Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Coleford > Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Bracelands Camping In The Forest Site
Forest Of Dean, Bracelands Drive
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL16 7NN
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01594 837258
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 520
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 127 Reviews
                7/10 from 127 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 20 reviews from this member

Our first time at this site. We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival and were left to choose our own pitch. The surroundings are lovely and you really feel in the middle of nowhere.

The shower and toilet block was adequate but a little dated. Free showers but no temperature control.

We drove to a nearby pub and had a very nice meal. There is also the Forest of Dean camping/hot tub site nearby where you can eat and buy food and drink - it is a little expensive though. We also discovered a convenience store at the top of the road.

We took a long walk down the side of the river and ended up at the Saracens Head Pub. It was going to be a long walk back, it was getting dark and our mobiles were fast running out so we tried to order a taxi - it was impossible to get one with some saying it was too far to come out and another wanted to charge us £25. 00 for a short journey. Luckily the manager of the pub offered us a lift and thanks to him we got back safe and sound. So, if you are venturing out then bear this in mind.

The only downside for us of the campsite was that there was limited phone signal and no internet signal. This might be a plus point for some.

A very nice site in lovely surroundings - we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

Nice glade campsite.

A number of hardstanding pitches and plenty of grass pitches. Nice clean shower block. Poor area for mobile phone signal area, if you use phone maps download them before you start off. Stunning area for beauty. Very good for forest walks and cycling. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 940S 7 reviews from this member

This campsite is in a lovely location In the middle of the forest. It is quite a large site, yet doesn't feel that busy. We had booked a hardstanding pitch, when checking in the the staff point you in the right direction and leave you to find a vacant pitch. The toilet/shower block was always clean and the showers always hot. Staff are friendly and always on site.

I did have a small issue trying to arrange a late check out. I had rang the site weeks before to try and arrange this and was told it wouldn't be a problem. Just sort it out when I arrived. Sadly this wasn't the case and I ended up booking an extra night.

There are many paths from the site that take you into symonds yat and Monmouth. There are cycle routes as well which we did with the children. There is also a cycle centre nearby that has some really good trails.

This site is lacking a play area for the children. It may be different on the grass area, but where we were pitched there wasn't much space for the children to play. They did go and play on the grass area only to be told by a very rude lady that it was not allowed!

Overall this site is really nice, a little on the expensive side but I would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pezamb 10 reviews from this member

Excellent site in an amazing area. Staff friendly on arrival and put us at ease. Pitches on a slope but as you can pitch anywhere I'm sure there are a few flat ones. We visited Puzzlewood a few minutes away then had a jaunt around the forest alongside the site which can be accessed easily. Toilets and showers nice and warm and large. Slightly on the pricey side (£25 for a night with no hook up for or small tent) but as it was a bank holiday I guess that is the norm. Would visit again without a doubt.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 87 reviews from this member

Access is not difficult, but keep your wits about you or you'll miss it.

From Monmouth take the A4136 and then left just before the Gulf filling station at Berry Hill. The turning to the site is signed off Grove Rd, but take care you don't miss the sharp left onto Bracelands drive.

Ignoring the first reception area on your right carry on down the hill to Bracelands.

Reception was professional and both entry and exit to the site is controlled by security barriers. On checking in we were instructed that we must reverse onto the pitch. We followed these instructions, but many that arrived after us did not, and were not asked to move their units.

The site has a few camping pods and 3 some hard standings for winter use. The hard standings are quite small though and your towcar needs to be parked on the grass if you have an awning.

The site slopes but is mostly grass and is very scenic.

WE got good digital TV through our status ariel and a fairly decent o2 internet signal using a dongle.

Walking directly into the forest from the site is possible so if you have supplies and walking is your thing then your car needn't move.

Toilet block is geared up for all year round but is showing it's age somewhat, but was always clean for the duration of our stay.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Drjbc 51 reviews from this member

This is a site we'll definitely go back to: excellent facilities, open all year, and well situated in a good area for walking and mountain biking. Essentially it's a large clearing in the forest, mostly grass but with a few dozen pitches with hard standing and electricity. Various gates open onto forest paths. In one direction you can walk to the spectacular viewpoint at Symonds Yat. Another takes you to the river, with a footbridge and the Wye Valley riverside path leading miles through pleasant country, both upstream and down. The village, a mile along the approach road, has a general stores, a chinese takeaway, and a selection of pubs.

Reception was very friendly and, despite being quite busy at New Year, let us choose a pitch ourselves. That freedom costs a campsite nothing but it can make a big difference to a stay. When we're placed somewhere it's never quite where we would have chosen!

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The Sparlings 5 reviews from this member

Bracelands is situated, right in the middle of the Forest of Dean. The site is well kept and had plenty of space when we visited in October but I can imagine it would be pretty crowded if it was full near to it’s 520 pitch capacity. Pitches are mostly level or on a gentle slope. The staff were welcoming and very helpful.

If you’re looking for night clubs and bars, forget it. If you’re looking for a great location with plenty of walks and exploring direct from the site then this could be for you.

The toilet and shower facilities are in three blocks at strategic locations around the site, one of which (unfortunately the closest to our pitch) was closed when we arrived due, we were told, to the low numbers of campers. The second also closed while we were there, for the same reason. The staff however were helpful helping us to relocate to a more convenient pitch. The facilities themselves are somewhat dated and basic, but adequate. Showers are OK, and free, but have no individual temperature control – they’re warm. If you like a hot or cold shower or are particularly fussy then you might be disappointed.

The listing states they have a kids’ playground. If they have one we missed it (and I’m sure the grandchildren who were with us would have certainly found it if there was one). This wasn’t a big deal in any way however as there was plenty of open space to run around in on the site, and with paths leading from the site directly into the Forest plenty of opportunities to explore.

Supplies of bread and milk were available from reception, but for anything else you need to go offsite. The nearest shop is a small corner-store type about a mile walk away up the hill that leads to the site.

The motorhome service point was very useful, drive over the drain and empty your waste tank directly whilst cleaning out your loo cassette at the adjacent CDP. Very handy, but only one – fine when we were there, but I could imagine a long queue in peak season.

So, in short, a few shortcomings in terms of facilities, but what a fantastic location.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen19 2 reviews from this member

What an absolutely delightful site. Great location and surrounding area. The facilities are fantastic and very clean m. Cafe was superb for breakfast and a great gift shop.

Very friendly staff and helpful.

Will definitely be recommending and return

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmd 1 review from this member

Just got back from a lovely few days at this site. It had been a few years since our last visit. Checking in was easy and staff were very helpful giving guidance where best to pitch as it was very busy. We have a twin axle caravan but did not want an electric pitch. Since our last visit they now have many more electric hook up pitches and some hard standing. This actually made it harder for us, not wanting ehu and trying to find somewhere fairly level, but we managed. Even though the site was really busy you still get a sense of peace, you can hear laughter from around and people enjoying bbqs but the site is big enough for everyone. Cannot comment on toilet blocks as we did not use. Rubbish bins emptied very regularly, chemical waste, water etc spread across site and easy to access. Beautiful walks and cycling from the site we hardly used the car. We walked, cycled and hired a canoe. The pubs at symonds yat are beautiful and make the walk along the river even more enjoyable. At the top of the hill where the Christchurch site used to be is the forest shop selling the basics bread, milk, bacon etc, there is also a cafe section and bike hire a little further along. Coleford is just a short drive if a bigger supermarket is needed. If you have children it's perfect for them to run around and play games. We didn't see any wild boar on our walks through the forest but did see many squirrels and a grass snake! We will certainly keep visiting this beautiful area and use this site.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alex0076 3 reviews from this member

A great site in the middle of the Forest of Dean. We chose it for the walking along the Wye Valley and Symonds Yat. Large level pitches and good clean facilities. No bar, shop, club, etc, but we knew that before we booked. Welcoming and knowledgeable staff.

Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019