean and simple. On site laundry room was a big help when travelling with a young child!

Will definitely be back to this site to explore the local area more as it is such a convenient base and surrounded by the forest makes it a beautiful site. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

 Nice glade campsite.

A number of hardstanding pitches and plenty of grass pitches. Nice clean shower block.

Poor area for mobile phone signal area, if you use phone maps download them before you start off.

Stunning area for beauty. Very good for forest walks and cycling.

Will definitely return. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coleford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3498 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement