Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cairds Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Stonegate > Cairds Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Cairds Camping And Caravan Site
Battenhurst Road
Stonegate
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN5 7DU
Tel: 07765 363546  or  01435 883442
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravans + 10 tents
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 15 Reviews
                10/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RRoberts 13 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in our motorhome at the Cairds site. Our friends also stayed in the 'arch' (well kitted out camping pod with toilet and shower, sleeping two adult and two children).

We received a very warm welcome from Naomi, Pete and Sue. Excellent campsite, immaculate, clean toilets and showers. Beautiful views. Very peaceful.

Took the kids to Bedgebury Pinetum and hired bikes for a couple of hours - there's also a Go Ape there. Recommend eating at the Goudhurst Inn a few miles away.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beckyjh 2 reviews from this member

We did two nights in the camping arch and one in a tent at this friendly quiet site. The owners are helpful and shower/loo facilities are good.

The arch was a pleasant little bolthole, ideal if the weather looks uncertain but we also had a lovely night in the tent listening to owls. Lots of wildlife and walks close to the site.

We had a tremendous lunch at The Bell in Ticehurst and also worth noting that a train can be caught into central London at Stonegate station, 5 minutes drive away.

We had a lovely stay and would return without hesitation.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The road toad 2 reviews from this member

Recently spent 6 nights on this gem of a site. Situated in the heart of the Weald of Kent within easy access to Bewle Water, Hastings, Rye, Brighton.

A gently sloping site (remember some blocks, although site owner Peter has a few to help) with excellent facilities.

For a small, intimate site, it is unusual to find 2 shower units each with Shower, WC (with toilet paper) and Wash Basin both kept immaculately clean, 3 water points and 16A electricity.

A peaceful and quiet site with a super little Londis mini market in nearby Burwash for all your needs.

Plenty of public footpaths nearby with one lovely walk (3 miles) through the fields and woods to Ticehurst where the Bell Inn offers a superb lunch menu.

Owners, Pete and Sue, go out of their way to help every visitor.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Joncamper 1 review from this member

Stayed at this campsite as it was close to where we were going mountain biking. It's a lovely small campsite if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of every day life.

Stunning views of the country side. Very quite and peaceful. Great area if you love mountain biking and walking, also national trust areas nearby. X2 toilet & shower blocks, plenty for the size of the camping site and they are very good too.

For those who have had a few drinks the night before and do not feel up to cooking breakfast, like my friend and myself, the owner of the site and the lovely b&b just 2 minutes down the road makes a lovely full Breakfast, which was much appreciated.

So overall very happy with our stay and look forward to taking my family next time.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chb1957 1 review from this member

A great stay for our first motorhome experience. Beautiful area. Showers and facilities good. One of the two shower wasn't working but not a big deal.

Pete was great and extremely helpful particularly with finding us a long hose to fill our water tank instead of the pathetic 4 foot one provided by the rental company and pulling us out of the mud when we left.

The little shop/cafe was good too.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: El Bongo 5 reviews from this member

We had a great 3 nights here in late October. Beautiful views, lovely walks straight from the site. Friendly and helpful owners.

It's a camp-anywhere field but with electric hookups and clean, new, warm shower and toilet units as well as a shop and a couple of glamping units.

When we visited there was only us and a couple of other vans/caravans there so there was loads of room. The stated capacity is 5 caravans + 10 tents and I would imagine that there would be plenty of room for this number.

Great location for exploring a beautiful part of the country.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Edy_ 1 review from this member

Weíve just returned for a week in the camping arch. Itís neat, tidy and well kept Ė a lovely place to stay. Iím afraid that weíve now been spoilt and will expect that level of comfort and convenience every time we go away!

The arch has its own ensuite so there was no danger of

1) needing to hunt out the waterproofs out in the dark to trek across a field to go to the loo at 2am

2) queue for a shower and hope the hot water hadnít run out.

The arch has its own gas (bottle) powered boiler with hot water on demand for the shower, bathroom sink and kitchen.

The kitchen area comes with a fridge, (low power) kettle, 800w microwave, toaster and 2 hob electric cooker. Thereís a sink, under-sink-bin, washing up bowl and washing up liquid was provided. Thereís plates, bowls, mugs, glasses, knives, forks and spoons for 4 people.

Thereís also a corkscrew/bottle opener, tin opener, 2 wooden spoons, 1 large plastic cooking spoon, 2 small sharp(ish) knives and a Pyrex bowl for the microwave. Thereís 1 saucepan with 2 tiers of steamers. Unless youíre a specialist in 1 pot meals or using steamers, you might want to bring a second saucepan / a frying pan.

We only brought a frying pan and managed fine between that and the provided saucepan. (We also brought our won tea towels & washing up sponge).

The arch has a 3 seater sofa (I think it folds out to make a bed but we didnít need it) and a double bed. The bed is in a nook at the back of the arch but wasnít as narrow/cramped as I thought it might be. There was a couple of inches either side of the bed so it was a comfy space. The mattress is noisy (crunches and creaks as you clamber out of the end of the bed) but comfy enough.

There isnít much space between the end of the bed and the sofa for the person sleeping by the outside wall getting in and out of bed. We managed fine but if you have mobility problems, it might be a bit of a challenge.

The finishing touches show thereís been a lot of thought put into setting up this arch. Thereís a large rug to cut down noise from the wooden floor; the curtains / blinds are effective at keeping light out; thereís a fire extinguisher and small oil radiator heater. The extractor in the bathroom means you donít need to worry about steam from the (very good) shower making the pod damp.

Thereís 4 hooks by the door for coats, a 4 shelf zip-front camping shelves unit by the sofa. Thereís a bit of space under the kitchen counter and storage space under the bed (accessed by sliding doors in the end of the base unit). There are 3 halogen lights and an additional light by the kitchen sink.

The bathroom has its own light and thereís an outdoor light. Thereís 2 adjustable folding chairs and a small table that fit perfectly on the veranda so 2 people can sit outside to eat.

The arch is insulated but was v warm when returning on sunny days. This was quickly fixed by opening both French doors at the front and the window above the bed at the back Ė creating a lovely through draught. We didnít need the heater at all.

While in the arch you can hear cars arriving/leaving the site, people using the bins in the small carpark (next door to the arch) or filling up from the standpipe by the arch. We could hear cars on the unclassified road that the site is on but it wasnít overly busy. The owls and sheep made as much noise as any traffic.

In general it was a quiet and peaceful site with beautiful views and friendly and welcoming owners.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonacathla 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic find! I was nearly not going to find out more about this site as it didn't have a website, but the excellent reviews convinced me to ring, and I'm so glad I did.

The site is in a beautiful location on a small-holding, it's small, very reasonably priced and the owner is a superb chap. There's a farm shop to buy bits and pieces and excellent eggs from their chickens, and a new toilet shower cubicle has just been added.

There's electric hookups but the site is great for tents too.

The site is within very easy driving distance of Battle, Hastings and a vast array of places to go and visit, and a short drive or cycle from Burwash, which has a few shops and pubs.

Perhaps best of all was that it was extremely quiet and peaceful, despite going at the height of summer holidays.

I would definitely recommend this to everyone, but particularly adults.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Cpb57 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned form Cairds using their glamping pod. Very comforatable and everything supplied. We did take our own bedding but they will supply this at an extra cost. The site is well kept and the toilet shower facilities are clean, although we didn't need to use them.

Peter is very helpful about the local area and how to get to various places. We ate at the Rose and Crown pub twice. Very good food and reasonable.

There is also a shop on site which could be useful, selling most bits and pieces, milk, eggs ect, but we didn't need to use it.

If you want to glamp then this pod is all you need, with its own kitchen and bathroom.

Very central to most of east sussex and a lot of Kent as its on the border.

Will recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

This is a very small but very beautiful site and is run by Peter who cannot do enough to help. The ground is very gently sloping and overlooks a lovely green valley with paddocks and woodland. The site is very well maintained with a well defined walk for dogs.

Because it is small (and inexpensive) facilities are limited to one immaculate shower and toilet but there is chemical and grey water disposal as well as ample hook up and 2 fresh water points. The owner tell me he has plans to install more facilities and judging by the growing popularity of the site he will have justification for doing so.

The site is well located for touring the area and the owner has plenty of suggestions for visits. We got as far as Rye, which should not be missed, Hastings, which is okay at the eastern end and has excellent fresh fish shops, the Bluebell railway is a real charmer for a day out as is the Romney Hythe and Dimchurch Railway.

Battle is close by the site and if you like Indian food we found the Claypot in Hurst Green just a few miles away was one of the best Indian meals we have had.

There are shops in abundance all over the area but the owners daughter only opens their farm shop on site at the weekend. I am certain that the owner will develop the site more but I believe and hope he will keep the atmosphere as lovely as it is right now.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2525 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019