Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cairds Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Stonegate > Cairds Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Cairds Camping And Caravan Site
Battenhurst Road
Stonegate
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN5 7DU
Tel: 07765 363546  or  01435 883442
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Caravans + 10 tents
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 17 Reviews
                10/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Samke35852fsp 1 review from this member

 Friendly and efficient communication. Excellent value for money.

Very quiet site with a lovely clean loo.

It was perfect for us as we were visiting friends in the area and wanted to camp up for the night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gilsx6 1 review from this member

 Beautiful view!

Slightly sloping, small site, clean showers and toilets. Very friendly and helpful owners.

The site is secluded so a car or bikes is advised. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RRoberts 15 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely weekend in our motorhome at the Cairds site. Our friends also stayed in the 'arch' (well kitted out camping pod with toilet and shower, sleeping two adult and two children).

We received a very warm welcome from Naomi, Pete and Sue. Excellent campsite, immaculate, clean toilets and showers. Beautiful views. Very peaceful.

Took the kids to Bedgebury Pinetum and hired bikes for a couple of hours - there's also a Go Ape there. Recommend eating at the Goudhurst Inn a few miles away. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckyjh 2 reviews from this member

 We did two nights in the camping arch and one in a tent at this friendly quiet site. The owners are helpful and shower/loo facilities are good.

The arch was a pleasant little bolthole, ideal if the weather looks uncertain but we also had a lovely night in the tent listening to owls. Lots of wildlife and walks close to the site.

We had a tremendous lunch at The Bell in Ticehurst and also worth noting that a train can be caught into central London at Stonegate station, 5 minutes drive away.

We had a lovely stay and would return without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The road toad 2 reviews from this member

 Recently spent 6 nights on this gem of a site. Situated in the heart of the Weald of Kent within easy access to Bewle Water, Hastings, Rye, Brighton.

A gently sloping site (remember some blocks, although site owner Peter has a few to help) with excellent facilities.

For a small, intimate site, it is unusual to find 2 shower units each with Shower, WC (with toilet paper) and Wash Basin both kept immaculately clean, 3 water points and 16A electricity.

A peaceful and quiet site with a super little Londis mini market in nearby Burwash for all your needs.

Plenty of public footpaths nearby with one lovely walk (3 miles) through the fields and woods to Ticehurst where the Bell Inn offers a superb lunch menu.

Owners, Pete and Sue, go out of their way to help every visitor. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Joncamper 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite as it was close to where we were going mountain biking. It's a lovely small campsite if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of every day life.

Stunning views of the country side. Very quite and peaceful. Great area if you love mountain biking and walking, also national trust areas nearby. X2 toilet & shower blocks, plenty for the size of the camping site and they are very good too.

For those who have had a few drinks the night before and do not feel up to cooking breakfast, like my friend and myself, the owner of the site and the lovely b&b just 2 minutes down the road makes a lovely full Breakfast, which was much appreciated.

So overall very happy with our stay and look forward to taking my family next time. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chb1957 1 review from this member

 A great stay for our first motorhome experience. Beautiful area. Showers and facilities good. One of the two shower wasn't working but not a big deal.

Pete was great and extremely helpful particularly with finding us a long hose to fill our water tank instead of the pathetic 4 foot one provided by the rental company and pulling us out of the mud when we left.

The little shop/cafe was good too. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: El Bongo 5 reviews from this member

 We had a great 3 nights here in late October. Beautiful views, lovely walks straight from the site. Friendly and helpful owners.

It's a camp-anywhere field but with electric hookups and clean, new, warm shower and toilet units as well as a shop and a couple of glamping units.

When we visited there was only us and a couple of other vans/caravans there so there was loads of room. The stated capacity is 5 caravans + 10 tents and I would imagine that there would be plenty of room for this number.

Great location for exploring a beautiful part of the country. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Edy_ 1 review from this member

 Weíve just returned for a week in the camping arch. Itís neat, tidy and well kept Ė a lovely place to stay. Iím afraid that weíve now been spoilt and will expect that level of comfort and convenience every time we go away!

The arch has its own ensuite so there was no danger of

1) needing to hunt out the waterproofs out in the dark to trek across a field to go to the loo at 2am

2) queue for a shower and hope the hot water hadnít run out.

The arch has its own gas (bottle) powered boiler with hot water on demand for the shower, bathroom sink and kitchen.

The kitchen area comes with a fridge, (low power) kettle, 800w microwave, toaster and 2 hob electric cooker. Thereís a sink, under-sink-bin, washing up bowl and washing up liquid was provided. Thereís plates, bowls, mugs, glasses, knives, forks and spoons for 4 people.

Thereís also a corkscrew/bottle opener, tin opener, 2 wooden spoons, 1 large plastic cooking spoon, 2 small sharp(ish) knives and a Pyrex bowl for the microwave. Thereís 1 saucepan with 2 tiers of steamers. Unless youíre a specialist in 1 pot meals or using steamers, you might want to bring a second saucepan / a frying pan.

We only brought a frying pan and managed fine between that and the provided saucepan. (We also brought our won tea towels & washing up sponge).

The arch has a 3 seater sofa (I think it folds out to make a bed but we didnít need it) and a double bed. The bed is in a nook at the back of the arch but wasnít as narrow/cramped as I thought it might be. There was a couple of inches either side of the bed so it was a comfy space. The mattress is noisy (crunches and creaks as you clamber out of the end of the bed) but comfy enough.

There isnít much space between the end of the bed and the sofa for the person sleeping by the outside wall getting in and out of bed. We managed fine but if you have mobility problems, it might be a bit of a challenge.

The finishing touches show thereís been a lot of thought put into setting up this arch. Thereís a large rug to cut down noise from the wooden floor; the curtains / blinds are effective at keeping light out; thereís a fire extinguisher and small oil radiator heater. The extractor in the bathroom means you donít need to worry about steam from the (very good) shower making the pod damp.

Thereís 4 hooks by the door for coats, a 4 shelf zip-front camping shelves unit by the sofa. Thereís a bit of space under the kitchen counter and storage space under the bed (accessed by sliding doors in the end of the base unit). There are 3 halogen lights and an additional light by the kitchen sink.

The bathroom has its own light and thereís an outdoor light. Thereís 2 adjustable folding chairs and a small table that fit perfectly on the veranda so 2 people can sit outside to eat.

The arch is insulated but was v warm when returning on sunny days. This was quickly fixed by opening both French doors at the front and the window above the bed at the back Ė creating a lovely through draught. We didnít need the heater at all.

While in the arch you can hear cars arriving/leaving the site, people using the bins in the small carpark (next door to the arch) or filling up from the standpipe by the arch. We could hear cars on the unclassified road that the site is on but it wasnít overly busy. The owls and sheep made as much noise as any traffic.

In general it was a quiet and peaceful site with beautiful views and friendly and welcoming owners. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonacathla 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic find! I was nearly not going to find out more about this site as it didn't have a website, but the excellent reviews convinced me to ring, and I'm so glad I did.

The site is in a beautiful location on a small-holding, it's small, very reasonably priced and the owner is a superb chap. There's a farm shop to buy bits and pieces and excellent eggs from their chickens, and a new toilet shower cubicle has just been added.

There's electric hookups but the site is great for tents too.

The site is within very easy driving distance of Battle, Hastings and a vast array of places to go and visit, and a short drive or cycle from Burwash, which has a few shops and pubs.

Perhaps best of all was that it was extremely quiet and peaceful, despite going at the height of summer holidays.

I would definitely recommend this to everyone, but particularly adults. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cairds Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cairds Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cairds Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stonegate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5666 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement