Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Abbots House Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Abbots House Farm Reviews

Abbots House Farm
Goathland
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 5NH
Tel: 01947 896270
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 73 Reviews
                7/10 from 73 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Indypo 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site - met up with 5 lots of friends and had the paddock to ourselves - great place to visit -

Goathland really is something else - the night skies are fantastic - a steam train came past the site every 45 minutes or so and made for a good competition to see who could guess if it was going to be the green one or the black one.

Dont forget your midgie spray if you're staying on the paddock as there is a stream than runs all around it so lots of flies -

I imagine the rest of the site would have been ok though -

Would defo visit again ! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Phoennixxs11 4 reviews from this member

 First camping trip in over 10 years was here, we were a large group of friends with children age range 5-18.

A very basic site but we had the best time. Plenty of room to pitch without feeling cramped. The children had ample room to play and explore without bothering other campers.

The trek to the loo was interesting! It was quite a walk out of the and field down a track, a bit spooky in the middle of the night. The weather wasnít the best but camping is what you make it so we enjoyed it. I would definitely revisit. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alman2015 1 review from this member

 The site not well signposted is about half a mile along the old (and bumpy) railway track. It is ideal though if you want a site close to the village and it's a pleasant walk on a summer evening down the track to reach it.

The facilities are dated and not clean, no hot water, no lights and either on the main field or a long walk to the farmhouse.

During our stay most dogs were exercised on site off lead and would run up to our dogs (on leads). We didn't feel comfortable about this as you don't know if they will be aggressive.

On the field next to us there was a group of very noisy families in tents, who on their first night were shouting at/to each other until 1. 30am

The site fees of £29 per night for 3 adults and 2 dogs with no electric seemed high. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: T6fle 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location.

The site was difficult to get to. 25% down and up hill roads approach this site. Sign outside not very clear and with tourists everywhere and no turning points, it was just up a mountain to the main road to try again. Clearer signage would be very helpful. Or clearer directions.

Very long single dirt track, full of pot holes and very rough ride.

in a valley so no telephone, mobile, internet or TV. Not a problem for me.

The toilets, washing up facilities and showers were unkept, old, dated and looked dirty. Holes in the roof, no hand soap or drying facilities when you had used the loo.

Not recommended to stay. £22 a night was very expensive for 2 people with electric hook up.

The only reason we stayed the 3 nights was because I had paid in full. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Little Dotty 4 reviews from this member

 We known the area really well and have visited Goathland many times but decided to camp there this time.

The site is in a fantastic location, it truly is a shame that the site does not offer better facilities. The two toilets in the top field for the campers were so run down it was unacceptable considering the cost per person and electric, I could find no light? They had no hot water nor did the washing pot area?? They did not look clean at all.

The showers were a long walk down a track and so very tired looking and felt they needed a deep clean.

Considering the tariff for the site no money seems to be being spent on the facilities.

Dog friendly though and seemed laid back which is nice as some sites have to many rules. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The swifties 15 reviews from this member

 Owners very friendly and helpful and let us pitch in the yard as they had had a lot of rain. Great view of the railway line, plenty of waving at trains. Great location for goathland, 15 min walk down a flat track. Camping fields looked good. However the showers are very tired looking. The basins and loos were kept clean, but definitely ready for a makeover, just rough concrete flooring too. The road is still quite bumpy for a caravan as well. I think £21 per night is a little high for 2 people and a hook up for a caravan. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AliceNeal 1 review from this member

 Last half term we took a very welcome break from the electronic world and all its intrusions, and returned for a blissfully happy few days to Abbots House Farm on the North Yorkshire Moors, a campsite with clean, basic amenities (loos and hot showers) along a beautiful drive, right in the place where the television series Heartbeat was filmed. Goathland has retained its latterday charm and a walk into the village from the site sees you navigating wandering sheep, roaming free wherever they choose. Itís about as picturesque as you can get.

Our field was entirely empty apart from us. We set up camp with three hikersí tents and a tarp, under which we constructed the fire pit barbecue where we cooked our suppers every night. And along the bottom of the field ran the old steam railway with half-hourly trains providing plenty of waving opportunity for the children.

No screens, no social media, no intrusionÖ we even had a visiting squirrel allow us to feed and stroke it.

Other than a 100-mile stint on the Pennine Way before my youngest was born, I donít think Iíve felt happier or freer.

Our beloved Teddy was diagnosed with autism back in 2012 and camping and hiking are just perfect for him. This place was just right.

I'm looking forward to the pitch and stitch event coming up in September, combining two of my favourite things: knitting and camping :) 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lyndseyg 1 review from this member

 I stayed here over Easter and again a few weeks later with my family. Ignore all previous comments about the access track its now been transformed with no potholes! Fantastic camp site with stunning views and very peaceful! There is plenty of space between pitches so you don't feel squashed in. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aliceinglis 6 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is perfect for access to the moors and steam railway line. Sadly the state of the track made getting in and out quite difficult. As mentioned in previous reviews the road still is pothole ridden and we travelled at walking speed to prevent any damage. We stayed three nights and paid £24 per night. We wanted electric so were in the bottom field, which was a little muddy but okay. The facilities were the second problem exposed pipes, dirty floors and generally run down. On our last day we emptied the chemical toilet into what looked more like an inspection hole. There was also some work being done by a small digger but they had at least waited until 10am to start. These would not have bothered us normally but we think that the cost per night demands better facilities. Because we didn't want to drive along the track any more than we needed to, we walked to catch the train and pub which I would recommend. We will visit again if the track is repaired and prices reduced or facilities improved. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 44 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site regularly over the August Bank Holiday for several years now.

We stayed three nights this time.

Nothing has really changed over the last six or seven years, the main [unisex!] toilet block, whilst a bit 'dated' is clean, and the showers are hot, and free, and although it is quite a long walk to the main amenities from the top two fields, a pair of smaller toilets are on the 'Top' field, although these contain just a toilet & sink, and cold water.

The single track road to the camping field really could do with resurfacing, but I guess it keeps the speed of the cars using it down, and there are ample 'passing places'.

We took a ride into Whitby on the steam train [check the times out when you arrive]. The site is very good for watching the 'steam trains' go by [especially to a steam railway enthusiast like myself].

If I could give this site 11 out 10 for location I would do so. The views are second to none. And we will no doubt be back again next year. 


Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Abbots House Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Abbots House Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Abbots House Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement