Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cairds Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Stonegate > Cairds Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Cairds Camping And Caravan Site
Battenhurst Road
Stonegate
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN5 7DU
Tel: 07765 363546  or  01435 883442
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Caravans + 10 tents
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roma07 31 reviews from this member

 Small rural site in idyllic surroundings: though you must expect some country smells as well. Horses and stables in adjoining field.

All grass pitches with hook up available (may need a long lead). Two shower/toilet cabins and one washing up sink outside.

We did experience a problem with the smaller shower unit not giving hot water, but this we were told was a temporary problem. The larger shower unit was excellent.

Naomi answered my email messages very promptly and cleaned out the facilities each evening.

Parts of the field slope noticeably, especially pitches 9 & 10. The most level pitches 1-3 also back onto the road.

There is some traffic noise, mostly in the morning and evening rush hours, but plenty of bird song.

We had a pleasant stay, and 20 a night was good value. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peterpaw 5 reviews from this member

 Firstly, the site was not easily identified and the hanging sign facing the road was missing. It was self book in and no was around to greet us. We fended entirely for ourselves.

Whilst we were advised beforehand, due to COVID 19 there was only one shower and toilet, this had to be cleaned each time it was used. This was not a problem particularly when there was only a few people using the site. However come late week and weekend the numbers increased and to be honest there were too many people for one shower and toilet.

The size of the toilet, come shower cubical was too small. The toilet seat was broken and took 48 hours for it to be repaired. The power failed on the entire site at a critical time first thing one morning. The restocking and general cleaning of the toilet and cubical was not done every day which became critical when more people arrived. Whilst the site was centrally located to serve our purposes we would need to try this site again perhaps when there are no restrictions and more facilities opened.

We certainly felt it was not worth the 15/night with hook up. If situated backing the road, it was at times very noisy. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Samke3 1 review from this member

 Friendly and efficient communication. Excellent value for money.

Very quiet site with a lovely clean loo.

It was perfect for us as we were visiting friends in the area and wanted to camp up for the night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gilsx6 1 review from this member

 Beautiful view!

Slightly sloping, small site, clean showers and toilets. Very friendly and helpful owners.

The site is secluded so a car or bikes is advised. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RRoberts 15 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely weekend in our motorhome at the Cairds site. Our friends also stayed in the 'arch' (well kitted out camping pod with toilet and shower, sleeping two adult and two children).

We received a very warm welcome from Naomi, Pete and Sue. Excellent campsite, immaculate, clean toilets and showers. Beautiful views. Very peaceful.

Took the kids to Bedgebury Pinetum and hired bikes for a couple of hours - there's also a Go Ape there. Recommend eating at the Goudhurst Inn a few miles away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckyjh 2 reviews from this member

 We did two nights in the camping arch and one in a tent at this friendly quiet site. The owners are helpful and shower/loo facilities are good.

The arch was a pleasant little bolthole, ideal if the weather looks uncertain but we also had a lovely night in the tent listening to owls. Lots of wildlife and walks close to the site.

We had a tremendous lunch at The Bell in Ticehurst and also worth noting that a train can be caught into central London at Stonegate station, 5 minutes drive away.

We had a lovely stay and would return without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The road toad 2 reviews from this member

 Recently spent 6 nights on this gem of a site. Situated in the heart of the Weald of Kent within easy access to Bewle Water, Hastings, Rye, Brighton.

A gently sloping site (remember some blocks, although site owner Peter has a few to help) with excellent facilities.

For a small, intimate site, it is unusual to find 2 shower units each with Shower, WC (with toilet paper) and Wash Basin both kept immaculately clean, 3 water points and 16A electricity.

A peaceful and quiet site with a super little Londis mini market in nearby Burwash for all your needs.

Plenty of public footpaths nearby with one lovely walk (3 miles) through the fields and woods to Ticehurst where the Bell Inn offers a superb lunch menu.

Owners, Pete and Sue, go out of their way to help every visitor. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Joncamper 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite as it was close to where we were going mountain biking. It's a lovely small campsite if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of every day life.

Stunning views of the country side. Very quite and peaceful. Great area if you love mountain biking and walking, also national trust areas nearby. X2 toilet & shower blocks, plenty for the size of the camping site and they are very good too.

For those who have had a few drinks the night before and do not feel up to cooking breakfast, like my friend and myself, the owner of the site and the lovely b&b just 2 minutes down the road makes a lovely full Breakfast, which was much appreciated.

So overall very happy with our stay and look forward to taking my family next time. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chb1957 1 review from this member

 A great stay for our first motorhome experience. Beautiful area. Showers and facilities good. One of the two shower wasn't working but not a big deal.

Pete was great and extremely helpful particularly with finding us a long hose to fill our water tank instead of the pathetic 4 foot one provided by the rental company and pulling us out of the mud when we left.

The little shop/cafe was good too. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: El Bongo 5 reviews from this member

 We had a great 3 nights here in late October. Beautiful views, lovely walks straight from the site. Friendly and helpful owners.

It's a camp-anywhere field but with electric hookups and clean, new, warm shower and toilet units as well as a shop and a couple of glamping units.

When we visited there was only us and a couple of other vans/caravans there so there was loads of room. The stated capacity is 5 caravans + 10 tents and I would imagine that there would be plenty of room for this number.

Great location for exploring a beautiful part of the country. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cairds Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cairds Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cairds Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stonegate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4167 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement